DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BERTRAND, LAURENT (baptized Laurens), Roman Catholic priest; b. 7 Oct. 1752 in Montreal, son of Laurant Bertrand, a voyageur, and Catherine Autesse; d. 29 Oct. 1813 at the mission of Saint-Antoine-de-la-Rivière-du-Loup (Louiseville), Lower Canada.

Attracted to the religious life, Laurent Bertrand entered the Petit Séminaire de Québec in 1768. Five years later he began theological studies, and in the course of these, like many of his colleagues, he taught at the Petit Séminaire [see Henri-François Gravé de La Rive]. On 18 Aug. 1776, at the age of 23, Bertrand was ordained priest by Bishop Briand*.

After serving as curate for two years in the parish of Saint-Joachim, near Quebec, Bertrand was appointed parish priest of Sainte-Anne, at Yamachiche, in 1778. Two years later lightning destroyed the parish church, and its rebuilding led to heated disputes. The parishioners were divided over the choice of a site. The parish priest also joined in the debate, apparently with no great skill or tact; he was in favour of the old site but did not win. As a result of this setback his position became intolerable and he asked to be transferred.

In 1786 Bishop Louis-Philippe Mariauchau* d’Esgly put him in charge of the neighbouring mission, Saint-Antoine-de-la-Rivière-du-Loup, which until then had been served by the Recollets from Trois-Rivières. When he took up his new post Bertrand’s first concern was to make an inventory, with the help of churchwarden Joseph Lesage, of the fabrique’s possessions. In 1790 Bishop Hubert* of Quebec appointed him archpriest and the following year, lauding his prudence, made him confessor extraordinary to the Ursulines of Trois-Rivières.

In 1792 Bertrand wanted to provide his mission, which had more than 300 families, with a new church. Once again the same troubles he had encountered at Yamachiche began to develop. The inhabitants split over the choice of a site and both sides sent numerous letters and petitions to the bishop. Hubert hesitated a long time before settling the question. “We have found the parish about equally divided,” he wrote to Bertrand in March 1796. Finally he gave Solomon’s judgement, ordering that the existing church “be repaired or added to on the site where it stands at the present time.” In this decision the opposing parties perceived the discreet but persuasive influence of Bertrand and they would not yield. The bishop delegated the task of reaching an agreement to the vicar general of Trois-Rivières, François-Xavier Noiseux, who succeeded in reconciling the parties. Finally, between 1803 and 1805 the church was demolished and another was erected on a new site. In 1806 Bertrand had a school, which accommodated two classes, built across from the presbytery.

In the mean time various curates had agreed to go to assist Bertrand, whose authoritarian reputation had spread beyond the bounds of his humble mission. In 1797 Bishop Denaut sent François Plessis-Bélair, who stayed four years. He was replaced by Michel-Charles Bezeau, who stayed only a few months, then by Louis Delaunay, and subsequently by François-Xavier Marcoux. Although Marcoux was young, he administered the parish after Bertrand’s death, pending the appointment of the new incumbent, Jacques Lebourdais, dit Lapierre, a nephew of Bishop Bernard-Claude Panet*.

In 1804 Bertrand sued Pierre Lavergne, who the preceding year had refused to provide the host for the new church in the parish of Saint-Léon-le-Grand. This parish, which had been set up in 1800 by detaching a region from the mission of Saint-Antoine-de-la-Rivière-du-Loup, was served by Father Bertrand. Lavergne justified his refusal by claiming that he still belonged at Saint-Antoine-de-la-Rivière-du-Loup, because Saint-Léon-le-Grand had no legal existence: the bishop of Quebec had not had the right to create parishes since the conquest, he maintained. Lavergne lost in the Court of King’s Bench but went to the provincial Court of Appeal. Before the case was heard, Lavergne petitioned Attorney General Jonathan Sewell* to intervene; Sewell, who agreed with Lavergne’s claims, accepted. Finally, as a result of the decision handed down in 1806, Lavergne won. Although the lawsuit had raised the important and complex question of the legal status of the Roman Catholic church after the conquest, according to the 20 Dec. 1806 issue of Le Canadien, the chief justice of Montreal, James Monk*, in rendering his decision, explicitly stated that “the court . . . was deciding nothing concerning the important questions that have been debated in the case.”

Bertrand’s worries gradually undermined his health and he developed ulcers and rheumatism. He died on 29 Oct. 1813, three weeks after his 61st birthday. According to Louiseville’s historian, Oblate Germain Lesage, Bertrand “had for twenty-seven years been in charge of a large and restless population,” among whom he left “a highly respected memory.”

Raymond Douville

ANQ-M, CE 1-51, 8 nov. 1741, 31 août 1762. ANQ-MBF, CE1-15, 30 oct. 1813. ASQ, C 35: 258, 269, 273, 293; mss, 11. PAC, MG 11, [CO 42] Q, 115: 96–111. Le Canadien, 13, 20 déc. 1806. Allaire, Dictionnaire, vol.1. Caron, “Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Briand,” ANQ Rapport, 1929–30: 113; “Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Hubert et de Mgr Bailly de Messein,” 1930–31: 227, 248, 267; “Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Mariaucheau d’Esgly,” 1930–31: 192; “Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Plessis,” 1927–28: 232, 239. Napoléon Caron, Histoire de la paroisse dYamachiche (précis historique) (Trois-Rivières, Qué., 1892). Chapais, Cours dhist. du Canada, 2: 139–40. Germain Lesage, Histoire de Louiseville, 1665-1960 (Louiseville, Qué., 1961).

Revisions based on:
Bibliothèque et Arch. Nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de Montréal, CE601-S51, 9 janv. 1748, 8 oct. 1752. Jacques Blaquière, “Le Clan Blaquière depuis le 16e siècle”: blaquiere.ca/tng/index.php (consulted 2 May 2017).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Raymond Douville, “BERTRAND, LAURENT (baptisé Laurens),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 5, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 20, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bertrand_joseph_laurent_5E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bertrand_joseph_laurent_5E.html
Author of Article: Raymond Douville
Title of Article: BERTRAND, LAURENT (baptisé Laurens)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 5
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1983
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: November 20, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

BERTRAND, JOSEPH-LAURENT, prêtre catholique, né le 6 novembre 1741 à Montréal, fils de Jacques Bertrand, maçon, et de Marie-Louise Dumouchel ; décédé le 29 octobre 1813 à Rivière-du-Loup (Louiseville, Québec).

Joseph-Laurent Bertrand épouse à Montréal, le 31 août 1762, Marie-Thérèse Dulignon qui meurt peu après. Devenu veuf, sans enfants, Bertrand est attiré par la vie religieuse et entre au petit séminaire de Québec en 1768. Cinq ans plus tard, il entreprend des études en théologie au cours desquelles, comme plusieurs de ses confrères, il enseigne au petit séminaire [V. Henri-François Gravé de La Rive]. Le 18 août 1776, Bertrand, âgé de 34 ans, est ordonné prêtre par Mgr Briand*.

Après deux ans de vicariat dans la paroisse Saint-Joachim, près de Québec. Bertrand est nommé curé de Sainte-Anne, à Yamachiche, en 1778. Deux ans plus tard, la foudre détruit l’église de la paroisse, et sa reconstruction suscite de vifs débats. Les paroissiens se montrent divisés sur le choix de l’emplacement. Le curé participe aussi au débat, apparemment sans grande habileté ni diplomatie ; partisan de l’ancien emplacement, il n’obtient pas gain de cause. À la suite de cet échec, sa position s’avère intenable et il demande sa mutation.

En 1786, Mgr Louis-Philippe Mariauchau* d’Esgly accorde à Bertrand la cure de la paroisse voisine, Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue, à Rivière-du-Loup, desservie jusqu’alors par les récollets de Trois-Rivières. Lorsqu’il prend possession de sa nouvelle cure, Bertrand s’impose comme premier souci d’inventorier les biens de la fabrique en compagnie du marguillier Joseph Lesage. En 1790, l’évêque de Québec, Mgr Hubert*, le nomme archiprêtre et, l’année suivante, vantant sa prudence, confesseur extraordinaire des ursulines de Trois-Rivières.

En 1792, Bertrand veut doter sa paroisse, comptant plus de 300 familles, d’une nouvelle église. Et voici que recommencent les tracas qu’il avait connus à Yamachiche. Les paroissiens se divisent sur le choix de l’emplacement et, de part et d’autre, ils envoient de nombreuses lettres et pétitions à Mgr Hubert. Ce dernier hésite longtemps avant de trancher la question : « Nous avons trouvé la paroisse partagée à peu près en parties égales », écrit-il à Bertrand en mars 1796. Finalement, il rend un jugement à la Salomon ordonnant que l’église « soit réparée ou augmentée su lieu où elle est actuellement ». Les antagonistes voient dans cette décision l’influence à la fois discrète et persuasive de Bertrand et n’en démordent pas. Pour tâcher d’en arriver à une entente, l’évêque délègue le vicaire général de Trois-Rivières, François-Xavier Noiseux*, qui réussit à concilier les parties. Enfin, de 1803 à 1805, l’ancienne église est démolie et une autre est construite sur un nouvel emplacement. En 1806, Bertrand fait bâtir, face au presbytère, une école abritant deux classes.

Entre-temps, divers vicaires ont accepté d’aller seconder le curé Bertrand, dont la réputation d’autoritarisme a dépassé les frontières de son humble paroisse. En 1797, Mgr Denault lui envoie François Plessis-Bélair qui reste quatre ans. Il est remplacé par Michel-Charles Bezeau, qui n’y demeure que quelques mois, puis par Louis Delaunay et ensuite par François-Xavier Marcoux qui, bien que jeune prêtre, administrera la paroisse après la mort du curé Bertrand en attendant la nomination du nouveau titulaire, Jacques Lebourdais, dit Lapierre, neveu de Mgr Bernard-Claude Panet*.

En 1804, Bertrand intente un procès à Pierre Lavergne qui, l’année précédente, avait refusé de fournir le pain bénit pour la nouvelle église de la paroisse Saint-Léon-le-Grand ; cette paroisse, érigée en 1800 et constituée par un territoire détaché de la paroisse Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue, était desservie par le curé Bertrand. Lavergne justifie son geste en prétendant être demeuré paroissien de Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue parce que, dit-il, Saint-Léon-le-Grand n’a pas d’existence légale, l’évêque de Québec n’ayant pas le droit, depuis la Conquête, de créer des paroisses. Lavergne perd devant la Cour du banc du roi, mais porte sa cause en Cour provinciale d’appel. Avant l’audition de sa cause, Lavergne présente une requête demandant l’intervention du procureur général, Jonathan Sewell*, qui, partageant les prétentions de Lavergne, accepte d’intercéder. Enfin, à la suite du jugement rendu en 1806 par le juge en chef du district de Montréal, James Monk*, Lavergne triomphe. Même si le procès avait soulevé l’importante et complexe question du statut légal de l’Église catholique après la Conquête, Monk précise en rendant son jugement : « La cour [...] ne décidoit rien quant aux grandes questions qui ont été agitées dans la cause. »

Ces tracas minent peu à peu la santé de Joseph-Laurent Bertrand qui souffre d’ulcères et de rhumatisme. Il meurt le 29 octobre 1813, une semaine avant d’atteindre ses 72 ans. Selon l’historien de Louise-ville, l’oblat Germain Lesage, Bertrand « avait été pendant vingt-sept ans en charge d’une population considérable et remuante », parmi laquelle il laissa « un souvenir des plus estimables ».

Raymond Douville

ANQ-M, CE1-51, 8 nov. 1741, 31 août 1762.— ANQ-MBF, CE1-15, 30 oct. 1813.— APC, MG 11, [CO42] Q, 115 : 96–111.— ASQ, C 35 : 258, 269, 273, 293 ; {{mss}}, 11.Le Canadien, 13, 20 déc. 1806.— Allaire, Dictionnaire, 1.— Caron, « Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Briand », ANQ Rapport, 1929–1930 : 113 ; « Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Hubert et de Mgr Bailly de Messein », 1930–1931 : 227, 248, 267 ; « Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Mariaucheau d’Esgly », 1930–1931 : 192 ; « Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Plessis », 1927–1928 : 232, 239.— Napoléon Caron, Histoire de la paroisse d’Yamachiche (précis historique) (Trois-Rivières, Québec, 1892).— Chapais, Cours d’hist. du Canada, 2 : 139s.— Germain Lesage, Histoire de Louiseville, 1665–1960 (Louiseville, Québec, 1961).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Raymond Douville, « BERTRAND, JOSEPH-LAURENT », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 5, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 août 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bertrand_joseph_laurent_5F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bertrand_joseph_laurent_5F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Raymond Douville
Titre de l'article:   BERTRAND, JOSEPH-LAURENT
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 5
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1983
Année de la révision:   1983
Date de consultation:   21 août 2014