DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Original title:  Painting, miniature Portrait of l'Abbé Joseph-Marie De La Corne de Chaptes (1714-1779) Anonyme - Anonymous 1750-1800, 18th century 4.7 x 3.9 cm Purchase from Mr. John L. Russell M22335 © McCord Museum Keywords:  male (26812) , Painting (2229) , painting (2226) , portrait (53878)

Source: Link

LA CORNE DE CHAPTES, JOSEPH-MARIE (Jean-Marie) DE, parish priest, ecclesiastical councillor, dean of the chapter, and vicar general; b. apparently at Contrecœur (Que.), son of Jean-Louis de La Corne* de Chaptes and Marie Pécaudy de Contrecœur; he is believed to have been baptized at Verchères on 2 Nov. 1714; d. 7 Dec. 1779 at Maubec (Méobecq, dept of Indre), France.

Having entered the Séminaire de Québec on 1 May 1730 Joseph-Marie de La Corne de Chaptes received the tonsure from Bishop Dosquet on 6 May 1735. Three years later, the bishop being absent from the colony, La Corne had to go to France to be ordained; he was received into the priesthood at Rennes in the autumn of 1738. On his return to the colony the following year, he was immediately named parish priest at Saint-Michel (Saint-Michel-de-Bellechasse), and there with the parishioners’ agreement built a stone presbytery.

In July 1747 Bishop Pontbriand [Dubreil*] made La Corne a canon of the cathedral of Quebec and thought of him as a replacement for ecclesiastical councillor François-Elzéar Vallier* on the Conseil Supérieur. The bishop observed that “he has intelligence and talent and is a man of good family.” On 25 Aug. 1749 the canon was appointed to the council. The experience he gained there in legal matters, combined with what he had learned as treasurer of the chapter, a position he had been holding for some time, was subsequently of great service to him. Indeed, in 1750 he was delegated by his colleagues in the chapter to go to France to defend their interests in the lawsuit about the conferring of the charge of the parish of Quebec which they had brought against the seminary and in which Canon René-Jean Allenou* de Lavillangevin played a leading role for the chapter [see also Jean-Félix Récher*]. This protracted suit, which went on until after the conquest, would summon up all La Corne’s zeal and talent.

In Paris the chapter of Quebec had already had a representative for some years in Canon Pierre Hazeur de L’Orme. La Corne thought his visit would be brief and hoped that, with the lawsuit under way, he would be able to return to Canada before the end of 1751 leaving Hazeur with power of attorney. On arrival he consulted lawyers who concluded that the chapter’s requests were well grounded. He then harassed the offices of the administration at Versailles with representations but had little success. Believing, however, that his presence was no longer necessary in Paris, he decided to return to Canada in the spring of 1751. On his way he stopped at the abbey of Saint-Pierre in Maubec, a benefice of the chapter, to assess the state of its premises. When he reached La Rochelle, he learned that the Séminaire des Missions Étrangères in Paris had undertaken to delay the legal proceedings by refusing to recognize the validity of Canon de L’Orme’s power of attorney. Reluctantly La Corne returned to the capital, where he again embarked, to no purpose, on a round of representations. In a letter to Canon Lavillangevin on 19 June 1751 he listed the connections and the line of action through which he intended to win the favours of those in high office; in the end these dealings were of no use. Incidentally La Corne seems to have exercised restraint in using the funds put at his disposal for his upkeep, but the lawsuit, now getting bogged down – in particular, in May 1753 the judge in charge of the inquiry died of smallpox – would prove expensive for the chapter of Quebec. Because of de L’Orme’s ill health, La Corne also attended to the administration of Maubec. He did not, however, lose hope of returning to Canada, although at the Paris seminary it was being said that he was prolonging the lawsuit to extend his stay in France.

La Corne informed his colleagues in a letter dated 26 Feb. 1755 that he had received royal appointment as dean of the chapter. The following year the chapter put him officially in charge of the administration of the Maubec abbey and in 1757 Hazeur’s power of attorney was cancelled in favour of La Corne. De L’Orme expressed some regret about these decisions: “I do not think [he] is as skilled yet as I can be.” La Corne kept up the struggle over the parish of Quebec, preparing memoir after memoir. In 1759 the king gave him the abbey of L’Étoile, in the diocese of Poitiers ten leagues from Maubec. Beginning that year, the year of the siege and capitulation of Quebec, La Corne attempted to help his colleagues in Quebec as much as he could; he lent them his income as dean and his canon’s prebend and agreed to allow them to draw a bill of exchange on him for 5,000 livres.

The loss of Canada gave a new direction to the career of La Corne. Until his appointment as vicar general on 30 Sept. 1760, he had attended to the lawsuit in Paris during the winter and in the summer had travelled to and fro between his abbeys. In 1762 he wanted to be relieved of his duties as the chapter’s agent; he felt that two canons from Quebec who had sought refuge in France in the autumn of 1759, Gilles-Louis Cugnet and Charles-Ange Collet *, would be capable of succeeding him. But his colleagues, who were satisfied with his services, increased his responsibilities; on 1 Oct. 1761 the chapter appointed him vicar general for Louisiana and the Mississippi region.

Bishop Pontbriand’s death in June 1760, at a dramatic moment in the history of the Canadian church, raised the problem of the succession to the bishopric. When the treaty of Paris was signed in February 1763, Canon La Corne went to London to plead for the maintenance of the Catholic hierarchy. He first called upon Lord Shelburne, the president of the Board of Trade, and presented him with a memoir in which he concluded that election of a bishop by the chapter would be the solution most acceptable to the British government. This solution was adopted in August 1763; the chapter of Quebec then hastened to elect Canon Étienne Montgolfier as bishop, and it appointed La Corne his “special procurator to report the above-mentioned election” to the authorities in London. In the spring of 1764 Britain indicated its willingness to turn a blind eye to Montgolfier’s appointment, on condition that he bear the title of “Supérieur du Clergé.” But Governor Murray categorically refused the appointment and put forward the name of Canon Jean-Olivier Briand. In March 1766 Briand was consecrated bishop in the château of Suresnes (dept of Hauts-de-Seine), France; La Corne’s negotiating for appointment of a bishop was finally crowned with success. Briand had recognized the major role played by the canon in the affair; he had indeed claimed that “If there is a bishop, it is he to whom we shall owe it.”

In a letter dated 29 March 1766 La Corne announced the good news to his colleagues in Quebec. He also informed them that the king of France was taking the Maubec abbey away from them to give it to him personally, on condition that he pay his colleagues who were in France – canons de L’Orme, Jean-Pierre de Miniac, and Joseph-Ambroise Gaillard – an annual pension of 400 francs each.

La Corne continued, however, to represent the chapter in Paris, and in its name he attended to various financial matters. On 21 Sept. 1767 Briand appointed him vicar general, and in July 1770 gave him the task of carrying out with the papal nuncio in Paris all the steps needed to obtain bulls for Bishop Louis-Philippe Mariauchau d’Esgly, the new coadjutor; La Corne complied, even though his health was not good that year. In a letter on 15 March 1770 he offered his resignation as dean, asking that he be allowed to retain the honorary title since he did not want to sever his links with the chapter. This request for permission to resign was refused. His final years, marked by illness and infirmity, were spent mainly in Berry. He died of pneumonia at the Maubec abbey on 7 Dec. 1779.

A man of great energy, who was not always easy to get along with, Canon La Corne was an effective agent for the Canadian church, both in London and in Paris, and one of our great diplomats.

Jean-Guy Pelletier

AAQ, 12 A, B, 312; C, 56; 20 A, I, 43, 44, 103, 153; 22 A, II, 688; 10 B, 167v, 168, 193, 193v, 194, 200, 218, 218v, 219, 220, 222, 227, 241, 241v, 244, 248v, 250, 261; 11 B, II, 453; V, 99, 101, 112; VI, 59; VII, 1–77, 87; VIII, 37, 48; X, 28, 49, 53; 1 CB, VI, 18, 19; CD, Diocèse de Québec, I, 58, 59; 91 CM, I, 102; 60 CN, V, 19; VI, 18, 22. AD, Indre (Châteauroux), Archives de l’abbaye de Méobecq, H281-H324; État civil, Méobecq, 7 déc. 1779. ASQ, Chapitre, 50, 85, 132, 258; Évêques, nos. 88, 138, 146, 147; Fonds Viger-Verreau, Sér. O, 035, p.18; Lettres, M, 121, 122, 122a, 129; P, 24; S, 48, 92, 169; mss, 13, 18 oct. 1779; Polygraphie, VII, 2, 3, 4, 9; XIII, 24; XVII, 4; Séminaire, 14/6, no.11; 14/7, nos.2, 3, 14; 75, no.58. La Rue, “Lettres et mémoires,” ANQ Rapport, 1935–36, 323, 331, 345, 388, 402; 1936–37, 398, 414, 459; 1937–38, 248–50. Allaire, Dictionnaire, I, 289. Caron, “Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Briand,” ANQ Rapport, 1929–30, 47, 61, 63–64, 71, 104, 106. Le Jeune, Dictionnaire, II, 18–21. P.-G. Roy, Inv. jug. et délib., 1717–60, V, 125; Inv. ord. int., II, 283. Henri Têtu, Notices biographiques: les évêques de Québec (Québec, 1889), 272, 359. A.-H. Gosselin, L’Église du Canada après la Conquête, I, 2, 64, 69, 72, 77, 79, 81, 83, 87, 95–96, 115, 120–21, 124, 127–32, 148, 151, 156, 158–59, 194–96, 204, 208–9, 403; II, 118, 246; L’Église du Canada jusqu’à la Conquête, II, 159, 330; III, 76, 106–7, 124–25, 168, 248, 253, 271–72, 280, 290–92, 297–304, 350, 462. Lemieux, L’établissement de la première prov. eccl., 3–9. M. Trudel, L’Église canadienne. Lionel Groulx, “Le conflit religieux au lendemain de 1760,” SCHÉC Rapport, 7 (1939–40), 13, 18, 23. Arthur Maheux, “Difficultés religieuses après la cession,” SCHÉC Rapport, 14 (1946–47), 20. J.-E. Roy, “Les conseillers au Conseil souverain de la Nouvelle-France,” BRH, I (1895), 182. P.-G. Roy, “Les conseillers clercs au Conseil souverain de la Nouvelle-France,” BRH, XXII (1916), 352. Têtu, “Le chapitre de la cathédrale,” BRH, XIII-XVII.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jean-Guy Pelletier, “LA CORNE DE CHAPTES, JOSEPH-MARIE DE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 4, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 22, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/la_corne_de_chaptes_joseph_marie_de_4E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/la_corne_de_chaptes_joseph_marie_de_4E.html
Author of Article: Jean-Guy Pelletier
Title of Article: LA CORNE DE CHAPTES, JOSEPH-MARIE DE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 4
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1979
Year of revision: 1979
Access Date: September 22, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Titre original :  Painting, miniature Portrait of l'Abbé Joseph-Marie De La Corne de Chaptes (1714-1779) Anonyme - Anonymous 1750-1800, 18th century 4.7 x 3.9 cm Purchase from Mr. John L. Russell M22335 © McCord Museum Keywords:  male (26812) , Painting (2229) , painting (2226) , portrait (53878)

Provenance : Lien

LA CORNE DE CHAPTES, JOSEPH-MARIE (Jean-Marie) DE, prêtre, curé, conseiller clerc, doyen du chapitre et vicaire général ; né, semble-t-il, à Contrecœur (Québec), fils dé Jean-Louis de La Corne* de Chaptes et de Marie Pécaudy de Contrecœur, il aurait été baptisé à Verchères, le 2 novembre 1714 ; décédé à Maubec (Méobecq, dép. de l’Indre, France), le 7 décembre 1779.

Joseph-Marie de La Corne de Chaptes entre le 1er mai 1730 au séminaire de Québec. Le 6 mai 1735, il reçoit la tonsure des mains de Mgr Dosquet. Trois ans plus tard, l’évêque étant absent de la colonie, La Corne doit se rendre dans la métropole pour y être ordonné ; il est reçu prêtre à Rennes à l’automne de 1738. De retour dans la colonie l’année suivante, il est aussitôt nommé curé de Saint-Michel (Saint-Michel-de-Bellechasse) où, avec l’accord de ses paroissiens, il construit un presbytère en pierres.

En juillet 1747, Mgr de Pontbriand [Dubreil*] nomme La Corne chanoine et songe à lui pour remplacer le conseiller clerc François-Elzéar Vallier* au Conseil supérieur. Selon l’évêque de Québec, « il a de l’esprit et du talent et il est homme de condition ». Le chanoine est nommé au conseil, le 25 août 1749. Cette expérience des choses juridiques, alliée à celle de trésorier du chapitre, fonction qu’il occupa quelque temps, lui servira beaucoup par la suite. En effet, en 1750, il est délégué en France par ses collègues du chapitre pour défendre leurs intérêts dans le procès qu’ils intentent au séminaire au sujet de la cure de Québec et pour lequel le chanoine René-Jean AIlenou* de Lavillangevin joua un rôle primordial pour le chapitre [V. aussi Jean-Félix Récher*]. Ce long procès, qui ne prendra fin qu’après la Conquête, mobilisera toute l’ardeur et le talent du chanoine de La Corne.

À Paris, le chapitre de Québec est déjà représenté depuis plusieurs années par le chanoine Pierre Hazeur de L’Orme. La Corne croit que son séjour sera bref et espère qu’une fois l’affaire mise en route il pourra rentrer au Canada avant la fin de l’année 1751, laissant à de L’Orme le pouvoir d’agir comme procureur. Dès son arrivée, il consulte des avocats qui concluent au bien-fondé des requêtes du chapitre. Il assiège ensuite les bureaux de l’administration à Versailles et n’obtient finalement que très peu de chose. Cependant, croyant que sa présence n’est plus nécessaire à Paris, il décide de rentrer au Canada au printemps de 1751. Il passe par l’abbaye Saint-Pierre de Maubec, bénéfice du chapitre, pour juger de l’état des lieux. Il se rend ensuite à La Rochelle, où il apprend que le séminaire des Missions étrangères de Paris a entrepris de retarder le déroulement du procès en ne reconnaissant pas la procuration du chanoine de L’Orme. À son corps défendant, La Corne retourne dans la capitale où il recommence inutilement la ronde de ses démarches. Dans une lettre au chanoine de Lavillangevin le 19 juin 1751, il énumère ses relations et ses procédés visant à se concilier les faveurs des gens en place ; ces relations ne servent finalement à rien. Par ailleurs, le chanoine semble avoir usé modérément des sommes mises à sa disposition pour son entretien, mais les frais du procès qui s’enlise – notamment, en mai 1753, le rapporteur de la cause meurt de la petite vérole – seront lourds pour le chapitre de Québec. En raison de la mauvaise santé du chanoine Hazeur de L’Orme, La Corne s’occupe de l’administration de Maubec. Toutefois, il ne perd pas l’espoir de revenir au Canada, bien que du côté du séminaire de Paris on raconte qu’il prolonge le procès pour rester plus longtemps en France.

Dans une lettre datée du 26 février 1755, le chanoine de La Corne apprend à ses confrères qu’il a été nommé par le roi doyen du chapitre. L’année suivante, le chapitre lui confie officiellement l’administration de l’abbaye de Maubec et, en 1757, annule la procuration d’Hazeur de L’Orme en sa faveur. Le chanoine de L’Orme exprime quelques regrets au sujet de ces décisions : « je ne [le] crois pas encore aussi expérimenté que je le peux être ». Cependant, le chanoine de La Corne poursuit toujours la lutte, rédigeant mémoire sur mémoire. En 1759, le roi lui donne l’abbaye de l’Étoile, située dans le diocèse de Poitiers, à dix lieues de Maubec. À partir de cette année, marquée par le siège et la capitulation de Québec, La Corne tente dans la mesure du possible d’aider ses confrères de Québec ; il leur prête ses revenus de doyen et sa prébende de chanoine et il accepte qu’ils tirent sur lui une traite de 5 000#.

La perte du Canada donne une nouvelle orientation à la carrière du chanoine de La Corne, nommé vicaire général, le 30 septembre 1760. Jusque-là, l’hiver, il s’occupait à Paris du procès, et l’été, il faisait la navette entre ses abbayes. En 1762, il désirera être relevé de ses fonctions d’agent du chapitre ; deux chanoines de Québec réfugiés en France, à l’automne de 1759, Gilles-Louis Cugnet et Charles-Ange Collet*, seraient en mesure de lui succéder. Or, ses confrères de Québec, satisfaits de ses services, augmentent ses responsabilités. Ainsi, le 1er octobre 1761, le chapitre le nomme vicaire général pour la Louisiane et le Mississippi.

La mort de Mgr de Pontbriand, en juin 1760, survenue à un moment dramatique de l’histoire de l’Église canadienne, posait le problème de la succession épiscopale. Dès la signature du traité de Paris, en février 1763, le chanoine de La Corne se rend à Londres dans le but de solliciter le maintien de la religion catholique. Il rend d’abord visite à lord Shelburne, président du Board of Trade, et lui présente un mémoire dans lequel il conclut qu’un évêque élu parle chapitre serait la solution la plus acceptable pour le gouvernement britannique. Cette solution est adoptée en août 1763 ; dès lors, le chapitre de Québec s’empresse d’élire un évêque, le chanoine Étienne Montgolfier, et nomme le chanoine de La Corne son « procureur Spécial pour nottifier la susditte élection » à la cour de Londres. Au printemps de 1764, la Grande-Bretagne décide de fermer les yeux sur la nomination de Montgolfier à condition qu’il porte le titre de « Supérieur du Clergé ». Mais le gouverneur Murray refuse catégoriquement cette nomination et propose le chanoine Jean-Olivier Briand. En mars 1766, Mgr Briand est sacré au château de Suresnes (dép. des Hauts-de-Seine, France) ; la négociation du chanoine de La Corne est enfin couronnée de succès. Mgr Briand avait reconnu le grand rôle joué par le chanoine dans l’heureuse conclusion de cette affaire : « s’il y a un évêque c’est à luy qu’on en sera redevable ».

Dans une lettre datée du 29 mars 1766, le chanoine de La Corne annonce cette bonne nouvelle à ses confrères de Québec. Il leur apprend également que le roi de France leur enlève l’abbaye de Maubec pour la lui donner personnellement, à charge de payer à ses confrères qui se trouvent en France, les chanoines Hazeur de L’Orme, Jean-Pierre de Miniac, et Joseph-Ambroise Gaillard, une pension annuelle de 400 francs.

Cependant, le chanoine de La Corne continue de représenter le chapitre à Paris et s’occupe, en son nom, de diverses affaires financières. Le 21 septembre 1767, Mgr Briand le nomme vicaire général ; il le charge, en juillet 1770, de faire toutes les démarches nécessaires auprès du nonce papal à Paris afin d’obtenir des bulles pour Mgr Louis-Philippe Mariauchau d’Esgly, le nouveau coadjuteur, ce que La Corne fait même si, cette année-là, sa santé n’est pas très bonne. Dans une lettre du 15 mars 1770, il offre sa démission de doyen, demandant de rester membre ad honores car il ne veut pas se séparer du chapitre. Cette offre de démission est cependant refusée. Ses dernières années, marquées par la maladie et les infirmités, se passent surtout dans le Berry. Il meurt à l’abbaye de Maubec le 7 décembre 1779 d’une pneumonie.

Homme d’une grande énergie, au caractère pas toujours facile, le chanoine de La Corne fut un agent très efficace pour l’Église canadienne tant à Londres qu’à Paris et l’un de nos grands diplomates.

Jean-Guy Pelletier

AAQ, 12 A, B, 312 ; C, 56 ; 20 A, I : 43, 44, 103, 153 ; 22 A, II : 688 ; 10 B, 167v., 168, 193, 193v., 194, 200, 218, 218v., 219, 220, 222, 227, 241, 241v., 244, 248v., 250, 261 ; 11 B, II : 453 ; V : 99, 101, 112 ; VI : 59 ; VII : 1–77, 87 ; VIII : 37, 48 ; X : 28, 49, 53 ; 1 CB, VI : 18, 19 ; CD, Diocèse de Québec, I : 58, 59 ; 91 CM, I : 102 ; 60 CN, V : 19 ; VI : 18, 22.— AD, Indre (Châteauroux), Archives de l’abbaye de Méobecq, H281–H324 ; État civil, Méobecq, 7 déc. 1779.— ASQ, Chapitre, 50, 85, 132, 258 ; Évêques, nos 88, 138, 146, 147 ; Fonds Viger-Verreau, Sér.O, 035, p.18 ; Lettres, M, 121, 122, 122a, 129 ; P, 24 ; S, 48, 92, 169 ; mss, 13, 18 oct. 1779 ; Polygraphie, VII : 2, 3, 4, 9 ; XIII : 24 ; XVII : 4 ; Séminaire, 14/6, no 11 ; 14/7, nos 2, 3, 14 ; 75, no 58.— La Rue, Lettres et mémoires, ANQ Rapport, 1935–1936, 323, 331, 345, 388, 402 ; 1936–1937, 398, 414, 459 ; 1937–1938, 248–250. Allaire, Dictionnaire, I : 289. Caron, Inv. de la corr. de Mgr Briand, ANQ Rapport, 1929–1930, 47, 61, 63s., 71, 104, 106. Le Jeune, Dictionnaire, II : 18–21. P.-G. Roy, Inv. jug. et délib., 1717–1760, V :125 ; Inv. ord. int., II : 283. Henri Têtu, Notices biographiques : les évêques de Québec (Québec, 1889), 272, 359. A.-H. Gosselin, L’Église du Canada après la Conquête, I : 2, 64, 69, 72, 77, 79, 81, 83, 87, 95s., 115, 120s., 124, 127–132, 148, 151, 156, 158s., 194–196, 204, 208s., 403 ; II : 118, 246 ; L’Église dur Canada jusqu’à la Conquête, II : 159, 330 ; III : 76, 106s., 124s., 168, 248, 253, 271s., 280, 290–292, 297–304, 350, 462. Lemieux, L’établissement de la première prov. eccl., 3–9. M. Trudel, L’Église canadienne.— Lionel Groulx, Le conflit religieux au lendemain de 1760, SCHÉC Rapport, 7 (1939–1940) : 13, 18, 23. Arthur Maheux, Difficultés religieuses après la cession, SCHÉC Rapport, 14 (1946–1947) : 20. J.-E. Roy, Les conseillers au Conseil souverain de la Nouvelle-France, BRH, I (1895) : 182. P.-G. Roy, Les conseillers clercs au Conseil souverain de la Nouvelle-France, BRH, XXII (1916) : 352. Têtu, Le chapitre de la cathédrale, BRH, XIII-XVII.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jean-Guy Pelletier, « LA CORNE DE CHAPTES, JOSEPH-MARIE DE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 4, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 17 sept. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/la_corne_de_chaptes_joseph_marie_de_4F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/la_corne_de_chaptes_joseph_marie_de_4F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jean-Guy Pelletier
Titre de l'article:   LA CORNE DE CHAPTES, JOSEPH-MARIE DE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 4
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1980
Année de la révision:   1980
Date de consultation:   17 septembre 2014