DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Troup, James William, steamship captain, ship designer, and businessman; b. 5 Feb. 1855 in Portland (Oreg.), son of William H. Troup and Eliza Jane Turnbull; m. there 17 July 1879 Frances Julia Stump (d. 19 Aug. 1938), and they had a son and a daughter; d. 30 Nov. 1931 in Victoria.

James Troup’s maternal grandfather, James Turnbull, had established a steamer service between Portland and Vancouver (Wash.), and Troup’s father was the line’s chief engineer and captain of a steamer. James spent his childhood at the family home in Vancouver and on the family’s vessels, where he developed skills in the shipping business. His father hoped that he would enter the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md, but difficulties with his eyesight apparently precluded his admission. He worked as a purser and a pilot, and by age 20 he was captain of the Columbia River steamer Wasp.

In May 1883 Troup took employment in British Columbia under Captain John Irving, who had interests in several shipping enterprises, including the Kamloops Steam Navigation Company and his family’s Pioneer Line Company, which was being merged with the Hudson’s Bay Company fleet to form the Canadian Pacific Navigation Company. Troup ran steamers in the Kamloops area, on the Fraser River, and along coastal routes. These vessels carried passengers, freight, and mail, and they were often the only links between outlying communities and larger centres. Because of Troup’s skill and experience, Irving entrusted him with the R. P. Rithet, a luxurious sternwheeler, and with the largest vessel in the firm’s fleet, the Yosemite. Troup went back to the United States in 1886 to become superintendent of the Oregon Railroad and Navigation Company’s steamer service, operating in Puget Sound as well as on the Columbia River. In 1888 he oversaw the construction of the T. J. Potter, one of the fastest vessels in the Pacific northwest. The steamer Victorian, built in 1891, was less successful because its large and inefficient engines made it expensive to run. From these results he built up his knowledge of shipbuilding and design. He gained fame on the Columbia by piloting the Harvest Queen through the Tumwater rapids and other vessels through the Cascade rapids.

Troup returned to British Columbia in 1892 to become manager of the Columbia and Kootenay Steam Navigation Company’s fleet, based in Nelson and owned in part by his friend Irving. There he supervised the development of a large number of sternwheelers for lake and river service. The company was taken over by the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1896–97 and Troup continued as manager but, at the CPR’s request, he spent some time in Vancouver, directing the building of sternwheelers for the Stikine River.

In 1900 Troup became manager (later superintendent) of the CPR’s lake and river service based in Nelson. Following the company’s purchase of the Canadian Pacific Navigation Company, he moved to Victoria the next year to run its recently acquired coastal steamships. Troup took to his new duties with enthusiasm and determination. The successful management of what was soon known as the British Columbia Coast Steamship Service would become his lifes passion. He transformed a fleet of 14 elderly vessels into one of the finest coastal-steamer operations in the world. He encouraged the CPR to build first-class vessels and new port facilities; he was convinced they would increase traffic and vindicate the costs. In addition, he argued for high standards. For example, in 1903 he wrote of the newly constructed steamer Princess Victoria that “the boat will never be successful if the detail [of passenger accommodations] is not looked after. It is the detail which will go to make up the whole affair.” The success of the enterprise in its first decade contributed to additional business and tourism in the region and helped justify the erection of Victoria’s Empress Hotel in 1908.

Although he had limited formal education, Troup was a skilled ship designer. His papers contain detailed discussions and debates with shipbuilders over the technical requirements and the performance of his vessels. His experience and ability meant that his judgement was seldom proved wrong. His talents were demonstrated in the design and performance of the Princess Victoria and other steamships, the most important of which were the celebrated coastal liners Princess Kathleen and Princess Marguerite, both built in 1925 and known for their fast and luxurious service. An early automobile enthusiast (he held the second licence issued for a private car in British Columbia), Troup sought to accommodate vehicles on coastal steamships. With the construction of the Motor Princess in 1923, he also pioneered diesel-powered automobile ferries on the Pacific coast.

During Troup’s tenure, the CPR service met with tragedies. On 15 Aug. 1901, just after he became manager, the Islander struck ice and sank off Douglas Island, near Juneau (Alaska), with the loss of 42 lives. The stranding of the Princess Sophia on Vanderbilt Reef in Alaskan waters during a fierce snowstorm on 24 Oct. 1918 and its sinking the following day resulted in the deaths of all on board – at least 343 persons, and possibly as many as 353. The tragedy of the Princess Sophia was keenly felt all along the coast, and for some time afterwards it seriously affected Troup’s health.

Prominent in business circles, Troup invested in land and marine industrial development. He owned an excursion steamer based in Victoria, and later a yacht. During World War I, in addition to maintaining his post with the CPR, he served as assistant director of wooden shipbuilding for the Imperial Munitions Board [see Sir Joseph Wesley Flavelle]. On 26 April 1921 he became a naturalized citizen.

Troup was widely respected in many quarters and resented in a few. Highly skilled in the coastal trade and thorough in his business dealings, he was also well qualified, holding captain’s papers for inland and coastal steamships in Canada and the United States and a pilot’s certificate for Puget Sound, and likely for other places as well. However, he was disinclined to accept excuses from his staff or to tolerate foolish mistakes. He could be generous and he never hesitated to credit his employees and others in the CPR for the success of the service, but was remembered as a demanding supervisor. Earl John Marsh, who had worked in Troup’s office in the 1920s, later reflected that his director treated the company’s interests as if they were his own.

After his retirement on 1 Sept. 1928 at age 73, Troup continued to advise the CPR on the development of new ships. By 1930 most early vessels had long since been replaced and the fleet had grown to include 16 major passenger steamships as well as several tugs and barges and two freighters. The steamships, identified by the Princess name, provided the main links between Victoria, Vancouver, and Seattle, Wash., between Vancouver and Nanaimo, B.C., and to and from many coastal locations in the province and in southern Alaska. These shipping routes effectively served as branch lines of the CPR, connecting places that the railway could not reach. In the year of his retirement, the coastal service carried nearly 798,000 passengers and over 30,000 highway vehicles; its net earnings were almost $1,300,000.

Troup was handsome and distinguished in appearance, with piercing eyes. Photos show him to have been fit throughout his career. As a young man he wore a long moustache, but in later years he kept it trimmed. He was an Anglican. In 1905 he had a large home built in the Victoria West neighbourhood to the designs of architect Samuel Maclure*. His retirement was brief; in the late summer of 1931 his health began to fail and he died from bronchitis and heart failure in Victoria. Ships of the CPR coastal service hove to for two minutes at the time of his funeral.

One of Troup’s inland vessels, the Moyie, built in 1898, has been meticulously restored as a national historic site at Kaslo, and a second, the Sicamous, completed in 1914, over whose design he had considerable influence, has been restored in Penticton and now serves as a marine museum. None of his coastal steamships survive. His effect on the development of coastal and inland shipping services and its impact on tourism, industrial expansion, and settlement was profound. As a designer of vessels for these services he was recognized as a master with few equals. His vision, imagination, and managerial abilities set him apart from most of his contemporaries in the business.

Robert D. Turner

During the 1980s, Earl John Marsh, who had worked with James William Troup, made available to the author the numerous volumes of British Columbia Coast Steamship Service correspondence and related material that he had conserved. This material is now at BCA, Acc. 93-7330.

BCA, GR-2951, nos.1931-09-451818, 1938-09-546112. Daily Colonist (Victoria), 19 Aug. 1928, 20 Aug. 1938. Marine Digest (Seattle, Wash.), 5 Dec. 1931. Morning Oregonian (Portland, Oreg.), 18 July 1879, 27 Aug. 1928. Oregonian (Portland), 20 Aug. 1938. Victoria Daily Times, 18 Aug. 1928; 30 Nov., 3 Dec. 1931. Canadian Railway and Marine World (Toronto), July 1921: 412. N. R. Hacking and W. K. Lamb, The “Princess” story: a century and a half of west coast shipping (Vancouver, 1974). LAC, “Naturalization records, 1915–1951”: (consulted 24 June 2014). R. W. Troup, Steamboats and “Princess” ships: the storybook life of Captain James W. Troup (Roseburg, Oreg., 1978). R. D. Turner, The Pacific “Princesses”: an illustrated history of the Canadian Pacific Railway’s “Princess” fleet on the northwest coast (Victoria, 1977); Sternwheelers and steam tugs: an illustrated history of the Canadian Pacific Railway’s British Columbia Lake and River Service (Victoria, 1984); Those beautiful coastal liners: the Canadian Pacific’s “Princesses” (Victoria, 2001).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Robert D. Turner, “TROUP, JAMES WILLIAM,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 11, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/troup_james_william_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/troup_james_william_16E.html
Author of Article: Robert D. Turner
Title of Article: TROUP, JAMES WILLIAM
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: December 11, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

né le 18 novembre 1759 à Hopkinton, Massachusetts

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Troup, James William, capitaine de navire à vapeur, concepteur de bateaux et homme d’affaires, né le 5 février 1855 à Portland (Oregon), fils de William H. Troup et d’Eliza Jane Turnbull ; le 17 juillet 1879, il épousa au même endroit Frances Julia Stump (décédée le 19 août 1938), et ils eurent un fils et une fille ; décédé le 30 novembre 1931 à Victoria.

Le grand-père maternel de James William Troup, James Turnbull, avait mis sur pied un service de transport par bateaux à vapeur entre Portland et Vancouver (Washington) ; le père de Troup fut le chef mécanicien de l’entreprise et le capitaine d’un vapeur. Troup passa son enfance dans la maison familiale à Vancouver et à bord des navires de la famille, où il acquit des aptitudes en matière de commerce maritime. Son père espérait le voir entrer à la United States Naval Academy à Annapolis, au Maryland, mais des troubles de la vision compromirent apparemment son admission. Il travailla comme commissaire de bord et comme pilote ; à l’âge de 20 ans, il était déjà le capitaine du vapeur Wasp, qui naviguait sur le fleuve Columbia.

En mai 1883, Troup commença à travailler en Colombie-Britannique pour le capitaine John Irving, qui avait des intérêts dans plusieurs entreprises de transport maritime, y compris la Kamloops Steam Navigation Company et la Pioneer Line Company, qui appartenait à sa famille et était en train de fusionner avec la flotte de la Hudson’s Bay Company pour former la Canadian Pacific Navigation Company. Troup dirigea des vapeurs dans la région de Kamloops, sur le fleuve Fraser et le long de routes côtières. Ces navires transportaient des passagers, des marchandises et du courrier, et ils étaient souvent le seul lien entre des communautés éloignées et de plus grands centres. En raison de son habileté et de son expérience, Irving lui confia le R. P. Rithet, luxueux vapeur à roue arrière, et le Yosemite, le plus gros navire de la flotte de l’entreprise. Troup retourna aux États-Unis en 1886 pour diriger le service de vapeurs de l’Oregon Railroad and Navigation Company ; ces vapeurs sillonnaient le Puget Sound, ainsi que le fleuve Columbia. En 1888, il supervisa la construction du T. J. Potter, un des bateaux les plus rapides dans le nord-ouest du Pacifique. Le vapeur Victorian, construit en 1891, eut moins de succès, car ses gros moteurs peu performants rendaient son exploitation coûteuse ; Troup en tira des leçons qui lui permirent toutefois de développer ses connaissances dans le domaine de la construction et de la conception navales. Il acquit une grande renommée sur le fleuve Columbia en manœuvrant le Harvest Queen dans les rapides Tumwater et d’autres navires dans les rapides Cascades.

Troup retourna en Colombie-Britannique en 1892 pour administrer la flotte de la Columbia and Kootenay Steam Navigation Company Limited, dont le siège social se trouvait à Nelson, et dans laquelle son ami Irving avait des parts. Il y supervisa la production de nombreux vapeurs à roues arrière destinés au service des lacs et des fleuves. L’entreprise fut acquise par la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique en 1896–1897. Troup garda son poste, mais, à la demande des nouveaux propriétaires, il passa du temps à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, afin de diriger la construction de bateaux à aubes pour le fleuve Stikine.

En 1900, Troup devint superviseur (et plus tard superviseur en chef) du service des lacs et des fleuves de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique, implanté à Nelson. À la suite de l’achat, par la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique, de la Canadian Pacific Navigation Company, il s’installa à Victoria l’année suivante afin de prendre la tête des opérations de navigation côtière ainsi récemment acquises. Il aborda cette fonction avec enthousiasme et détermination. La bonne gestion de ce qui fut bientôt connu sous le nom de British Columbia Coast Steamship Service serait la passion de sa vie. Il transforma une flotte de 14 vieux navires en l’un des meilleurs services côtiers de vapeurs au monde. Il incita la compagnie à construire des bateaux de qualité et de nouvelles installations portuaires ; il était convaincu qu’ils augmenteraient la circulation et justifieraient les dépenses. De plus, il plaida en faveur de normes élevées. Par exemple, en 1903, il écrivit à propos du vapeur Princess Victoria, construit depuis peu : « le bateau n’aura jamais de succès si le détail [des emménagements pour passagers] n’est pas pris en considération. C’est du détail que tout dépendra. » Le succès de l’entreprise durant ses dix premières années contribua au développement des affaires et du tourisme dans la région, et motiva en partie la construction de l’Empress Hotel à Victoria, en 1908.

Même s’il quitta l’école assez tôt, Troup fut un habile concepteur de bateaux. Ses papiers rendent compte de discussions détaillées et de débats avec des constructeurs de navires au sujet des exigences techniques et de la performance de ses bateaux. Parce qu’il était expérimenté et compétent, son jugement le trompa rarement. La conception et la performance du Princess Victoria, ainsi que celles d’autres vapeurs, mirent ses talents en évidence ; parmi ces bateaux, les plus importants furent les célèbres navires de ligne côtiers Princess Kathleen et Princess Marguerite, tous deux construits en 1925 et connus pour leur service rapide et luxueux. Tôt passionné par l’automobile (il obtint le deuxième permis de conduire délivré pour une voiture privée en Colombie-Britannique), Troup chercha un moyen de transporter des véhicules sur les vapeurs côtiers ; avec la construction du Motor Princess, en 1923, il fut aussi à l’avant-garde dans le domaine des traversiers à propulsion diesel pour automobiles sur la côte du Pacifique.

Pendant les années de service de Troup, la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique connut des drames. Le 15 août 1901, juste après son entrée en fonction comme superviseur, l’Islander heurta des glaces et coula au large de l’île Douglas, près de Juneau (Alaska), faisant 42 victimes. Le Princess Sophia échoua sur le récif Vanderbilt dans les eaux de l’Alaska au cours d’une violente tempête de neige le 24 octobre 1918 ; il coula le jour suivant, causant la mort de tous ceux qui étaient à bord (entre 343 et 353 personnes). La tragédie du Princess Sophia fut vivement ressentie tout le long de la côte ; la santé de Troup en fut ébranlée pendant un certain temps.

Troup était bien en vue dans les milieux d’affaires, et il investit dans le développement industriel terrestre et maritime. Il fut le propriétaire d’un vapeur d’excursion, basé à Victoria, et, plus tard, d’un yacht. Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, en plus de son emploi à la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique, il fut directeur délégué à la construction de navires en bois pour la Commission impériale des munitions [V. sir Joseph Wesley Flavelle]. Le 26 avril 1921, il devint un citoyen naturalisé.

Très respecté dans de nombreux milieux, Troup déplaisait pourtant à d’autres groupes. Il était très doué pour le commerce côtier et menait ses affaires de façon méthodique. Il était aussi hautement qualifié : il possédait ses papiers de capitaine pour piloter des vapeurs en eaux intérieures et le long de la côte maritime au Canada et aux États-Unis, ainsi qu’un brevet de pilote pour le Puget Sound et probablement pour d’autres endroits. Il acceptait toutefois difficilement les prétextes ou les erreurs stupides de son personnel. Il pouvait être généreux et n’hésitait jamais à reconnaître le rôle des membres de son équipe et d’autres employés de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique dans le succès du service, mais il laissa le souvenir d’un superviseur exigeant. Earl John Marsh, qui avait travaillé dans le bureau de Troup dans les années 1920, ferait remarquer que son directeur agissait comme si les intérêts de l’entreprise étaient les siens.

Troup prit sa retraite le 1er septembre 1928, à l’âge de 73 ans, mais continua à conseiller la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique au sujet de l’acquisition de nouveaux bateaux. En 1930, la plupart des premiers navires avaient été remplacés depuis longtemps ; la flotte avait pris de l’expansion et comprenait 16 vapeurs principaux qui servaient au transport des passagers, plusieurs remorqueurs et barges, ainsi que deux cargos. Les vapeurs, tous nommés Princess, assuraient la principale liaison entre Victoria, Vancouver et Seattle, dans l’État de Washington, entre Vancouver et Nanaimo, en Colombie-Britannique, et desservaient beaucoup de zones côtières dans la province et au sud de l’Alaska. Ces routes de navigation – en fait, des lignes secondaires efficaces de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique – servaient à relier des endroits auxquels le chemin de fer n’avait pas accès. Durant l’année où Troup prit sa retraite, le service côtier transporta près de 798 000 passagers et plus de 30 000 véhicules routiers ; ses gains nets s’élevèrent à près de 1 300 000 $.

Troup était beau, avait une allure distinguée et des yeux perçants. Des photos le montrent en bonne forme physique tout au long de sa carrière. Jeune homme, il arborait une longue moustache ; plus âgé, il la gardait bien taillée. Il était anglican. En 1905, il fit construire une grande maison dans le quartier de Victoria West, d’après les plans de l’architecte Samuel Maclure*. Sa retraite fut de courte durée. À la fin de l’été de 1931, sa santé commença à décliner ; il succomba à une bronchite et à une insuffisance cardiaque à Victoria. Les navires du service côtier de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique s’immobilisèrent pendant deux minutes au moment de ses funérailles.

Un des bateaux de navigation intérieure de James William Troup, le Moyie, construit en 1898, fut méticuleusement restauré et devint un lieu historique national à Kaslo ; un deuxième, le Sicamous, achevé en 1914 et dont il influença considérablement la conception, est devenu un musée de la marine après avoir été restauré à Penticton. Il ne reste aucun de ses vapeurs côtiers. Troup eut une profonde influence sur le développement des services maritimes côtiers et intérieurs qui contribuèrent à l’industrie touristique, à l’essor industriel et à la colonisation. En tant que concepteur de navires pour ces services, il fut reconnu comme un maître rarement égalé. Sa vision, son imagination et ses qualités de gestionnaire le distinguent de la plupart de ses contemporains qui œuvrèrent dans le même domaine.

Robert D. Turner

Pendant les années 1980, Earl John Marsh, qui avait travaillé avec James William Troup, nous a permis de consulter les nombreux volumes de correspondance du British Columbia Coast Steamship Service, ainsi que des documents connexes, qu’il avait conservés. Cette documentation se trouve maintenant aux BCA, Acc. 93-7330.

BCA, GR-2951, nos 1931-09-451818 et 1938-09-546112.— Daily Colonist (Victoria), 19 août 1928, 20 août 1938.— Marine Digest (Seattle, Wash.), 5 déc. 1931.— Morning Oregonian (Portland, Oreg.), 18 juill. 1879, 27 août 1928.— Oregonian (Portland), 20 août 1938.— Victoria Daily Times, 18 août 1928 ; 30 nov., 3 déc. 1931.— BAC, « Registres de naturalisation, 1915–1951 » : www.bac-lac.gc.ca/fra/decouvrez/immigration/citoyennete-dossiers-naturalisation/registres-naturalisation-1915-1951/Pages/introduction.aspx (consulté le 24 juin 2014).— Canadian Railway and Marine World (Toronto), juillet 1921 : 412.— N. R. Hacking et W. K. Lamb, The Princess story : a century and a half of west coast shipping (Vancouver, 1974).— R. W. Troup, Steamboats and Princess ships : the storybook life of Captain James W. Troup (Roseburg, Oreg., 1978).— R. D. Turner, The Pacific Princesses : an illustrated history of the Canadian Pacific Railway’s Princess fleet on the northwest coast (Victoria, 1977) ; Sternwheelers and steam tugs : an illustrated history of the Canadian Pacific Railway’s British Columbia Lake and River Service (Victoria, 1984) ; Those beautiful coastal liners : the Canadian Pacific’s Princesses (Victoria, 2001).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Robert D. Turner, « TROUP, JAMES WILLIAM », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 nov. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/troup_james_william_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/troup_james_william_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Robert D. Turner
Titre de l'article:   TROUP, JAMES WILLIAM
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   18 novembre 2017