DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

BRONSON, HENRY FRANKLIN – Volume XI (1881-1890)

d. 7 Dec. 1889 at Ottawa, Ont.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BUCHANAN, ALEXANDER CARLISLE, merchant and emigration agent; b. 1786 in County Tyrone (Northern Ireland), probably in Omagh, son of John Buchanan and Sarah Sproule; d. unmarried 13 April 1840 in Omagh.

Alexander Carlisle Buchanan was a member of a landed merchant family from the north of Ireland who traded in timber and grain and arranged passages for travellers on both sides of the Atlantic. In the mid 1820s he left Londonderry for Montreal in Lower Canada, where he joined his brother William in the shipping trade; they also established a grist- and saw-milling business near Sorel (Sorel-Tracy). Meanwhile, their elder brother James was using his position as the British consul in New York to direct thousands of British emigrants, mostly Ulster Protestants, from that city to Upper Canada. Alexander quickly capitalized on his family knowledge and connections to establish himself in the emigrant trade.

After witnessing first-hand the fatal consequences of chaotic and disorderly practices such as overcrowding and allocating insufficient amounts of food and water, Buchanan travelled to London in 1826 and spoke before the House of Commons Select Committee on Emigration. It was chaired by Robert John Wilmot-Horton, the parliamentary under-secretary at the Colonial Office, who was Britain’s top advocate for state-sponsored emigration and with whom Buchanan would eventually collaborate. In 1828 Buchanan published Emigration practically considered; with detailed directions to emigrants proceeding to British North America, particularly to the Canadas: in a letter to the Right Hon. R. Wilmot Horton, m.p. (London). Attempting to revive Wilmot-Horton’s ambitious colonization project of the early 1820s [see Peter Robinson], he argued that the repeal of the Passenger Vessels Act in 1827 meant that less money would be required to establish a settler family in the colonies. The document was also a way of demonstrating his expertise: he claimed that by 1828 he had taken 15 or 16 transatlantic voyages with, in all, 6,000 emigrants, adding that he had been “interested in the removal” of an additional 12,000 to 15,000 from Ireland. He also outlined a plan for assisting 100,000 people per year to settle over a five-year period by providing loans totalling £500,000. His scheme, like that of Wilmot-Horton, assumed that the money spent by the government for transportation and settlement would be repaid mostly by the emigrants, who would become quit-rent settlers, but he added that English parishes and Scottish and Irish landlords would also be quite willing to contribute. He wrote: “The class of people that I would propose to emigrate from Ireland,—are destitute labourers, ejected tenants, and poor cotters who are now found a clog to the consolidating of farms and improvement of estates, and whose better condition at home can never be contemplated.”

Buchanan’s proposal was, in all likelihood, not taken seriously by the Colonial Office, but, probably because of his lobbying, he was asked to help prepare a new passenger bill. Some of his recommendations made it into the 1828 law, including measures to curtail overcrowding on ships and ensure that the law could be enforced. Furthermore, he proposed that a “general emigrant and land officer” be assigned to Quebec City to stem the tide of passengers who, having landed there, generally continued on to settle in the United States. This suggestion resulted in his appointment to the post in the spring of 1828. The Passenger Vessels Act, when revised in 1835, would include many of his other recommendations, such as increased amounts of food and the obligation that ships display a copy of the act for passengers to read.

The period immediately following Buchanan’s appointment brought a massive increase in the number of arrivals in Quebec City, from 13,000 when he started the job to 50,000 three years later. His initial salary of £300 was raised to £400 in 1832. In the words of historian Norman Macdonald, “Buchanan’s official duties were heavy and difficult. He was to receive the emigrants on landing, give out the landing money if any, clothe and feed the starving, hear complaints and bring proceedings against defaulting shipmasters, keep in touch with those needing employment, help the newcomers to find their friends and tranship them to their destination, and all [his actions had to be] carefully recorded.” Macdonald adds that Buchanan “exceeded his official duties by compiling valuable information regarding available locations, state of roads, distances and expenses. He invited landowners to register their saleable property with him. His office became an indispensable clearing-house for distressed and anxious strangers, and saved them from being exposed to the gross misrepresentations of land jobbers.” On his own initiative, after 1830, Buchanan fought fiercely for the application of the passenger law, prosecuted for violations, and sued for compensation on behalf of victimized passengers.

Yet he was not fully satisfied with the results of these burdensome duties, for his ambition was to encourage a sizeable proportion of those who landed in Quebec City to settle within the colony of Lower Canada. The goal, he claimed, was to erect “barriers against the monopolizing grasp of the Americans, who have already overrun the Eastern Townships.” With the approval of the Colonial Office, he focused his attention on the townships at the northern edge of the Appalachians. The Craig Road, which begins at the south shore of the St Lawrence near Lévis, had traversed these communities as early as 1811, but it fell into disrepair during the , and absentee owners of nearby properties had done little to develop their extensive holdings since then. Thus, in 1829 there were only a few settlers in what would become Mégantic County that year, and Buchanan was able to entice a considerable number of British newcomers to take advantage of the generous terms offered by the government, not to mention the work available on the roads that crossed the recently opened concessions.

At the end of the shipping season in 1829, Buchanan wrote in his annual report that of the 15,945 ship passengers who had arrived in Quebec City that year, 3,754 had settled in Lower Canada, an area “hitherto scarcely known to the British Emigrant.” He also boasted that the 166 families (totalling 830 individuals) who had put down roots in the vicinity of Mégantic’s Inverness Township comprised “on the whole the most valuable body of settlers from the United Kingdom that ever located in the province of Lower Canada.” Buchanan’s subsequent reports indicate that he avoided selecting poorer emigrants, who would have difficulties establishing themselves on the somewhat isolated frontier. Extended kinship networks among Irish Protestants nevertheless suggest that family strategies, and not simply the dictates of the emigration agent, played a decisive role in determining who moved to the settlements.

In 1830 and 1831 approximately 3,500 people, most of them Irish Protestants, followed the Craig Road and the newly built Gosford Road to the townships of Leeds, Inverness, and Ireland as well as to the neighbouring seigneuries of Saint-Gilles and Sainte-Croix. The official census taken in the spring of 1831 indicates that the settlers were making good progress, with an average of 4.5 hectares cleared per household in Inverness, and they had good crops of potatoes and grain. Buchanan took a strong personal interest in the newcomers’ progress, helping to locate them on land whenever he could, and investing over £500 in two lots that he had been granted. With nearly all the arable land settled by the end of 1831, however, the following seasons would be disappointing for further colonization. It would be French Canadians, rather than the British, who would come to inhabit the remaining townships that bordered seigneuries along the south shore of the St Lawrence, and the English-speaking population of the economically isolated area would begin its steady numerical decline in the early 1860s.

Buchanan ran for the newly created Mégantic seat in the Legislative Assembly during the election of 1832 but lost by only 10 votes to a fellow Quebec City resident who had strong support from absentee proprietors. That autumn he travelled to London, where he appeared before a government committee on emigration along with Patrick McMahon* of the Quebec Emigrants’ Society. He stayed for over a year and lobbied the Colonial Office to set up positions for emigration officers in Britain. It was largely owing to his efforts that the first of them was appointed at Liverpool in 1833. However, by then imperial strategist Edward Gibbon Wakefield*’s theory had convinced colonial officials to abolish quit-rents, require settlers to make payments twice a year, and, for the first time, charge interest on loans. All these measures hindered emigration. Furthermore, collecting revenue from crown-land sales would mean that the cost of emigration would be transferred to the colonies.

Although Buchanan was justified when in 1836 he claimed to have demonstrated that the surplus population of the north of Ireland could be transplanted to the North American colonies humanely and at a minimal cost to British taxpayers, by then the government had lost interest in emigration projects. Three years earlier he had taken a leave of absence during the winter for health reasons, and from that time his duties were increasingly assumed by his nephew, also named Alexander Carlisle Buchanan*. The senior Buchanan finally resigned in 1838 and returned to the north of Ireland, where he died in 1840. Although he had assisted thousands of impoverished British colonists arriving in Quebec City and played the leading role in establishing a British settlement, which did much to validate his contention that assisted emigration was feasible, he remains largely forgotten by history.

J. I. Little

Alexander Carlisle Buchanan is also the author of Information published by His Majesty’s chief agent for the superintendence of settlers and emigrants in Upper and Lower Canada: for the use of emigrants (Quebec, 1832).

Library and Arch. Can. (Ottawa), MG11-CO384; R10870-9-8; R10875-4-5; R14518-0-3; R233-29-7, Que., dist. Quebec, subdist. St Jean. Gazette (Montreal), 13 Dec. 1830. Quebec Mercury, 12 June, 11 Dec. 1830; 21 May 1831; 4 Feb., 3, 5 April, 3 Nov. 1832. Ancestry.ca, “Alexander Carlisle Buchanan – facts”: www.ancestry.ca (consulted 3 May 2016). Gwen Rawlings Barry, A history of Megantic County: downhomers of Quebec’s Eastern Townships (Lower Sackville, N.S., 1999). A. W. P. Buchanan, The Buchanan book: the life of Alexander Buchanan, q.c., of Montreal, followed by an account of the family of Buchanan (Montreal, 1911). H. I. Cowan, British emigration to British North America: the first hundred years (rev. ed., Toronto, 1961). Peter Dunkley, “Emigration and the state, 1803–1842: the nineteenth-century revolution in government reconsidered,” Hist. Journal (Cambridge, Eng., and New York), 23 (1980): 353–80. E. J. Errington, “British migration and British America, 1783–1867,” in Canada and the British Empire, ed. P. [A.] Buckner (Oxford, Eng., 2010), 140–59. Richard Froggatt, “James Buchanan (1772–1851): magistrate and diplomat”: www.newulsterbiography.co.uk/index.php/home/viewPerson/1895 (consulted 6 Aug. 2018). R. N. Ghosh, “The colonization controversy: R. J. Wilmot-Horton and the classical economists,” Economica (London), 31 (1964): 385–400. C. J. Houston and W. J. Smyth, Irish emigration and Canadian settlement: patterns, links, and letters (Toronto and Belfast, 1990). H. J. M. Johnston, British emigration policy, 1815–1830: “shovelling out paupers” (Oxford, 1972). J. I. Little, “A. C. Buchanan and the Megantic experiment: promoting British colonization in Lower Canada,” Social Hist. (Ottawa), 46 (2013): 295–319; “Imperialism and colonization in Lower Canada: the role of William Bowman Felton,” CHR, 66 (1985): 511–40. Norman Macdonald, Canada 1763–1841, immigration and settlement: the administration of the imperial land regulations (London and Toronto, 1939). John Richards, “Report on waste lands & emigration (1830),” in The Irish University Press series of the British parliamentary papers: subject set on Canada and Canadian boundary (36v., Shannon, Ire., 1969), 6: 3–26. W. B. Turner, “Buchanan, Alexander Carlisle,” in Dictionary of Canadian biography: www.biographi.ca/en/bio/buchanan_alexander_carlisle_9E.html (consulted 7 March 2019).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

J. I. Little, “BUCHANAN, ALEXANDER CARLISLE (1786–1840),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 7, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 7, 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/buchanan_alexander_carlisle_1786_1840_7E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/buchanan_alexander_carlisle_1786_1840_7E.html
Author of Article:   J. I. Little
Title of Article:   BUCHANAN, ALEXANDER CARLISLE (1786–1840)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 7
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2021
Year of revision:   2021
Access Date:   December 7, 2021

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

DUFFY, JAMES – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

décédé célibataire le 23 avril 1915 près d’Ypres (Ieper, Belgique)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

BUCHANAN, ALEXANDER CARLISLE, commerçant et agent d’émigration, né en 1786 dans le comté de Tyrone (Irlande du Nord), probablement à Omagh, fils de John Buchanan et de Sarah Sproule ; décédé célibataire le 13 avril 1840 à Omagh.

Alexander Carlisle Buchanan appartenait à une famille de marchands terriens du nord de l’Irlande qui s’adonnaient au commerce du bois et des céréales, et organisaient des traversées pour voyageurs des deux côtés de l’Atlantique. Au milieu des années 1820, il quitta Londonderry pour Montréal, où il s’associa à son frère William dans le commerce maritime ; ensemble, ils fondèrent également une meunerie et une scierie près de Sorel (Sorel-Tracy). Entre-temps, leur frère James, plus âgé, utilisait son poste de consul de la Grande-Bretagne à New York pour inciter des milliers d’immigrants britanniques qui s’y trouvaient, principalement des protestants de l’Ulster, à aller s’installer dans le Haut-Canada. Alexander Carlisle misa bientôt sur les connaissances et les relations de sa famille pour se lancer en affaires dans le secteur de l’émigration.

Après avoir vu de ses propres yeux les conséquences fatales de pratiques chaotiques et désordonnées, telles que la surpopulation et l’allocation de quantités insuffisantes de provisions et d’eau, Buchanan se rendit à Londres en 1826 pour s’adresser au Select Committee on Emigration de la Chambre des communes. Robert John Wilmot-Horton, sous-secrétaire parlementaire au ministère des Colonies, présidait ce comité et se faisait le plus grand défenseur en Grande-Bretagne de l’émigration parrainée par l’État. Buchanan collaborerait avec lui ultérieurement. En 1828, il publia, à Londres, Emigration practically considered : with detailed directions to emigrants proceeding to British North America, particularly to the Canadas : in a letter to the Right Hon. R. Wilmot Horton, m.p.Dans sa tentative de raviver le projet de colonisation ambitieux caressé par Wilmot-Horton au début des années 1820 [V. Peter Robinson], il soutenait que, grâce à l’abrogation du Passenger Vessels Act en 1827, l’établissement d’une famille dans les colonies coûterait moins d’argent. Le document visait également à faire valoir la compétence de l’auteur en la matière : Buchanan déclarait que, jusqu’en 1828, il avait organisé 15 ou 16 traversées transatlantiques représentant au total 6 000 émigrants, et ajoutait qu’il s’était « intéressé au retrait » d’Irlande d’un contingent supplémentaire de 12 000 à 15 000 personnes. De plus, il dressa un plan destiné à aider l’établissement annuel de 100 000 immigrants, durant une période de cinq ans, en leur offrant des prêts totalisant 500 000 £. Son projet, comme celui de Wilmot-Horton, supposait que les fonds dépensés par le gouvernement pour le transport et l’installation seraient remboursés principalement par les immigrants, qui deviendraient des colons exemptés de redevances pendant sept ans. Il précisa toutefois que les paroisses anglaises ainsi que les propriétaires terriens d’origine écossaise ou irlandaise seraient également tout à fait disposés à fournir une contribution. Il écrivit : « La catégorie de personnes que je proposerais à l’émigration de l’Irlande se constitue d’ouvriers démunis, de locataires expulsés et de pauvres paysans actuellement considérés comme une obstruction à la consolidation des fermes et à l’amélioration des domaines, et pour lesquels on ne pourrait jamais envisager de meilleures conditions dans leur pays. »

Selon toute vraisemblance, le ministère des Colonies ne prit pas au sérieux la proposition de Buchanan, mais, probablement grâce à ses pressions, on lui demanda d’aider à la préparation d’un nouveau projet de loi pour les passagers. Certaines de ses recommandations s’ajoutèrent à la loi de 1828, notamment des mesures pour réduire la surpopulation à bord des bateaux et pour s’assurer de l’application de la loi. De plus, Buchanan suggéra d’affecter un « agent général des terres et de l’émigration » à la ville de Québec pour endiguer le flux de passagers qui, après y avoir débarqué, poursuivaient habituellement leur voyage pour s’établir aux États-Unis. Cette suggestion entraîna sa nomination au poste en question au printemps de 1828. La nouvelle loi de 1835 sur les passagers de navires incluait nombre de ses autres recommandations, dont des quantités accrues de nourriture et l’obligation pour les navires de mettre à la disposition des passagers un exemplaire du texte de loi.

Immédiatement après l’engagement de Buchanan, le nombre d’immigrants à Québec connut une hausse considérable : il passa de 13 000 au début de son mandat à 50 000 trois ans plus tard. Son salaire initial de 300 £ s’éleva à 400 £ en 1832. Selon l’historien Norman Macdonald, « les tâches officielles de Buchanan étaient lourdes et difficiles. Il devait accueillir les immigrants à leur arrivée, leur remettre l’allocation d’installation le cas échéant, vêtir et nourrir les affamés, entendre les plaintes et entreprendre des démarches contre les capitaines pris en défaut, rester en contact avec les chercheurs d’emploi, aider les nouveaux venus à retrouver leurs amis et les transborder vers leur destination finale, et toutes [ses actions devaient être] soigneusement consignées. » Macdonald ajouta que Buchanan « dépassait ses obligations officielles en compilant de l’information précieuse sur les endroits disponibles, l’état des routes, les distances et les dépenses. Il invitait les propriétaires qui souhaitaient vendre leur propriété à l’en informer. Son bureau devint un centre d’information indispensable pour les étrangers désorientés et inquiets, et leur évitait d’être exposés aux grossiers abus de confiance des spéculateurs fonciers. » De sa propre initiative, après 1830, Buchanan lutta férocement pour l’application de la loi sur les passagers, et intenta des poursuites en cas d’infraction et en vue d’obtenir des indemnités au nom des passagers lésés.

Pourtant, Buchanan ne s’estimait pas entièrement satisfait des résultats de son travail ardu, car il nourrissait l’ambition d’encourager une proportion substantielle de ceux qui mettaient pied à terre à Québec à s’installer dans la colonie du Bas-Canada. Le but, comme il le déclarait, consistait à ériger « des obstacles à l’emprise monopolistique des Américains, qui [avaient] déjà la mainmise sur les Cantons-de-l’Est ». Avec l’approbation du ministère des Colonies, il concentra son attention sur les cantons de l’extrémité nord des Appalaches. Le chemin Craig, qui partait de la rive sud du Saint-Laurent près de Lévis, reliait ces cantons depuis 1811, mais se détériora pendant la guerre de 1812 ; les propriétaires absents des propriétés voisines avaient par la suite négligé de développer leurs grandes propriétés. Conséquemment, il n’y avait, en 1829, que quelques colons dans ce qui deviendrait cette année-là le comté de Mégantic. Buchanan réussit à attirer un nombre considérable de nouveaux venus britanniques à profiter des conditions généreuses offertes par le gouvernement, sans oublier les emplois qu’ils pouvaient trouver dans la construction des routes qui traversaient les concessions récemment ouvertes.

Au terme de la saison de navigation de 1829, Buchanan écrivit dans son rapport annuel que, parmi les 15 945 passagers arrivés à Québec par bateau cette année-là, 3 754 s’étaient établis dans le Bas-Canada, région « auparavant à peine connue de l’immigrant britannique ». Il faisait valoir également que les 166 familles (totalisant 830 personnes) installées dans le voisinage du canton d’Inverness dans le comté de Mégantic constituaient « dans l’ensemble le plus remarquable contingent de colons du Royaume-Uni jamais implanté dans la province du Bas-Canada ». Selon ses rapports subséquents, Buchanan évitait de choisir des immigrants très pauvres qui auraient eu des difficultés à venir habiter une région relativement isolée. Les vastes réseaux de parenté parmi les Irlandais protestants suggèrent néanmoins que des stratégies familiales, et non pas seulement les diktats de l’agent d’émigration, jouaient un rôle décisif pour déterminer qui s’installait dans les colonies.

En 1830 et 1831, environ 3 500 personnes, des Irlandais protestants pour la plupart, suivirent le chemin Craig et le chemin Gosford construit depuis peu pour relier trois cantons – Leeds, Inverness et Irlande –, ainsi que les seigneuries avoisinantes de Saint-Gilles et de Sainte-Croix. Le recensement officiel du printemps de 1831 révéla que les colons avaient prospéré tangiblement : ils avaient défriché en moyenne 4,5 hectares par ménage dans le canton d’Inverness, et pouvaient compter sur de bonnes récoltes de pommes de terre et de céréales. Buchanan, personnellement et vivement intéressé par les progrès des nouveaux arrivants, les aidait à s’installer sur une terre quand il le pouvait et investit plus de 500 £ sur deux lots que le gouvernement lui avait attribués. Cependant, comme presque toute la terre arable était occupée à la fin de 1831, les saisons suivantes seraient décevantes pour la poursuite de la colonisation. Les Canadiens français, plutôt que les Britanniques, viendraient ensuite peupler les cantons restants en bordure des seigneuries sur la rive sud du Saint-Laurent, et la population anglophone de la région économiquement isolée amorcerait un déclin numérique constant au début des années 1860.

Aux élections de 1832, Buchanan se porta candidat à l’Assemblée législative dans la nouvelle circonscription de Mégantic ; il perdit par dix voix seulement contre un résident de Québec fortement soutenu par des propriétaires absents. Cet automne-là, Buchanan se rendit à Londres, où il s’adressa à un comité gouvernemental sur l’émigration avec Patrick McMahon* de la Société de Québec des émigrés. Il resta sur place pendant plus d’une année et fit pression sur le ministère des Colonies pour la création de postes d’agents d’émigration en Grande-Bretagne. Grâce, principalement, aux efforts de Buchanan, on engagea le premier d’entre eux à Liverpool en 1833. Toutefois, la théorie du stratège impérialiste Edward Gibbon Wakefield* avait entre-temps convaincu les fonctionnaires du ministère d’abolir l’exemption de redevances, d’obliger les colons à effectuer des paiements deux fois par année et, pour la première fois, d’imposer un intérêt sur les prêts. Toutes ces mesures entravèrent l’émigration. De plus, la collecte de revenus sur les ventes de terres de la couronne signifierait que le coût de l’émigration serait transféré aux colonies.

Même si Alexander Carlisle Buchanan affirma à juste titre, en 1836, avoir démontré que la population excédentaire du nord de l’Irlande pouvait s’implanter avantageusement dans les colonies nord-américaines à un coût minimal pour les contribuables britanniques, le gouvernement avait perdu intérêt pour les projets d’émigration. Trois ans auparavant, il avait pris congé pendant l’hiver pour des raisons de santé, et son neveu, aussi nommé Alexander Carlisle Buchanan*, assumait de plus en plus ses fonctions. Il finit par donner sa démission en 1838 et retourna dans le nord de l’Irlande, où il mourut en 1840. Buchanan aida, à Québec, des milliers d’arrivants britanniques appauvris, et joua un rôle de premier plan dans l’établissement d’une colonie britannique qui justifia grandement sa position sur la faisabilité d’une émigration assistée. Il tomba malgré tout dans un oubli quasi total.

J. I. Little

Alexander Carlisle Buchanan est aussi l’auteur de : Information published by His Majesty’s chief agent for the superintendence of settlers and emigrants in Upper and Lower Canada : for the use of emigrants (Québec, 1832).

Bibliothèque et Arch. Canada (Ottawa), MG11-CO384 ; R10870-9-8 ; R10875-4-5 ; R14518-0-3 ; R233-29-7, Québec, dist. Québec, sous-dist. St. Jean.— Gazette (Montréal), 13 déc. 1830.— Quebec Mercury, 12 juin, 11 déc. 1830 ; 21 mai 1831 ; 4 févr., 3, 5 avril, 3 nov. 1832.— Ancestry.ca, « Alexander Carlisle Buchanan – faits » : www.ancestry.ca (consulté le 3 mai 2016).— Gwen Rawlings Barry, A history of Megantic County : downhomers of Quebec’s Eastern Townships (Lower Sackville, N.-É., 1999).— A. W. P. Buchanan, The Buchanan book : the life of Alexander Buchanan, Q.C., of Montreal, followed by an account of the family of Buchanan (Montréal, 1911).— H. I. Cowan, British emigration to British North America : the first hundred years (éd. rév., Toronto, 1961).— Peter Dunkley, « Emigration and the state, 1803–1842 : the nineteenth-century revolution in government reconsidered », Hist. Journal (Cambridge, Angleterre, et New York), 23 (1980) : 353–380.— E. J. Errington, « British migration and British America, 1783–1867 », dans Canada and the British Empire, P. [A.] Buckner, édit. (Oxford, Angleterre, 2010), 140–159.— Richard Froggatt, « James Buchanan (1772–1851) : magistrate and diplomat » : www.newulsterbiography.co.uk/index.php/home/viewPerson/1895 (consulté le 6 août 2018).— R. N. Ghosh, « The colonization controversy : R. J. Wilmot-Horton and the classical economists », Economica (Londres), 31 (1964) : 385–400.— C. J. Houston et W. J. Smyth, Irish emigration and Canadian settlement : patterns, links, and letters (Toronto et Belfast, 1990).— H. J. M. Johnston, British emigration policy, 1815–1830 : « shovelling out paupers » (Oxford, 1972).— J. I. Little, « A. C. Buchanan and the Megantic experiment : promoting British colonization in Lower Canada », Hist. sociale (Ottawa), 46 (2013) : 295–319 ; « Imperialism and colonization in Lower Canada : the role of William Bowman Felton », CHR, 66 (1985) : 511–540.— Norman Macdonald, Canada 1763–1841, immigration and settlement : the administration of the imperial land regulations (Londres et Toronto, 1939).— John Richards, « Report on waste lands & emigration (1830) », dans The Irish University Press series of the British parliamentary papers : subject set on Canada and Canadian boundary (36 vol., Shannon, Irlande, 1969), 6 : 3–26.— W. B. Turner, « Buchanan, Alexander Carlisle », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada : www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/buchanan_alexander_carlisle_9F.html (consulté le 7 mars 2019).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

J. I. Little, « BUCHANAN, ALEXANDER CARLISLE (1786–1840) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 7, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 avril 2021, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/buchanan_alexander_carlisle_1786_1840_7F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/buchanan_alexander_carlisle_1786_1840_7F.html
Auteur de l'article:    J. I. Little
Titre de l'article:    BUCHANAN, ALEXANDER CARLISLE (1786–1840)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 7
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2021
Année de la révision:    2021
Date de consultation:    23 avril 2021