DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

McDONELL, JOHN, Le Prêtre (1768-1850) – Volume VII (1836-1850)

d. 17 April 1850 in Pointe-Fortune, Upper Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  The Year Book 1913: Toronto Normal School, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons.

Source: Link

PYNE, ROBERT ALLAN, physician, politician, and office holder; b. 29 Oct. 1853 in Newmarket, Upper Canada, son of Thomas Pyne and Hester Jane Roberts; m. 17 Nov. 1880 Mary (Minnie) Isabel McQueen (Macqueen) in East Zorra Township, Ont., and they had a daughter and two sons; d. 18 June 1931 in Toronto.

Robert Pyne, whose father was a doctor originally from Waterford (Republic of Ireland), received his early schooling in Newmarket and Hagersville before going on to study at the University of Toronto, where he earned his mb (1878) and md (1880). In a 1912 biographical entry he would be described by author Henry James Morgan* as an outdoor-sports enthusiast and “a famous cricketer.” Pyne began a practice in the city and soon succeeded his father as registrar of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. He also served on Toronto’s Board of Education and the Board of Health. In the provincial election of 1 March 1898 he ran as a Conservative and won a seat in the Legislative Assembly. He would remain there for 20 years, representing Toronto East (1898–1914) and the newly created riding of Toronto Northeast (1914–18). He initially sat in opposition to the Liberal governments of Arthur Sturgis Hardy* and George William Ross*. After the Conservatives won office in 1905, Premier James Pliny Whitney* appointed Pyne to the cabinet as minister of education.

Pyne, who succeeded Richard Harcourt as minister, would preside over the Department of Education for the next 13 years. Aided from 1906 by deputy minister Arthur Hugh Urquhart Colquhoun, Pyne moved to improve the quality of Ontario’s schools. The Department of Education Act of 1906 set minimum requirements for the certification of teachers, and amendments to the Public Schools Act raised the salaries for teachers and inspectors in rural areas. These changes were implemented in the face of widespread opposition from local trustees. After a provincial commission reported that year on the high price and poor quality of school texts, Pyne established a tender system to raise standards through competition and make the books more affordable. He also gradually replaced traditional model schools with more rigorous normal schools that provided better training for teachers, and in 1915 he would improve teachers’ pensions.

Other significant reforms were instituted. The Industrial Education Act of 1911, championed by department superintendent John Seath*, authorized municipalities to set up technical schools and promised them funding for this purpose. It was followed by the Auxiliary Classes Act of 1914, which allocated funds for the construction of alternative schools for children with physical and mental disabilities. Pyne’s view that such children had the right to a public education, albeit in separate facilities, was supported by Dr Helen MacMurchy*, a noted child-welfare advocate. The legislation increased funding for the Ontario Institution for the Education and Instruction of the Deaf and Dumb in Belleville [see Robert Mathison*] and the Ontario Institution for the Education and Instruction of the Blind in Brantford [see Alfred Hutchison Dymond*].

Controversially, Pyne introduced education reforms that affected bilingual schools in the province and strained English–French relations across Canada. In 1910 Pyne was facing pressure from the Orange order (of which he was a staunch member), from some of Ontario’s Roman Catholic bishops, led by Michael Francis Fallon, and from fellow Conservatives such as future premier George Howard Ferguson* to eliminate English-French schools. Following a meeting between Whitney, Pyne, Colquhoun, and Seath, Pyne’s chief inspector, Francis Walter Merchant, was asked to investigate allegations that these institutions were providing a substandard education. Merchant’s 1912 report identified problems in their work and recommended better training for their teachers. The report’s effect, however, was to prompt calls for the outright abolition of the schools. In response to these demands, Pyne issued “Circular of Instructions, 17,” better known as Regulation 17, which forbade the use of French as a language of instruction and communication beyond the first form (the first two years of study), limited the teaching of French as a subject to one hour a day, and allowed such lessons only at the request of parents and in schools where French had been taught before 1912. To ensure that all bilingual schools adhered to this new policy, separate-school inspectors, who were normally French and Catholic, were placed under the authority of public-school inspectors, who at the time were uniformly English and Protestant. Throughout the struggle that ensued over the Ontario schools question, as it became known, Pyne would remain an advocate of Regulation 17. “Although born in Canada,” the Toronto Daily Star later put it, “his viewpoint was that of the Ulster Orangeman.”

The Whitney government’s decision to curb French instruction caused some parents to protest by removing their children from school. In February 1913, after Pyne issued an edict that “the regulations now in force are to be carried out in every respect,” Charles Siméon Omer Boudreault, president of the Association Canadienne-Française d’Éducation d’Ontario [see Napoléon-Antoine Belcourt], told the Star: “Under no circumstances will the French-Canadians of Ontario accept regulation 17.… We will not submit to anything but the recognition of the parents’ rights. The substitution of English-speaking Protestant inspectors for French inspectors will meet with the same reception as before – the children will walk out of the schools.” Two years later, after Ottawa’s separate-school board refused to carry out the new policy [see Samuel McCallum Genest], Whitney’s successor, William Howard Hearst*, replaced the board with a specially appointed commission, an action that was eventually ruled unconstitutional by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. Regulation 17 would be enforced until 1927, the year that a report co-authored by Merchant concluded that its impact on the province’s schools had been harmful.

Pyne’s medical background was sometimes useful in his political life, especially in early 1914, when he organized the ailing Whitney’s medical treatment and assumed leadership of the government. When Hearst became premier in October, shortly after Whitney’s death and the outbreak of the First World War, Pyne kept his post as minister of education. Commissioned a lieutenant-colonel in the Canadian Army Medical Corps on 22 June 1915, Pyne sailed for England two months later to supervise the establishment of the Ontario Military Hospital in Orpington (London), which treated wounded Canadian and other Allied soldiers. The facility, which opened in February 1916 and was renamed No.16 General Hospital in September 1917, eventually had a capacity of over 2,000 patients. Pyne, whose two sons, Frederick Roberts and Francis Herbert Wandaford, served in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, spent considerable time in England during the war overseeing the expansion of the hospital, which was commanded by Colonel David William McPherson.

After his final return to Canada, weary from his demanding schedule and prolonged visits overseas, Robert Allan Pyne chose to retire from politics. He left the cabinet and the legislature in May 1918 and was succeeded by Henry John Cody*. Afterwards, Pyne served as clerk of York County and then as sheriff of Toronto, a post he held from 1923 until his sudden death from a heart attack in 1931.

A physician, public servant, British patriot, and proud Orangeman, Robert Allan Pyne was overseer of the Ontario education system in an era of profound social change. He was unafraid to advocate school reforms that he believed improved standards for teachers and students alike. His policies on bilingual schools were so controversial that they would continue to be a subject of debate in the early 21st century.

Jack Cecillon

Toronto Daily Star, 17 Feb. 1913; 29 April 1914; 8 April, 26 May 1915; 26 April, 2 Nov. 1916; 19 June 1931. J. D. Cecillon, Prayers, petitions, and protests: the Catholic Church and the Ontario schools crisis in the Windsor border region, 1910–1928 (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 2013). Robert Choquette, Language and religion: a history of English-French conflict in Ontario (Ottawa, 1975). C. W. Humphries, “Honest enough to be bold”: the life and times of Sir James Pliny Whitney (Toronto, 1985). F. W. Merchant, Report on the condition of English-French schools in the province of Ontario (Toronto, 1912). Ont., Committee appointed to enquire into the condition of the schools attended by French-speaking pupils, Report (Toronto, 1927).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jack Cecillon, “PYNE, ROBERT ALLAN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed April 17, 2024, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/pyne_robert_allan_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/pyne_robert_allan_16E.html
Author of Article:   Jack Cecillon
Title of Article:   PYNE, ROBERT ALLAN
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2023
Year of revision:   2023
Access Date:   April 17, 2024

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

MACKINTOSH, KATE – Volume XV (1921-1930)

née le 24 février 1853 à Halifax

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  The Year Book 1913: Toronto Normal School, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons.

Provenance : Lien

PYNE, ROBERT ALLAN, médecin, homme politique et fonctionnaire, né le 29 octobre 1853 à Newmarket, Haut-Canada, fils de Thomas Pyne et de Hester Jane Roberts ; le 17 novembre 1880, il épousa dans le canton d’East Zorra, Ontario, Mary (Minnie) Isabel McQueen (Macqueen), et ils eurent une fille et deux fils ; décédé le 18 juin 1931 à Toronto.

Robert Allan Pyne, dont le père médecin venait de Waterford (république d’Irlande), fit ses études primaires à Newmarket et Hagersville. Il fréquenta ensuite la University of Toronto, où il obtint une licence en médecine en 1878 et un doctorat en cette matière en 1880. Dans une notice biographique de 1912, l’auteur Henry James Morgan* le décrirait comme un passionné des sports de plein air et « un formidable joueur de cricket ». Pyne commença à exercer dans la ville et succéda rapidement à son père à titre de registraire du College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. Il fit également partie du bureau d’éducation et du bureau de santé de Toronto. À l’occasion des élections provinciales du 1er mars 1898, il se porta candidat pour les conservateurs et devint député à l’Assemblée législative. Il y resterait pendant 20 ans, pour y représenter Toronto East (1898–1914) et la nouvelle circonscription de Toronto Northeast (1914–1918). Il siégea d’abord dans l’opposition sous les gouvernements libéraux d’Arthur Sturgis Hardy* et de George William Ross*. Quand les conservateurs prirent le pouvoir en 1905, le premier ministre James Pliny Whitney* le nomma ministre de l’Éducation.

Successeur de Richard Harcourt, Pyne dirigerait le ministère de l’Éducation pendant les 13 années suivantes. Épaulé dès 1906 par le sous-ministre Arthur Hugh Urquhart Colquhoun, il entreprit d’améliorer les écoles de l’Ontario. Le Department of Education Act de 1906 fixa des exigences minimales pour la reconnaissance des enseignants, et des modifications au Public Schools Act firent augmenter le salaire des instituteurs et des inspecteurs en milieu rural. On instaura ces changements malgré l’opposition généralisée des commissaires locaux. La même année, après qu’une commission provinciale eut rapporté le coût élevé et la piètre qualité des livres scolaires, Pyne mit en place un système d’appel d’offres pour rehausser les normes par la concurrence et rendre les manuels plus abordables. En outre, il remplaça progressivement les écoles modèles traditionnelles par des écoles normales plus rigoureuses, afin de mieux former les enseignants, et, en 1915, il majorerait les pensions des instituteurs.

D’autres réformes importantes virent également le jour. L’Industrial Education Act de 1911, soutenu par le surintendant du ministère, John Seath*, autorisait les municipalités à fonder des écoles techniques et engageait le gouvernement à leur fournir du financement à cette fin. L’Auxiliary Classes Act, qui suivit en 1914, allouait des fonds pour la construction d’écoles spécialisées consacrées aux enfants affligés de handicaps physiques ou mentaux. Pyne croyait que ceux-ci avaient droit à une instruction publique, quoique dans des établissements séparés ; la docteure Helen MacMurchy*, renommée pour sa défense de la protection de l’enfance, partageait son opinion. La loi haussait le financement accordé à l’Ontario Institution for the Education and Instruction of the Deaf and Dumb de Belleville [V. Robert Mathison*] et à l’Ontario Institution for the Education and Instruction of the Blind de Brantford [V. Alfred Hutchinson Dymond*].

Pyne souleva la controverse en instaurant des réformes relatives aux écoles bilingues de la province, qui éprouvèrent les relations entre anglophones et francophones au pays. En 1910, il subit des pressions de l’ordre d’Orange (dont il était membre fidèle), de certains évêques catholiques de l’Ontario sous la direction de Michael Francis Fallon, et de confrères conservateurs, dont le futur premier ministre George Howard Ferguson*, pour supprimer les écoles bilingues. Après une rencontre entre Whitney, Pyne, Colquhoun et Seath, on chargea l’inspecteur en chef de Pyne, Francis Walter Merchant, d’enquêter sur des allégations voulant que ces établissements donnaient une éducation de qualité inférieure aux normes. En 1912, le rapport de Merchant souleva des problèmes dans leur fonctionnement et recommanda d’offrir une meilleure formation aux enseignants. Il suscita toutefois des appels à leur abolition pure et simple. En réponse à ces demandes, Pyne émit la « Circular of Instructions, 17 ». Mieux connue sous le nom de Règlement 17, la nouvelle politique interdisait l’emploi du français comme langue d’enseignement et de communication après les deux premières années d’études, limitait l’enseignement de la matière du français à une heure par jour, et autorisait la tenue de ces leçons seulement à la requête parentale et dans les écoles où on avait enseigné le français avant 1912. Afin de s’assurer que toutes les écoles bilingues obtempèrent, les inspecteurs des écoles séparées, normalement francophones et catholiques, se virent placés sous l’autorité des inspecteurs des écoles publiques, à l’époque tous anglophones et protestants. Tout au long de la bataille entraînée par ce qu’on appellerait la question des écoles de l’Ontario, Pyne continuerait de défendre le Règlement 17. « Même s’il [était] né au Canada, relaterait le Toronto Daily Star, son point de vue était celui d’un orangiste de l’Ulster. »

Devant la décision du gouvernement Whitney de restreindre l’enseignement du français, des parents protestèrent en retirant leurs enfants des écoles. En février 1913, après que Pyne eut publié un décret ordonnant que « les règlements désormais en vigueur soient appliqués à tous les égards », Charles Siméon Omer Boudreault, président de l’Association canadienne-française d’éducation d’Ontario [V. Napoléon-Antoine Belcourt], déclara au Toronto Daily Star : « En aucun cas les Canadiens français de l’Ontario n’accepteront le Règlement 17 [...] Nous ne consentirons à rien d’autre qu’à la reconnaissance des droits des parents. Le remplacement des inspecteurs francophones par des inspecteurs anglophones protestants sera accueilli de la même manière qu’auparavant : les enfants déserteront les écoles. » Deux ans plus tard, après le refus du conseil des écoles séparées d’Ottawa de mettre en œuvre la nouvelle politique [V. Samuel McCallum Genest], le successeur de Whitney, William Howard Hearst*, lui substitua une commission spécialement nommée, geste ultimement jugé inconstitutionnel par le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé. Le Règlement 17 resterait en vigueur jusqu’en 1927, année où un rapport coécrit par Merchant conclut à ses effets néfastes sur les écoles de la province.

Les connaissances médicales de Pyne lui servirent parfois en politique, surtout au début de 1914, quand il organisa les soins prodigués à Whitney, souffrant, et assuma la direction du gouvernement. En octobre, quand Hearst devint premier ministre, peu après la mort de Whitney et le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, Pyne conserva son poste de ministre de l’Éducation. Nommé lieutenant-colonel dans le Corps de santé de l’armée canadienne le 22 juin 1915, il s’embarqua pour l’Angleterre deux mois plus tard pour superviser la mise sur pied de l’Ontario Military Hospital à Orpington (Londres), qui recevait des soldats blessés du Canada et d’autres pays alliés. Ouvert en février 1916, l’établissement fut rebaptisé No. 16 General Hospital en septembre 1917, et il accueillerait plus de 2 000 patients. Pyne, dont les deux fils, Frederick Roberts et Francis Herbert Wandaford, servirent dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien, passa beaucoup de temps en Angleterre durant la guerre pour piloter l’agrandissement de l’hôpital dirigé par le colonel David William McPherson.

À son retour définitif au Canada, épuisé par son horaire chargé et ses longs séjours outre-mer, Pyne décida de se retirer de la vie politique. Il quitta le cabinet et le Parlement en mai 1918 ; Henry John Cody* lui succéda. Par la suite, Pyne servit à titre de greffier du comté d’York, puis de shérif de Toronto, poste qu’il occupa de 1923 jusqu’à sa mort subite d’une crise cardiaque en 1931.

Médecin, fonctionnaire, patriote britannique et fier orangiste, Robert Allan Pyne dirigea le système d’éducation de l’Ontario à une époque de profonds changements sociaux. Il ne craignit pas de défendre les réformes en éducation qui, selon lui, rehaussaient les normes pour les enseignants et les élèves. Ses politiques sur les écoles bilingues soulevèrent une telle controverse qu’on en débattrait encore au début du xxie siècle.

Jack Cecillon

Toronto Daily Star, 17 févr. 1913 ; 29 avril 1914 ; 8 avril, 26 mai 1915 ; 26 avril, 2 nov. 1916 ; 19 juin 1931.— J. D. Cecillon, Prayers, petitions, and protests : the Catholic Church and the Ontario schools crisis in the Windsor border region, 1910–1928 (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 2013).— Robert Choquette, Langue et Religion : histoire des conflits anglo-français en Ontario (Ottawa, 1977).— C. W. Humphries, « Honest enough to be bold » : the life and times of Sir James Pliny Whitney (Toronto, 1985).— F. W. Merchant, Report on the condition of English-French schools in the province of Ontario (Toronto, 1912).— Ontario, Committee appointed to enquire into the condition of the schools attended by French-speaking pupils, Report (Toronto, 1927).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jack Cecillon, « PYNE, ROBERT ALLAN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 24 févr. 2024, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/pyne_robert_allan_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/pyne_robert_allan_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Jack Cecillon
Titre de l'article:    PYNE, ROBERT ALLAN
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2023
Année de la révision:    2023
Date de consultation:    24 février 2024