DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MACLEOD, JAMES FARQUHARSON – Volume XII (1891-1900)

b. probably 25 Sept. 1836 in Drynoch, Isle of Skye, Scotland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Margaret Addison, young woman. Image courtesy of Victoria University Archives (Toronto, Ont.).

Source: Link

ADDISON, MARGARET ELEANOR THEODORA, educator, diarist, and first dean of women at Victoria College, Toronto; b. 21 Oct. 1868 in Horning’s Mills, Ont., eldest of the five children of the Reverend Peter Addison and Mary Ann Campbell; d. unmarried 18 Dec. 1940 in Toronto.

Margaret Addison, the daughter of a Methodist Church of Canada minister and a former schoolteacher, was profoundly influenced by her parents’ belief in education as a moral and spiritual guide. The family moved every three years as was required by the Methodist itinerancy rule. Margaret started high school in Richmond Hill, Ont., and finished in Newcastle. In 1885 she entered what was then Victoria University in Cobourg, which was under the direction of Samuel Sobieski Nelles* and then Nathanael Burwash*. The sixth woman to graduate from Victoria, Addison completed her ba in modern languages in 1889 and won the silver medal. She taught mainly mathematics and chemistry at the Ontario Ladies’ College in Whitby (1889–91) before becoming a specialist in French and German at Stratford Collegiate Institute (1892–1900) and Lindsay Collegiate Institute (1901–3).

Among the disincentives to higher education for young Methodist women at that time was their parents’ reluctance to lodge them in boarding houses (especially after Victoria’s move to Toronto in 1892 following its federation with the University of Toronto). By 1895 Margaret Burwash, wife of Victoria College’s president, had proposed the building of a women’s residence – a well-run home to which parents could entrust their daughters. Addison was among Mrs Burwash’s most avid supporters. She wrote letters, made speeches, and declared herself “willing to do anything righteous to help the Residence on.” In 1896 Hart Almerrin Massey* left $50,000 in his will for the project. The following year a memorial association named for Methodist Barbara Heck [Ruckle*] was set up to raise more funds, and in 1898 the task was taken on by the Victoria College Alumnae Association, with Addison as president.

In 1900, between teaching positions, Margaret spent several months travelling in Europe with her sister, Mary Agnes Charlotte W., culminating in a six-week visit to Cambridge and Oxford, England. There she made an intensive study of the women’s colleges, gathering ideas for Victoria’s residence and perhaps preparing herself should she be asked to serve in it. Always a prolific writer of diaries, letters, and reports, she kept a detailed journal in which she recorded her admiration for the communities of educated women she encountered. She responded enthusiastically to the college heads she interviewed, and would later speak of herself as “the humble disciple of these great leaders.”

Annesley Hall, the first university residence for women in Canada, was eventually completed in 1903, and Addison was appointed its dean. For close to three decades she would tread a fine line, ensuring the acceptance of women’s university education by a cautious church while working to create a cultural and spiritual milieu that would widen the students’ horizons. At the outset, routines and rules of conduct were laid down. Meals were formal, with prayers after breakfast and dinner, and lights had to be out by 11:00 p.m. The purity of the young charges was strictly guarded. The main doors were locked after dinner; one could leave for the evening only if granted permission, which depended on such matters as destinations and suitable chaperones. Gentlemen were allowed to step inside on the second and fourth Friday evenings of the month, or on Sundays after church.

Some students rebelled against the regime. As Addison reported to the women’s Committee of Management, the first year was a disaster, with disobedience and selfishness rampant. Consequently, Addison experimented with student accountability during the following two years, and in 1906 instituted the Annesley Student Government Association, which made the residents partly responsible for modifying and administering the rules. Part of her mandate was to educate young women in citizenship, and she believed that the ASGA would contribute to that goal. Likewise, she arranged for guest speakers, among them British suffragist Emmeline Pankhurst, palaeobotanist Marie Charlotte Carmichael Stopes, and James Shaver Woodsworth*, a Methodist minister who worked among the poor in Winnipeg. Addison also escorted the girls to concerts and plays, fostered art appreciation, and promoted physical education, which was directed by Emma Priscilla Scott.

Margaret Addison’s career was buffeted by other storms and stresses besides student insubordination. Believing that a teaching appointment at Victoria College would solidify her authority, she accepted a position as lecturer in German in January 1906, becoming one of the first female university lecturers in Canada. Unfortunately, owing to misunderstandings about her status and remuneration, she taught for less than two years; subsequently her inclusion on the faculty list was merely nominal. Her leadership came under scrutiny in 1911–12 when Burwash launched an investigation into allegations of laxity: that girls visited each other’s rooms until midnight and flitted to dance halls unchaperoned. But Addison, supported by the alumnae association, successfully defended her regime and the student government, and gained authority over officers of the hall who had previously reported to the Committee of Management. In 1920 there was a restructuring of the residence – an apparent attempt to end Addison’s rule, which was judged old-fashioned chiefly by Charles Vincent Massey*, then dean of the men’s residence, and Alice Stuart Massey, his wife, a member of the Committee of Management. Addison was made dean of women, responsible for all the female students of the college. She was given a salary of $2,500 (which compared favourably with the $700 plus residence she had started with in 1903) but was required to vacate her rooms in Annesley Hall. The building was divided up and partly given over to non-boarding students, thus diminishing the original ideals of home and community. The arrangement did not prove satisfactory; to Addison it was an example of “the autocracy of men in the affairs of women,” whereas “Victoria College should lead in the idea that women know better how to manage women’s education than men.” By the fall of 1921 Addison was back in Annesley, and Alice Massey resigned from the committee.

The outcomes of these two controversies suggest that Addison was successful in finding a middle way. As she explained in a 1922 report, women were on sufferance in institutions such as the university: “They could never be in advance of public opinion concerning their freedom. But as public opinion changed, so could their freedom expand.” She was able to move with the times, countenancing dancing in the residence in 1926 and progressively loosening the rules. Whatever the future role of women, she believed that knowledge and training were key and that in all their endeavours women should use their particular strengths and gifts.

Throughout her years at Annesley, Addison remained active in the Victoria College Alumnae Association and in the University Women’s Club. She had also maintained her connection with the Ontario Ladies’ College and was a member of the Ontario Educational Association. After retiring in 1931 she continued her work with the Young Women’s Christian Association, the Woman’s Missionary Society, and the United Church of Canada, of which the Methodist Church had become a part in 1925 [see Samuel Dwight Chown].

Addison’s contributions to women’s education were eventually recognized: she was awarded an honorary lld by the University of Toronto in 1932 and was appointed a cbe in 1934. Most important, Annesley Hall would provide a model and guide for many future women’s residences in Canada. At the age of 72, after years of suffering from headaches and nervous prostration, Addison died of a cerebral haemorrhage. Yet at Victoria College, where Annesley continues to house female students, her legacy lives on, in the Margaret Addison Scholarship for women pursuing postgraduate studies outside Canada and in the name of another residence opened in 1959 – Margaret Addison Hall.

Jean O’Grady

Margaret Eleanor Theodora Addison is the author of Diary of a European tour, 1900, ed. Jean O’Grady (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1999). She also wrote several journal articles, the most substantial being, in Acta Victoriana (Toronto), “Education and our relation to it as graduates,” 22 (October 1898–May 1899): 497–501; “Glimpses of education in Europe,” 24 (October 1900–May 1901): 301–4; and “Some women’s colleges,” 28 (October 1904–June 1905): 516–18; and, in the Missionary Monthly (Toronto), articles on Japan published in January 1933: 9–11; March 1933: 105–7; April 1933: 157–59; May 1933: 200–2; and a 9-pt. ser., “In time of war prepare for peace,” published between October 1936 and January 1941.

Private arch., Elizabeth McGregor (St Catharines, Ont.), “The book of the Addisons,” 2 vols. Victoria Univ. Arch. (Toronto), Fonds 2067, 90.141V, ser.1, boxes 1–2; ser.2, box 3; Fonds 2069, 90.064V, ser.2; Fonds 2097, 87.168V. Gertrude Rutherford, “Dean of women,” United Church Observer (Toronto), 15 Jan. 1941: 22, 29. In memoriam Margaret Addison, 1868–1940 (Toronto, 1941). Jean O’Grady, Margaret Addison: a biography (Montreal and Kingston, 2001). J. M. Selles, “Margaret Addison and Annesley Hall,” in her Methodists and women’s education in Ontario, 1836–1925 (Montreal and Kingston, 1996), 182–207. C. B. Sissons, A history of Victoria University (Toronto, 1952).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jean O’Grady, “ADDISON, MARGARET ELEANOR THEODORA,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 25, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/addison_margaret_eleanor_theodora_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/addison_margaret_eleanor_theodora_16E.html
Author of Article: Jean O’Grady
Title of Article: ADDISON, MARGARET ELEANOR THEODORA
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: September 25, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

RAMSAY, GEORGE, 9e comte de DALHOUSIE – Volume VII (1836-1850)

né le 22 octobre 1770 à Dalhousie Castle, Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Margaret Addison, young woman. Image courtesy of Victoria University Archives (Toronto, Ont.).

Provenance : Lien

ADDISON, MARGARET ELEANOR THEODORA, éducatrice, auteure d’un journal intime et doyenne, née le 21 octobre 1868 à Horning’s Mills, Ontario, aînée des cinq enfants du révérend Peter Addison et de Mary Ann Campbell ; décédée célibataire le 18 décembre 1940 à Toronto.

Fille d’un ministre de l’Église méthodiste du Canada et d’une ancienne institutrice, Margaret Eleanor Theodora Addison fut profondément influencée par les convictions de ses parents, qui croyaient que l’éducation était un guide moral et spirituel. La famille déménageait tous les trois ans, comme l’exigeait la règle de l’itinérance imposée aux prédicateurs méthodistes. Margaret Eleanor Theodora commença ses études secondaires à Richmond Hill, en Ontario, et les termina à Newcastle. En 1885, elle s’inscrivit à ce qui était alors la Victoria University à Cobourg, établissement dirigé par Samuel Sobieski Nelles*, puis par Nathanael Burwash*. Sixième femme à obtenir un diplôme de la Victoria University, Mlle Addison obtint en 1889 sa licence ès arts en langues modernes et remporta la médaille d’argent. Elle enseigna principalement les mathématiques et la chimie à l’Ontario Ladies’ College de Whitby (1889–1891) avant de devenir spécialiste du français et de l’allemand au Stratford Collegiate Institute (1892–1900) et au Lindsay Collegiate Institute (1901–1903).

Pour les jeunes femmes méthodistes de cette époque, l’un des obstacles à l’accès aux études supérieures était la réticence de leurs parents à les loger dans des pensions (en particulier après le déménagement du Victoria College, qui s’installa à Toronto en 1892 à la suite de sa fédération avec la University of Toronto). Pas plus tard qu’en 1895, la femme du président de la Victoria University, Margaret Burwash, avait proposé la construction d’une résidence pour femmes : un foyer bien géré auquel les parents pourraient confier leurs filles. Mlle Addison comptait parmi les partisans les plus fervents de Mme Burwash. Elle écrivit des lettres, prononça des discours et se déclara « prête à faire tout ce qui était moralement acceptable pour aider à la mise sur pied de la résidence ». En 1896, Hart Almerrin Massey* légua par testament 50 000 $ pour la réalisation du projet. L’année suivante, une association commémorative nommée en l’honneur de la méthodiste Barbara Heck [Ruckle*] fut établie pour recueillir plus de fonds et, en 1898, la Victoria College Alumnae Association prit la relève, avec Mlle Addison comme présidente.

En 1900, entre deux contrats d’enseignement, Mlle Addison passa plusieurs mois à voyager en Europe avec sa sœur, Mary Agnes Charlotte W. ; elles terminèrent leur périple par une visite de six semaines à Cambridge et à Oxford, en Angleterre. Pendant ce séjour, Mlle Addison se livra à une étude approfondie des collèges féminins, en amassant des idées pour la résidence du Victoria College et peut-être en se préparant au cas où on lui demanderait d’y jouer un rôle. Auteure prolifique de journaux, lettres et rapports, elle tint un journal intime détaillé dans lequel elle nota son admiration pour les groupes de femmes instruites qu’elle rencontrait. Elle répondait avec enthousiasme aux responsables de collèges qu’elle interviewait et, plus tard, se qualifierait d’« humble disciple de ces grandes dirigeantes ».

Annesley Hall, première résidence universitaire pour femmes au Canada, ouvrit finalement ses portes en 1903 et Mlle Addison en fut nommée doyenne. Pendant près de trois décennies, elle agirait avec tact, réussissant ainsi à faire accepter, par une Église prudente, l’éducation universitaire pour les femmes, tout en s’efforçant de créer un milieu culturel et spirituel qui élargirait les horizons des étudiantes. Au début, routines et règles de conduite furent établies. Les repas étaient protocolaires – le déjeuner et le souper étaient suivis de prières – et les lumières devaient être éteintes à 11 heures du soir au plus tard. La pureté des jeunes résidentes était sous stricte surveillance. Les portes principales étaient verrouillées après le souper ; on ne pouvait sortir pour la soirée qu’avec une permission, qui était accordée, entre autres, selon le lieu où l’on désirait se rendre et selon la présence d’un chaperon convenable. Les messieurs pouvaient franchir le seuil de la résidence les deuxième et quatrième vendredis soirs de chaque mois ou le dimanche après l’office.

Quelques étudiantes se rebellèrent contre ce régime. Comme Mlle Addison en fit part au comité de direction des femmes, la première année, marquée par une désobéissance et un égoïsme incontrôlables, fut désastreuse. En conséquence, Mlle Addison instaura la responsabilité étudiante à titre expérimental au cours des deux années suivantes et, en 1906, créa l’Annesley Student Government Association, qui rendait les résidentes en partie responsables de la modification et de l’application des règlements. Son mandat comportait notamment l’éducation des jeunes femmes à la citoyenneté et elle croyait que l’association contribuerait à l’atteinte de ce but. Elle organisa également la venue de conférenciers, dont la suffragette britannique Emmeline Pankhurst, la paléobotaniste Marie Charlotte Carmichael Stopes et James Shaver Woodsworth*, ministre méthodiste qui travaillait auprès des pauvres à Winnipeg. Mlle Addison accompagnait également les filles au concert et au théâtre, encourageait leur goût de l’art et favorisait l’éducation physique, secteur que dirigeait Emma Priscilla Scott.

La carrière de Mlle Addison fut secouée par des orages et perturbations autres que l’insubordination étudiante. Croyant qu’un contrat d’enseignement au Victoria College lui permettrait d’affirmer son autorité, elle accepta un poste de chargée de cours en allemand en janvier 1906 et devint ainsi l’une des premières femmes à occuper ce type d’emploi au Canada. Malheureusement, en raison de malentendus sur son statut et sa rémunération, elle enseigna pendant moins de deux ans ; ultérieurement, son inclusion sur la liste des professeurs serait seulement nominale. Sa gouvernance fut examinée de très près en 1911–1912, quand Burwash ouvrit une enquête à la suite d’allégations de laxisme, selon lesquelles des filles se promenaient d’une chambre à l’autre jusqu’à minuit et filaient aux salles de danse sans chaperons. Mais, appuyée par la Victoria College Alumnae Association, Mlle Addison défendit avec succès son administration et la gestion étudiante ; son autorité surpassa ainsi celle des membres du comité de direction, qui avaient jusque-là supervisé la résidence. En 1920, on restructura la résidence, apparemment dans le but de mettre fin au règne de Mlle Addison, considérée vieux jeu, surtout par Charles Vincent Massey*, qui était à l’époque doyen de la résidence des hommes, et sa femme, Alice Stuart, membre du comité de direction. Mlle Addison fut nommée doyenne des femmes, responsable de toutes les étudiantes du collège. Elle reçut un salaire de 2 500 $ (une amélioration par rapport au 700 $ plus logement fourni de ses débuts, en 1903), mais on lui demanda de libérer les pièces qu’elle occupait à Annesley Hall. L’édifice fut redivisé et on en donna une partie à des étudiantes externes, ce qui affaiblissait les idéaux de foyer et de communauté originaux. L’arrangement ne s’avéra pas satisfaisant ; pour Mlle Addison, c’était un exemple de « l’autocratie des hommes dans les affaires des femmes », alors que « le Victoria College [devait] montrer que les femmes sav[aient] gérer l’éducation des femmes mieux que les hommes ». Dès l’automne de 1921, Mlle Addison revint à Annesley Hall, et Mme Massey démissionna du comité.

L’issue de ces deux controverses porte à croire que Mlle Addison avait réussi à trouver un compromis. Comme elle l’expliqua dans un rapport de 1922, les femmes n’étaient que tolérées dans des établissements comme l’université : « Jamais elles ne pouvaient devancer l’opinion publique quant à leur liberté. Mais à mesure que l’opinion publique changeait, leur liberté put s’accroître. » Mlle Addison fut capable d’évoluer avec son époque : elle permit la danse à la résidence en 1926 et assouplit progressivement les règlements. Quel que serait le rôle futur des femmes, elle croyait que les connaissances et la formation étaient primordiales, et que les femmes devaient utiliser leurs forces et talents particuliers dans toutes leurs entreprises.

Tout au long des années qu’elle passa à Annesley Hall, Mlle Addison demeura active au sein de la Victoria College Alumnae Association et du University Women’s Club. Elle avait également maintenu ses relations avec l’Ontario Ladies’ College et était membre de l’Ontario Educational Association. Après avoir pris sa retraite en 1931, elle continua de travailler auprès de la Young Women’s Christian Association, de la Woman’s Missionary Society et de l’Église unie du Canada, dont l’Église méthodiste faisait partie depuis 1925 [V. Samuel Dwight Chown].

La contribution de Margaret Eleanor Theodora Addison à l’éducation des femmes finit par être reconnue : la University of Toronto lui décerna un doctorat honorifique en droit en 1932 et elle fut nommée commandeur de l’ordre de l’Empire britannique en 1934. Fait encore plus important, Annesley Hall fournirait un modèle et un guide à nombre de futures résidences pour femmes au Canada. À l’âge de 72 ans, tourmentée depuis des années par des maux de tête et un épuisement nerveux, Mlle Addison mourut d’une hémorragie cérébrale. Au Victoria College, où, au début du xxie siècle, Annesley Hall héberge encore des étudiantes, son héritage survit grâce à la bourse Margaret Addison pour les femmes qui poursuivent des études supérieures à l’extérieur du Canada et au nom d’une autre résidence inaugurée en 1959 : Margaret Addison Hall.

Jean O’Grady

Margaret Eleanor Theodora Addison est l’auteure de Diary of a European tour, 1900, Jean O’Grady, édit. (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1999). Elle a aussi écrit plusieurs articles de journaux. Les plus importants sont les suivants, parus dans Acta Victoriana (Toronto) : « Education and our relation to it as graduates », 22 (octobre 1898–mai 1899) : 497–501 ; « Glimpses of education in Europe », 24 (octobre 1900–mai 1901) : 301–304 ; et « Some women’s colleges », 28 (octobre 1904–juin 1905) : 516–518 ; et des articles sur le Japon publiés dans le Missionary Monthly (Toronto) en janvier 1933 : 9–11 ; mars 1933 : 105–107 ; avril 1933 : 157–159 ; mai 1933 : 200–202 ; et « In time of war prepare for peace », sér. en 9 part., parue entre octobre 1936 et janvier 1941.

Arch. privées, Elizabeth McGregor (St Catharines, Ontario), « The book of the Addisons », 2 vol.— Victoria Univ. Arch. (Toronto), Fonds 2067, 90.141V, ser. 1, boxes 1–2 ; ser. 2, box 3 ; Fonds 2069, 90.064V, ser. 2 ; Fonds 2097, 87.168V.— Gertrude Rutherford, « Dean of women », United Church Observer (Toronto), 15 janv. 1941 : 22, 29.— In memoriam Margaret Addison, 1868–1940 (Toronto, 1941).— Jean O’Grady, Margaret Addison : a biography (Montréal et Kingston, 2001).— J. M. Selles, « Margaret Addison and Annesley Hall », dans son Methodists and women’s education in Ontario, 1836–1925 (Montréal et Kingston, 1996), 182–207.— C. B. Sissons, A history of Victoria University (Toronto, 1952).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jean O’Grady, « ADDISON, MARGARET ELEANOR THEODORA », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 22 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/addison_margaret_eleanor_theodora_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/addison_margaret_eleanor_theodora_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jean O’Grady
Titre de l'article:   ADDISON, MARGARET ELEANOR THEODORA
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   22 octobre 2017