DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

FORBES, GUILLAUME (baptized Joseph-Guillaume), Roman Catholic priest and archbishop; b. 10 Aug. 1865, probably on Île Perrot, Lower Canada, son of John Forbes, a farmer, and Octavie Léger; d. 22 May 1940 in Ottawa.

The second of 16 children, Guillaume Forbes moved to Montreal with his family in 1869. After attending kindergarten at the Asile Nazareth, run by the Sisters of Charity of the Hôpital Général of Montreal, he went to the Catholic Commercial Academy of Montreal from 1872 to 1878. He did his classical studies at the Petit Séminaire de Montréal from 1878 to 1884, and then began his theological training at the Grand Séminaire de Montréal. He was ordained priest on 17 March 1888 by Archbishop Édouard-Charles Fabre*.

On 26 April, after serving for a few weeks in Saint-Clet in the diocese of Valleyfield, Forbes was appointed vicar of the Saint-François-Xavier mission at Caughnawaga in the archdiocese of Montreal, where he assisted the curé, Nicolas Burtin, who was an Oblate of Mary Immaculate. Following four years of initiation among the Iroquois, he spent slightly more than ten active years as director of the mission. Not only did he renovate both the church and the presbytery, but he learned the Iroquois language, whose unique character he particularly liked. He wrote and published at least one grammar book and one almanac in this language. The Iroquois in his mission thought highly of him, as demonstrated by the nickname they gave him: “the man with the clear mind and kind heart.”

On 13 May 1903 Forbes was transferred to the parish of Sainte-Anne-du-Bout-de-l’Île, where he remained for eight years. On 6 March 1911 he was appointed curé of Saint-Jean-Baptiste, in Montreal, where before long he had to take charge of rebuilding the parish church, which was destroyed by fire during the night of 27–28 June. He set about raising the necessary funds and preparing new plans for the interior, but it was his successor, Louis-Alexandre Dubuc, who would see the project to completion in 1915.

Forbes celebrated the silver anniversary of his ordination in June 1913. On 6 August he became the second bishop of Joliette, succeeding Joseph-Alfred Archambeault*. Archbishop Paul Bruchési officiated at his consecration on 9 October in the cathedral of Saint-Charles-Borromée. Forbes set up the Œuvre de la Sainte-Enfance (1914) and reorganized the Society for the Propagation of the Faith (1915), which he entrusted to the Missionary Sisters of the Immaculate Conception [see Délia Tétreault*].

Forbes’s ministry was marked above all by his missionary spirit. This man, whose great-grandfather, John Forbes, had come from Scotland with the army of Major-General James Wolfe*, demonstrated throughout his career the desire to spread his Catholic faith. So too did his elder brother, John*, who was the first Canadian to become a member of the Society of Missionaries of Africa and to be appointed a bishop in that community. For his part, Guillaume had a hand in founding and developing the Séminaire de la Société des Missions Étrangères de la Province de Québec. This institution, which was established in Montreal, was created in February 1921 by the bishops of the province. Its aim was to train missionaries and promote missions in the Far East, especially in China (People’s Republic of China). From that time on Forbes was secretary of the episcopal committee responsible for organizing the seminary, which was chaired by Archbishop Paul-Eugène Roy*. From 26 April 1922 he was a member of the board of directors of the Société des Missions Étrangères de la Province de Québec, which had been incorporated in March, with the seminary as its fundamental unit. On 2 Sept. 1924, in Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Laval), he had the honour of blessing the chapel of the seminary, which had just opened. Canon Joseph-Avila Roch became its superior. In the spring of 1925 Forbes presided over the society’s first ordinations, and on 1 June he received the oath of stability from its first members: Roch, his six colleagues, and six seminarians. On 11 September Forbes bade farewell to the first missionaries bound for Manchuria (People’s Republic of China), the abbés Eugène Bérichon, Louis-Adelmar Lapierre, and Léo Lomme.

On 29 Jan. 1928 Forbes was promoted archbishop of Ottawa, thereby assuming the duties of Archbishop Joseph-Médard Emard*, who had died the previous year. Mgr Andrea Cassulo, the apostolic delegate to Canada and Newfoundland, presided at his enthronement on 29 March during a ceremony in Notre Dame Cathedral Basilica of Ottawa. He received the pallium, the symbol of his archepiscopal authority, on 29 Jan. 1929 and on 12 Sept. 1935 he was appointed assistant to the papal throne. His unfailing support of the foreign-missions society was enhanced in 1932 by the establishment in his diocese of the Pontifical Society of St Peter the Apostle and the Œuvre Pontificale de la Sainte-Enfance. In 1934 Bishop Forbes organized the first week of missionary studies in Canada and took part in its activities.

His great interest in the education of priests was also manifest in the archdiocese. He encouraged the Oblates of Mary Immaculate to found a seminary affiliated with the Université d’Ottawa, which they administered. Opened in 1936, St Paul’s University Seminary offered post-secondary courses in theology. It was an adjunct to the diocesan seminary in Ottawa, the Grand Séminaire Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin, which continued to train priests but did not require them to take theological instruction at the university level. Indeed, the archdiocese of Ottawa did not insist that all its priests hold a university degree in theology. The courses offered at the Grand Séminaire Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin placed greater emphasis on pastoral education.

While serving as archbishop of Ottawa, Forbes established a number of parishes: St Theresa of the Child Jesus (1928), St Margaret Mary Alacoque (1929), Christ-Roi (1930), Holy Canadian Martyrs (1930), Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (1931), Marie-Médiatrice (1931), Our Lady of Perpetual Help (1938), Sainte-Bernadette-Soubirous (1938), and the mission of Notre-Dame-de-la-Présentation at Overbrook (1930). Moreover, he opened his archdiocese to religious communities. An English-language noviciate and scholasticate, run by the Oblates of Mary Immaculate (1928), and the scholasticate of Our Lady of Africa under the Society of Missionaries of Africa (1938) were added to the convents, mother houses, noviciates, and scholasticates already in existence. His archdiocese was associated with Action Catholique, a movement that was to expand in French Canada. On 8 Dec. 1934 Forbes, inspired by Pope Pius XI, issued a pastoral letter inviting the clergy of his archdiocese to coordinate the “existing religious charities” so as to “organize the activities of all Catholics in conformity with pontifical directions, and with a view to winning the cooperation of the laity for the hierarchical ministry.” He also announced the creation of a diocesan committee of Action Catholique for his clergy, and asked his curés to set up parish committees of laypeople.

Forbes had the satisfaction of seeing a good number of his priests rise to the episcopacy. Among them were Joseph Charbonneau*, bishop of Hearst, Ont. (1939), and archbishop of Montreal (1940–50); Jean-Marie-Rodrigue Villeneuve*, bishop of Gravelbourg, Sask. (1930–31), and archbishop of Quebec (1931–47), who was made a cardinal on 12 Feb. 1933; and John Christopher Cody*, bishop of Victoria (1937–46). Rome had confidence in Forbes’s judgement.

On 2 Feb. 1940, at the end of the ceremony for the consecration of his successor, Alexandre Vachon*, Archbishop Guillaume Forbes felt ill and was taken to the Ottawa General Hospital, run by the Sisters of Charity. On 1 April, in a letter addressed to the clergy of his archdiocese, he wrote, “For nearly two months now, I have not been able to go up to the holy altar.” Although he had been ill for three years, he nevertheless proposed to make his pastoral visit and officiate at confirmations. He died on 22 May at the age of 74.

Robert Choquette

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S50, 11 août 1865. Le Devoir, 23, 26 mai 1940. Jules Bernard, “Les débuts de la Société des Missions-étrangères de la province de Québec,” CCHA, Sessions d’étude, 38 (1971): 31–54. Canadian R.C. bishops, 1658–1979, comp. André Chapeau et al. (Ottawa, 1980). Robert Choquette, “An historical overview,” in Planted by flowing water: the diocese of Ottawa, 1847–1997, ed. Pierre Hurtubise et al. (Ottawa, 1998), 11–39. LeBlanc, DBECC. Hector Legros et Sœur Paul-Émile [Louise Guay], Le diocèse d’Ottawa, 1847–1948 (Ottawa, [1949]). Lettres pastorales, mandements et circulaires (14v. parus, Joliette, Québec, 1908–    ), 4–6. Lettres pastorales, mandements et circulaires de Monseigneur Guillaume Forbes … (2v., Ottawa, [1933?–40?]). Clovis Rondeau, “Mgr Guillaume Forbes, missionnaire,” Bull. de l’Union missionnaire du clergé (Québec), 6 (1942): 209–16. La Société des Missions-étrangères de la province de Québec, Canada (Pont-Viau [Laval, Québec]), 1930, 1932. Univ. Laval, Annuaire, 1878–88.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Robert Choquette, “FORBES, GUILLAUME (baptized Joseph-Guillaume),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 21, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/forbes_guillaume_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/forbes_guillaume_16E.html
Author of Article: Robert Choquette
Title of Article: FORBES, GUILLAUME (baptized Joseph-Guillaume)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: November 21, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

GIROD, AMURY – Volume VII (1836-1850)

décédé le 18 décembre 1837 à Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montréal)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Forbes, Guillaume (baptisé Joseph-Guillaume), prêtre catholique et archevêque, né le 10 août 1865, probablement à l’île Perrot, Bas-Canada, fils de John Forbes, cultivateur, et d’Octavie Léger ; décédé le 22 mai 1940 à Ottawa.

Deuxième enfant d’une famille qui en compterait 16, Guillaume Forbes s’établit avec les siens à Montréal en 1869. Après son passage au jardin d’enfance de l’asile Nazareth, administré par les Sœurs de la charité de l’Hôpital Général de Montréal, il fréquenta l’académie commerciale catholique de Montréal de 1872 à 1878. Il fit ses études classiques au petit séminaire de Montréal de 1878 à 1884, puis entreprit une formation théologique au grand séminaire de Montréal. Il fut ordonné prêtre le 17 mars 1888 par l’archevêque Édouard-Charles Fabre*.

Le 26 avril suivant, après quelques semaines de ministère à Saint-Clet, dans le diocèse de Valleyfield, Forbes fut nommé vicaire de la mission Saint-François-Xavier-de-Caughnawaga, dans l’archidiocèse de Montréal, où il assista le curé Nicolas Burtin, oblat de Marie-Immaculée. Quatre années d’initiation auprès des Iroquois furent suivies d’un peu plus de dix autres bien remplies à la direction de cette mission. Non seulement Forbes rénova tant l’église que le presbytère, mais il apprit la langue iroquoise, dont il aimait tout particulièrement le caractère unique. Il écrivit et publia dans cette langue au moins une grammaire et un almanach. Les Iroquois de sa mission l’appréciaient, comme en témoigne le surnom qu’ils lui donnèrent : « l’homme à l’esprit clair et au bon cœur ».

Le 13 mai 1903, Forbes fut muté à la cure de Sainte-Anne-du-Bout-de-l’Île, où il demeura durant huit ans. Le 6 mars 1911, il fut nommé curé de Saint-Jean-Baptiste, à Montréal, où il dut bientôt s’occuper de la reconstruction de l’église paroissiale rasée par les flammes dans la nuit du 27 au 28 juin 1911. Il entreprit la recherche des fonds nécessaires et la préparation des nouveaux plans de l’intérieur, mais ce serait son successeur, le curé Louis-Alexandre Dubuc, qui mènerait ce projet à terme en 1915.

Forbes célébra ses noces d’argent sacerdotales en juin 1913. Le 6 août, prenant la suite de Mgr Joseph-Alfred Archambeault*, il devint le deuxième évêque de Joliette. Mgr Paul Bruchési procéda à son sacre le 9 octobre dans la cathédrale Saint-Charles-Borromée. Forbes établit l’Œuvre de la Sainte-Enfance (1914) et réorganisa l’Œuvre de la propagation de la foi (1915), qu’il confia aux Sœurs missionnaires de l’Immaculée-Conception [V. Délia Tétreault*].

Le ministère de Forbes fut avant tout marqué par son esprit missionnaire. Cet homme, dont le bisaïeul paternel John Forbes était venu d’Écosse avec l’armée du major général James Wolfe*, manifesta pendant toute sa carrière le souci de propager sa foi catholique. Il en fut de même pour son frère aîné, John*, premier Canadien à faire partie de la Société des missionnaires d’Afrique et à être nommé évêque dans cette communauté. Quant à lui, Guillaume prit part à la fondation et au développement du séminaire de la société des Missions étrangères de la province de Québec. Cet établissement, établi à Montréal, fut créé en février 1921 par les évêques de la province. Il avait pour but de former des missionnaires et de favoriser les missions en Extrême-Orient, plus particulièrement en Chine (république populaire de Chine). Forbes fut dès lors secrétaire du comité épiscopal chargé de sa mise en œuvre présidé par Mgr Paul-Eugène Roy*. À partir du 26 avril 1922, il siégea au conseil d’administration de la société des Missions étrangères, constituée en corporation civile au mois de mars précédent et dont le séminaire représentait l’élément fondamental. Le 2 septembre 1924, à Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Laval), il eut l’honneur de bénir la chapelle du séminaire des missions, qui venait d’ouvrir ses portes et dont le chanoine Joseph-Avila Roch était le premier supérieur. Au printemps de 1925, il présida aux premières ordinations de la société et, le 1er juin, reçut le serment de stabilité des premiers membres, soit le chanoine Roch, ses six collaborateurs et six séminaristes. Le 11 septembre, il veilla au départ des premiers missionnaires pour la Mandchourie (république populaire de Chine), les abbés Eugène Bérichon, Louis-Adelmar Lapierre et Léo Lomme.

Le 29 janvier 1928, Forbes fut promu archevêque d’Ottawa. Il prenait ainsi la charge de Mgr Joseph-Médard Emard*, mort l’année précédente. Mgr Andrea Cassulo, délégué apostolique du Canada et de Terre-Neuve, présida à son intronisation le 29 mars, au cours d’une cérémonie à la basilique-cathédrale Notre-Dame d’Ottawa. Le 29 janvier 1929, il reçut le pallium, symbole de son autorité archiépiscopale, et, le 12 septembre 1935, il fut nommé assistant au trône pontifical. À son soutien indéfectible à la société des Missions étrangères s’ajouta dans son diocèse la fondation, en 1932, de l’Œuvre pontificale de Saint-Pierre-Apôtre et de l’Œuvre pontificale de la Sainte-Enfance. En 1934, Mgr Forbes organisa la première semaine d’études missionnaires au Canada et participa à ses activités.

Le grand intérêt de Forbes pour la formation des prêtres se révéla aussi dans l’archidiocèse. Il encouragea les oblats de Marie-Immaculée à fonder un séminaire affilié à l’université d’Ottawa, établissement qu’ils dirigeaient ; ouvert en 1936, le séminaire universitaire Saint-Paul proposait une formation théologique universitaire à ses étudiants. Ce séminaire universitaire s’ajoutait au séminaire diocésain d’Ottawa, le grand séminaire Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin, qui continuait à former des prêtres sans toutefois les astreindre à une formation théologique universitaire. En effet, l’archidiocèse d’Ottawa n’exigeait pas que tous ses prêtres soient dotés d’un diplôme universitaire en théologie. Le grand séminaire Saint-Thomas-d’Aquin offrait une formation davantage axée sur la pastorale.

Pendant son archiépiscopat à Ottawa, Forbes fonda les paroisses Sainte-Thérèse-de-l’Enfant-Jésus (1928), Sainte-Marguerite-Marie (1929), Christ-Roi (1930), Saints-Martyrs Canadiens (1930), L’Assomption-de-la-Bienheureuse-Vierge-Marie (1931), Marie-Médiatrice (1931), Notre-Dame-du-Perpétuel-Secours (1938), Sainte-Bernadette-Soubirous (1938) et la mission Notre-Dame-de-la-Présentation d’Overbrook (1930). De plus, il ouvrit toutes grandes les portes de son archidiocèse aux congrégations religieuses. Aux couvents, maisons mères, noviciats et scolasticats déjà présents s’ajoutèrent un noviciat et un scolasticat de langue anglaise administrés par les oblats de Marie-Immaculée (1928), ainsi que le scolasticat Notre-Dame d’Afrique de la Société des missionnaires d’Afrique (1938). Son archidiocèse s’associa à l’Action catholique, mouvement qui connaîtrait une expansion au Canada français. Par sa lettre pastorale du 8 décembre 1934, Mgr Forbes, inspiré par le pape Pie XI, invita le clergé de son archidiocèse à coordonner les « œuvres religieuses existantes » pour « organiser l’action de tous les catholiques conformément aux directions pontificales et dans le but de procurer à l’apostolat hiérarchique la coopération du laïcat ». Il annonça aussi la création d’un comité diocésain de l’Action catholique pour sa partie ecclésiastique et demanda à ses curés de former des comités paroissiaux de laïcs.

Mgr Forbes eut la satisfaction de voir bon nombre de ses prêtres accéder à l’épiscopat. Ce fut le cas de Joseph Charbonneau*, évêque de Hearst, en Ontario (1939), puis archevêque de Montréal (1940–1950), de Jean-Marie-Rodrigue Villeneuve*, évêque de Gravelbourg, en Saskatchewan (1930–1931), puis archevêque de Québec (1931–1947) (il fut promu cardinal le 12 février 1933), et de John Christopher Cody*, évêque de Victoria (1937–1946). Rome avait confiance dans le jugement de Forbes.

Le 2 février 1940, à la fin de la cérémonie du sacre d’Alexandre Vachon*, son successeur, Mgr Guillaume Forbes ressentit un malaise et fut transporté à l’Hôpital Général des Sœurs de la charité d’Ottawa. Dans une lettre à l’attention du clergé de son archidiocèse, il écrivit le 1er avril : « Il y a bientôt deux mois que je n’ai pas pu monter au saint autel. » Malade depuis déjà trois ans, il y proposait tout de même de faire sa visite pastorale et de procéder aux confirmations. Il mourut le 22 mai suivant, à l’âge de 74 ans.

Robert Choquette

BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S50, 11 août 1865.— Le Devoir, 23, 26 mai 1940.— Jules Bernard, « les Débuts de la société des Missions-Étrangères de la province de Québec », SCHEC, Sessions d’étude, 38 (1971) : 31–54.— Robert Choquette, « Aperçu historique », dans Planté près du cours des eaux : le diocèse d’Ottawa 1847–1997, sous la dir. de Pierre Hurtubise et al. (Ottawa, 1998), 11–39.— Évêques catholiques du Canada, 1658–1979, André Chapeau et al., compil. (Ottawa, 1980).— LeBlanc, DBECC.— Hector Legros et sœur Paul-Émile [Louise Guay], le Diocèse d’Ottawa, 1847–1948 (Ottawa, [1949]).— Lettres pastorales, mandements et circulaires (14 vol. parus, Joliette, Québec, 1908–    ), 4–6.— Lettres pastorales, mandements et circulaires de Monseigneur Guillaume Forbes [...] (2 vol., Ottawa, [1933 ?–1940 ?]).— Clovis Rondeau, « Mgr Guillaume Forbes, missionnaire », Bull. de l’Union missionnaire du clergé, 6 (Québec, 1942) : 209–216.— La Société des Missions-étrangères de la province de Québec, Canada (Pont-Viau [Laval, Québec]), 1930, 1932.— Univ. Laval, Annuaire, 1878–1888.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Robert Choquette, « FORBES, GUILLAUME (baptisé Joseph-Guillaume) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/forbes_guillaume_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/forbes_guillaume_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Robert Choquette
Titre de l'article:   FORBES, GUILLAUME (baptisé Joseph-Guillaume)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   18 décembre 2017