DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Original title:  Laurence Coughlan

Source: Link

COUGHLAN, LAURENCE, Methodist preacher, Church of England clergyman, and local official; founder of Methodism in Newfoundland; probably b. at Drummersnave (Drumsna, Republic of Ireland); d. probably in 1784 in London, England.

Laurence Coughlan was reared a Roman Catholic, but converted to Methodism at Drummersnave in 1753. Although he had, according to John Wesley, “no learning at all,” in 1755 he was recruited as an itinerant preacher and became known for his zeal and persistence. Two years later he was transferred to England, serving first at Whitehaven and later at Colchester, where he had conspicuous success. In 1760 he returned to Ireland for a period and worked in Waterford, a port through which great numbers of Irish travelled to Newfoundland. By 1763 Coughlan had become one of Wesley’s most valued helpers, but in 1764, when Coughlan had himself ordained by Erasmus, a Greek Orthodox bishop now thought to have been an impostor, Wesley was angered because he did not think the uneducated Coughlan worthy of the honour. Wesley claimed in 1768 that Coughlan had brought another “blot” upon himself when he “married and ruined” an unnamed woman. The ruin alluded to was evidently financial. There may also have been theological differences between the two men. In any event, by 1765 Coughlan’s usefulness to Wesley as a preacher was at an end.

Since there is confusion in many sources about the date of Coughlan’s first arrival in Newfoundland and the circumstances of his formal ordination as a Church of England priest, it is important that the facts be clearly stated. On 22 Nov. 1765 the people of Harbour Grace, Mosquito, and Carbonear authorized George Davis, a London merchant who was probably about to leave Newfoundland for the winter, “to procure and agree with a Protestant Minister of the Gospel, to come and reside among them.” The following April Davis informed the Earl of Dartmouth, president of the Board of Trade, that Coughlan seemed “a proper Person” to serve as minister “if he could obtain Holy Orders,” and urged Dartmouth to “use your endeavours to get him ordained.” Coughlan was made deacon on 25 April, “licensed to perform the ministerial office in the province of Newfoundland” the following day, and then ordained priest on the 27th. Since Dartmouth’s letter of recommendation had indicated that a ship was waiting for Coughlan at Poole “& will sail as soon as he gets thither,” the date of Coughlan’s arrival in Newfoundland was therefore 1766, probably in June. On 19 December of the same year Coughlan himself appeared before the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel and presented a petition from the people of Harbour Grace and vicinity asking that he be appointed the society’s missionary and given an annual stipend. By that date he had already resided “some Time” among the people as “their Minister.” The petition was granted, and Coughlan returned to Harbour Grace in September 1767. He was the first Church of England priest to serve in Conception Bay and the third then resident in Newfoundland [see James Balfour* and Edward Langman]. Accompanying Coughlan during most of his stay on the island were his wife, who was also an ardent Methodist, and his daughter Betsey.

The record of Coughlan’s ministry shows that he led a kind of double religious life. As a Church of England priest he administered the sacraments to a growing number of communicants, held regular services in Harbour Grace and, after 1768, in Carbonear, and on occasion preached in Irish to Irish fishermen to make them see “the Errors of Popery.” In February 1768 he opened a school and despite difficulties kept it functioning during his ministry. By 1772 Coughlan could justly claim that he had served the SPG well. This appearance of success as Church of England clergyman, however, cloaked his real Methodist ambition, which was to be an instrument of evangelical conversion among the people. In this effort he met with no success for nearly three years, though he laboured “Night and Day,” preaching “from house to house” in the manner favoured by Wesley. At length he grew discouraged and determined not to stay “in such a poor desolate Land,” but his dogged efforts eventually bore fruit and a Methodist “awakening” began and spread “like fire. ”

As the revival grew, Coughlan began to encounter opposition from his more orthodox parishioners. His Methodist theology now, it seems, began to appear more openly in sermons to his regular congregation, and he urged its members to attend the private meetings he was organizing throughout his parish. In 1770 Coughlan’s promised stipend from his parishioners was not forthcoming, and in July Governor John Byron felt it necessary to order them to live up to their pledge; at the same time he appointed Coughlan a justice of the peace for Conception Bay. In November the stipend was still unpaid.

The following year certain incidents took place which brought Coughlan and some leading residents of Harbour Grace into open conflict. In February, Coughlan publicly denounced the merchant Hugh Roberts for adultery and advised his parishioners to avoid dealing with Roberts in future; five months later, he tried physically to prevent some of Roberts’ labourers from working on a Sunday. As a result of these two episodes, Roberts and 12 other Harbour Grace merchants petitioned Byron that Coughlan be “silenc’d or remov’d” as a “very unfitt Person for a Justice of the Peace as well as a Missionary, being Ignorant of the Laws of his Country & a Person of no Education”; they also alleged that as a magistrate Coughlan was guilty of accepting bribes. Although, according to Coughlan’s account of the subsequent inquiry, all his enemies “were found Liars,” his commission as justice was revoked by Byron on 25 October because of his “many unwarrantable proceedings to the great obstruction & discouragement of the trade & fishery.”

The antagonism which Coughlan aroused in the merchants contrasts strikingly with the affection and loyalty he inspired in the ordinary people who joined his movement. That movement continued to grow during his stay in Newfoundland, spreading northward from Carbonear to Blackhead, where a new church capable of holding 400 people had been built in the winter of 1768–69. The establishing of Methodist societies beyond Harbour Grace indicated Coughlan’s desire to “travel up and down in this land” to spread his message. If he could have carried on in this fashion, he told Wesley in 1772, he would have stayed in Newfoundland, “but as I cannot, except by water, in small boats, I am not able to stand it.” It was not only his “dreadful Apprehensions” of the sea, however, which drove him from the island. The enmity of the merchants had continued unabated, and in May 1772 a quarrel broke out between Coughlan and Nicholas Fiott, one of the 13 petitioners of the previous year. Coughlan flatly refused to allow Fiott to stand as godfather of two children, accusing the merchant of leading “an immoral life.” A heated confrontation ensued during a Sunday church service, but Coughlan stood his ground and the children were not baptized. In October Fiott formally complained to Governor Molyneux Shuldham, who in turn asked the SPG to remove their missionary from Harbour Grace. The same month Coughlan himself asked the society for permission to return to England, and he left in October 1773. Two months later he appeared before the SPG in London and resigned his mission.

Coughlan’s career from 1773 to his death is obscure. A letter to Wesley in 1772 seems to hint that he wished to return to the Methodist itinerancy in Britain, but these tentative overtures were not encouraged. In 1776 he was minister of Cumberland Street Chapel, London. On 25 Feb. 1785, Wesley wrote to John Stretton, one of Coughlan’s followers in Newfoundland, that Coughlan had died some time previously, “utterly broken in pieces.”

Laurence Coughlan had begun a movement that was to transform religious and social life in Conception Bay. To judge from reports by later missionaries, his own accounts of his success as a preacher cannot be doubted. After he left Newfoundland, devoted followers like Stretton, Thomas Pottle, and Arthur Thomey carried on his work, and the Methodist denomination which he established in the populous district of Conception Bay has flourished to this day. Though a fiery, fastidious, and perhaps irascible man, it is evident that Coughlan had great sympathy for the people he served and a good understanding of their character. His work, An account of the work of God in Newfoundland . . . , published in London in 1776, displays his charismatic and sympathetic personality.

Patrick O’Flaherty

Laurence Coughlan, An account of the work of God in Newfoundland, in series of letters (London, 1776), 8–11, 18–19, 50ff.

Lambeth Palace Library (London), Fulham papers. PANL, GN2/1, 4, 5; N. C. Crewe coll., dossier on Methodism in Newfoundland. USPG, A; B, 6, pp.168–69; C/CAN/Nfl., 1, pp.58–62; Journal of SPG, 17–21. Arminian Magazine (London), VIII (1785), 490–92. SPG [Annual report] (London), 1767–76. [John Wesley], The letters of the RevJohn Wesley, ed. John Telford (8v., London, 1931; repr. [1960]), IV, 56, 204, 289–90; V, 101–3, 109; VII, 260. C. H. Crookshank, History of Methodism in Ireland (3v., Belfast and London, 1885–88), I, 100–1, 107, 149. Jacob Parsons, “The origin and growth of Newfoundland Methodism, 1765–1855” (unpublished ma thesis, Memorial University of Nfld., St John’s 1964), 17, 148–49. Warwick Smith, “Rev. Laurence Coughlan” (paper presented to the Nfld. Hist. Soc., St John’s, 20 March 1942).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Patrick O’Flaherty, “COUGHLAN, LAURENCE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 4, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed August 1, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/coughlan_laurence_4E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/coughlan_laurence_4E.html
Author of Article: Patrick O’Flaherty
Title of Article: COUGHLAN, LAURENCE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 4
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1979
Year of revision: 1979
Access Date: August 1, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Titre original :  Laurence Coughlan

Provenance : Lien

COUGHLAN, LAURENCE, prédicateur méthodiste, prêtre de l’Église d’Angleterre et fonctionnaire local, fondateur du méthodisme à Terre-Neuve, né probablement à Drummersnave (Drumsna, République d’Irlande), décédé vraisemblablement à Londres en 1784.

Laurence Coughlan fut élevé dans la religion catholique, mais se convertit au méthodisme à Drummersnave en 1753. Bien qu’il n’eût « aucune instruction » au dire de John Wesley, fondateur de la société protestante des méthodistes, il fut recruté comme prédicateur itinérant en 1755 et se fit connaître par son zèle et sa persévérance. Deux ans plus tard, il fut envoyé en Angleterre ; il œuvra d’abord à Whitehaven puis à Colchester où il obtint un succès remarquable. En 1760, il revint passer un certain temps en Irlande et il servit à Waterford, un port de mer où de nombreux Irlandais s’embarquaient pour Terre-Neuve. En 1763, Coughlan était devenu l’un des plus précieux assistants de Wesley, mais lorsqu’il se fit ordonner prêtre en 1764 par Erasmus, un évêque de l’Église orthodoxe grecque actuellement considéré comme un imposteur, Wesley s’irrita de ce que cet honneur eût été fait à Coughlan qui n’en était pas digne, selon lui, en raison de son. manque d’éducation. En 1768, Wesley déclara que Coughlan avait encore « terni » sa propre réputation « en épousant et en ruinant » une femme dont il tait le nom. La ruine à laquelle il faisait allusion était évidemment d’ordre financier. Il se peut que les deux hommes aient été séparés, en outre, par des divergences théologiques. Quoi qu’il en soit, en 1765, Coughlan n’était plus utile pour Wesley comme prédicateur.

Comme un grand nombre de documents contiennent des contradictions en ce qui concerne la date de l’arrivée de Coughlan à Terre-Neuve et les circonstances de son ordination à la dignité de prêtre de l’Église d’Angleterre, il importe d’établir clairement les faits. Le 22 novembre 1765, les habitants de Harbour Grace, de Mosquito et de Carbonear autorisèrent George Davis, un marchand de Londres qui s’apprêtait probablement à quitter Terre-Neuve pour l’hiver, à « trouver et s’entendre avec un ministre protestant de l’évangile, afin qu’il vienne et réside parmi eux ». En avril de l’année suivante, Davis informa le comte de Dartmouth, président du Board of Trade, que Coughlan semblait « une personne convenable » pour être ministre « s’il pouvait recevoir les ordres sacrés », et il pria Dartmouth de « s’efforcer de le faire ordonner ». Coughlan fut élevé au diaconat le 25 avril, « autorisé à exercer le ministère dans la province de Terre-Neuve » le lendemain, et ordonné prêtre le 27 de ce mois. Puisque la lettre de recommandation de Dartmouth indiquait qu’un navire attendait Coughlan à Poole « et [allait] appareiller aussitôt qu’il [serait] là », Coughlan arriva donc à Terre-Neuve en 1766, probablement en juin. Le 19 décembre de la même année, Coughlan se présenta devant la Society for the Propagation of the Gospel avec une pétition des gens de Harbour Grace et des environs demandant qu’il fût désigné comme missionnaire de cette société et qu’il reçût un traitement annuel. À cette date, il demeurait avec eux depuis « quelque temps » déjà, étant « leur ministre ». La pétition fut agréée, et Coughlan retourna à Harbour Grace en septembre 1767. Il était le premier prêtre de l’Église d’Angleterre à œuvrer dans la baie de la Conception et le troisième à s’établir dans l’île de Terre-Neuve [V. James Balfour* ; Edward Langman]. Son épouse, qui était elle aussi une fervente méthodiste, et sa fille Betsey demeurèrent avec lui pendant la plus grande partie de son séjour dans l’île.

Les registres montrent que Coughlan menait en quelque sorte une double vie sur le plan religieux. Comme prêtre de l’Église d’Angleterre, il administrait les sacrements à un nombre croissant de fidèles, il célébrait régulièrement les offices à Harbour Grace et, après 1768, à Carbonear, et, de temps en temps, il prêchait aux pêcheurs irlandais dans leur langue pour les instruire des « erreurs du papisme ». En février 1768, il ouvrit une école et, malgré les difficultés, il en assura la bonne marche durant la période où il exerça son ministère. En 1772, Coughlan pouvait affirmer avec raison qu’il avait bien servi la Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. Mais derrière cette réussite apparente, à laquelle il était parvenu en tant que ministre de l’Église d’Angleterre, se dissimulait sa véritable ambition de méthodiste qui était de devenir un instrument de conversion évangélique au sein de la population. À cet égard, il ne connut aucun succès durant près de trois ans, même s’il travaillait « nuit et jour » et prêchait « de porte en porte », suivant la manière favorite de Wesley. À la longue, il céda au découragement et décida de ne plus rester « dans un pays aussi pauvre et désolé », mais ses efforts obstinés finirent par porter fruit : un « réveil » méthodiste se produisit et se propagea « comme le feu ».

Lorsque le revivalisme se répandit, Coughlan fut en butte à une opposition venant des plus orthodoxes de ses paroissiens. Dès lors, semble-t-il, ses prêches furent davantage empreints de la pensée théologique des méthodistes et il exhorta ses fidèles à prendre part aux réunions privées qu’il organisait dans toute la paroisse. En 1770, ses paroissiens tardaient à lui verser ses appointements, et, en juillet, le gouverneur John Byron estima nécessaire’ de leur ordonner de remplir leur engagement ; en même temps, il nomma Coughlan juge de paix de la baie de la Conception. En novembre, les appointements n’avaient toujours pas été payés.

L’année suivante, certains incidents provoquèrent un conflit qui opposa ouvertement Coughlan à quelques-uns des plus influents citoyens de Harbour Grace. En février, Coughlan accusa publiquement le marchand Hugh Roberts d’adultère et il recommanda à ses paroissiens de ne plus traiter avec lui ; cinq mois plus tard, il intervint lui-même, un dimanche, pour tenter d’empêcher des ouvriers de Roberts de travailler. À la suite de ces deux incidents, Roberts et 12 autres marchands de Harbour Grace demandèrent, dans une pétition adressée à Byron, que Coughlan fût « réduit au silence ou déplacé », considérant qu’il était « tout à fait indigne d’être juge de paix ou missionnaire, ignorant les lois de son pays et manquant d’instruction » ; ils soutenaient également qu’il avait manqué à ses devoirs de magistrat en acceptant des pots-de-vin. On mena alors une enquête qui révéla, si l’on s’en remet à la relation qu’en fit Coughlan, que tous ses ennemis « furent reconnus comme des menteurs » ; il fut néanmoins démis de ses fonctions de juge de paix par Byron, le 25 octobre, en raison de ses « nombreuses actions injustifiables de nature à gêner et à décourager grandement le commerce et la pêche ».

Si Coughlan éveillait chez les marchands des sentiments d’opposition, les gens du commun qui se joignaient au mouvement méthodiste lui témoignaient, bien au contraire, leur affection et leur loyauté. Le mouvement continua de grandir durant le séjour de Coughlan à Terre-Neuve, se propageant au nord de Carbonear jusqu’à Blackhead où une nouvelle église capable d’accueillir 400 personnes avait été construite au cours de l’hiver de 1768–1769. La formation de groupements méthodistes au delà de Harbour Grace révèle la volonté de Coughlan de « parcourir intégralement la région » afin de répandre son message. S’il avait pu poursuivre sa tâche de cette façon, il serait demeuré à Terre-Neuve, mais, disait-il à Wesley en 1772, « comme je n’en ai pas la possibilité, excepté par voie d’eau, dans de petites embarcations, je ne peux le supporter ». Ce n’est pas uniquement sa « peur atroce » de la mer qui le contraignit à quitter l’île. L’hostilité des marchands ne connaissait pas de répit, et, en mai 1772, une dispute éclata entre Coughlan et Nicholas Fiott, l’un des 13 pétitionnaires de l’année précédente. Coughlan refusa carrément à Fiott le privilège d’être le parrain de deux enfants, l’accusant de mener « une vie dissolue ». Un violent affrontement se produisit ensuite durant un office du dimanche, mais Coughlan refusa de céder et les enfants ne furent pas baptisés. En octobre, Fiott adressa une plainte officielle au gouverneur Molyneux Shuldham, lequel demanda alors à la Society for the Propagation of the Gospel de retirer son missionnaire de Harbour Grace. Au cours de ce mois, Coughlan demanda lui-même à la société la permission de retourner en Angleterre ; il partit en octobre 1773. Deux mois plus tard, à Londres, il se présentait devant cet organisme et remettait sa démission.

On ne sait trop quelles furent les activités de Coughlan de 1773 à sa mort. Une lettre adressée à Wesley en 1772 laisse entendre qu’il désirait être de nouveau prédicateur itinérant en Grande-Bretagne, mais cette demande, faite en termes voilés, resta sans réponse. En 1776, il était ministre de. la Cumberland Street Chapel, à Londres. Le 25 février 1785, Wesley écrivit à John Stretton, l’un des disciples de Coughlan à Terre-Neuve, lui faisant savoir que ce dernier était mort quelque temps auparavant « complètement abattu ».

Laurence Coughlan avait amorcé un mouvement qui allait transformer la vie religieuse et sociale à la baie de la Conception. Les comptes rendus des missionnaires qui vinrent après lui confirment ses propres rapports concernant le succès qu’il remporta en tant que prédicateur. Lorsqu’il quitta Terre-Neuve, des disciples dévoués comme Stretton, Thomas Pottle et Arthur Thomey continuèrent son œuvre, et la communauté méthodiste qu’il avait fondée dans la région populeuse de la baie de la Conception n’a cessé de progresser jusqu’à nos jours. Bien qu’il fût un homme ardent, exigeant et peut-être irascible, Coughlan, de toute évidence, aimait profondément les gens auprès desquels il se dévouait et il savait fort bien les comprendre. Son ouvrage, An account of the work of God in Newfoundland [...], publié en 1776, porte la marque de la ferveur religieuse et de la compassion qui lui étaient propres.

Patrick O’flaherty

Laurence Coughlan, An account of the work of God in Newfoundland, in series of letters (Londres, 1776), 8–11, 18s., 50ss.

Lambeth Palace Library (Londres), Fulham papers.— PANL, GN2/1, 4, 5 ; N. C. Crewe coll., file on Methodism in Newfoundland.— USPG, A ; B, 6, pp.168s. ; C/CAN/Nfl, 1, pp.58–62 ; Journal of SPG, 17–21.— Arminian Magazine (Londres), VIII (1785) : 490–492.— SPG [Annual report] (Londres), 1767–1776.— [John Wesley], The letters of the RevJohn Wesley, John Telford, édit. (8 vol., Londres, 1931 ; réimpr., [1960]), IV : 56, 204, 289s. ; V : 101–103, 109 ; VII : 260.— C. H. Crookshank, History of Methodism in Ireland (3 vol., Belfast et Londres, 1885–1888), I : 100s., 107, 149.— Jacob Parsons, The origin and growth of Newfoundland Methodism, 1765–1855 (thèse de m.a., Memorial University of Nfld., St John’s, 1964), 17, 148s.— Warwick Smith, Rev. Laurence Coughlan (conférence lue à la Nfld. Hist. Soc., St John’s, 20 mars 1942).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Patrick O’flaherty, « COUGHLAN, LAURENCE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 4, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 31 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/coughlan_laurence_4F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/coughlan_laurence_4F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Patrick O’flaherty
Titre de l'article:   COUGHLAN, LAURENCE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 4
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1980
Année de la révision:   1980
Date de consultation:   31 juillet 2014