DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LAFLAMME, JOSEPH-CLOVIS-KEMNER – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 19 Sept. 1849 in Saint-Anselme, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Photograph Dr. Maude Abbott, Montreal, QC, 1904 Wm. Notman & Son 1904, 20th century Silver salts on glass - Gelatin dry plate process 17 x 12 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-150659 © McCord Museum Keywords:  female (19035) , Photograph (77678) , portrait (53878)

Source: Link

ABBOTT, MAUDE ELIZABETH SEYMOUR (baptized Elizabeth Maud Seymour Babin), physician, pathologist, museum curator, professor, cardiologist, author, and editor; b. 18 March 1868 in St Andrews (Saint-André-d’Argenteuil), Que., younger daughter of the Reverend Jeremie Babin and Elizabeth Bayley Abbott; cousin of John Joseph Caldwell Abbott*; d. unmarried 2 Sept. 1940 in Montreal and was buried in St Andrews.

In January 1867 Jeremie Babin, a minister of the Church of England in Buckingham (Gatineau), was tried for the murder of his crippled sister, Mary (Marie-Aglaé), who had come to live with his family a year earlier and had disappeared under mysterious circumstances the previous April. Babin was acquitted, and he went with his wife and daughter to live in St Andrews with his widowed mother-in-law, Frances Mary Abbott, née Smith. Probably in October 1868, shortly after his daughter Maude’s birth, he decamped for the United States, where he would establish a collegiate school that he directed for 14 years. Maude’s mother died of tuberculosis in October 1869, so Maude and her elder sister, Frances Alice Macdonald Babin, were raised by their maternal grandmother, and their last name was changed to Abbott.

Despite these family troubles, Maude’s childhood was happy. She received her early education at home, and in 1884–85 she attended Misses Symmers and Smith’s school in Montreal. There she was “consumed by a great thirst for the school work” and longed to continue her studies. She won the institution’s first scholarship to McGill University and entered in September 1885. Three weeks later, a smallpox epidemic in Montreal obliged her to return to St Andrews. She resumed her studies the next fall and obtained a ba in 1890 as a member of the third class of female students to attend McGill [see Sir Donald Alexander Smith*]; she was that year’s valedictorian and took home the Lord Stanley Gold Medal for academic achievement.

Ever eager for learning, Maude acted on a friend’s suggestion that she become a doctor and was encouraged by her grandmother’s comment, “Dear child, you may be anything you like.” Unfortunately, few medical faculties were so liberally minded. To Maude and other women, the one at McGill was “impenetrable” despite a fund-raising appeal by sympathetic Montreal women and assistance from some leading doctors, such as Thomas George Roddick*, who supported Maude’s request for admission. However, Bishop’s College had a medical faculty in the city [see Francis Wayland Campbell*] and it invited her to enrol. She would later recall that being “no longer within the walls of my beloved McGill,” she was lonely among “rough students” in what she described as “an alien school.” Nonetheless, she earned an md in 1894, and won the prize in senior anatomy and the chancellor’s award for the best examination results in the subjects studied in the final year. Yet even at the Montreal General Hospital, where she went for clinical work, she was not welcomed by the superintendent of nursing, Gertrude Elizabeth (Nora) Livingston*.

After graduation, Abbott spent three years in Europe, taking postgraduate courses in a wide variety of subjects, meeting well-known doctors, and collecting research data. She noted that her studies abroad in pathology and internal medicine “determined my bent and made possible my later work at McGill.” On her return to Montreal in 1897, she opened an office, but she discovered that women doctors had great difficulty making a living in private practice. Since her grandmother had died, she now had sole responsibility for her sister Alice, who had become an invalid. Undaunted by personal, financial, and professional difficulties, she seized the opportunities for research offered by two McGill professors. Dr John George Adami asked her to document rare cases of cirrhosis. Dr Charles Ferdinand Martin suggested that she undertake a statistical study of heart murmurs based on the records kept by the Royal Victoria Hospital from 1895 to 1898. With these assignments she proved her capacity for research and gained a foothold in McGill. Initially, her papers had to be read before learned societies by male colleagues, but “On so-called functional heart murmurs” earned her precedent-making membership in the Montreal Medico-Chirurgical Society in 1898 and publication in the Montreal Medical Journal the following year. A paper by Adami, Abbott, and Francis John Nicholson was read before the Association of American Physicians in 1899 and two by Abbott alone, “On the bacteriology of a case of progressive portal cirrhosis” and “Pigmentation cirrhosis of the liver in a case of haemochromatosis,” were the first to be published by a woman in the Journal of Pathology and Bacteriology (Edinburgh and London), in 1900 and 1901 respectively.

In the summer of 1898 Abbott had been appointed assistant curator of the pathological museum at McGill, a significant step in her slowly advancing career. By 1901 the collection of anatomical and pathological specimens was known as the McGill Medical Museum. Although Abbott would continue to have a small private practice for many years, partly for the income and partly because she enjoyed the work, the museum became her main preoccupation. She turned an accumulation of specimens arranged according to various methods into a well-organized collection, catalogued using a decimal system she developed from the classification used by modern libraries. She published several articles on the system, which was adopted by other institutions.

In 1899, researching ways in which to reorganize the museum, Abbott had visited various institutions in the United States. At Johns Hopkins University she met Dr William Osler*, who became her mentor and lifelong inspiration. According to her, when Osler pointed to the educational potential of the McGill museum, “He quietly dropped the seed that dominated all my future work for many years.” By using the museum as an instructional tool, she revolutionized the teaching of pathology at McGill. Initially, students were not required to attend her demonstrations, but they proved to be so popular that in 1904 they became a compulsory part of the curriculum and would remain so until 1922.

Abbott’s close identification with her work was demonstrated in the spring of 1907 when the Medical Building that housed the museum caught fire; she was one of the first to be found among the embers, trying to salvage the precious artefacts. In May she became the first secretary of the International Association of Medical Museums, a body she had worked hard to establish; she would hold the post until 1938. Her contacts with curators throughout North America and overseas helped her to rebuild McGill’s collection. She was named acting curator of the Canadian Army Medical Museum in 1918, when its collection was placed in the custody of McGill.

In 1905 Osler had invited Abbott to contribute the section on congenital heart abnormalities for his encyclopedic A system of medicine … (7v., London, 1907–10). He was extremely impressed by her piece, declaring in 1908 that “I knew you would write a good article but I did not expect one of such extraordinary merit.” In 1905 McGill had made Abbott a research fellow in pathology, in 1910 it awarded her an honorary md, and finally, in 1912, it appointed her lecturer. In 1919 she received a “very pressing and courteous invitation” from the Woman’s Medical College of Pennsylvania, in Philadelphia, offering her the professorship of pathology at double her salary. She did not accept until 1923, when she took two years’ leave. During her time there she successfully reorganized the department of pathology. She returned to Montreal as assistant professor, the highest rank McGill ever accorded her.

Throughout her life, Abbott was an indefatigable researcher, author, and editor. In addition to being secretary of the IAMM, she served as editor of its Bulletin (Baltimore, Md) from 1907 to 1938. During World War I she and Dr George Gordon Campbell took over the editorship of the Canadian Medical Association’s Journal (Toronto), although its former editor, Andrew Macphail, remained nominally in charge. In 1919, after the death of Osler, whom she called “the most beloved physician of our day,” she began work on a special issue of the IAMM Bulletin in his honour. More than six years in the making, the bulky Sir William Osler memorial number … included over 100 papers “reminiscent of every phase of Osler’s activities” and, when a reprint was needed in 1927, she even accepted ten more contributions. It was a tribute both to Osler’s distinction and to Abbott’s devotion.

Abbott’s own bibliography lists some 140 titles covering her wide range of interests, from medical museums and nursing education to pathology and heart abnormalities, as well as numerous articles and monographs such as “An historical sketch of the medical faculty of McGill University,” which appeared in the Montreal Medical Journal in 1902, “Women in medicine,” in the University Magazine (Montreal) in 1911, McGill’s heroic past, 1821–1921: an historic outline of the university from its origin to the present time (Montreal, 1921), and History of medicine in the province of Quebec (Montreal, 1931). However, her reputation as an author largely derives from her work in medical research. According to Canadian cardiologist Harold Nathan Segall, these writings represent “truly precious pioneering.” In particular, her adoption of a “physiological basis for thinking of congenital heart disease made for improved clarity in understanding diagnosis, therapy and prognosis.” Her gigantic undertaking, the Atlas of congenital cardiac disease (New York, 1936), brought her worldwide acclaim and remains a classic.

Abbott was never rich, but always spent whatever was necessary for Alice’s care until her sister’s death in 1934. A correspondence begun in 1890 with her errant father did not recreate a family, nor did a visit in 1916 from her half-brother Harry Babin produce anything more than an emotional, but brief, exchange of letters. Friends and work substituted for family, and Abbott was always warm-hearted, hospitable, and generous. This “beneficent tornado,” as distinguished Philadelphia pathologist Edward Bell Krumbhaar called her, was admired by her students and respected by colleagues throughout the English-speaking medical world. Some male McGill professors insisted on calling her “Miss Abbott” rather than “Dr Abbott” and her promotion was much slower and her salary was always lower than theirs, yet she remained unfalteringly loyal to the institution. Her devotion was acknowledged on her retirement in 1936, when the university granted her an honorary lld, recognizing her “as a stimulating teacher, an indefatigable investigator and a champion of higher education for women.”

In June 1940 Abbott suffered a cerebral haemorrhage and never fully recovered. On her death several months later, tributes poured in. During an address to the New England Heart Association in December, the eminent American cardiologist Dr Paul Dudley White ranked her as “the world’s authority on congenital heart disease …, a living force in the medicine of her generation.” She had been honoured in many ways during her lifetime, as a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (1931), a fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine, London, England (1935), and an honorary member of the New York Academy of Medicine (1936). Posthumously, her achievements continued to be recognized. She was the only woman scientist and the only Canadian in Diego Rivera’s renowned mural “History of cardiology,” created for the National Institute of Cardiology in Mexico City (1944), and she was remembered in the annual Maude Abbott Lecture of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology. In 1994 she was the only woman among the first ten laureates of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame in London, Ont. Near the McIntyre Medical Sciences Building on the McGill campus, a distinctive assemblage of granite slabs displays a plaque created by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada as a national tribute to her achievements.

Margaret Gillett

BANQ-CAM, CE606-S34, 24 mai 1868, 13 nov. 1869. McGill Univ. Arch. (Montreal), Acc. 2354.01.2 (valedictory address by Maude E. Abbott, 1890, McGill Univ. convocation); MG 1070. McGill Univ. Libraries, Osler Library (Montreal), P111; P417. Montreal Daily Star, 3 Sept. 1930. E. L. Abbott, All heart: notes on the life of Dr. Maude Elizabeth Seymour Abbott, m.d., pioneer woman doctor and cardiologist (Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Que., 1997). M. E. [S]. Abbott, “Editorial preface,” International Assoc. of Medical Museums, Bull. and Journal of Technical Methods (Montreal), 9 (1926; repr. 1927): xix–xxii, Special issue (Sir William Osler memorial number: appreciations and reminiscences). Jessie Boyd Scriver, “Maude E. Abbott,” in The clear spirit: twenty Canadian women and their times, ed. Mary Quayle Innis (Toronto, 1966), 142–57. Barbara Brookes, “An illness in the family: Dr. Maude Abbott and her sister, Alice Abbott,” Canadian Bull. of Medical Hist. (Waterloo, Ont.), 28 (2011): 171–90. Canadian medical lives, ed. T. P. Morley (24v. to date, Toronto and Oxford, Eng., 1989–    ), 13 (Douglas Waugh, Maudie of McGill: Dr Maude Abbott and the foundations of heart surgery, 1992). S. B. Frost, “The Abbotts of McGill,” McGill Journal of Education ([Montreal]), 13 (1978): 253–70. Hervé Gagnon et C. D. Nadeau, “La contribution de Maude Abbott au développement de la muséologie médicale (1898–1940),” Fontanus (Montréal), 10 (1998): 71–79. Margaret Gillett, “The heart of the matter: Maude E. Abbott, 1869–1940,” in Despite the odds: essays on Canadian women and science, ed. Marianne Gosztonyi Ainley (Montreal, 1990), 179–94; We walked very warily: a history of women at McGill (Montreal, 1981). H. E. MacDermot, Maude Abbott: a memoir (Toronto, 1941). Raymond Ouimet, La mystérieuse affaire Babin: une énigme enfin résolue (Montpellier, Québec, 2007). H. N. Segall, Pioneers of cardiology in Canada, 1820–1970: the genesis of Canadian cardiology (Willowdale, Ont., 1988).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Margaret Gillett, “ABBOTT, MAUDE ELIZABETH SEYMOUR,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 19, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/abbott_maude_elizabeth_seymour_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/abbott_maude_elizabeth_seymour_16E.html
Author of Article: Margaret Gillett
Title of Article: ABBOTT, MAUDE ELIZABETH SEYMOUR
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: September 19, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CANNIFF, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 18 octobre 1910 à Belleville, Ontario

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Photograph Dr. Maude Abbott, Montreal, QC, 1904 Wm. Notman & Son 1904, 20th century Silver salts on glass - Gelatin dry plate process 17 x 12 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-150659 © McCord Museum Keywords:  female (19035) , Photograph (77678) , portrait (53878)

Provenance : Lien

ABBOTT, MAUDE ELIZABETH SEYMOUR (baptisée Elizabeth Maud Seymour Babin), médecin, pathologiste, conservatrice de musée, professeure, cardiologue, auteure et rédactrice en chef, née le 18 mars 1868 à St Andrews (Saint-André-d’Argenteuil, Québec), benjamine du révérend Jeremie Babin et d’Elizabeth Bayley Abbott ; cousine de John Joseph Caldwell Abbott* ; décédée célibataire le 2 septembre 1940 à Montréal et inhumée à St Andrews.

En janvier 1867, Jeremie Babin, ministre de l’Église d’Angleterre à Buckingham (Gatineau), fut jugé pour le meurtre de sa sœur infirme, Mary (Marie-Aglaé), qui était venue vivre avec sa famille un an plus tôt et avait disparu dans des circonstances mystérieuses au mois d’avril précédent. Babin fut acquitté, puis il partit avec sa femme et sa fille habiter à St Andrews chez sa belle-mère veuve, Frances Mary Abbott, née Smith. Probablement en octobre 1868, peu après la naissance de sa fille Maude Elizabeth Seymour, il s’enfuit aux États-Unis, où il fonderait une école d’enseignement secondaire qu’il dirigerait pendant 14 ans. La mère de la jeune enfant mourut de la tuberculose en octobre 1869. Ainsi, Maude Elizabeth Seymour et sa sœur aînée, Frances Alice Macdonald Babin, furent élevées par leur grand-mère maternelle, et leur nom de famille fut changé pour Abbott.

Malgré ces problèmes familiaux, Mlle Abbott eut une enfance heureuse. Elle fut d’abord instruite à la maison et, en 1884–1885, elle fréquenta l’école de Mlles Symmers et Smith, à Montréal, où elle « s’enthousiasma pour les travaux scolaires » et souhaita ardemment poursuivre ses études. Elle reçut la première bourse de l’établissement pour aller à la McGill University, où elle entra en septembre 1885. Trois semaines plus tard, une épidémie de variole à Montréal l’obligea à retourner à St Andrews. Elle reprit ses études l’automne suivant et obtint une licence ès arts en 1890 ; elle faisait partie de la troisième promotion d’étudiantes à avoir fréquenté la McGill University [V. sir Donald Alexander Smith*]. Cette année-là, elle fut invitée à prononcer le discours d’adieu et remporta la médaille d’or Lord Stanley pour ses excellents résultats.

Toujours assoiffée de connaissances, Mlle Abbott décida de devenir médecin, selon la suggestion d’un ami. Elle fut d’ailleurs encouragée par les commentaires de sa grand-mère : « Chère enfant, tu peux être tout ce que tu désires. » Malheureusement, peu de facultés de médecine avaient des idées aussi progressistes. Pour Mlle Abbott et d’autres femmes, celle de la McGill University était « impénétrable », malgré la campagne de financement lancée par des femmes sympathisantes de Montréal et l’aide de certains médecins éminents, dont Thomas George Roddick*, qui appuya la demande d’admission de Mlle Abbott. Cependant, le Bishop’s College avait une faculté de médecine dans la ville [V. Francis Wayland Campbell*] et Mlle Abbott fut invitée à s’y inscrire. Elle se souviendrait plus tard que, n’étant « plus dans les murs de [sa] McGill bien-aimée », elle se sentait seule parmi des « étudiants rudes » dans une université qu’elle décrivait comme « une école étrangère ». Néanmoins, elle reçut un doctorat de médecine en 1894 et remporta le prix d’anatomie avancée, ainsi que le prix du chancelier pour les meilleurs résultats aux examens des matières étudiées en dernière année. Malgré cela, au Montreal General Hospital, où elle alla faire son stage clinique, Mlle Abbott ne fut pas bien accueillie par la surintendante des soins infirmiers, Gertrude Elizabeth (Nora) Livingston*.

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, Mlle Abbott passa trois ans en Europe, où elle suivit des cours de cycle supérieur dans une grande variété de matières, rencontra des médecins de renom et recueillit des données expérimentales. Elle nota que ses études à l’étranger en pathologie et en médecine interne « déterminèrent [son] domaine de prédilection et rendirent possibles [ses] travaux ultérieurs à McGill ». À son retour à Montréal en 1897, elle ouvrit un cabinet médical ; elle découvrit toutefois qu’il était très difficile pour les femmes médecins de gagner leur vie dans la pratique privée. Depuis la mort de sa grand-mère, elle avait l’entière responsabilité de sa sœur devenue invalide. Sans se laisser décourager par ses difficultés personnelles, financières et professionnelles, elle sauta sur l’occasion de faire de la recherche pour deux professeurs de la McGill University. Le docteur John George Adami lui demanda de recueillir des données sur des cas rares de cirrhoses, et le docteur Charles Ferdinand Martin lui suggéra d’entreprendre une étude statistique sur les souffles cardiaques en analysant les dossiers conservés par l’hôpital Royal Victoria de 1895 à 1898. Grâce à ces travaux, elle montra sa capacité à faire de la recherche et se fit progressivement accepter à McGill. Au départ, ses écrits devaient être lus devant des sociétés savantes par des collègues masculins, mais l’article « On so-called functional heart murmurs » lui valut de devenir membre de la Montreal Medico-Chirurgical Society en 1898, créant ainsi un précédent, et d’être publiée dans le Montreal Medical Journal l’année suivante. Elle écrivit un article, en collaboration avec Adami et Francis John Nicholson, qui fit l’objet d’une lecture devant l’Association of American Physicians en 1899. Elle en rédigea deux autres seule : « On the bacteriology of a case of progressive portal cirrhosis » et « Pigmentation cirrhosis of the liver in a case of hæmochromatosis », qui furent les premiers textes publiés par une femme dans le Journal of Pathology and Bacteriology (Édimbourg et Londres), respectivement en 1900 et 1901.

Durant l’été de 1898, Mlle Abbott avait été nommée conservatrice adjointe du musée de pathologie de McGill, étape importante dans sa carrière qui progressait lentement. En 1901, la collection de pièces anatomiques et pathologiques était déjà connue sous le nom de McGill Medical Museum. Même si Mlle Abbott continua d’exploiter un petit cabinet médical privé pendant de nombreuses années, en partie pour le revenu et en partie pour l’amour du travail, le musée devint sa principale préoccupation. Elle transforma un amas de pièces arrangées selon diverses méthodes en une collection bien organisée, cataloguée au moyen d’un système décimal qu’elle mit au point à partir de la classification utilisée dans les bibliothèques modernes. Elle publia plusieurs articles sur ce système qui fut adopté par d’autres établissements.

En 1899, alors qu’elle cherchait des manières de réorganiser le musée, Mlle Abbott avait visité divers endroits aux États-Unis. À la Johns Hopkins University, elle rencontra le docteur William Osler*, qui devint son mentor et demeurerait sa source d’inspiration pour le reste de sa vie. Quand Osler souligna le potentiel éducatif du McGill Medical Museum, elle dit : « Il sema discrètement la graine qui dominerait tous mes travaux pendant de nombreuses années. » En se servant du musée comme d’un outil pédagogique, elle révolutionna l’enseignement de la pathologie à McGill. Au début, les étudiants n’étaient pas tenus d’assister à ses démonstrations, mais celles-ci furent si populaires qu’elles devinrent en 1904 une partie obligatoire du programme d’enseignement et le resteraient jusqu’en 1922.

Mlle Abbott prouva sa forte identification avec son travail au printemps de 1907, quand le pavillon de médecine de la McGill University, qui abritait le musée, prit feu ; elle fut l’une des premières personnes à se trouver parmi les braises, pour essayer de récupérer les précieux artefacts. En mai, elle devint la première secrétaire de l’International Association of Medical Museums, organisme pour la fondation duquel elle avait déployé beaucoup d’efforts ; elle occuperait ce poste jusqu’en 1938. Ses liens avec des conservateurs de musée de partout en Amérique du Nord et à l’étranger l’aidèrent à rebâtir la collection de la McGill University. Elle fut nommée conservatrice par intérim du Canadian Army Medical Museum en 1918, lorsque sa collection fut confiée à McGill.

En 1905, Osler avait invité Mlle Abbott à collaborer à la section sur les anomalies congénitales du cœur dans son ouvrage encyclopédique en sept volumes intitulé A system of medicine […], publié à Londres (1907–1910). Il fut extrêmement impressionné par son texte et lui dit en 1908 : « Je savais que vous écririez un bon article, mais je ne m’attendais pas à ce qu’il soit d’une valeur aussi extraordinaire. » La McGill University la nomma chercheuse en pathologie en 1905, lui décerna un doctorat honorifique en médecine en 1910 et lui confia finalement un poste de maître de conférences en 1912. En 1919, elle reçut une « invitation très pressante et courtoise » du Woman’s Medical College of Pennsylvania à Philadelphie, qui lui offrait un poste de professeure de pathologie et un salaire deux fois plus élevé. Elle n’accepta cette offre qu’en 1923 et prit alors un congé sabbatique de McGill. Durant les deux ans qu’elle passa dans l’établissement de Philadelphie, elle réussit à réorganiser le département de pathologie. Elle retourna à Montréal à titre de professeure assistante, le plus haut rang que lui accorderait la McGill University.

Tout au long de sa vie, Mlle Abbott fut une chercheuse, une auteure et une rédactrice en chef infatigable. En plus de son poste de secrétaire de l’International Association of Medical Museums, elle fut, de 1907 à 1938, rédactrice en chef du Bulletin de l’organisme, publié à Baltimore, au Maryland. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, Mlle Abbott et le docteur George Gordon Campbell prirent le relais à la direction de la rédaction du Journal (Toronto) de l’Association médicale canadienne, malgré le fait que l’ancien rédacteur en chef, Andrew Macphail, demeurait théoriquement responsable de la publication. En 1919, à la mort d’Osler, qu’elle appelait « le médecin le plus aimé de [son] époque », elle prépara un numéro spécial en son honneur pour le Bulletin de l’International Association of Medical Museums. Après plus de six ans de travail, ce numéro volumineux, intitulé Sir William Osler memorial number, comptait plus de 100 articles « rappelant chaque étape des activités d’Osler » et, quand il fallut le réimprimer, en 1927, elle y ajouta même dix textes. Cette publication était un hommage à la fois au talent d’Osler et au dévouement de Mlle Abbott.

L’œuvre de Mlle Abbott comprend environ 140 titres, qui couvrent la grande diversité de ses champs d’intérêt, allant des musées médicaux à l’enseignement infirmier et de la pathologie aux anomalies cardiaques. Elle a écrit de nombreux articles et monographies : « An historical sketch of the medical faculty of McGill University », publié dans le Montreal Medical Journal (1902), « Women in medicine », paru dans le University Magazine (Montréal, 1911), McGill’s heroic past, 1821–1921 : an historic outline of the university from its origin to the present time (Montréal, 1921) et History of medicine in the province of Quebec (Montréal, 1931). Cependant, sa réputation en tant qu’auteure découle en majeure partie de ses travaux dans le domaine de la recherche médicale. Selon le cardiologue canadien Harold Nathan Segall, ces écrits représentent une « innovation vraiment précieuse ». En particulier, l’adoption par Mlle Abbott d’une « approche physiologique pour les cardiopathies congénitales contribua à l’amélioration de la clarté dans la compréhension du diagnostic, du traitement et du pronostic ». Son entreprise gigantesque, l’Atlas of congenital cardiac disease, publié à New York en 1936, lui valut une renommée mondiale et demeurerait un classique.

Mlle Abbott ne fut jamais riche, ce qui ne l’empêcha pas de dépenser toutes les sommes nécessaires aux soins de sa sœur jusqu’à la mort de cette dernière en 1934. La correspondance qu’elle commença à entretenir en 1890 avec son père errant ne reconstitua pas une cellule familiale. De la visite en 1916 de son demi-frère, Harry Babin, ne résulta qu’un échange de lettres, plein d’émotion, mais bref. Les amis et le travail remplaçaient la famille, et Mlle Abbott était toujours chaleureuse, accueillante et généreuse. Cette « tornade bienveillante », comme l’appelait Edward Bell Krumbhaar, distingué pathologiste de Philadelphie, était admirée par ses étudiants et respectée par ses collègues dans tout le milieu médical anglophone. Certains professeurs masculins de la McGill University insistaient cependant pour l’appeler « Mlle Abbott » plutôt que « docteur Abbott ». Par rapport à ses collègues masculins, son avancement se faisait beaucoup plus lentement et son salaire était toujours plus bas ; elle conserva pourtant une loyauté inébranlable à l’établissement. Son dévouement fut souligné à sa retraite, en 1936, quand l’université lui décerna un doctorat honorifique en droit, reconnaissant qu’elle était « une professeure stimulante, une chercheuse infatigable et une championne des études supérieures pour les femmes ».

En juin 1940, Maude Elizabeth Seymour Abbott fut victime d’une hémorragie cérébrale et ne s’en remit jamais complètement. À sa mort, quelques mois plus tard, les hommages arrivèrent de toutes parts. Dans un discours qu’il prononça devant la New England Heart Association en décembre, le docteur Paul Dudley White, éminent cardiologue américain, reconnut Mlle Abbott comme « l’autorité mondiale en matière de cardiopathie congénitale […], une force vive dans la médecine de sa génération ». Mlle Abbott avait reçu de nombreux honneurs au cours de sa vie : elle fut nommée membre du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (1931) et de la Royal Society of Medicine de Londres (1935), ainsi que membre honoraire de la New York Academy of Medicine (1936). Ses réalisations continuèrent d’être reconnues après sa mort. Elle est la seule femme scientifique et la seule Canadienne à figurer sur la célèbre peinture murale de Diego Rivera, intitulée History of cardiology, créée en 1944 pour l’Institut national de cardiologie de Mexico. La conférence annuelle Maude Abbott de la United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology fut instituée en sa mémoire. En 1994, elle fut la seule femme, parmi les dix premiers lauréats, admise au Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, à London, en Ontario. Près du pavillon des sciences médicales McIntyre, sur le campus de la McGill University, se trouve un assemblage particulier de blocs de granit sur lequel une plaque, créée par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, commémore l’importance nationale des réalisations de Mlle Abbott.

Margaret Gillett

BAnQ-CAM, CE606-S34, 24 mai 1868, 13 nov. 1869.— McGill Univ. Libraries, Osler Library (Montréal), P111 ; P417.— Service des arch. de l’univ. McGill (Montréal), Acc. 2354.01.2 (valedictory address by Maude E. Abbott, 1890, McGill Univ. convocation) ; MG 1070.— Montreal Daily Star, 3 sept. 1930.— E. L. Abbott, All heart : notes on the life of Dr. Maude Elizabeth Seymour Abbott, m.d., pioneer woman doctor and cardiologist (Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Québec, 1997).— M. E. [S]. Abbott, « Editorial preface », International Assoc. of Medical Museums, Bull. and Journal of Technical Methods (Montréal), 9 (1926 ; réimpr., 1927) : xix–xxii, numéro spécial intitulé Sir William Osler memorial number : appreciations and reminiscences.— Jessie Boyd Scriver, « Maude E. Abbott », dans The clear spirit : twenty Canadian women and their times, Mary Quayle Innis, édit. (Toronto, 1966), 142–157.— Barbara Brookes, « An illness in the family : Dr. Maude Abbott and her sister, Alice Abbott », Bull. canadien d’hist. de la médecine (Waterloo, Ontario), 28 (2011) : 171–190.— Canadian medical lives, T. P. Morley, édit. (24 vol. parus, Toronto et Oxford, Angleterre, 1989–    ), 13 (Douglas Waugh, Maudie of McGill : Dr Maude Abbott and the foundations of heart surgery, 1992).— S. B. Frost, « The Abbotts of McGill », McGill Journal of Education ([Montréal]), 13 (1978) : 253–270.— Hervé Gagnon et C. D. Nadeau, « la Contribution de Maude Abbott au développement de la muséologie médicale (1898–1940) », Fontanus (Montréal), 10 (1998) : 71–79.— Margaret Gillett, « The heart of the matter : Maude E. Abbott, 1869–1940 », dans Despite the odds : essays on Canadian women and science, Marianne Gosztonyi Ainley, édit. (Montréal, 1990), 179–194 ; We walked very warily : a history of women at McGill (Montréal, 1981).— H. E. MacDermot, Maude Abbott : a memoir (Toronto, 1941).— Raymond Ouimet, la Mystérieuse Affaire Babin : une énigme enfin résolue (Montpellier, Québec, 2007).— H. N. Segall, Pioneers of cardiology in Canada, 1820–1970 : the genesis of Canadian cardiology (Willowdale, Ontario, 1988).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Margaret Gillett, « ABBOTT, MAUDE ELIZABETH SEYMOUR », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/abbott_maude_elizabeth_seymour_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/abbott_maude_elizabeth_seymour_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Margaret Gillett
Titre de l'article:   ABBOTT, MAUDE ELIZABETH SEYMOUR
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   18 octobre 2017