DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LAFLAMME, JOSEPH-CLOVIS-KEMNER – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 19 Sept. 1849 in Saint-Anselme, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

O’CONNOR, WILLIAM FRANCIS, lawyer, educator, civil servant, and author; b. 3 Sept. 1873 in Halifax, son of Martin O’Connor, a mason, and Ann Redmond; m. there 26 April 1900 Ellen Mary Veale, daughter of a ship captain, and they had three daughters, one of whom predeceased him; d. 16 Dec. 1940 in Ottawa.

Born to Irish Roman Catholic parents of limited financial means, William Francis O’Connor attended school in Halifax and left at the age of 12. Having initially found employment at a shoe store, he spent the next ten years working in various retail, wholesale, and accounting businesses. Following three months of night study, he passed matriculation exams and entered Dalhousie law school in 1895. He took a part-time job at the Halifax Herald where, as a member of the night staff, he worked hard, arriving at 8:00  and leaving at 4:00 the next morning to snatch a few hours of sleep before heading off to his classes. After graduating with an llb in 1898, O’Connor joined the Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society. The next year he was awarded a by King’s College, Windsor, and he would be named a kc in 1909. Between 1898 and 1916 he was a partner in several Halifax law firms; he also taught law courses at his alma mater between 1906 and 1916.

O’Connor had considerable faith in his own abilities and rarely backed down from a fight. For example, in 1913 he curtly discharged one of his colleagues, Thomas Joseph Neil Meagher, on learning that he was spreading rumours that O’Connor had used the practice’s name to raise personal funds at a bank. He then argued at length over the small sums of money allegedly owed Meagher. In 1926 he sued the chief justice of Quebec’s Superior Court, Sir François-Xavier Lemieux, who had dismissed him as one of the co-counsels of the federal royal commission on customs and excise. He also took legal action for slander against Gordon Waldron, the commissioner examining violations of the Combines Investigation Act, after the latter made a disparaging remark about O’Connor in a September 1929 hearing. The plaintiff litigated all the way to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London, which ruled that his appeal would be allowed.

O’Connor moved between private practice and government service, working in Halifax, Ottawa, and Toronto. He had briefly dabbled in electoral politics, losing a bid to enter Nova Scotia’s House of Assembly as a Conservative in 1906. He formed a close connection with Robert Laird Borden, who also had roots in the Halifax legal community. After Borden resigned as prime minister in 1920, he hired O’Connor to organize his public papers in preparation for writing his memoirs. O’Connor warned his friend that the “memoirs will have two primary requirements – that they be intimate and interesting. To make them intimate you will have to overcome yourself. To make them interesting will result from the overcoming of yourself.” His relationship with Borden and his capacity for hard work secured O’Connor a series of government appointments. During World War I he served in the Department of Justice, where he prepared legal opinions on the internment of those considered enemy aliens. Minister of Justice Charles Joseph Doherty was asked to create a bill granting the government emergency powers to meet the war’s demands. He was unsuccessful, and O’Connor was brought in to do the job. He advised that blanket measures were needed, and the result, the War Measures Bill, obtained the support of the opposition Liberals led by Sir Wilfrid Laurier*, and received third reading on 21 Aug. 1914. O’Connor also drafted the War-time Elections Bill in 1917, and that year he was the general returning officer in the federal election, assuming responsibility for polling stations in Canada and overseas. Having been selected in December 1914 to represent the Department of Labour on the commission set up in 1913 to investigate the rising cost of living, he had become acting commissioner in November 1916. His report on cold-storage facilities, released eight months later, caused a public outcry since the William Davies Company, the meat-packing operation headed by Sir Joseph Wesley Flavelle, now chair of the Imperial Munitions Board, was found to have made a spectacular amount of money from bacon sales in the previous year. In April 1918 O’Connor resigned his position, claiming that there had been interference from labour minister Thomas Wilson Crothers.

In July 1919 O’Connor was named to the government’s newly formed and ill-fated tool of economic regulation, the Board of Commerce of Canada. He had lobbied hard to become its chief, but Hugh Amos Robson*, a former member of the Manitoba bench, was chosen; the third commissioner was James Murdock*. The board launched inquiries into the sugar trade and the prices of foodstuff, footwear, and retail clothing. A number of highly interventionist decisions to set acceptable profit margins – O’Connor was considered particularly aggressive – angered business leaders such as Sir William Price*. As a result, the Supreme Court of Canada, under Chief Justice Sir Louis Henry Davies*, was asked to give an opinion on the board’s constitutionality. O’Connor, who had been designated acting chief commissioner after Robson’s resignation in February 1920, was directed by the cabinet to represent the government. The court divided evenly in its decision [see John Idington*], and the legal uncertainty over the board’s future led him to resign in June 1920. He returned to private practice, first in Ottawa and, from 1928 until 1934, in Toronto.

A minor scholar, O’Connor published several articles on Canadian law, though he failed to finish a book on bankruptcy he contracted in 1919 to produce for the Carswell Company. He completed his most famous work after his 1935 appointment as law clerk and parliamentary counsel of the Senate. During the 1920s and 1930s the Supreme Court of Canada and the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council had struck down as unconstitutional a number of pieces of legislation, such as measures proposed as part of Prime Minister Richard Bedford Bennett*’s New Deal in 1935. Critics argued that the courts had fettered the state’s ability to combat the effects of the Great Depression through new social programs and regulatory initiatives. The Senate asked O’Connor, who had long taken an interest in constitutional matters, to write a report on the history of the British North America Act and its interpretation. His lengthy assessment, published in 1939, concluded that the judiciary had badly misinterpreted the act and incorrectly limited the powers of the Canadian government. His findings helped shape debates about the judicial interpretation of the BNA Act for several decades, and strengthened the movement to eliminate appeals to the JCPC.

O’Connor died in his sleep. His great self-confidence, his willingness to work hard, and a reputation for fearlessness had made him a valuable civil servant and a figure in the debates over issues such as the constitution and big-business practices. He failed to realize any significant accomplishments, however, probably because he was not a devout student of a single topic. Giving his time to various interests, he found some success in all his endeavours.

R. Blake Brown

William Francis O’Connor’s most significant publication is the Report pursuant to resolution of the Senate to the Honourable the Speaker by the parliamentary counsel relating to the enactment of the British North America Act, 1867 … ([Ottawa], 1939). He also wrote half-a-dozen legal articles, of which the most important is “Property and civil rights in the province,” Canadian Bar Rev. (Toronto), 18 (1940): 331–84, and various documents for the federal government.

LAC, R2008-0-9. NSA, “Nova Scotia hist. vital statistics,” Halifax County, 1900: www.novascotiagenealogy.com (consulted 11 Feb. 2013). “Former college professor dies,” Halifax Chronicle, 17 Dec. 1940: 1. “Prominent native of province dies,” Halifax Herald, 17 Dec. 1940: 1. R. C. Brown, Robert Laird Borden: a biography (2v., Toronto, 1975–80), 2. O’Connor v. Waldron [1935], Dominion Law Reports (Toronto), 1: 260–63.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

R. Blake Brown, “O'CONNOR, WILLIAM FRANCIS,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 19, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/o_connor_william_francis_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/o_connor_william_francis_16E.html
Author of Article: R. Blake Brown
Title of Article: O'CONNOR, WILLIAM FRANCIS
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: September 19, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MACDONALD, JOHN SANDFIELD – Volume X (1871-1880)

né le 12 décembre 1812 à St Raphael West, dans le comté de Glengarry, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

O’CONNOR, WILLIAM FRANCIS, avocat, professeur, fonctionnaire et auteur, né le 3 septembre 1873 à Halifax, fils de Martin O’Connor, maçon, et d’Ann Redmond ; le 26 avril 1900, il épousa à Halifax Ellen Mary Veale, fille d’un capitaine de navire, et ils eurent trois filles, dont l’une mourut avant lui ; décédé le 16 décembre 1940 à Ottawa.

Né de parents catholiques irlandais sans grands moyens financiers, William Francis O’Connor fréquenta l’école à Halifax jusqu’à l’âge de 12 ans. Il trouva d’abord du travail dans une boutique de chaussures, puis occupa, au cours des dix années suivantes, différents emplois dans les domaines du commerce de détail, du commerce en gros et de la comptabilité. Après avoir étudié le soir pendant trois mois, il réussit les examens d’entrée et fut admis à l’école de droit de la Dalhousie University en 1895. Embauché à temps partiel au Halifax Herald comme employé de nuit, il y travaillait dur : il arrivait à huit heures du soir et repartait à quatre heures du matin pour dormir un peu avant de se rendre à ses cours. O’Connor obtint ensuite une licence en droit, en 1898, puis devint membre de la Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society. L’année suivante, il reçut une licence en droit civil du King’s College de Windsor et serait nommé conseiller du roi en 1909. Entre 1898 et 1916, il fut associé dans plusieurs cabinets d’avocats de Halifax ; il donna également des cours de droit à la Dalhousie University entre 1906 et 1916.

O’Connor avait une très grande confiance en ses propres aptitudes et fuyait rarement les affrontements. Par exemple, en 1913, il congédia sèchement un de ses collègues, Thomas Joseph Neil Meagher, quand il apprit qu’il faisait circuler des rumeurs selon lesquelles O’Connor avait utilisé le nom du cabinet pour obtenir des fonds d’une banque à titre personnel. Il épilogua ensuite sur les petites sommes d’argent qu’il n’avait soi-disant pas remboursées à Meagher. En 1926, il entama une action contre le juge en chef de la Cour supérieure de la province de Québec, sir François-Xavier Lemieux, qui lui avait retiré son poste de co-conseiller de la commission royale sur la douane et l’accise. Il intenta également une poursuite en diffamation verbale contre Gordon Waldron, le commissaire qui étudiait les violations de la Loi des enquêtes sur les coalitions, après que ce dernier eut fait une remarque désobligeante à son sujet au cours d’une audience en septembre 1929. Le demandeur plaida jusque devant le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé de Londres, qui l’autorisa à porter sa cause en appel.

O’Connor travailla à Halifax, à Ottawa et à Toronto où il eut une pratique tantôt privée, tantôt dans la fonction publique. Il avait fait une courte incursion dans l’arène politique en 1906, quand il n’était pas parvenu à se faire élire comme conservateur à la Chambre d’assemblée de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il tissa des liens serrés avec Robert Laird Borden, qui provenait aussi de la collectivité juridique de Halifax. Après sa démission du poste de premier ministre en 1920, Borden engagea O’Connor pour organiser ses documents publics en vue de la rédaction de ses mémoires. O’Connor avertit son ami : « vos mémoires auront deux qualités primordiales – ils devront être intimes et intéressants. Pour les rendre intimes, vous devrez vous dominer. C’est en vous dominant que vous les rendrez intéressants. » Sa relation avec Borden et son aptitude à travailler dur assurèrent à O’Connor plusieurs postes au gouvernement. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il travailla pour le ministère de la Justice, où il préparait des avis juridiques sur l’internement de gens considérés comme des sujets de pays ennemis. Le ministre de la Justice, Charles Joseph Doherty, reçut le mandat de rédiger un projet de loi accordant au gouvernement des pouvoirs d’urgence pour répondre aux exigences de la guerre. Il n’y parvint pas et on fit appel à O’Connor pour qu’il s’en charge. Selon l’avis d’O’Connor, des mesures de portée générale étaient nécessaires. Le projet de loi sur les mesures de guerre qui en résulta fut appuyé par les libéraux de l’opposition, menés par sir Wilfrid Laurier*, et passa en troisième lecture le 21 août 1914. O’Connor rédigea également le projet de loi sur les élections en temps de guerre en 1917. La même année, il fut directeur général des élections fédérales et assuma la responsabilité des bureaux de scrutin du Canada et d’outre-mer. Ayant été choisi en décembre 1914 pour représenter le ministère du Travail à la commission d’enquête sur l’augmentation du coût de la vie, créée en 1913, il était devenu commissaire par intérim en novembre 1916. Son rapport sur les installations frigorifiques, publié huit mois plus tard, causa un tollé général, car il y était révélé que la William Davies Company Limited, l’entreprise de conditionnement des viandes dirigée par sir Joseph Wesley Flavelle, alors président de la Commission impériale des munitions, avait tiré des profits spectaculaires de la vente de bacon l’année précédente. En avril 1918, O’Connor démissionna de son poste, affirmant qu’il y avait eu ingérence de la part du ministre du Travail, Thomas Wilson Crothers.

En juillet 1919, O’Connor fut nommé à la Commission de commerce du Canada, le nouvel organe de réglementation économique du gouvernement, qui était voué à l’échec. Il avait usé de toute son influence pour en devenir le président, mais Hugh Amos Robson*, ancien membre de la magistrature du Manitoba, fut choisi pour le poste ; le troisième commissaire était James Murdock*. La commission ouvrit des enquêtes sur le commerce du sucre et sur le prix des denrées alimentaires, des chaussures et des vêtements pour la vente au détail. Un certain nombre de décisions hautement interventionnistes, qui visaient à établir des marges de profit acceptables (O’Connor avait la réputation d’être particulièrement agressif), suscitèrent la colère de dirigeants d’entreprises, comme sir William Price*. On demanda ainsi à la Cour suprême du Canada, dont le juge en chef était sir Louis Henry Davies*, d’émettre un avis sur la constitutionnalité de la commission. Le conseil des ministres ordonna à O’Connor, qui avait été nommé commissaire en chef par intérim à la suite de la démission de Robson en février 1920, de représenter le gouvernement. La cour rendit une décision partagée [V. John Idington*] et l’incertitude juridique au sujet de l’avenir de la commission poussa O’Connor à démissionner en juin 1920. Il revint à la pratique privée, d’abord à Ottawa, puis, de 1928 à 1934, à Toronto.

O’Connor était aussi chercheur à ses heures ; il publia plusieurs articles sur le droit canadien, mais il ne parvint pas à terminer la rédaction d’un livre sur la faillite, qui lui avait été commandé en 1919 par la Carswell Company Limited. Il acheva son œuvre la plus connue après avoir été nommé, en 1935, secrétaire légiste et conseiller parlementaire du Sénat. Pendant les années 1920 et 1930, la Cour suprême du Canada et le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé avaient déclaré inconstitutionnelles plusieurs lois, comme certaines des mesures proposées par le premier ministre Richard Bedford Bennett* à l’occasion de son New Deal en 1935. Des critiques affirmèrent que les tribunaux avaient entravé les efforts de l’État qui essayait de combattre les effets de la grande dépression avec de nouveaux programmes sociaux et des initiatives réglementaires. Le Sénat demanda à O’Connor, qui s’intéressait depuis longtemps aux questions constitutionnelles, de rédiger un rapport sur l’histoire de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique et de son interprétation. Son évaluation détaillée, publiée en 1939, menait à la conclusion que la magistrature avait mal interprété l’acte et incorrectement limité les pouvoirs du gouvernement du Canada. Ses conclusions contribuèrent à orienter les débats sur l’interprétation judiciaire de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique pendant plusieurs décennies et renforcèrent le mouvement visant à éliminer les appels devant le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé.

William Francis O’Connor s’éteignit dans son sommeil. Sa forte assurance, son ardeur au travail et sa réputation d’audace firent de lui un fonctionnaire précieux et une figure importante dans les débats sur les questions constitutionnelles et les pratiques des grandes entreprises. Cependant, il ne réalisa aucun projet d’envergure, probablement parce qu’il ne se consacrait pas entièrement à un seul sujet. Bien qu’O’Connor répartissait son temps entre divers champs d’intérêt, il vit tous ses efforts couronnés d’un certain succès.

R. Blake Brown

La plus importante publication de William Francis O’Connor s’intitule Report pursuant to resolution of the Senate to the Honourable the Speaker by the parliamentary counsel relating to the enactment of the British North America Act, 1867 […] ([Ottawa], 1939). Il a également écrit une demi-douzaine d’articles judiciaires, dont le principal est « Property and civil rights in the province », Canadian Bar Rev. (Toronto), 18 (1940) : 331–384, ainsi que divers documents pour le gouvernement fédéral.

BAC, R2008-0-9.— NSA, « Nova Scotia hist. vital statistics », Halifax County, 1900 : www.novascotiagenealogy.com (consulté le 11 févr. 2013).— « Former college professor dies », Halifax Chronicle, 17 déc. 1940 : 1.— « Prominent native of province dies », Halifax Herald, 17 déc. 1940 : 1.— R. C. Brown, Robert Laird Borden : a biography (2 vol., Toronto, 1975–1980), 2.— O’Connor c. Waldron [1935], Dominion Law Reports (Toronto), 1 : 260–263.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

R. Blake Brown, « O'CONNOR, WILLIAM FRANCIS », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 12 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/o_connor_william_francis_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/o_connor_william_francis_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   R. Blake Brown
Titre de l'article:   O'CONNOR, WILLIAM FRANCIS
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   12 décembre 2017