DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

PUYJALON, HENRI DE (named Jean-Baptiste-Henri at birth), naturalist and author; b. 15 March 1841 in Gluges, near Martel, France, son of Louis de Puyjalon and Marie-Amélie Maignen de Nanteuil; m. 11 Oct. 1882 at Quebec Angelina Ouimet, daughter of Gédéon Ouimet, superintendent of the Council of Public Instruction, and they had two sons; d. 17 Aug. 1905 on Île à la Chasse, one of the Îles de Mingan, Que.

Little is known about Henri de Puyjalon before his arrival in the province of Quebec in 1872. Some accounts say that he studied at the École Spéciale Militaire de Saint-Cyr in France, but his name is not on the lists of its students. He moved in artistic and literary circles in Paris and, since he had a fine tenor voice, he was reportedly approached by composer Charles Gounod about making a career for himself in opera.

After what appears to have been a financial setback, Puyjalon decided to move to Canada. He came to Montreal and after a short time settled at Quebec. Quickly making friends in literary and political circles, he soon became close to such people as writers Arthur Buies and Oscar Dunn* and assemblyman Joseph-Adolphe Chapleau*, a member of the provincial legislature since 1867. In 1878 Puyjalon considered launching a Catholic newspaper at Quebec and invited writer Léon Bloy to take part in the venture. Despite Bloy’s enthusiasm the plan came to nothing. Puyjalon was interested in nature and passionately fond of hunting, and at an early date he started making long expeditions along the rivers that flow into the St Lawrence from the north. Relying on scientific knowledge and endowed with exceptional powers of observation, he investigated the natural resources of the areas he visited.

The provincial government decided to take advantage of his exploration of the northern parts of Quebec and in 1880 it asked him to conduct an analysis of mineralogical conditions on the north shore of the St Lawrence from the Saguenay to Blanc-Sablon. The studies Puyjalon undertook enabled him to make broad observations that covered flora, fauna, and the various species of fish. The Department of Crown Lands showed great interest in his reports on the natural resources in this region. Some members of the legislature, who made a point of consulting his accounts, even referred to them in the house. On 16 April 1884, for instance, Louis-Georges Desjardins*, the member for Montmorency, stated: “The province has good reason to congratulate itself on the important services [performed by] Monsieur le Comte de Puyjalon [he was so called because of his family’s noble origins] and there is no doubt that both this house and the country are grateful to him for the signal services he is rendering through his work.”

From 1888 to 1891 Puyjalon was a lighthouse keeper for the federal government on Île aux Perroquets. During this period he continued his research on the minerals, flora, fauna, and fish of the north shore and Labrador regions. In 1892 he brought out the Petit guide du chercheur de minéraux in Montreal. The following year he published, also in Montreal, the Guide du chasseur de pelletrie and a more general work entitled Labrador et Géographie and, in 1894, Récits du Labrador.

On 24 Feb. 1897 Puyjalon was appointed inspector general of fisheries and game for the province of Quebec, a position he held until 1901. In his reports to the government he advocated measures to ensure the preservation of endangered species. He made recommendations to protect cod, salmon, and herring, and took a special interest in the conservation of the lobster. After denouncing the shameful practices of lobster poachers along the coast, Puyjalon suggested that the area concerned be divided into controlled fishing districts, that a government reserve be created in which lobster fishing would be prohibited, and that the opening and closing dates of the lobster-fishing season should be varied from district to district. As for feathered creatures, which were also the victims of flagrant poaching at that time, Puyjalon recommended that bird sanctuaries be set up and that nest robbers be prosecuted. His concern for the eider duck was manifest. He was convinced that its down had commercial value. In order to make fur-bearing animals profitable, he recommended that some species, including foxes, be raised in captivity.

Puyjalon’s major work was his Histoire naturelle à l’usage des chasseurs canadiens et des éleveurs d’animaux à fourrure (Québec, 1900; repr. 1975). It was a particularly interesting contribution to the developing field of natural science. Both in his accurate descriptions of certain northern mammals and in his precise observations about their behaviour, Puyjalon anticipated the tendencies of modern zoology, which at the turn of the century was increasingly shifting to a systemic and ecological approach.

After the death in 1900 of his wife, who used to spend a few months with him every summer, Puyjalon moved permanently into the hunting camp he he had built on Île à la Chasse. It was there that he died on 17 Aug. 1905. Fifty years later the Société Historique de la Côte-Nord erected a new cross on his burial site to pay homage to his great pioneering work.

Isabelle Bourgeois

In addition to the publications mentioned in the text, Henri de Puyjalon prepared a number of reports for the government of Quebec. These can be consulted in the Doc. de la session, 1881–82, 1884–85, 1887. Of particular note are those written for the commissioner of lands, forests, and fisheries, in the volumes for 1898 to 1901.

ANQ-SLSJ, Coll. Mgr Victor Tremblay, SSH, dossier 1441, pièces 1–3. Arch. Départementales, Lot (Cahors, France), État civil, Martel, 16 mars 1841 (copy at the Soc. Hist. de la Côte-Nord, Baie-Comeau, Qué.). La Côte-Nord (Baie-Comeau), 3 janv. 1963, 30 nov. 1966. W. E. Greening, “North shore naturalist,” Beaver, outfit 284 (September 1953): 22–25. V.-A. Huard, “Feu M. de Puyjalon,” Le Naturaliste canadien (Québec), 32 (1905): 93–94. Damase Potvin, Puyjalon; le solitaire de l’Île-à-la-Chasse (Québec, 1938). Qué., Assemblée Legislative, Débats, 1884.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Isabelle Bourgeois, “PUYJALON, HENRI DE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 31, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/puyjalon_henri_de_13E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/puyjalon_henri_de_13E.html
Author of Article: Isabelle Bourgeois
Title of Article: PUYJALON, HENRI DE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1994
Year of revision: 1994
Access Date: July 31, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

PUYJALON, HENRI DE (à sa naissance, il reçut les prénoms de Jean-Baptiste-Henri), naturaliste, fonctionnaire et auteur, né le 15 mars 1841 à Gluges, non loin de Martel, France, fils de Louis de Puyjalon et de Marie-Amélie Maignen de Nanteuil ; le 11 octobre 1882, il épousa à Québec Angelina Ouimet, fille de Gédéon Ouimet, surintendant du Conseil de l’instruction publique, et ils eurent deux fils ; décédé le 17 août 1905 à l’île à la Chasse, une des îles de Mingan, Québec.

On sait peu de chose sur Henri de Puyjalon avant son arrivée dans la province de Québec en 1872. Selon certains auteurs, il aurait étudié à l’école spéciale militaire de Saint-Cyr, en France, mais il ne figure pas dans les listes des élèves de cet établissement. Il fréquente les milieux artistiques et littéraires de Paris et, doué d’une belle voix de ténor, il aurait été sollicité par le compositeur Charles Gounod pour faire carrière à l’opéra.

À la suite de ce qui semble être un revers de fortune, Puyjalon décide de s’installer au Canada. Il arrive à Montréal en 1872 et, au bout de quelque temps, se fixe à Québec. Il ne tarde pas à se faire des amis dans les cercles littéraires et politiques. Au nombre de ses intimes, on compte les écrivains Arthur Buies et Oscar Dunn*, de même que Joseph-Adolphe Chapleau*, élu en 1867 au Parlement de Québec. En 1878, Puyjalon envisage de fonder un journal catholique à Québec et il offre à l’écrivain Léon Bloy de participer à cette entreprise. Malgré l’enthousiasme de ce dernier, le projet n’aura pas de suite. Très intéressé par la nature et passionné de chasse, Puyjalon entreprend très tôt de longues expéditions le long des rivières débouchant sur la rive nord du Saint-Laurent. S’appuyant sur des connaissances scientifiques et doué d’un sens d’observation peu commun, il explore les ressources naturelles des territoires visités.

Le gouvernement provincial décide de mettre à profit les possibilités offertes par cette exploration du milieu nordique québécois et demande à Puyjalon, au cours de l’année 1880, de faire une analyse de la situation minéralogique de la Côte-Nord, depuis la rivière Saguenay jusqu’à Blanc-Sablon. Les études qu’entreprend alors Puyjalon lui permettent d’étendre ses observations à la faune, à la flore, ainsi qu’aux différentes espèces de poissons de la région. Le département des Terres de la couronne accorde un grand intérêt aux rapports qu’il présente sur l’état des ressources naturelles de ce territoire. Certains députés, qui ne manquent pas de les consulter, en font même état en Chambre. Ainsi, le 16 avril 1884, Louis-Georges Desjardins*, député de Montmorency, déclare : « La province a lieu de, se féliciter des services importants de M. le comte de Puyjalon [on l’appelait ainsi à cause des origines nobles de sa famille] et nul doute que cette Chambre comme le pays lui sont reconnaissants des services signalés qu’il rend par ses travaux. »

De 1888 à 1891, Puyjalon est gardien du phare de l’île aux Perroquets, pour le compte du gouvernement fédéral. Pendant cette période, il poursuit ses recherches sur les minéraux, la faune, la flore ainsi que les poissons des régions de la Côte-Nord et du Labrador. En 1892, il fait paraître à Montréal le Petit Guide du chercheur de minéraux. L’année suivante, il publie dans la même ville le Guide du chasseur de pelletrie de même qu’un écrit plus général intitulé Labrador et Géographie et, en 1894, Récits du Labrador.

Le 24 février 1897, Puyjalon est nommé inspecteur général des pêcheries et de la chasse de la province de Québec, poste qu’il occupe jusqu’en 1901. Dans les rapports qu’il adresse au gouvernement, il préconise des mesures pour assurer la conservation des espèces menacées. Sans négliger les recommandations visant à protéger la morue, le saumon et le hareng, il s’intéresse particulièrement à la préservation du homard. Après avoir dénoncé les pratiques honteuses des « homardiers-braconniers » le long des côtes, Puyjalon suggère de partager le territoire en question en districts de pêche contrôlés, de créer une réserve gouvernementale où la pêche au homard serait prohibée et de varier la date de fermeture et d’ouverture de la pêche au homard dans les différents districts. Quant aux animaux à plumes, qui sont également l’objet d’un braconnage éhonté à l’époque, Puyjalon recommande la création de sanctuaires d’oiseaux et la poursuite des « œufriers » ou dénicheurs d’oiseaux. Son intérêt pour le canard eider est manifeste. Il est convaincu de la valeur commerciale du duvet de cet oiseau. Afin de rentabiliser les animaux à fourrure, il préconise de développer l’élevage de certaines espèces, notamment le renard.

En 1900, Puyjalon publie à Québec son ouvrage principal, Histoire naturelle à l’usage des chasseurs canadiens et des éleveurs d’animaux à fourrure, qui sera réimprimé en 1975. Cette dernière publication représente un apport particulièrement intéressant pour le développement des sciences naturelles. En effet, tant par l’exactitude des descriptions qu’il donne de certains mammifères des régions nordiques, que par la justesse des observations qu’il apporte sur leur éthologie, Puyjalon rejoint, dans cet ouvrage, les tendances de la zoologie moderne qui, au début du xxe siècle, s’oriente de plus en plus vers la systémique et l’écologie.

Après la mort de sa femme, en 1900, qui, chaque été, venait passer quelques mois avec lui, Henri de Puyjalon s’installe définitivement dans le camp de chasse qu’il a bâti à l’île à la Chasse. C’est là qu’il meurt le 17 août 1905. Cinquante ans plus tard, la Société historique de la Côte-Nord tint à rendre hommage à son œuvre de pionnier en plantant une nouvelle croix sur l’emplacement de sa sépulture.

Isabelle Bourgeois

Outre les ouvrages que Henri de Puyjalon a publiés, on peut consulter les rapports qu’il a préparés à l’intention du gouvernement du Québec dans les Doc. de la session, 1881–1882, 1884–1885, 1887, et plus particulièrement pour le commissaire des Terres, Forêts et Pêcheries dans ceux de 1898 à 1901

ANQ-SLSJ, Coll. Mgr Victor Tremblay, SHS, dossier 1441, pièces 1–3.— Arch. départementales, Lot (Cahors, France), État civil, Martel, 16 mars 1841 (copie à la Soc. hist. de la Côte-Nord, Baie-Comeau, Québec).— La Côte-Nord (Baie-Comeau), 2 janv. 1963, 30 nov. 1966.— W. E. Greening, « North shore naturalist », Beaver, outfit 284 (sept. 1953) : 22–25.— V.-A. Huard, « Feu M. de Puyjalon », le Naturaliste canadien (Québec), 32 (1905) : 93s.— Damase Potvin, Puyjalon ; le solitaire de l’Île-à-la-Chasse (Québec, 1938).— Québec, Assemblée législative, Débats, 1884.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Isabelle Bourgeois, « PUYJALON, HENRI DE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 26 oct. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/puyjalon_henri_de_13F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/puyjalon_henri_de_13F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Isabelle Bourgeois
Titre de l'article:   PUYJALON, HENRI DE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1994
Année de la révision:   1994
Date de consultation:   26 octobre 2014