DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

COMINGO, BRUIN ROMKES – Volume V (1801-1820)

b. 21 Oct. 1723, probably in Groningen, Netherlands

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

PERÉ, JEAN, merchant from La Rochelle, France, explorer, prospector, coureur de bois, interpreter, guide; b. 13 June 1639 at Arthez (Arthez-de-Béarn, France), son of Guiraud (Girard) Peré (Perer) and of Marie (Arosete) Dabos (Arosse); m. 17 Jan. 1673 Mare Bouneau at La Rochelle; d. 1701 and was buried 2 August that year at La Rochelle.

Jean Peré probably arrived in Canada before 1660, where he signed several documents, among them a petition, dated 15 Aug. 1659, against the surgeon François Belleman. After Intendant Talon* gave 1,000 livres to Peré and 400 livres to Adrien Jolliet, the two set off in 1669 “to go and reconnoitre to see whether the copper mine situated to the north of Lake Ontario . . . is rich and of easy extraction.” Peré, however, was apparently interested chiefly in the furs that he collected among the Ottawa indigenous people and at Sault Ste. Marie. Talon complained that he was slow in fulfilling his mission and presenting a report. Finally it was learned that the explorer had discovered mines in the region around Lake Superior.

Peré’s marriage record, dated 17 Jan. 1673, states that he was a merchant by occupation. In 1677 he was at Cataracoui. In November 1679 Intendant Duchesneau* accused him of being a coureur de bois: he informed the minister, Seignelay, that Peré, having been at Orange to sell his furs to the English, had been taken prisoner by the local governor and sent to Major Andros at Manate (Manhattan, N.Y.). The latter, added Duchesneau, had treated Peré very well, since he wanted to make use of him with a view to establishing trade relations with the Ottawas.

In 1684 Peré pushed on as far as Hudson Bay, where he was captured by the English. Two years later, during the attack on Fort Quichicouanne (Albany), the Chevalier de Troyes* demanded that Peré be handed over. But he was informed that the captive had been dispatched to France by way of England.

Peré, however, was not long in returning to Canada, where he won the favour of Governor de Brisay de Denonville. He was a member of the latter’s expedition against the Iroquois and brought back a number of prisoners to him, among them the famous Iroquois chief Ourehouare*. In 1690 he was thought of as a useful man for the foray planned against Manate; but that year he was at La Rochelle, where he and his brother Arnaud were engaged in selling furs.

We find Jean Peré back at Quebec in 1692 and 1693, pleading a case before the Conseil Souverain. He seems to have returned to France subsequently, since at the time of a lawsuit opened in 1698 before the same tribunal he had a court officer represent him and signed a power of attorney on 12 June 1699 at La Rochelle. These legal differences were debated at Quebec in his absence until March 1700.

He had given his name to a river that rises in Lake Nipigon and empties into the southwest end of James Bay. On a map Franquelin noted: “R. du Perray which is the name of the first European to navigate this river as far as Hudson Bay.”

Léopold Lamontagne

Coll. de manuscrits relatifs à la Nouv.-France, I, 409, 553, 558, 560; II, 5. Correspondance de Talon, APQ Rapport, 1930–1, 136f. Découvertes et établissements des Français (Margry), I, 81, 88, 296; VI, 19; passim. JR (Thwaites), XLV, XLVII, LV, passim. JJ (Laverdière et Casgrain), passim. Jug. et délib. NYCD (O’Callaghan and Fernow), IX.

Chapais, Talon, 406f. J. H. Coyne, “The pathfinders of the Great Lakes,” in Canada and its provinces (Shortt and Doughty), I, 83f. Delanglez, Jolliet. Nute, Caesars of the wilderness. P.-G Roy, “Jean Peré et Pierre Moreau dit la Taupine,” BRH, X (1904), 213–18.

Revisions based on:
Arch. Départementales, Charente-Maritime (La Rochelle, France), “État civil,” La Rochelle, Saint-Barthélémy, 17 janv. 1673; La Rochelle, Saint-Jean-du-Pérot, 1er août 1661, 2 août 1701: archives.charente-maritime.fr/archives-en-ligne/consulter-documents-numerises (consulted 2 March 2018). Arch. Départementales, Pyrénées-Atlantiques (Pau et Bayonne, France), “L’État civil,Arthez-de-Béarn, 20 nov. 1627, 6 juill. 1629, 22 févr. 1637, 26 juin 1639: earchives.le64.fr (consulted 2 March 2018). Bibliothèque et Arch. Nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de la Mauricie et du Centre-du-Québec (Trois-Rivières, Québec), TL3, S11, P151.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Léopold Lamontagne, “PERÉ, JEAN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 21, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/pere_jean_1E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/pere_jean_1E.html
Author of Article: Léopold Lamontagne
Title of Article: PERÉ, JEAN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1966
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: October 21, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

PERÉ, JEAN, marchand rochelais, explorateur, prospecteur, coureur de bois, interprète, guide, né le 13 juin 1639 à Arthez (Arthez-de-Béarn, France), fils de Guiraud (Girard) Peré (Perer) et de Marie (Arosete) Dabos (Arosse) ; le 17 janvier 1673, il épousa à La Rochelle, France, Mare Bouneau ; décédé en 1701 et inhumé le 2 août de cette année à La Rochelle.

Jean Peré est probablement arrivé au Canada avant 1660, où il signe plusieurs documents, dont, le 15 août 1659, une requête contre le chirurgien François Belleman. L’intendant Talon* ayant donné 1 000# à Peré et 400# à Adrien Jolliet, tous deux partent en 1669 « pour aller reconnoistre si la mine de cuivre qui se trouve au dessus du lac Ontario [...] est abondante, facile à extraire ». Cependant, Peré paraît s’intéresser surtout aux fourrures qu’il recueille chez les Outaouais et au saut Sainte-Marie. Talon se plaint qu’il tarde à remplir sa mission et à faire rapport. Enfin, on apprend que l’explorateur a découvert des mines dans la région du lac Supérieur.

L’acte de mariage de Peré, daté du 17 janvier 1673, mentionne qu’il pratique le métier de marchand. En 1677, ce dernier est à Cataracoui. En novembre 1679, l’intendant Duchesneau* l’accuse d’être coureur de bois : il informe le ministre Seignelay que Peré, ayant été à Orange pour y vendre ses fourrures aux Anglais, a été fait prisonnier par le gouverneur du lieu et expédié au major Andros à Manate (Manhattan, N.Y.). Ce dernier l’a fort bien traité, ajoute Duchesneau, désirant l’utiliser en vue d’établir des relations commerciales avec les Outaouais.

Peré, en 1684, pousse jusqu’à la baie d’Hudson où il est capturé par les Anglais. Deux ans plus tard, lors de l’attaque du fort Quichicouane (Albany) le chevalier de Troyes* exige la restitution de Peré. Mais on lui répond qu’on a expédié le captif en France par l’Angleterre.

Cependant, Peré ne tarde pas à rentrer au Canada où il gagne la faveur du gouverneur de Brisay de Denonville. Il fait partie de son expédition de 1687 contre les Iroquois et lui ramène des prisonniers, dont le célèbre chef iroquois Ourehouare*. En 1690, il est jugé utile pour l’incursion que l’on projette contre Manate ; mais, cette année-là, il est à La Rochelle, où il s’occupe du commerce des fourrures avec son frère Arnaud.

On retrouve Jean Peré à Québec en 1692 et en 1693, plaidant devant le Conseil souverain. Il semble être retourné en France par la suite, puisque lors d’un procès commencé en 1698, devant le même tribunal, il se fait représenter par un huissier et signe une procuration à La Rochelle le 12 juin 1699. Ces démêlés en justice se poursuivent en son absence, à Québec, jusqu’en mars 1700.

Il avait donné son nom à une rivière qui prend sa source dans le lac Nipigon et se décharge au sud-ouest de la baie James. Sur une carte, Franquelin notait : « R. du Perray qui est le nom de celui qui le Premier Europen a fait la Navigation par cette R. à la baye de Hudson ».

Léopold Lamontagne

Coll. de manuscrits relatifs à la Nouv.-France, I : 409, 553, 558, 560 ; II : 5.— Découvertes et Établissements des Français (Margry), I : 81, 88, 296 ; VI : 19 ; passim.— JJ (Laverdière et Casgrain).— JR (Thwaites), XLV ; XLVII ; LV.— Jug. et délib.— NYCD (O’Callaghan and Fernow), IX. Correspondance de Talon, RAPQ, 1930–31 : 136s.— Chapais, Talon, 406s.— J. H. Coyne, The pathfinders of the Great Lakes, dans Canada and its provinces (Shortt and Doughty), I : 83s.— Delanglez, Jolliet.— Nute, Caesars of the wilderness.— P.-G. Roy, Jean Peré et Pierre Moreau dit la Taupine, BRH, X (1904) : 213–218.

Bibliographie de la version révisée :
Arch. départementales, Charente-Maritime (La
 Rochelle, France), « État civil », La Rochelle, Saint-Barthélémy, 17 janv. 1673 ; La Rochelle, Saint-Jean-du-Pérot, 1er août 1661, 2 août 1701 : archives.charente-maritime.fr/archives-en-ligne/consulter-documents-numerises (consulté le 2 mars 2018).— Arch. départementales, Pyrénées-Atlantiques (Pau et Bayonne, France), « l’État civil », Arthez-de-Béarn, 20 nov. 1627, 6 juill. 1629, 22 févr. 1637, 26 juin 1639 : earchives.le64.fr (consulté le 2 mars 2018).— Bibliothèque et Arch. nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de la Mauricie et du Centre-du-Québec (Trois-Rivières, Québec), TL3, S11, P151.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Léopold Lamontagne, « PERÉ, JEAN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 nov. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/pere_jean_1F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/pere_jean_1F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Léopold Lamontagne
Titre de l'article:   PERÉ, JEAN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1966
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   21 novembre 2018