DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PARSONS, GERTRUDE ISABELLA – Volume XV (1921-1930)

d. 27 May 1924 at St John's, Newfoundland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

WILLIE, ALLEN (Allan, Alan) PATRICK, schoolboy; b. 28 March 1928 on the Nautley (Fort Fraser) Indian Reserve No.1, B.C., son of Benoit Willie (d. 29 Sept. 1929) and Amelia François; d. 1 Jan. 1937 on Fraser Lake, B.C., and was buried in the cemetery on the reserve.

Allen Patrick Willie was born into a small Carrier (Dakelh) community on the Nautley reserve in British Columbia’s central interior. The reserve is located on the north side of the Nautley River (mistakenly labelled the Stellako River on maps published between 1930 and 1966), which connects Fraser Lake with the Nechako River, within the traditional territory of the Fraser Lake Indian Band. (The band became known as the Nadleh Whut’en First Nation and the Stellat’en First Nation in 1990.) During the late 19th and early 20th centuries residents of the region had experienced rapid social, economic, and cultural changes, which were catalyzed by the construction of the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway, completed in 1914. Subsequently, wage labour became increasingly available as Euro-American settlement and mining intensified. Subsistence and trade that had traditionally centred on hunting, fishing, and trapping persisted, but state-imposed regulations pushed the Carrier from communal usage of land towards family-based ownership, a process that was facilitated by pressure to register private traplines in the 1920s and 1930s.

Among these changes, the effort to assimilate indigenous children into settler culture had far-reaching consequences for the Carrier community. Duncan Campbell Scott*, the deputy superintendent general of the Department of Indian Affairs (DIA), had arranged for a 1920 amendment to the Indian Act that made it mandatory for indigenous children to attend residential schools and illegal for them to enrol in other educational institutions. Many Carrier saw the advantages that official instruction might offer to their people by helping them adapt to a changing society, and they had called for the creation of local day schools that would incorporate their customs and culture into the curriculum. The Carrier had first asked the federal government to grant them access to public education in 1867, and they repeated the request into the 1920s, although very few Carrier children went to school before 1922. The residential schools – funded by the government in collaboration with the country’s major churches [see Émile Grouard; George Holmes*; Joseph Hugonard*] – were intended to assimilate children into Euro-Canadian society by removing them from the influence of their families, communities, and cultures. Within this context, and under the authority of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate, the Fraser Lake Indian Boarding School was opened on 17 Jan. 1922 near the middle of the south shore of the lake; it was renamed the Lejac Indian Residential School nine years later.

Allen, whose mother and stepfather, Sylvester Patrick, had attended a missionary-run day school, was one of more than 150,000 indigenous children enrolled in Canada’s residential-school program between the late 1880s and 1996. He entered Lejac in 1935 at age seven. The account of elder Mary John of the nearby Stoney Creek Band (Saik’uz First Nation), who entered the same school in 1922, offers a glimpse of the traditional Carrier lifestyle in the early 20th century. Published in 1988, her story emphasizes the importance of the relationship between children and their families and of the use of the Carrier language. She recalls that the school enforced hard menial labour for children, and harsh corporal punishment was meted out to runaways. In 1927 her mother refused to return her to the school at the end of a visit to her family. During the DIA inquiry that followed Allen’s death, Father Patrick McGrath estimated that 90 per cent of parents opposed their children’s attendance at the institution. Although many indigenous communities had advocated for access to education for their children, many individuals turned against the residential-school system because of the conditions to which students were subjected [see Frederick Ogilvie Loft]. Parents often hid their children from authorities; some openly defied Indian agents and police officers, and were jailed.

Conditions at Lejac were typical of those that usually prevailed at residential schools. In 1907 Peter Henderson Bryce, chief medical officer for the DIA, had described the conditions he witnessed in such schools as “criminal.” The work of scholars and the testimony of thousands of survivors to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRCC), which conducted hearings between 2008 and 2015, describe untrained teachers, inadequate food, insufficient clothing, a lack of sanitation, overcrowding, and constant hard labour, as well as physical, sexual, and spiritual abuse. The results were often illness and death. In its report, released in June 2015, the TRCC states that it had identified 3,201 aboriginal students who died while at residential schools, although the report stresses that, since health records were regularly destroyed, the real number is probably much higher. Doctors, Indian agents, and First Nations peoples had frequently complained about conditions, and the DIA was aware of the schools’ failings. Loneliness, abuse, forced separation from family, and the loss of community were devastating. In addition, students were forbidden to speak their native languages and perform indigenous cultural and spiritual rites.

Such factors contributed to Allen’s decision to run away in January 1937. It was his second attempt; the first time he was caught and subjected to corporal punishment. After Oblate bishop Jean-Louis-Antoine Coudert denied permission for Allen and fellow students Andrew Paul, John Michael (also known as Michel and Jack), Maurice Justin (also known as Justa Maurice), and Paul Alex to return to their community for a New Year’s gathering, they fled the school late in the afternoon of 1 January. Although Alex turned back, the four other boys, dressed in light clothing, followed the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway southeast before attempting to cross Fraser Lake. The temperature dropped from -4ºF to -22ºF, the ice was buried under five to six inches of snow, and they soon found themselves travelling in the dark.

Staff had noticed the boys’ absence during dinner on 1 January and reported it to school authorities, but it was not until 5:00 p.m. on 2 January that parents and community members on the Nautley reserve were told that the children were missing, after which a search party was deployed. Their frozen bodies were quickly found; they were lying a little more than half a mile from the community beside open water at the outflow of the Nautley River. The coroner’s inquest conducted on 3 January found that the boys had died of exhaustion and hypothermia just before midnight, and revealed confusion over who was in charge at the school that evening. Although the tragedy made national headlines, no individuals were held accountable. A DIA inquest followed in March, and concluded that if a search had been initiated when the boys’ absence was reported, they would almost certainly have been found alive.

Sadly, this episode at Lejac was not an isolated incident – almost exactly one year later, the school’s quarterly report describes “an epidemic of runaway boys.” Other examples of students trying to escape were not uncommon, within central British Columbia and elsewhere. A Shuswap boy had died while running away from the Oblate school at Williams Lake in the winter of 1902, and there was a case, in 1920, of eight Shuswap boys who made a suicide pact to eat a poisonous plant, which killed one of them.

With some exceptions [see William Morris Graham], residential schools have come to be seen as oppressive and pedagogical failures that devastated indigenous people across Canada. Although there remain few traces of the life of Allen Willie, the story of his untimely death is emblematic of the deplorable conditions endured by so many young indigenous people – which they found so traumatizing that many risked their lives to try to escape them.

Brendan Plummer and James McKenzie

LAC, R216-247-1. Gazette (Montreal), 6 Jan. 1937. Globe, 5 Jan. 1937. Manitoba Free Press, 5 Jan. 1937. Vancouver Sun, 6 Jan. 1937. Can., Indian claims commission, Nadleh Whut’en First Nation: Lejac School inquiry (Ottawa, 2008); Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Can., Honoring the truth, reconciling the future … (Winnipeg, 2015). Jo-Anne Fiske, “Life at Lejac,” in Sa Ts’e: historical perspectives on northern British Columbia, ed. Thomas Thorner (Prince George, B.C., 1989), 235–72. Elizabeth Furniss, Victims of benevolence: the dark legacy of the Williams Lake Residential School (Vancouver, 2000). M.‑E. Kelm, Colonizing bodies: aboriginal health and healing in British Columbia, 1900–50 (Vancouver, 1998). J. S. Milloy, A national crime: the Canadian government and the residential school system, 1879–1986 (Winnipeg, 1999). Bridget Moran, Stoney Creek woman: the story of Mary John (Vancouver, 1988).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Brendan Plummer and James McKenzie, “WILLIE, ALLEN PATRICK,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed May 27, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/willie_allen_patrick_14E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/willie_allen_patrick_14E.html
Author of Article: Brendan Plummer and James McKenzie
Title of Article: WILLIE, ALLEN PATRICK
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: May 27, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BABBITT, JOHN – Volume XI (1881-1890)

né le 15 octobre 1845 à Fredericton

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

WILLIE, ALLEN (Allan, Alan) PATRICK, écolier, né le 28 mars 1928 dans la réserve amérindienne de Nautley (Fort Fraser), no 1, Colombie-Britannique, fils de Benoit Willie (décédé le 29 septembre 1929) et d’Amelia François ; décédé le 1er janvier 1937 sur le lac Fraser, Colombie-Britannique, et inhumé au cimetière de la réserve.

Allen Patrick Willie naquit au sein d’une petite communauté de Porteurs (Dakelh), dans la réserve de Nautley. Celle-ci était située au centre de la Colombie-Britannique, sur la rive nord du chenal Nautley (appelé par erreur rivière Stellako sur les cartes géographiques publiées entre 1930 et 1966), qui relie le lac Fraser à la rivière Nechako, à l’intérieur du territoire traditionnel de la bande amérindienne du lac Fraser. (Cette dernière serait connue sous le nom de Première Nation Nadleh Whut’en et de Première Nation Stellat’en en 1990.) À la fin du xixe siècle et au début du xxe, les habitants de la région avaient vécu des changements rapides sur le plan social, économique et culturel, provoqués par la construction, achevée en 1914, du Grand Trunk Pacific Railway. Subséquemment, plus la colonisation euro-américaine et l’extraction minière s’intensifièrent, plus il se créa d’emplois salariés. La subsistance et le commerce qui reposaient traditionnellement sur la chasse, la pêche et le trappage persistèrent, mais des règlements imposés par l’État poussèrent les Porteurs à abandonner l’exploitation collective des terres au profit d’un système de propriété familiale privée ; des pressions pour faire enregistrer des titres privés de concessions de piégeage dans les années 1920 et 1930 facilitèrent cette transition.

Parmi ces transformations, les efforts déployés afin d’assimiler les jeunes Autochtones à la culture coloniale eurent de lourdes conséquences sur la communauté des Porteurs. Duncan Campbell Scott*, surintendant général adjoint du ministère des Affaires indiennes, avait fait modifier la Loi sur les Indiens, en 1920, pour obliger leurs enfants à fréquenter un pensionnat et leur interdire d’intégrer d’autres établissements scolaires. De nombreux Porteurs perçurent les avantages qu’une éducation officielle pourrait apporter à leur peuple, en les aidant à s’adapter à une société en mutation, et ils réclamèrent la création d’externats locaux qui incorporeraient leurs coutumes et leur culture au programme d’apprentissage. Les Porteurs avaient d’abord demandé au gouvernement fédéral de leur accorder l’accès à l’éducation publique en 1867, requête qu’ils reformulèrent dans les années 1920, même si bien peu de leurs enfants allèrent à l’école avant 1922. Les pensionnats, financés par le gouvernement avec la participation des principales Églises du Canada [V. Émile Grouard ; George Holmes* ; Joseph Hugonard*], avaient pour mission d’assimiler les enfants à la société euro-canadienne en les coupant de l’influence de leur famille, de leur communauté et de leur culture. Dans ce contexte, et sous l’autorité des oblats de Marie-Immaculée, le Fraser Lake Indian Boarding School ouvrit ses portes le 17 janvier 1922, près du centre de la rive sud du lac. On le renomma Lejac Indian Residential School neuf ans plus tard.

Allen Patrick, dont la mère et le beau-père, Sylvester Patrick, avaient fréquenté une école de jour dirigée par des missionnaires, figure parmi les enfants autochtones – plus de 150 000 – inscrits au programme de pensionnats du Canada entre la fin des années 1880 et 1996. Il intégra l’établissement de Lejac en 1935, à l’âge de sept ans. Le récit de l’aînée Mary John, membre de la bande de Stoney Creek (Première Nation Saik’uz), entrée à la même école en 1922, laisse entrevoir le mode de vie traditionnel des Porteurs au début du xxe siècle. Dans son histoire, publiée en 1988, elle souligne l’importance du lien entre les enfants et leur famille, et de l’usage de la langue des Porteurs. Elle relate que l’on contraignait les élèves à effectuer des travaux ingrats et exigeants, et qu’on infligeait aux fugueurs de sévères châtiments corporels. En 1927, sa mère refusa de la renvoyer au pensionnat au terme d’une visite dans sa famille. Pendant l’enquête du ministère des Affaires indiennes subséquente à la mort d’Allen Patrick, le père Patrick McGrath estima que 90 % des parents s’opposaient à ce que leurs enfants fréquentent l’établissement. Même si bien des communautés autochtones avaient demandé que leurs enfants aient accès à l’éducation, de nombreuses personnes se retournèrent contre le système de pensionnats en raison des conditions auxquelles étaient assujettis les élèves [V. Frederick Ogilvie Loft]. Les parents cachaient souvent leurs enfants des autorités ; certains défièrent ouvertement les agents des Affaires indiennes et les policiers, et furent emprisonnés.

La situation à Lejac était comparable, en général, à celle des autres pensionnats. En 1907, Peter Henderson Bryce, médecin en chef du ministère des Affaires indiennes, qualifia de « criminelles » les conditions de vie qu’il avait observées dans ces écoles. Les travaux de chercheurs et les témoignages de milliers de survivants que la commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada recueillerait de 2008 à 2015, font état d’enseignants non formés, de nourriture non convenable, d’un manque de vêtements et d’hygiène, de surpeuplement, ainsi que d’un labeur harassant et incessant, en plus de violences physiques, sexuelles et spirituelles. En conséquence, la maladie et les décès étaient fréquents. Dans son rapport publié en juin 2015, la commission affirme avoir recensé 3 201 élèves autochtones morts dans les pensionnats, tout en soulignant qu’il y en eut probablement beaucoup plus, car les dossiers médicaux étaient régulièrement détruits. Des médecins, des agents des Affaires indiennes et des peuples des Premières Nations avaient souvent protesté contre ces conditions, et le ministère des Affaires indiennes connaissait les dysfonctionnements des pensionnats. La solitude, la maltraitance, les ruptures familiales forcées et la perte du sentiment d’appartenance à une communauté furent dévastatrices. En outre, on défendait aux élèves de parler leur propre langue, et de pratiquer des rites culturels et spirituels autochtones.

Un tel contexte poussa Allen Patrick à se sauver en janvier 1937. C’était sa deuxième tentative ; la première fois, on l’avait rattrapé, puis soumis à des châtiments corporels. L’évêque oblat Jean-Louis-Antoine Coudert ayant interdit à Allen Patrick et ses camarades Andrew Paul, John Michael (aussi connu sous les noms de Michel et de Jack), Maurice Justin (appelé également Justa Maurice) et Paul Alex de retourner dans leur communauté pour un rassemblement du Nouvel An, ces derniers s’enfuirent le 1er janvier, en fin d’après-midi. Paul Alex revint sur ses pas, mais les quatre autres garçons, légèrement vêtus, longèrent les rails du Grand Trunk Pacific Railway vers le sud-est avant de tenter de traverser le lac Fraser. Le mercure chuta, passant de -4 °F à -22 °F, et bien vite les enfants se retrouvèrent à marcher dans l’obscurité sur la glace recouverte de cinq ou six pouces de neige.

Des membres du personnel avaient remarqué l’absence des petits au souper le 1er janvier et en avaient avisé la direction de l’école. La disparition des enfants ne fut cependant signalée aux parents et aux habitants de la réserve de Nautley que le lendemain, à 5 heures du soir, après quoi on forma une équipe de recherche. On découvrit rapidement leurs corps gelés, gisant à un peu plus d’un demi-mille de la communauté, près des eaux libres de la décharge du chenal Nautley. L’enquête du coroner, menée le 3 janvier, établit que les garçons avaient succombé à l’épuisement et l’hypothermie peu avant minuit, et ne put déterminer qui était responsable du pensionnat le soir du drame. La tragédie fit les manchettes dans tout le pays, mais on ne porta aucune accusation. L’enquête du ministère des Affaires indiennes, en mars, conclut qu’une battue déclenchée dès l’annonce de leur absence aurait fort probablement permis de retrouver les garçons vivants.

Ce malheur au pensionnat de Lejac ne fut pas le seul. Près d’un an plus tard, jour pour jour, le rapport trimestriel de l’établissement fit état d’« une épidémie de fugueurs ». En Colombie-Britannique centrale et ailleurs, beaucoup d’élèves tentaient de s’enfuir. Par exemple, à l’hiver de 1902, un jeune Shuswap avait trouvé la mort en s’évadant du pensionnat oblat du lac Williams et, en 1920, après un pacte de suicide, huit garçons shuswaps avaient ingéré une plante vénéneuse, fatale pour l’un d’eux.

On en vint à considérer les pensionnats, à quelques exceptions près [V. William Morris Graham], comme des échecs pédagogiques et des véhicules d’oppression qui dévastèrent les peuples autochtones d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. Même s’il reste bien peu de traces de l’existence d’Allen Patrick Willie, l’histoire de sa mort prématurée symbolise les conditions déplorables qu’endurèrent tant de jeunes Autochtones. Celles-ci les traumatisèrent au point que bon nombre d’entre eux tentèrent d’y échapper au péril de leur vie.

Brendan Plummer et James McKenzie

BAC, R216-247-1.— Gazette (Montréal), 6 janv. 1937.— Globe, 5 janv. 1937.— Manitoba Free Press, 5 janv. 1937.— Vancouver Sun, 6 janv. 1937.— Canada, Commission des revendications des Indiens, Première Nation de Nadleh Whut’en : enquête sur l’école Lejac (Ottawa, 2008) ; Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, Honorer la vérité, réconcilier pour l’avenir [...] (Winnipeg, 2015).— Jo-Anne Fiske, « Life at Lejac », dans Sa Ts’e : historical perspectives on northern British Columbia, Thomas Thorner, édit. (Prince George, C.-B., 1989), 235–272.— Elizabeth Furniss, Victims of benevolence : the dark legacy of the Williams Lake Residential School (Vancouver, 2000).— M.-E. Kelm, Colonizing bodies : aboriginal health and healing in British Columbia, 1900–50 (Vancouver, 1998).— J. S. Milloy, A national crime : the Canadian government and the residential school system, 1879–1986 (Winnipeg, 1999).— Bridget Moran, Stoney Creek woman : the story of Mary John (Vancouver, 1988).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Brendan Plummer et James McKenzie, « WILLIE, ALLEN PATRICK », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 15 oct. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/willie_allen_patrick_14F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/willie_allen_patrick_14F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Brendan Plummer et James McKenzie
Titre de l'article:   WILLIE, ALLEN PATRICK
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   15 octobre 2018