DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

BOUCHER DE NIVERVILLE, JOSEPH (sometimes called Joseph-Claude; he signed Chevalier Niverville), army and militia officer, seigneur, Indian Department official, and office holder; b. 22 Sept, 1715 in Chambly (Que.), son of Jean-Baptiste Boucher* de Niverville and Marguerite-Thérèse Hertel de La Fresnière; m. 5 Oct. 1757 Marie-Josephte Châtelin in Trois-Rivières (Que.), and they had 11 children; d, there 30 Aug. 1804.

Joseph Boucher de Niverville began his military career as a cadet in the colonial regular troops in 1734 when he took part in the expedition that Nicolas-Joseph de Noyelles* de Fleurimont led against the Foxes. During the next two years he took advantage of his sojourn in the Detroit area to engage in the fur trade with goods supplied by Montreal merchant Pierre Guy*. In 1737 Niverville was assigned to serve under Gaspard Adhémar* de Lantagnac, the commandant at Fort Chambly. Two years later he went to Louisiana with Charles Le Moyne* de Longueuil’s detachment, which was sent to subdue the Chickasaws. He obtained an expectancy of an ensigncy in 1742, and on 1 May 1743 the king granted him his commission as second ensign.

The War of the Austrian Succession, which spread to North America in 1744, gave Niverville an opportunity to distinguish himself. The following year he campaigned in Acadia, where he took seven prisoners and managed to capture an eight-gun British ship, boarding it with the help of four Indians. Between mid March and mid May 1746 he led a party of Abenaki warriors to within about 30 leagues of Boston, Mass., returning to Quebec with two English prisoners, one of whom he himself had captured. In early June he left Quebec for Acadia with the detachment under Jean-Baptiste-Nicolas-Roch de Ramezay* which was to meet the French squadron commanded by the Duc d’Anville [La Rochefoucauld*]; his younger brother, François Boucher de Niverville (Nebourvele) Grandpré, with whom he has often been confused, was also with the expedition. During this campaign, which lasted some six months, Niverville took part in the raid led by Joseph-Michel Legardeur* de Croisille et de Montesson against the British detachment at Port-La-Joie (Fort Amherst, P.E.I).

Niverville carried out half a dozen missions during 1747, from New England to the government of Montreal. In the spring, he took a raiding party of some 10 Canadians and 60 Abenakis through the country south of Lake Champlain into Massachusetts. Although unable to bring back prisoners, the party destroyed five forts and about a hundred houses, killing six or seven hundred horned cattle, sheep, and pigs as well. This expedition also brought back to the authorities in Quebec the news that the enemy seemed to be preparing to attack Fort Saint-Frédéric (near Crown Point, N.Y.). During another mission not long after, Niverville captured two Mohawks, and at the end of June he was one of the detachment under Louis de La Corne* that intercepted a group of Indian, English, and Dutch raiders at the Cascades (near Île des Cascades, Que.). Appointed ensign on 15 Feb. 1748, Niverville took command of various militia units in the government of Montreal during that year. He also led two war parties into New England, one of which attacked Fort Massachusetts (North Adams, Mass.) in August but did not succeed in taking it.

The year 1749 was a transitional one in Niverville’s career. Along with his two young brothers, Niverville Grandpré and Pierre-Louis Boucher de Niverville Montizambert, he ranged through the Ohio valley with the detachment commanded by Pierre-Joseph Céloron* de Blainville. He barely escaped death during this campaign when he was captured by some Shawnees at Sonioto (Portsmouth, Ohio) along with fellow soldier Philippe-Thomas Chabert* de Joncaire. Shortly after his return to Montreal, he was ordered by Governor Jacques-Pierre de Taffanel* de La Jonquière to join an expedition set up under Jacques Legardeur* de Saint-Pierre to search for the western sea. The party left Montreal early in June 1750 and reached Fort La Reine (Portage la Prairie, Man.) that autumn. Niverville was to establish a new post west of Fort Paskoya (Le Pas, Man.) to serve as a base for an expedition west towards the Rockies, and he set out again almost immediately. On 29 May 1751 he dispatched two canoes with ten men from Fort Paskoya; he became seriously ill, however, and was unable to join them as he had intended. His men built Fort La Jonquière (probably in the vicinity of Nipawin, Sask.), but when they returned to Paskoya, Niverville was still in critical condition. It was not until spring 1753 that he was able to leave the fort. He succeeded in overtaking Legardeur’s party just before it arrived at Lake Superior, and the expedition reached Montreal near the end of the summer without having found the western sea.

On 25 Jan. 1754 Niverville acquired half the seigneury of Chambly, buying out his brothers and sisters with whom he had inherited it jointly two years earlier; the other half had gone to the eldest brother, Jean-Baptiste. Forced to rest as a result of the illness he had contracted in the west, Niverville did not resume active service until May 1755, when he took command of the region of Michilimackinac (Mackinaw City, Mich.). He was recalled by August, however, to lead the Abenaki contingent in the army under Jean-Armand Dieskau*. Promoted lieutenant on 17 March 1756, he again headed up the Abenakis the following year at the capture of Fort William Henry (also called Fort George, now Lake George, N.Y.). In 1758 Niverville spent most of his time recruiting Indian warriors but saw action in July at the battle of Carillon (near Ticonderoga, N.Y.). Late in May 1759 he was sent to Baie-Saint-Paul (Que.) at the head of a detachment of Abenakis and Canadian militia to prevent an enemy landing. When the British proceeded upriver, Niverville returned to Quebec and fought in its defence; he was with the French army when it withdrew to Montreal. A month or so earlier, on 20 August, his young wife and his mother-in-law had been slightly wounded by their Indian slave Marie*, an incident which resulted in what seems to have been the last sentence of capital punishment under the French régime.

On 28 April 1760, Niverville took part in the battle of Sainte-Foy. In the fall of 1761 he embarked for France along with his brother Niverville Grandpré, who had been the last Canadian officer to surrender to the British in Acadia, several months after the capitulation of Montreal.

Although he received the cross of Saint-Louis on 17 July 1763, Niverville was disappointed at the treatment given the Canadian officers in France and that November he was back in Trois-Rivières. On 21 Feb. 1766 he attended the assembly of seigneurs of the Montreal district convened by Governor Murray*. Early the following year, he became owner of almost all the lands that had belonged to his deceased father-in-law: the “marquisat Du Sablé,” the seigneury of Sainte-Marguerite, the fief of La Poterie, and an unnamed fief. These new holdings, all at or near Trois-Rivières, greatly increased his income, which since his return had essentially depended on the dues from half the seigneury of Chambly. In 1767 as well, Niverville was a member of the grand jury that heard the bill of indictment brought by Thomas Walker* against Captain Daniel Disney. On this occasion he swore the oath of allegiance to the British crown, as did three other knights of Saint-Louis who were also members of the jury: François-Marie Picoté* de Belestre, Pierre-Roch de Saint-Ours Deschaillons, and Claude-Pierre Pécaudy* de Contrecœur. This action gained him a place among the 12 Canadian seigneurs proposed by Governor Guy Carleton In 1769 for a possible legislative council, but his name was not retained.

Despite his 60 years Niverville took an active part in the defence of the province during the American invasion of 1775–76. It was probably at this time that he was granted the post of superintendent of Indians for the Trois-Rivières district, which he was to retain until 1796. In September 1775, on Carleton’s orders, he left Montreal at the head of a small group of Indians and Canadians to relieve the garrison of Fort St Johns on the Richelieu, then being besieged by Richard Montgomery*. He encountered an American detachment at La Prairie, however, and turned back to Montreal without engaging it in combat. On 11 November, after the capitulation of Fort St Johns, Carleton abandoned Montreal to head for Quebec with the British regulars. Delayed at Lavaltrie for several days by contrary winds, Carleton learned that the Americans had already established batteries at Sorel. By means of a stratagem devised by Jean-Baptiste Bouchette, during the night of the 16th the governor, his aide-de-camp, Charles-Louis Tarieu de Lanaudière, and Niverville passed by Sorel and reached Trois-Rivières, where Niverville left the group. During the winter the invaders, who occupied Trois-Rivières, did not molest royalists like Niverville but merely confiscated their weapons. After the British fleet arrived at Quebec in the spring of 1776, the Americans fell back on Sorel, and then began a counter-offensive, sending Brigadier-General William Thompson to launch a surprise attack on Trois-Rivières. On the morning of 8 June Thompson’s advance guard was surprised and taken prisoner by a patrol under Niverville, without being able to give the alarm. When the American army arrived, it faced the steady fire of defenders who were ready for it see François Guillot*, dit Larose]. Niverville’s part in the defence of the province brought him a lieutenant’s half-pay.

Appointed a justice of the peace in 1780 or a little before, Niverville discharged this responsibility at least until April 1798 when he was retired because of his advanced age. While in office Niverville was involved in several notable events in the life of Trois-Rivières, such as the 1787 inquiry into the suicide of Dolly Manuel, one of the Hart family’s servants, the drawing up of regulations for the town market in 1791, and the reorganization of the Fire Society in 1796.

On 4 March 1790 Niverville was appointed colonel of the militia battalion for Trois-Rivières and the area to the north. On 12 August he had Jonathan and Joseph Sills and Malcolm Fraser Jr imprisoned for refusing to report for a militia exercise. This action resulted in his being disparaged in an anonymous pamphlet, probably written by Jonathan Sills, entitled La Bastille septentrionale ou les trois sujets britanniques opprimés . . . and published in Montreal and Trois-Rivières in 1791. He was even sued by his “victims.” Defended by lawyer Arthur Davidson, he had the complete support of the general staff in this affair and does not seem to have been seriously disturbed by it. In 1800 an ensign was assigned to act as his adjutant, and he was granted 1,200 acres of land. He did not retire until June 1803 and at the time of his death the following year he was the last knight of Saint-Louis in Canada.

Niverville’s military career was without doubt one of the longest of any Canadian officer in the 18th century. He participated in many important expeditions which took him to the eastern, southern, and western limits of New France’s vast territory. After the conquest he soon gained the new authorities’ confidence and won several favours; however, the importance of these was exaggerated by Michel-Eustache-Gaspard-Alain Chartier* de Lotbinière when he wrote to a friend in September 1802 that the Chevalier Niverville lived on “the blessings of the government which is very generous and under which Canadians are in general quite happy.” Niverville’s decision to settle in a secondary town like Trois-Rivières along with his lack of interest in politics – he confined himself to signing the petition of Canadian seigneurs opposing the creation of a house of assembly in 1788 and to acting as president of the local committee of the association founded in 1794 to support British rule in the province – partially explain why he did not play as prominent a role after the conquest as did other members of the Canadian nobility.

Pierre Dufour

AN, Marine, C7, 226 (dossier Boucher de Niverville). ANQ-M, CN1-259, 2, 9 sept. 1735. AUM, P 58, C3/83; U, Niverville à Baby, 10 janv., 26 févr. 1772; 29 mai 1773; 11 févr. 1779; 21 nov. 1800; Dame de Niverville à Baby, 26 févr. 1772. McGill Univ. Libraries (Montreal), Dept. of Rare Books and Special Coll., ms coll., CH350.S310. Coll. des manuscrits de Lévis (Casgrain). Collection de documents inédits sur le Canada et l’Amérique, [H.-R. Casgrain, édit.] (3v., Québec, 1888–90). [Anthony Henday], “York Factory to the Blackfeet country, the journal of Anthony Hendry, 1754–55,” ed. L. J. Burpee, RSC Trans., 3rd ser., 1 (1907), sect.ii: 307–59. Journals and letters of Pierre Gaultier de Varennes de La Vérendrye and his sons . . . , ed. L. J. Burpee (Toronto, 1927). Jacques Legardeur de Saint-Pierre, “Mémoire ou journal sommaire du voyage de Jacques Repentigny Legardeur de Saint-Pierre . . . ,” PAC Rapport, 1886: clvii-clxiii. NYCD (O’Callaghan and Fernow), vol.10. “Papiers Amherst (1760–1763) concernant les Acadiens,” R. S. Brun, édit., Soc. hist. acadienne, Cahiers (Moncton, N.-B.), 3 (1968–71): 257–320. Papiers Contrecœur et autres documents concernant le conflit anglo-français sur l’Ohio de 1745 à 1756, Fernand Grenier, édit. (Québec, 1952). “Protêt des marchands de Montréal contre une assemblée des seigneurs, tenue en cette ville le 21 février 1766, É.-Z. Massicotte, édit., BRH, 38 (1932): 68–79. Quebec Gazette, 11 Dec. 1788; 8 July 1790; 13 Jan., 17 Nov. 1791; 10, 17 July 1794. Ægidius Fauteux, Les chevaliers de Saint-Louis en Canada (Montréal, 1940). Historic forts and trading posts of the French regime and of the English fur trading companies, comp. Ernest Voorhis (copy, Ottawa, 1930). J.-J. Lefebvre, “La descendance de Pierre Boucher (16171722), fondateur de Boucherville,” SGCF Mémoires, 5 (1952–53): 67–96. Le Jeune, Dictionnaire. A.-G. Morice, Dictionnaire historique des Canadiens et des Métis français de l’Ouest (Québec et Montréal, 1908). Quebec almanac, 1780, 1782, 1788. P.-G. Roy, Inv. concessions. Tanguay, Dictionnaire, vol.1. Wallace, Macmillan dict. J.-C. Bracq, Lévolution du Canada français (Montréal et Paris, 1927). J.-D. Brosseau, Saint-Jean-de-Québec; origine et développements (Saint-Jean[-sur-Richelieu], Qué., 1937). André Chagny, Un défenseur de la “Nouvelle-France,” François Picguet, “le Canadien” (1708–1781) (Montréal et Paris, 1913). Antoine Champagne, Les La Vérendrye et le poste de l’Ouest (Québec, 1968). Raymond Douville, Aaron Hart; récit historique (Trois-Rivières, Qué., 1938). Jean-Paul de Lagrave, Les origines de la presse au Québec (1760–1791) (Montréal, 1975). Paquet et Wallot, Patronage et pouvoir dans le Bas-Canada. P.-G. Roy, La famille Godefroy de Tonnancour (Lévis, Qué., 1904); La famille Tarieu de Lanaudière (Lévis, 1922); Hommes et choses du fort Saint-Frédéric (Montréal, 1946). Stanley, L’invasion du Canada (MacDonald); New France: the last phase, 1744–1760 (Toronto, 1968). Sulte, Mélanges hist. (Malchelosse), 10. J.-P Tremblay, La Baie-Saint-Paul et ses pionniers ([Chicoutimi, Qué.], 1948). Trudel, L’esclavage au Canada français, 142, 297, 362; Le Régime militaire dans le gouvernement des Trois-Rivières, 1760–1764 (Trois-Rivières, 1952). R. S. Allen, “The British Indian Department and the frontier in North America, 1755–1830,” National Hist. Sites, no.14 (1975): 5–125. T.[-M.] Charland, “Les neveux de madame de Beaubassin,” RHAF, 23 (1969–70): 68–91. Raymond Douville, “Charles Boucher de Niverville, son ascendance et sa carrière politique,” Cahiers des Dix, 37 (1972): 87–122; “La dette des États-Unis envers les ursulines de Trois-Rivières,” Cahiers des Dix, 22 (1957): 137–62. Roland Lamontagne, “La construction du fort Saint-Jean, 1748–1749,” RHAF, 15 (1961–62): 35–40. Gérard Malchelosse, “La famille Pommereau et ses alliances,” Cahiers des Dix, 29 (1964): 193–222; “Un procès criminel aux Trois-Rivières en 1759,” 18 (1953): 206–26. Jacques Mathieu, “Un négociant de Québec à l’époque de la Conquête: Jacques Perrault l’aîné,” ANQ Rapport, 1970: 27–82. A.-G. Morice, “L’abbé Émile Petitot et les découvertes géographiques au Canada,” Le Canada français (Québec), 2e sér., 7 (1921–22): 225–35, 319–39. Gérard Parizeau, “Joseph Bouchette: l’homme et le haut fonctionnaire,” RSC Trans., 4th ser., 9 (1971), sect.i: 95–126. L.-A. Prud’homme, “Les successeurs de La Vérendrye sous la domination française . . . , 1743–1755,” RSC Trans., 2nd ser., 12 (1906), sect.i: 65–81. Benjamin Sulte, “Le chevalier de Niverville,” RSC Trans., 3rd ser., 3 (1909), sect.i: 43–72; “Les miettes de l’histoire,” Rev. canadienne, 5 (1868): 585–92. Albert Tessier, “Deux enrichis: Aaron Hart et Nicolas Montour,” Cahiers des Dix, 3 (1938): 217–42. Henri Têtu, “M. Jean-Félix Richer, curé de Québec, et son journal, 1757–1760,” BRH, 9 (1903): 97–122, 129–47, 161–74, 289–307, 321–46, 353–73.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Pierre Dufour, “BOUCHER DE NIVERVILLE, JOSEPH,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 5, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 20, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/boucher_de_niverville_joseph_5E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/boucher_de_niverville_joseph_5E.html
Author of Article: Pierre Dufour
Title of Article: BOUCHER DE NIVERVILLE, JOSEPH
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 5
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1983
Year of revision: 1983
Access Date: September 20, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

BOUCHER DE NIVERVILLE, JOSEPH (appelé parfois Joseph-Claude ; il signait chevalier Niverville), officier dans l’armée et dans la milice, seigneur, surintendant des Affaires indiennes et fonctionnaire, né le 22 septembre 1715 à Chambly (Québec), fils de Jean-Baptiste Boucher* de Niverville et de Marguerite-Thérèse Hertel de La Fresnière ; le 5 octobre 1757, il épousa à Trois-Rivières (Québec) Marie-Josephte Châtelin, et ils eurent 11 enfants ; décédé le 30 août 1804 à Trois-Rivières.

Joseph Boucher de Niverville commença sa carrière militaire dans les troupes de la Marine en 1734 en prenant part, comme cadet, à l’expédition contre les Renards, dirigée par Nicolas-Joseph de Noyelles* de Fleurimont. Pendant les deux années suivantes, il profita de son séjour dans la région de Detroit pour participer à la traite des fourrures, grâce aux marchandises que lui fournissait le négociant montréalais Pierre Guy*. En 1737, Niverville passa sous les ordres de Gaspard Adhémar* de Lantagnac, commandant au fort Chambly. Deux ans plus tard, il accompagna en Louisiane le détachement commandé par Charles Le Moyne* de Longueuil pour mater la tribu des Chicachas. En 1742, il obtint une expectative d’enseigne en second, et le le` mai 1743 le roi lui accorda son brevet.

La guerre de la Succession d’Autriche, qui s’étendit à l’Amérique l’année suivante, allait fournir à Niverville l’occasion de se signaler. En 1745, il combattit en Acadie où il fit sept prisonniers et parvint à s’emparer d’un bâtiment britannique de huit pièces d’artillerie, en le prenant à l’abordage avec l’aide de quatre Amérindiens. Entre la mi-mars et la mi-mai de l’année suivante, à la tête d’un parti de guerriers abénaquis, il se rendit à une trentaine de lieues de Boston d’où il ramena deux prisonniers britanniques dont un qu’il avait lui-même capturé. Au début de juin, il quitta Québec à destination de l’Acadie au sein du détachement commandé par Jean-Baptiste-Nicolas-Roch de Ramezay* qui avait pour mission de rejoindre l’escadre française du duc d’Anville [La Rochefoucauld*] ; son frère cadet, François Boucher de Niverville (Nebourvele) Grandpré, faisait partie de la même expédition. Durant cette campagne d’environ six mois, Niverville prit part notamment au raid conduit par Joseph-Michel Legardeur* de Croisille et de Montesson contre un détachement britannique à Port-La-Joie (Fort Amherst, Île-du-Prince-Édouard).

Au cours de l’année 1747, Niverville accomplit une demi-douzaine de missions, tantôt en Nouvelle-Angleterre, tantôt dans le gouvernement de Montréal. Au printemps, à la tête d’une dizaine de Canadiens et d’une soixantaine d’Abénaquis, il effectua un raid à travers la région qui s’étend du sud du lac Champlain jusqu’au Massachusetts. Son parti ne put ramener de prisonniers, mais il détruisit cinq forts ainsi qu’une centaine d’habitations, et tua de 600 à 700 bêtes à cornes, moutons et porcs. Cette expédition permit en outre aux autorités de la colonie d’apprendre que les ennemis semblaient préparer une attaque contre le fort Saint-Frédéric (près de Crown Point, New York). Peu après, au cours d’une autre mission, Niverville captura deux Agniers et, à la fin du mois de juin, il fit partie du détachement de Louis de La Corne* qui intercepta un groupe de guerriers indiens, britanniques et hollandais aux Cascades (près de l’île des Cascades, Québec). Nommé enseigne en pied le 15 février 1748, Niverville assuma, durant cette année-là, le commandement de divers corps de milice dans le gouvernement de Montréal. Il dirigea aussi deux partis de guerre en Nouvelle-Angleterre, dont un qui attaqua le fort Massachusetts (North Adams, Massachusetts) en août, mais sans réussir à le faire capituler.

L’année 1749 fut une période de transition dans la carrière de Niverville. Avec ses deux jeunes frères, Niverville Grandpré et Pierre-Louis Boucher de Niverville Montizambert, il parcourut la vallée de l’Ohio au sein du détachement commandé par Pierre-Joseph Céloron* de Blainville. Au cours de cette campagne, il échappa de justesse à la mort lorsqu’il fut capturé par quelques Chaouanons à Sonioto (Portsmouth, Ohio) en même temps que son compagnon d’armes Philippe-Thomas Chabert* de Joncaire. Peu après son retour à Montréal, le gouverneur Jacques-Pierre de Taffanel* de La Jonquière lui ordonna de se joindre à une expédition mandatée pour découvrir la mer de l’Ouest sous les ordres de Jacques Legardeur* de Saint-Pierre. Ayant quitté Montréal au début de juin 1750, le groupe atteignit le fort La Reine (Portage-la-Prairie, Manitoba) à l’automne. Niverville en repartit presque aussitôt pour aller fonder un nouvel établissement à l’ouest du fort Paskoya (Le Pas, Manitoba), qui servirait de base pour lancer une expédition en direction des Rocheuses. Le 29 mai 1751, Niverville fit partir du fort Paskoya deux canots montés par dix hommes, mais il ne put aller les rejoindre comme il l’avait projeté, une grave maladie l’en empêchant. Ses hommes érigèrent tout de même le fort La Jonquière (situé probablement dans la région de Nipawin, Saskatchewan), et lorsqu’ils revinrent au fort Paskoya, leur chef reposait toujours dans un état critique. C’est seulement au printemps de 1753 que Niverville fut en état de quitter le fort ; il parvint à rejoindre le groupe de Legardeur peu avant d’atteindre le lac Supérieur, et l’expédition regagna Montréal vers la fin de l’été sans avoir découvert la mer de l’Ouest.

Le 25 janvier 1754, Niverville acheta de ses frères et sœurs la moitié indivise de la seigneurie de Chambly dont ils avaient hérité conjointement deux ans plus tôt, l’autre moitié étant allée à leur frère aîné Jean-Baptiste. Confiné au repos à la suite de la maladie qu’il avait contractée dans l’Ouest, Niverville ne reprit le service qu’en mai 1755 pour assumer un commandement dans la région de Michillimakinac (Mackinaw City, Michigan). Il fut cependant rappelé dès le mois d’août suivant pour prendre la tête des Abénaquis au sein du corps d’armée commandé par Jean-Armand Dieskau*. Promu lieutenant le 17 mars 1756, il dirigea de nouveau les Abénaquis lors de la prise du fort William Henry (appelé aussi fort George ; aujourd’hui Lake George, New York) l’année suivante. En 1758, Niverville consacra la majeure partie de son temps à recruter des guerriers indiens, en plus de prendre part à la bataille de Carillon (près de Ticonderoga, New York) en juillet. À la fin de mai 1759, il fut envoyé à Baie-Saint-Paul (Québec) à la tête d’un détachement d’Abénaquis et de miliciens canadiens dans le but d’y empêcher toute tentative de débarquement de la part des ennemis. Ces derniers étant passés outre, Niverville revint à Québec et participa à sa défense, puis il accompagna l’armée française lors de son repli vers Montréal. Entre-temps, le 20 août, sa jeune femme ainsi que sa belle-mère avaient été légèrement blessées par leur esclave indienne Marie*. Cet incident donna lieu, semble-t-il, à la dernière condamnation à la peine capitale sous le Régime français.

Le 28 avril 1760, Niverville participa à la bataille de Sainte-Foy. À l’automne de l’année suivante, il s’embarqua pour la France en même temps que son frère Niverville Grandpré, qui avait été le dernier officier canadien à se rendre aux Britanniques en Acadie, plusieurs mois après la capitulation de Montréal.

Bien qu’il eût reçu la croix de Saint-Louis le 17 juillet 1763, Niverville fut déçu du sort réservé aux officiers canadiens en France, et en novembre il était de retour à Trois-Rivières. Le 21 février 1766, il assista à la réunion des seigneurs de la région de Montréal, qu’avait convoquée le gouverneur Murray*. Au début de l’année suivante, il devint propriétaire de la quasi-totalité des terrains ayant appartenu à son défunt beau-père : le marquisat du Sablé, la seigneurie de Sainte-Marguerite, le fief de La Poterie et un autre fief sans nom. Ces nouvelles propriétés, toutes situées à Trois-Rivières ou à proximité, augmentèrent d’autant ses revenus qui, depuis son retour, dépendaient essentiellement de ses droits sur la moitié de la seigneurie de Chambly. Toujours en 1767, Niverville fit partie du jury d’accusation lors du procès intenté par Thomas Walker* contre le capitaine Daniel Disney. À cette occasion, il prêta le serment d’allégeance à la couronne britannique tout comme trois autres chevaliers de Saint-Louis, membres du même jury : François-Marie Picoté* de Belestre, Pierre-Roch de Saint-Ours Deschaillons et Claude-Pierre Pécaudy* de Contrecœur. Ce geste lui valut, en 1769, d’être parmi les 12 seigneurs canadiens proposés par le gouverneur Guy Carleton pour faire partie d’un éventuel conseil législatif, mais son nom ne fut pas retenu.

Malgré ses 60 ans, Niverville prit une part active à la défense de la province de Québec lors de l’invasion américaine de 1775–1776. C’est vraisemblablement à cette occasion qu’on lui confia le poste de surintendant des Affaires indiennes du district de Trois-Rivières, qu’il conserva jusqu’en 1796. En septembre 1775, sur l’ordre de Carleton, il partit de Montréal à la tête d’une petite troupe d’Amérindiens et de Canadiens pour aller secourir la garnison du fort Saint-Jean, sur le Richelieu, alors assiégé par Richard Montgomery*. Il rencontra cependant un détachement d’Américains à Laprairie (La Prairie) et se replia sur Montréal sans engager le combat. Le 11 novembre, après la capitulation du fort Saint-Jean, Carleton abandonna Montréal avec les troupes régulières pour se rendre à Québec. Retenu à Lavaltrie pendant quelques jours par des vents contraires, Carleton apprit que les Américains avaient déjà dressé des batteries à Sorel. Dans la nuit du 16, grâce à un stratagème conçu par Jean-Baptiste Bouchette, le gouverneur, son aide de camp, Charles-Louis Tarieu de Lanaudière, et Niverville passèrent devant Sorel et atteignirent Trois-Rivières où ce dernier se sépara du groupe. Durant l’hiver, les envahisseurs, qui occupaient Trois-Rivières, ne molestèrent par les royalistes comme Niverville, se contentant de confisquer leurs armes. Au printemps de 1776, après l’arrivée d’une escadre britannique devant Québec, les Américains battirent en retraite jusqu’à Sorel, puis ils lancèrent une contre-offensive en envoyant le général de brigade William Thompson attaquer Trois-Rivières par surprise. Le matin du 8 juin, l’avant-garde des troupes de Thompson fut elle-même surprise et faite prisonnière par une patrouille aux ordres de Niverville, sans avoir pu donner l’alarme. Lorsque l’armée américaine se présenta à son tour, elle dut essuyer le feu nourri de défenseurs qui l’attendaient de pied ferme [V. François Guillot*, dit Larose]. Cette participation de Niverville à la défense de la province lui valut une retraite avec la demi-solde de lieutenant.

Nommé juge de paix en 1780 sinon un peu avant, Niverville exerça cette charge au moins jusqu’à ce qu’on l’en dispensât en avril 1798, à cause de son âge avancé. Dans le cadre de cette fonction, Niverville fut mêlé à quelques événements marquants de la vie trifluvienne, telles l’enquête menée en 1787 au sujet du suicide de Dolly Manuel, servante de la famille Hart, l’élaboration des règlements pour le marché de la ville en 1791, ou encore la réforme de la Société du feu de Trois-Rivières en 1796.

Le 4 mars 1790, Niverville fut nommé colonel du bataillon de milice de la ville de Trois-Rivières et partie du Nord. Le 12 août suivant, il fit emprisonner Jonathan et Joseph Sills ainsi que Malcolm Fraser fils, qui avaient refusé de se présenter à un exercice de la milice. Ce geste lui valut d’être décrié dans un pamphlet clandestin, probablement l’œuvre de Jonathan Sills, intitulé la Bastille septentrionale ou les Trois Sujets britanniques opprimés [...], et publié à Montréal et à Trois-Rivières en 1791. Il se vit même intenter un procès par ses « victimes » ; il fut défendu par l’avocat Arthur Davidson. Niverville conserva cependant l’entier appui de l’état-major dans cette affaire, et il ne semble pas avoir été inquiété sérieusement. En 1800, on lui adjoignit un enseigne aide-major pour l’aider dans sa tâche et on lui octroya 1 200 arpents de terre. Il ne fut mis à la retraite qu’en juin 1803, et à sa mort, survenue l’année suivante, il était le dernier chevalier de Saint-Louis au Canada.

La carrière militaire de Joseph Boucher de Niverville fut sans aucun doute une des plus longues qu’ait connue un officier canadien au xviiie siècle. Il prit part à plusieurs expéditions marquantes et fut amené à se rendre aux confins du vaste territoire de la Nouvelle-France, à l’est, au sud, comme à l’ouest. Après la Conquête, il gagna rapidement la confiance des nouvelles autorités et se mérita quelques faveurs, dont Michel-Eustache-Gaspard-Alain Chartier* de Lotbinière exagéra toutefois l’importance lorsqu’il écrivit à un ami, en septembre 1802 : « [Le chevalier Niverville vit] des bienfaits du gouvernement lequel est très généreux et sous lequel les Canadiens sont très heureux en général. » La décision de Niverville de s’établir dans une agglomération secondaire comme Trois-Rivières, jointe à son peu d’intérêt pour la politique – il se contenta de signer la pétition des seigneurs canadiens contre la création d’une chambre d’assemblée en 1788 et d’assumer la présidence du comité local de l’Association fondée en 1794 pour appuyer le gouvernement britannique -, explique en partie pourquoi il ne joua pas un rôle aussi important que d’autres membres de la noblesse canadienne après la Conquête.

Pierre Dufour

AN, Marine, C7, 226 (dossier Boucher de Niverville).— ANQ-M, CN1-259, 2, 9 sept. 1735.— AUM, P 58, C3/83 ; U, Niverville à Baby, 10 janv., 26 févr. 1772, 29 mai 1773, 11 févr. 1779, 21 nov. 1800 ; Dame de Niverville à Baby, 26 févr. 1772.— McGill Univ. Libraries (Montréal), Dept. of Rare Books and Special Coll., ms coll., CH350.S310.— Coll. des manuscrits de Lévis (Casgrain).— Collection de documents inédits sur le Canada et l’Amérique, [H.-R. Casgrain, édit.] (3 vol., Québec, 1888–1890).— Anthony Henday, « York Factory to the Blackfeet country, the journal of Anthony Hendry, 1754–55 », L. J. Burpee, édit., SRC Mémoires, 3e sér., 1 (1907), sect. ii : 307–359.— Journals and letters of Pierre Gaultier de Varennes de La Vérendrye and his sons [...], L. J. Burpee, édit. (Toronto, 1927).— Jacques Legardeur de Saint-Pierre, « Mémoire ou journal sommaire du voyage de Jacques Repentigny Legardeur de Saint-Pierre [...] », APC Rapport, 1886: clvii-clxiii.— NYCD (O’Callaghan et Fernow), 10.— «Papiers Amherst (1760–1763) concernant les Acadiens », R. S. Brun, édit., Soc. hist. acadienne, Cahiers (Moncton, N.-B.), 3 (1968–1971) : 257–320.— Papiers Contrecœur et autres documents concernant le conflit anglo-français sur l’Ohio de 1745 à 1756, Fernand Grenier, édit. (Québec, 1952).— « Protêt des marchands de Montréal contre une : assemblée des seigneurs, tenue en cette ville le 21 février 1766 », É.-Z. Massicotte, édit., BRH, 38 (1932) : 68–79.— La Gazette de Québec, 11 déc. 1788, 8 juill. 1790, 13 janv., 17 nov. 1791, 10, 17 juill. 1794.— Almanach de Québec, 1780 ; 1782 ; 1788.— Ægidius Fauteux, Les chevaliers de Saint-Louis en Canada (Montréal, 1940).— Historic forts and trading posts of the French regime and of the English fur trading companies, Ernest Voorhis, compil. (copie ronéotypée, Ottawa, 1930).— J.-J. Lefebvre, « La descendance de Pierre Boucher (1617–1722), fondateur de Boucherville », SGCF Mémoires, 5 (1952–1953) : 67–96.— Le Jeune, Dictionnaire.— A.-G. Morice, Dictionnaire historique des Canadiens et des Métis français de l’Ouest (Québec et Montréal, 1908).— P.-G. Roy, Inv. concessions.— Tanguay, Dictionnaire, 1.— Wallace, Macmillan dict.— J.-C. Bracq, L’évolution du Canada français (Montréal et Paris, 1927).— J.-D. Brosseau, Saint-Jean-de-Québec ; origine et développements (Saint-Jean[-sur-Richelieu], Québec, 1937).— André Chagny, Un défenseur de la « Nouvelle-France », François Picquet, « le Canadien » (1708–1781) (Montréal et Paris, 1913).— Antoine Champagne, Les La Vérendrye et le poste de l’Ouest (Québec, 1968).— Raymond Douville, Aaron Hart; récit historique (Trois-Rivières, Québec, 1938).— Jean-Paul de Lagrave, Les origines de la presse au Québec (1760–1791) (Montréal, 1975).— Paquet et Wallot, Patronage et pouvoir dans le B.-C.— P.-G. Roy, La famille Godefroy de Tonnancour (Lévis, Québec, 1904) ; La famille Tarieu de Lanaudière (Lévis, 1922) ; Hommes et choses du fort Saint-Frédéric (Montréal, 1946).— Stanley, L’invasion du Canada (MacDonald) ; New France : the last phase, 1744–1760 (Toronto, 1968).— Sulte, Mélanges hist. (Malchelosse), 10.— J.-P. Tremblay, La Baie-Saint-Paul et ses pionniers ([Chicoutimi, Québec], 1948).— Trudel, L’esclavage au Canada français, 142, 297, 362 ; Le Régime militaire dans le gouvernement des Trois-Rivières, 1760–1764 (Trois-Rivières, 1952).— R. S. Allen, « The British Indian Department and the frontier in North America, 1755–1830 », Lieux hist. canadiens, no 14 (1975) : 5–125.— T.[-M.] Charland, «Les neveux de madame de Beaubassin », RHAF, 23 (1969–1970) : 68–91.— Raymond Douville, «Charles Boucher de Niverville, son ascendance et sa carrière politique », Cahiers des Dix, 37 (1972) : 87–122 ; « La dette des États-Unis envers les ursulines de Trois-Rivières », Cahiers des Dix, 22 (1957) : 137–162.— Roland Lamontagne, « La construction du fort Saint-Jean, 1748–1749 », RHAF, 15 (1961–1962) : 35–40.— Gérard Malchelosse, « La famille Pommereau et ses alliances », Cahiers des Dix, 29 (1964) : 193–222 ; « Un procès criminel aux Trois-Rivières en 1759 », 18 (1953) : 206–226.— Jacques Mathieu, « Un négociant de Québec à l’époque de la Conquête: Jacques Perrault l’aîné », ANQ Rapport, 1970: 27–82.— A.-G. Morice, « L’abbé Émile Petitot et les découvertes géographiques au Canada », Le Canada français (Québec), 2e sér., 7 (1921–1922) : 225–235, 319–339.— Gérard Parizeau, « Joseph Bouchette : l’homme et le haut fonctionnaire », SRC Mémoires, 4e sér., 9 (1971), sect. : 95–126.— L.-A. Prud’homme, « Les successeurs de La Vérendrye sous la domination française [...], 1743–1755 », SRC Mémoires, 2e sér., 12 (1906), sect. : 65–81.— Benjamin Sulte, « Le chevalier de Niverville », SRC Mémoires, 3e sér., 3 (1909), sect. i : 43–72 ; « Les miettes de l’histoire », Rev. canadienne, 5 (1868) : 585–592.— Albert Tessier, « Deux enrichis : Aaron Hart et Nicolas Montour », Cahiers des Dix, 3 (1938) : 217–242.— Henri Têtu, « M. Jean-Félix Richer, curé de Québec, et son journal, 1757–1760 », BRH, 9 (1903) : 97–122, 129–147, 161–174, 289–307, 321–346, 353–373.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Pierre Dufour, « BOUCHER DE NIVERVILLE, JOSEPH », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 5, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 1 oct. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/boucher_de_niverville_joseph_5F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/boucher_de_niverville_joseph_5F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Pierre Dufour
Titre de l'article:   BOUCHER DE NIVERVILLE, JOSEPH
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 5
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1983
Année de la révision:   1983
Date de consultation:   1 octobre 2014