DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LAFLAMME, JOSEPH-CLOVIS-KEMNER – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 19 Sept. 1849 in Saint-Anselme, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

WORRELL, CLARENDON LAMB, Church of England clergyman, educator, and archbishop; b. 20 July 1853 in Smiths Falls, Upper Canada, younger son of the Reverend John Bell Worrell and Elizabeth Jane Lamb; m. first 3 Jan. 1877 Charlotte Ann Ward (d. 23 Aug. 1915) in Stanhope, Que., and they had one son and three daughters; m. secondly 18 Oct. 1917 Annie Head Abbott in Halifax; they had no children; d. there 10 Aug. 1934.

Clare Worrell, as he was known, attended school in Smiths Falls, where his father was the Church of England rector, before entering Trinity College School, Port Hope, in 1870. His six months there and three years at Trinity College, Toronto, were marked by a number of academic awards. He received his ba with a first class in mathematics and a fourth class in classics in 1873. He would be awarded an ma from Trinity in 1883 and several honorary degrees later in his career.

Worrell considered following his brother, John Austin Worrell, into law. Instead he became a teacher, first as mathematics master at Bishop’s College School in Lennoxville (Sherbrooke), Que., and then at Hellmuth College in London, Ont., under Arthur Sweatman*; he later taught at Wentworth School in Hamilton and at Cobourg Collegiate Institute. By all accounts Worrell was a successful educator: “Quiet and firm as a disciplinarian, one with whom nobody would trifle or take a liberty,” was how Sweatman described him.

He returned to Trinity in 1878 to study divinity and was ordained deacon in 1881; he subsequently held the position of curate at Christ Church, Gananoque, and then at Holy Trinity Church, Brockville; he was also headmaster or principal of the local high schools. After being priested in 1884, Worrell served as rector of Williamsburg and Morrisburg, before being made professor of English literature at the Royal Military College of Canada in Kingston and rector of St Mark’s, Barriefield, in 1891. He would assume the rectorship of St Luke’s, Kingston, in 1903.

Clare Worrell’s rise to church leadership was marked by his appointment in 1896 as an examining chaplain to Archbishop John Travers Lewis* of Ontario and his nomination that year for bishop of Algoma, when he finished third on the ballot. In 1900 he was the preferred candidate of a large majority of the laity for coadjutor bishop of Ontario and missed being selected by one clerical vote [see William Lennox Mills*]. He was appointed archdeacon of Ontario in 1901 and elected prolocutor of the lower house of the synod of the ecclesiastical province of Canada three years later.

Worrell became sixth bishop of Nova Scotia following a contentious election in 1904 to replace Frederick Courtney, who had resigned to take up the rectorship of St James’ Church in New York City. After 11 ballots, the choice had fallen upon Henry John Cody*, rector of St Paul’s, Toronto, and a leading evangelical, who immediately declined. The synod then adjourned for two months after establishing a committee of laity and clergy to bring forward names to be considered. Worrell, a theological moderate, was proposed, along with the evangelical Lewis Norman Tucker, general secretary of the Missionary Society of the Church of England in Canada, and was elected after three further ballots on 31 August. His consecration took place in Christ Church Cathedral, Montreal, on 18 October.

Although not an outstanding preacher like his predecessor, Worrell had a commanding presence and brought energy, decisiveness, and administrative ability to the office. He recognized that he must immediately address the abysmal stipends received by most of his clergy and the needs of poorer parishes. In 1906 responsibility for financial support for parishes and clergy within the diocese, as well as missions elsewhere, was consolidated in the hands of a diocesan mission board, but monetary problems remained a preoccupation throughout Worrell’s episcopate.

So too did the situation at King’s College, Windsor. As the only Anglican college in the Maritimes, King’s was crucial for clerical formation. However, its tiny enrolment and poor financial condition made survival uncertain. Worrell tried to broaden the appeal of education at King’s for evangelicals, who looked with suspicion upon the predominance of high churchmen in the divinity school. This attempt met with only limited success, despite the bishop’s unceasing emphasis upon the need for tolerance between the high and low wings of the church.

Enrolment plummeted during World War I, and by 1918 there were only 39 students; fire destroyed the college’s main building two years later. In 1922 an endowment from the Carnegie Corporation of New York, offered in the hope of creating an academic federation in the Maritimes [see George Frederick Pearson] modelled on the University of Toronto, saved King’s from extinction. The condition was that King’s move to Halifax to associate with Dalhousie University. Worrell had long been a believer in university federation; the affiliation of King’s with Dalhousie, formed in 1923, remains one of his lasting accomplishments.

Perhaps the greatest achievement of Worrell’s episcopate was the completion of All Saints’ Cathedral in Halifax. This had been the dream of the fourth bishop, Hibbert Binney*, but plans had stalled after his death. The destruction by fire of St Luke’s Pro-Cathedral in December 1905 made action imperative, and Worrell committed himself totally to the project. Within a year he had arranged for the purchase of a site and hired the New York architectural firm of Cram, Goodhue, and Ferguson to design an imposing neo-Gothic structure. At the recommendation of Percy Erskine Nobbs* of McGill University, the American company’s proposals were chosen over those of local architect William Critchlow Harris*, though Harris was retained to superintend the project. Samuel Manners Brookfield* served as general contractor. Despite financial and construction difficulties, compounded by friction between the bishop and the architect, Bertram Grosvenor Goodhue, All Saints’ opened on 3 Sept. 1910 as the centrepiece of a Canadian church congress, presided over by Worrell, on the occasion of the bicentenary of the Church of England in Canada. That the building was completed on time owed much to the bishop’s force of will and determination.

He responded to World War I with fervent patriotism, seeing at issue not only the British empire but civilization itself. In his charge to the synod of Nova Scotia in 1917, he declared his support for the enfranchisement of women, in recognition of “their noble conduct and self-sacrificing effort for the good of humanity and support of the Empire.” The Halifax explosion on 6 December that year did significant damage to churches in both Halifax and Dartmouth, including his beloved cathedral. Attempts to obtain assistance for repairs from Anglicans elsewhere in Canada at a time when the country was exhausted by war had disappointing results. In 1919 Worrell was elected bishop of Bermuda, a diocese traditionally linked to Atlantic Canada, and he did not finally decline the position until 1924; in the interim, at the invitation of the archbishop of Canterbury, he acted as episcopal overseer and made two visits to the colony.

Worrell had been elected metropolitan of the ecclesiastical province of Canada in 1915, with the title of archbishop of Nova Scotia; he became acting primate of Canada in 1930, and in September the following year he was chosen primate. Eleven months later Canadian Anglicanism confronted the gravest financial crisis in its history when the church discovered that the endowments of the province of Rupert’s Land had been misappropriated by a leading Winnipeg lawyer, John Alexander Machray, who was also chancellor of the diocese of Rupert’s Land. The executive council of the General Synod was informed on 14 Sept. 1932 that the losses totalled approximately $759,000. Worrell responded, “The welfare and honour of the Church require that the work be maintained and that the lost endowments be replaced.” A campaign was launched to replace the endowments, and Worrell worked closely with its director, Canon Sydney Gould. Despite his advanced age, he tirelessly toured the country to rally support. By the time of his death in 1934 the endeavour was on the way to meeting its objective.

A prominent freemason, Worrell was also active in the Lord’s Day Alliance and served as Nova Scotia president of the Moral and Social Reform Council of Canada. He did not pretend to be a theologian, treating doctrinal issues with the same common sense that guided him as an administrator. In his eulogy at Worrell’s funeral, Bishop John Andrew Richardson of Fredericton observed, “His was a faith that was child-like in its simplicity, a devotion to duty that never faltered, an industry that never tired, a courage that was never dismayed.”

Henry Roper

Anglican Church of Can., Diocese of N.S. and P.E.I. Arch. (Halifax), MG 1, ser.1, no.6 (Archbishop Clarendon Lamb Worrell papers); General Synod Arch. (Toronto), GS75-7A (Executive Council, General Synod), Minutes, 14 Sept. 1932; Restoration Fund, “Report,” 22 Sept. 1933. LAC, R233-37-6, Kingston, Ont., Ward C-2: 4. NSA, Churches, All Saints’ Cathedral (Halifax), RBMB, no.11401 (mfm.); MG 1, vol.2457 (H. B. Wainwright fonds), no.3; “Nova Scotia hist. vital statistics,” Halifax County, 1934: www.novascotiagenealogy.com (consulted 27 June 2013). Canadian Churchman (Toronto), 14 June 1900, 24 Sept. 1931, 19 Oct. 1933. Evening Mail (Halifax), 24 Aug. 1915. Globe, 8 Jan. 1877, 11 Aug. 1934. Halifax Herald, 11 Aug. 1934. Anglican Church of Can., Diocese of N.S., Year book (Halifax, 1903/4, 1906/7; copies at the Diocese of N.S. and P.E.I. Arch., C-1-2). Jim Blanchard, “The Machray scandal,” Manitoba Hist. (Winnipeg), no.33 (spring 1997): 27–37. Church of Eng. in Can., Diocese of Toronto, Synod, Journal, 1927; Eccl. Prov. of Can., Synod, Journal of the proc. (Hamilton, Ont.), 1920. Crockford’s clerical directory  (London), 1915. Leaders of the Canadian church, ed. W. B. Heeney (3 ser., Toronto, 1918–43), ser.3: 37–51, 87–116, 161–73. T. R. Millman and A. R. Kelley, Atlantic Canada to 1900: a history of the Anglican Church (Toronto, 1983). William Naftel, “An American in Halifax: Bertram Grosvenor Goodhue and the design and construction of All Saints Cathedral,” Royal N.S. Hist. Soc., Journal (Halifax), 9 (2006): 1–32. A Past Master of the Lodge [R. V. Harris], The history of Saint Andrew’s Lodge no.1, G. R. N. S., A. F. & A. M., 1750–1920 (Halifax, 1920). Henry Roper, “Evangelical–Tractarian conflict over divinity education at the University of King’s College,” Canadian Church Hist. Soc., Journal (Toronto), 36 (1994): 37–57. O. R. Rowley et al., The Anglican episcopate of Canada and Newfoundland (2v., Milwaukee, Wis., and Toronto, 1928–61). H. R. S. Ryan, Aspects of constitutional history: the General Synod of the Anglican Church of Canada (Toronto, 1993). D. M. Schurman, A bishop and his people: John Travers Lewis and the Anglican diocese of Ontario, 1862–1902 (Kingston, 1991). R. C. Tuck, Gothic dreams: the life and times of a Canadian architect, William Critchlow Harris, 1854–1913 (Toronto, 1978).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Henry Roper, “WORRELL, CLARENDON LAMB,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 19, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/worrell_clarendon_lamb_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/worrell_clarendon_lamb_16E.html
Author of Article: Henry Roper
Title of Article: WORRELL, CLARENDON LAMB
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: September 19, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

WORRELL, CLARENDON LAMB, ministre de l’Église d’Angleterre, éducateur et archevêque, né le 20 juillet 1853 à Smiths Falls, Haut-Canada, fils cadet du révérend John Bell Worrell et d’Elizabeth Jane Lamb ; le 3 janvier 1877, il épousa à Stanhope, Québec, Charlotte Ann Ward (décédée le 23 août 1915), et ils eurent un fils et trois filles, puis le 18 octobre 1917, à Halifax, Annie Head Abbott, et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédé le 10 août 1934 à Halifax.

Clarendon Lamb Worrell, surnommé Clare, étudia à Smiths Falls, où son père était le rector de l’Église d’Angleterre, avant d’entrer à la Trinity College School de Port Hope en 1870. Au cours des six mois qu’il passa dans cet établissement et de ses trois années au Trinity College de Toronto, il reçut de nombreuses récompenses scolaires. En 1873, il obtint sa licence avec mention très bien en mathématiques et mention bien en études classiques. Le Trinity College lui conférerait une maîtrise ès arts en 1883 et il recevrait plusieurs distinctions honorifiques plus tard dans sa carrière.

Worrell envisagea de suivre les traces de son frère, John Austin Worrell, en droit. Il devint plutôt professeur, d’abord de mathématiques, à la Bishop’s College School de Lennoxville (Sherbrooke), au Québec, puis au Hellmuth College de London, en Ontario, sous la direction d’Arthur Sweatman* ; ensuite, il enseigna à la Wentworth School de Hamilton et au Cobourg Collegiate Institute. Au dire de tous, Worrell était un éducateur réputé. Sweatman le décrivit ainsi : « Calme et ferme en matière de discipline, [c’était] quelqu’un avec qui personne n’aurait osé plaisanter ni se permettre des libertés. »

Worrell retourna au Trinity College en 1878 pour étudier la théologie et fut ordonné diacre en 1881 ; il occupa ensuite les fonctions de vicaire de l’église Christ Church à Gananoque, puis de l’église Holy Trinity de Brockville. Il dirigea également les écoles secondaires locales. Après avoir été ordonné prêtre en 1884, Worrell fut rector de Williamsburg et de Morrisburg, avant d’être engagé comme professeur de littérature anglaise au Royal Military College of Canada, à Kingston, et rector de l’église St Mark, à Barriefield, en 1891. Il assumerait les fonctions de rector de l’église St Luke, à Kingston, en 1903.

L’ascension de Worrell dans la direction des affaires de l’Église fut marquée par sa désignation en 1896 au poste de conseiller en théologie auprès de l’archevêque de l’Ontario John Travers Lewis* et par sa mise en nomination, la même année, à la fonction d’évêque d’Algoma (il termina troisième au scrutin). En 1900, il était le candidat préféré de la grande majorité des laïques pour le poste d’évêque coadjuteur de l’Ontario et ne perdit que par une voix du clergé [V. William Lennox Mills*]. Il fut nommé archidiacre de l’Ontario en 1901 et, trois ans plus tard, élu président des délégués de la chambre basse du synode pour la province ecclésiastique du Canada.

Worrell devint le sixième évêque de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la suite d’une élection controversée, en 1904, pour remplacer Frederick Courtney, qui avait démissionné afin d’assumer les fonctions de rector de l’église St James de New York. Après 11 tours de scrutin, le choix s’était porté sur Henry John Cody*, rector de l’église St Paul, à Toronto, et ministre évangélique de premier plan, qui refusa le poste immédiatement. Le synode ajourna alors ses travaux pendant deux mois après avoir formé un comité mixte de laïques et de membres du clergé pour suggérer des noms de candidats possibles. On proposa Worrell, théologien modéré, ainsi que Lewis Norman Tucker, ministre évangélique et secrétaire général de la Société des missions de l’Église anglicane en Canada ; Worrell fut élu le 31 août après trois autres tours de scrutin. Sa consécration eut lieu à la cathédrale Christ Church de Montréal le 18 octobre.

Sans être un prédicateur remarquable comme son prédécesseur, Worrell avait une présence imposante et remplissait ses fonctions avec énergie, esprit de décision et compétence administrative. Il reconnut qu’il devait s’attaquer immédiatement à la question de la rémunération misérable de la plupart des membres du clergé et à celle des besoins des paroisses moins riches. En 1906, la responsabilité du soutien financier des paroisses et du clergé au sein du diocèse ainsi que des missions à l’extérieur du diocèse fut consolidée entre les mains d’un conseil diocésain des missions, mais les problèmes pécuniaires demeurèrent une préoccupation pendant tout l’épiscopat de Worrell.

La situation au King’s College de Windsor était tout aussi préoccupante. En tant que seul établissement anglican des Maritimes, il était crucial pour la formation du clergé. Cependant, le faible taux d’inscriptions et une condition financière précaire compromettaient sa survie. Worrell tenta de rendre l’éducation plus attrayante pour les évangéliques, qui se méfiaient de la prédominance de membres de la Haute Église dans l’école de théologie. Cette tentative se solda par un succès mitigé, malgré l’insistance de l’évêque sur le besoin de tolérance entre les tenants de la Haute et de la Basse Église.

Le nombre d’inscriptions dégringola pendant la Première Guerre mondiale et, en 1918, il n’y avait plus que 39 étudiants ; un incendie détruisit l’édifice principal du collège deux ans plus tard. Le collège fut sauvé de la disparition grâce à une dotation offerte en 1922 par la Carnegie Corporation of New York, dans l’espoir de créer une fédération universitaire dans les Maritimes [V. George Frederick Pearson] sur le modèle de la University of Toronto. La dotation était toutefois conditionnelle au transfert du King’s College à Halifax pour l’affilier à la Dalhousie University. Worrell était depuis longtemps acquis à l’idée d’une fédération universitaire ; l’affiliation du collège à la Dalhousie University en 1923 constitue l’une de ses réussites durables.

La réalisation majeure de l’épiscopat de Worrell fut peut-être la fin de la construction de la cathédrale All Saints à Halifax. Cette entreprise avait été le rêve du quatrième évêque, Hibbert Binney*, mais les plans avaient été mis en veilleuse après sa mort. En décembre 1905, la destruction par le feu de l’église St Luke, qui tenait lieu de cathédrale, avait rendu le projet urgent, et Worrell s’y consacra corps et âme. En un an, il avait entrepris des démarches pour acheter un terrain et engager la firme d’architectes new-yorkaise Cram, Goodhue and Ferguson pour concevoir une imposante structure néogothique. Sur la recommandation de Percy Erskine Nobbs* de la McGill University, les propositions de la société américaine eurent préséance sur celles de l’architecte local, William Critchlow Harris* ; les services de ce dernier furent toutefois retenus pour la supervision du projet. Samuel Manners Brookfield* fut engagé en qualité d’entrepreneur général. Malgré des difficultés liées aux finances et à la construction, aggravées par des différends entre l’évêque et l’architecte Bertram Grosvenor Goodhue, la cathédrale All Saints ouvrit ses portes le 3 septembre 1910, point d’orgue d’un congrès ecclésiastique canadien présidé par Worrell et tenu à l’occasion du bicentenaire de l’Église d’Angleterre au Canada. Si l’édifice fut terminé à temps, on le doit en grande partie à la volonté de fer et à la détermination de l’évêque.

Worrell réagit à la Première Guerre mondiale par un fervent patriotisme, y voyant une menace non seulement pour l’Empire britannique, mais aussi pour la civilisation elle-même. En 1917, dans son discours d’ouverture au synode de la Nouvelle-Écosse, il se déclara favorable au droit de vote pour les femmes, en reconnaissance de « leur noble conduite et de leur esprit de sacrifice pour le bien de l’humanité et le soutien de l’Empire ». L’explosion de Halifax, survenue le 6 décembre de cette année-là, endommagea considérablement les églises à Halifax et à Dartmouth, dont sa cathédrale bien-aimée. À une époque où le pays était épuisé par la guerre, les tentatives d’obtenir de l’aide auprès d’anglicans d’autres régions du Canada pour effectuer les réparations donnèrent des résultats décevants. En 1919, Worrell fut élu évêque des Bermudes, diocèse traditionnellement lié au Canada atlantique, mais il ne refusa définitivement le poste qu’en 1924 ; dans l’intérim, à l’invitation de l’archevêque de Cantorbéry, il agit à titre d’évêque superviseur et se rendit deux fois dans la colonie.

Worrell avait été élu métropolitain de la province ecclésiastique du Canada en 1915, avec le titre d’archevêque de la Nouvelle-Écosse ; il devint primat suppléant du Canada en 1930 et, en septembre de l’année suivante, il fut élu primat. Onze mois plus tard, l’anglicanisme canadien connut la crise financière la plus grave de son histoire lorsqu’on découvrit que les dotations de la province de la terre de Rupert avaient été détournées par un éminent avocat de Winnipeg, John Alexander Machray, également chancelier du diocèse de la terre de Rupert. Le 14 septembre 1932, le conseil de direction du synode général apprit que les pertes s’élevaient à environ 759 000 $. Worrell répondit : « Le bien et l’honneur de l’Église exigent que l’œuvre soit poursuivie et que les dotations perdues soient remplacées. » Une campagne pour recouvrer les dotations fut lancée ; le chanoine Sydney Gould la dirigea et Worrell travailla en étroite collaboration avec lui. Pour chercher des appuis, Worrell parcourut le pays, infatigable malgré son âge avancé. À son décès, en 1934, l’entreprise était en voie d’atteindre ses objectifs.

Franc-maçon notable, Clarendon Lamb Worrell était également actif au sein de la Lord’s Day Alliance et assuma la présidence du Moral and Social Reform Council of Canada pour la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il ne prétendait pas être théologien et traitait les questions de doctrine avec le même bon sens qui le guidait dans ses fonctions d’administrateur. Dans l’éloge qu’il rendit aux funérailles de Worrell, l’évêque de Fredericton, John Andrew Richardson, déclara : « Il possédait une foi simple d’enfant, un dévouement qui jamais ne fléchit, une énergie qui jamais ne déclina, un courage qui jamais ne faiblit. »

Henry Roper

BAC, R233-37-6, Kingston, Ontario, Ward C-2 : 4.— Église anglicane du Canada, Diocese of N.S. and P.E.I. Arch. (Halifax), MG 1, ser. 1, no 6 (Archbishop Clarendon Lamb Worrell papers) ; General Synod Arch. (Toronto), GS75-7A (Executive Council, General Synod), Minutes, 14 sept. 1932 ; Restoration Fund, « Report », 22 sept. 1933.— NSA, Churches, All Saints’ Cathedral (Halifax), RBMS, no 11401 (mfm) ; MG 1, vol. 2457 (H. B. Wainwright fonds), no 3 ; « Nova Scotia hist. vital statistics », Halifax County, 1934 : www.novascotiagenealogy.com (consulté le 27 juin 2013).— Canadian Churchman (Toronto), 14 juin 1900, 24 sept. 1931, 19 oct. 1933.— Evening Mail (Halifax), 24 août 1915.— Globe, 8 janv. 1877, 11 août 1934.— Halifax Herald, 11 août 1934.— Jim Blanchard, « The Machray scandal », Manitoba Hist. (Winnipeg), no 33 (printemps 1997) : 27–37.— Crockford’s clerical directory […] (Londres), 1915.— Église anglicane du Canada, Diocese of N.S., Year book (Halifax, 1903–1904, 1906–1907 ; exemplaires au Diocese of N.S. and P.E.I. Arch., C-1-2).— Église d’Angleterre au Canada, Diocese of Toronto, Synod, Journal, 1927 ; Prov. ecclésiastique du Canada, Synode, Journal of the proc. (Hamilton, Ontario), 1920.— Leaders of the Canadian church, W. B. Heeney, édit. (3 sér., Toronto, 1918–1943), 3e sér. : 37–51, 87–116, 161–173.— T. R. Millman et A. R. Kelley, Atlantic Canada to 1900 : a history of the Anglican Church (Toronto, 1983).— William Naftel, « An American in Halifax : Bertram Grosvenor Goodhue and the design and construction of All Saints Cathedral », Royal N.S. Hist. Soc., Journal (Halifax), 9 (2006) : 1–32.— A Past Master of the Lodge [R. V. Harris], The history of Saint Andrew’s Lodge no.1, G. R. N. S., A. F. & A. M., 1750–1920 (Halifax, 1920).— Henry Roper, « Evangelical–Tractarian conflict over divinity education at the University of King’s College », Canadian Church Hist. Soc., Journal (Toronto), 36 (1994) : 37–57.— O. R. Rowley et al., The Anglican episcopate of Canada and Newfoundland (2 vol., Milwaukee, Wis., et Toronto, 1928–1961).— H. R. S. Ryan, Aspects of constitutional history : the General Synod of the Anglican Church of Canada (Toronto, 1993).— D. M. Schurman, A bishop and his people : John Travers Lewis and the Anglican diocese of Ontario, 1862–1902 (Kingston, 1991).— R. C. Tuck, Gothic dreams : the life and times of a Canadian architect, William Critchlow Harris, 1854–1913 (Toronto, 1978).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Henry Roper, « WORRELL, CLARENDON LAMB », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 11 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/worrell_clarendon_lamb_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/worrell_clarendon_lamb_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Henry Roper
Titre de l'article:   WORRELL, CLARENDON LAMB
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   11 décembre 2017