DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

RUTHERFORD, WILLIAM JOHN – Volume XV (1921-1930)

d. 1 June 1930 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  George McAvity. From: https://archive.macleans.ca/article/1929/3/1/brass-brains-and-backbone#!&pid=18 - 1 March 1929, MacLean's.

Source: Link

McAVITY, GEORGE, businessman; b. 21 July 1853 in Saint John, son of Thomas McAvity and Isabella Sandall; m. 1 Feb. 1887 Ida Marguerite Mills (1866–1928) in New York City, and they had two sons and one daughter; d. 25 April 1933 in Saint John.

George McAvity, born into an Ulster Methodist family that had emigrated from Ballyshannon (Republic of Ireland) to Saint John in 1818, was educated at Nova Scotia’s exclusive Acacia Villa School [see Sir Robert Laird Borden]. Intended to prepare students for college, Acacia Villa also offered “a practical business education to those who desire it.” On leaving school in 1871, George went to work as a clerk in the hardware department of the firm founded by his father in 1834. Later, he was a successful commercial traveller on behalf of the company, journeying as far west as Ontario.

In 1883, after a 12-year apprenticeship, George became – like his five brothers – a partner. By then the McAvity concern had diversified into hardware manufacturing, with which it would afterwards be identified. When Thomas McAvity Sr died in 1887, according to his will all his assets were to be sold and the proceeds divided among his legal heirs. The beneficiaries renounced their rights to this inheritance so that the sons could carry on the family business, which they did with conspicuous success. When James Hendricks McAvity* and another son, Thomas Jr, as senior partners, incorporated T. McAvity and Sons in 1907, George became a director. In 1910 he succeeded Thomas as president, a post he would hold for 23 years.

McAvity’s, already national in market scope and famous for the innovative design of its valves and fire hydrants and for its advanced production technology, became even more prosperous under George’s stewardship. In 1916 a large plant was constructed on Rothesay Avenue in east Saint John to manufacture munitions for the Canadian Expeditionary Force. McAvity’s also produced shells for both the British and American armies. The plant, employing 2,500 in Saint John during World War I, effortlessly made the transition to peacetime operations, and in 1929 McAvity’s abandoned marketing altogether in order to concentrate exclusively on wholesale hardware manufacturing. The firm maintained offices from Quebec City to Vancouver, and its provision of locomotive parts for railway companies across North America brought George McAvity into contact with the magnates heading these concerns; among his closest friends was no less a figure than Sir Henry Worth Thornton, president of Canadian National Railways. Such connections drew McAvity himself into the railway business in an executive capacity.

Indeed, unlike his siblings, who limited their business activities to the family firm, George ranged far afield. He was president of the New Brunswick Coal and Railway Company [see Lemuel John Tweedie*], the Edmonton, Yukon and Pacific Railway, the Maritime Manufacturing Corporation, the New Brunswick Cold Storage Company (promoted by Sir Frederick William Borden*), and the Inglewood Pulp and Paper Company. He was also vice-president of Saint John Pulp and Paper, a director of Standard Clay Products and the Eastern Trust Company, and one of the backers of Dominion Car and Foundry (1906).

McAvity’s involvement with one business enterprise in particular, the New Brunswick Coal and Railway Company (NBCR), underlines his close ties to the provincial Liberal Party, which was then in government. The company, of which McAvity had been president and managing director since July 1904, and subsequently its general manager, had been set up in 1901 to purchase the former Central Railway. It was plagued with allegations of over-expenditure and misuse of public funds, and eventually, in May 1905, the government, with the goal of disposing of a persistent political irritant, nationalized the company and appointed McAvity and Senator George Gerald King* commissioners to run it. They remained in charge until March 1908, when the Conservatives under John Douglas Hazen came into office and they resigned.

A commission chaired by Pierre-Amand Landry* was highly critical of the Liberals’ management of the NBCR’s Central Railway, claiming that $134,035 had been misappropriated. McAvity was not one of the principal culprits, but he did not escape censure. The commission noted his failure to keep financial records and his casual attitude towards administration (“From his evidence it might be fairly gathered that he considered the position he occupied an honorary one,” despite the fact that he received an annual salary of $5,000). They also alleged that “during the time Mr McAvity was President and Commissioner his firm received large sums almost monthly for goods and materials supplied to the Railway, at prices apparently fixed by himself.” The commissioners concluded that some individuals “lent their names and allowed the moral influence of their high standing in the community to assure the Province that legitimate business methods would be followed”; they clearly had both McAvity and Senator King in mind.

In 1908, to assist the floundering Liberal government of Clifford William Robinson*, which was beset with charges of corruption, and also to deprive local Conservatives of a single partisan organ in the provincial metropolis, McAvity and John E. Moore, a Saint John lumberman, bought the Daily Telegraph and the Evening Times. McAvity and Moore remained proprietors of the newspapers until 1928. By way of quid pro quo, the 1908 federal election campaign saw the Conservatives try, without much success, to implicate McAvity in an influence-peddling scandal that had engulfed William Pugsley*, then the incumbent Liberal mp and New Brunswick’s representative in cabinet.

George McAvity (“the big boss”) was three months short of his 80th birthday when he died of heart disease and pneumonia in April 1933. He passed T. McAvity and Sons intact to his son George Clifford, the firm’s general manager; it remained in family hands until 1960 and survives today as a division of Clow Canada. Historian Carman Miller describes McAvity as a “helpful fixer … a prominent Liberal businessman from Saint John.” It is an accurate assessment. McAvity was not only a captain of industry but also a steely, uncompromising partisan adept at negotiating New Brunswick’s fractious political environment in the early 20th century.

Barry Cahill

NSA, MG 2, vols.63–223 (F. W. Borden fonds). PANB, RS71A, file 193389, George McAvity; RS141C5, F18982, no.79092. Canadian annual rev., 1905–9. L. A. Cunningham, “Brass, brains and backbone: the story of the McAvitys, of Saint John – an epic of courage, vision and determination,” Maclean’s, 1 March 1929: 19–20, 51–52. Don Hoyt, A brief history of the Liberal Party of New Brunswick ([Fredericton, 2000?]). Carman Miller, “A knight in business: some aspects of Sir F. W. Borden’s business affairs, 1896–1917,” in The enterprising Canadians: entrepreneurs and economic development in eastern Canada, 1820–1914, ed. L. R. Fischer and E. W. Sager (St John’s, 1979), 233–51; A knight in politics: a biography of Sir Frederick Borden (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 2010). N.B., Central Railway Commission, Report (Moncton, N.B., 1909; also available at www.lib.unb.ca/Texts/NBHistory/Commissions/ES45/pdf/es45r0.pdf). T. McAvity and Sons, Limited, Eighty-four years in public service: the story of an honourable business career in the city of Saint John … 1834–1918 (Saint John, [1918]).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Barry Cahill, “McAVITY, GEORGE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed June 1, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mcavity_george_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/mcavity_george_16E.html
Author of Article:   Barry Cahill
Title of Article:   McAVITY, GEORGE
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   June 1, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

MACLEAN, WILLIAM FINDLAY – Volume XV (1921-1930)

né le 10 août 1854 à Ancaster, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  George McAvity. From: https://archive.macleans.ca/article/1929/3/1/brass-brains-and-backbone#!&pid=18 - 1 March 1929, MacLean's.

Provenance : Lien

McAVITY, GEORGE, homme d’affaires, né le 21 juillet 1853 à Saint-Jean, Nouveau-Brunswick, fils de Thomas McAvity et d’Isabella Sandall ; le 1er février 1887, il épousa à New York Ida Marguerite Mills (1866–1928), et ils eurent deux fils et une fille ; décédé le 25 avril 1933 à Saint-Jean.

Né dans une famille méthodiste de l’Ulster, qui avait émigré de Ballyshannon (république d’Irlande) à Saint-Jean en 1818, George McAvity fit ses études à l’Acacia Villa School. Cette école réputée de Nouvelle-Écosse [V. sir Robert Laird Borden] offrait une formation pour préparer les élèves au collège, mais aussi « un enseignement commercial pratique pour ceux qui le désiraient ». À sa sortie de l’école, en 1871, George travailla comme commis dans le rayon de quincaillerie de l’entreprise fondée par son père en 1834. Il connut ensuite beaucoup de succès comme voyageur de commerce pour la firme, se déplaçant vers l’ouest jusqu’en Ontario.

En 1883, après un apprentissage de 12 ans, George devint, à l’instar de ses cinq frères, associé de la compagnie, qui s’était lancée dans la fabrication d’articles de quincaillerie, secteur auquel on l’identifierait par la suite. Le fondateur mourut en 1887. Selon ses dernières volontés, tous ses actifs devaient être vendus et les recettes divisées entre ses héritiers légaux. Les bénéficiaires renoncèrent à leurs droits sur cet héritage afin que les fils puissent continuer à diriger l’entreprise familiale, ce qu’ils firent avec un succès remarquable. En 1907, quand James Hendricks McAvity* et son frère Thomas constituèrent légalement la T. McAvity and Sons, dont ils étaient les associés principaux, George devint membre du conseil d’administration. En 1910, il succéda à Thomas au poste de président, qu’il conserverait pendant 23 ans.

La T. McAvity and Sons, dont le marché avait déjà une portée nationale, tirait sa renommée de la conception innovatrice de ses valves et bouches d’incendie, ainsi que de ses technologies de production d’avant-garde. Elle prospéra encore plus sous la gouverne de George. En 1916, une grande usine fut construite sur l’avenue Rothesay, dans la partie est de Saint-Jean, pour fabriquer des munitions destinées au Corps expéditionnaire canadien ; la firme produisait aussi des obus pour les armées américaine et britannique. L’usine, qui employait 2 500 personnes à Saint-Jean pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, se convertit sans difficulté à l’économie de temps de paix. En 1929, la T. McAvity and Sons abandonna complètement la commercialisation pour se concentrer exclusivement sur la fabrication de matériel de quincaillerie en gros. Elle avait des bureaux de Québec à Vancouver et fournissait des pièces de locomotives pour les compagnies de chemin de fer dans l’ensemble de l’Amérique du Nord. George put ainsi établir des relations avec les magnats qui dirigeaient ces entreprises. Parmi ses plus proches amis figurait nul autre que sir Henry Worth Thornton, président de la Canadian National Railway Company. Grâce à de tels liens, McAvity devint lui-même administrateur dans le monde du chemin de fer.

En effet, contrairement à ses frères, qui limitaient leurs activités commerciales à l’entreprise familiale, George visait plus loin. Il présida la New Brunswick Coal and Railway Company [V. Lemuel John Tweedie*], l’Edmonton, Yukon and Pacific Railway, la Maritime Manufacturing Corporation, la New Brunswick Cold Storage Company Limited (dont sir Frederick William Borden* avait fait la promotion) et l’Inglewood Pulp and Paper Company Limited. Il fut aussi membre du conseil d’administration de la Standard Clay Products Limited et de l’Eastern Trust Company, vice-président de la Saint John Pulp and Paper et l’un des commanditaires de la Dominion Car and Foundry Company Limited (1906).

L’engagement de McAvity dans la New Brunswick Coal and Railway Company, en particulier, met en évidence ses liens avec le Parti libéral provincial, alors au pouvoir. L’entreprise, dont McAvity avait été président et administrateur délégué à partir de juillet 1904, puis directeur général, avait été créée en 1901 pour acheter l’ancienne Central Railway Company. Cette dernière faisait l’objet d’allégations de dépassements de coûts et d’usage abusif de fonds publics ; finalement, en mai 1905, le gouvernement, pour mettre un terme à une source d’irritation politique persistante, la nationalisa, et nomma McAvity et le sénateur George Gerald King* commissaires pour la diriger. Les deux hommes demeurèrent en poste jusqu’en mars 1908, puis démissionnèrent quand les conservateurs menés par John Douglas Hazen prirent le pouvoir.

Une commission présidée par Pierre-Amand Landry* critiqua sévèrement la façon dont les libéraux géraient la Central Railway Company acquise par la New Brunswick Coal and Railway Company, soutenant qu’une somme de 134 035 $ avait fait l’objet d’un détournement. McAvity ne faisait pas partie des principaux coupables, mais il n’échappa pas aux blâmes. La commission remarqua qu’il avait négligé d’établir les états financiers et qu’il avait eu une attitude désinvolte à l’égard de l’administration. (« D’après son témoignage, on peut raisonnablement affirmer qu’il considérait le poste qu’il occupait comme honorifique », malgré le fait qu’il recevait un salaire annuel de 5 000 $.) Elle nota en outre que « durant la période où McAvity était président et commissaire, son entreprise recevait d’importants montants presque tous les mois pour des marchandises et matériaux fournis à la Central Railway Company, à des prix qu’il fixait apparemment lui-même ». Faisant de toute évidence allusion à McAvity et au sénateur King, les commissaires conclurent que certains individus « prêtaient leur nom et permettaient que leur influence morale et leur haute crédibilité dans la communauté servent de garantie, à la province, de lutilisation de méthodes d’affaires légitimes ».

En 1908, afin de soutenir le gouvernement libéral de Clifford William Robinson*, ébranlé par des accusations de corruption, et de faire en sorte que les conservateurs locaux n’aient plus un seul organe partisan dans la métropole provinciale, McAvity et John E. Moore, entrepreneur forestier de Saint-Jean, achetèrent le Daily Telegraph et l’Evening Times. Tous deux demeurèrent propriétaires des journaux jusqu’en 1928. En contrepartie, durant la campagne électorale fédérale de 1908, les conservateurs essayèrent, sans grand succès, d’impliquer McAvity dans un scandale de trafic d’influence qui avait éclaboussé William Pugsley*, député libéral sortant et représentant du Nouveau-Brunswick au cabinet.

George McAvity (« le grand patron ») mourut d’une maladie de cœur et d’une pneumonie en avril 1933, trois mois avant son quatre-vingtième anniversaire. Il léguait la T. McAvity and Sons en entier à son fils George Clifford, qui en était le directeur général ; l’entreprise demeura entre les mains de la famille jusqu’en 1960 et existe encore, au début du xxiᵉ siècle, en tant que division de la compagnie Clow Canada. L’historien Carman Miller donna une appréciation très juste de McAvity en le présentant comme un « intermédiaire utile [et] un important homme d’affaires libéral de Saint-Jean ». En effet, McAvity était non seulement un capitaine d’industrie, mais aussi un partisan intransigeant et extrêmement déterminé qui, malgré le contexte politique difficile au Nouveau-Brunswick au début du xxe siècle, sut tirer son épingle du jeu.

Barry Cahill

APNB, RS71A, dossier 1933-89, George McAvity ; RS141C5, F18982, no 79092.— NSA, MG 2, vol. 63–223 (F. W. Borden fonds).— Canadian annual rev., 1905–1909.— L. A. Cunningham, « Brass, brains and backbone : the story of the McAvitys, of Saint John – an epic of courage, vision and determination », Maclean’s, 1er mars 1929 : 19–20, 51–52.— Don Hoyt, A brief history of the Liberal Party of New Brunswick ([Fredericton, 2000 ?]).— Carman Miller, « A knight in business : some aspects of Sir F. W. Borden’s business affairs, 1896–1917 », dans The enterprising Canadians : entrepreneurs and economic development in eastern Canada, 1820–1914, L. R. Fischer et E. W. Sager, édit. (St John’s, 1979), 233–251 ; A knight in politics : a biography of Sir Frederick Borden (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 2010).— N.-B., Central Railway Commission, Report (Moncton, N.-B., 1909 ; aussi accessible à www.lib.unb.ca/Texts/NBHistory/Commissions/ES45/pdf/es45r0.pdf).— T. McAvity and Sons, Limited, Eighty-four years in public service : the story of an honourable business career in the city of Saint John […] 1834–1918 (Saint-Jean, N.-B., [1918]).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Barry Cahill, « McAVITY, GEORGE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 10 août 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mcavity_george_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/mcavity_george_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Barry Cahill
Titre de l'article:    McAVITY, GEORGE
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    10 août 2020