DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  From: Men Of Achievement Essex County Volume 2 by Francis X. Chauvin, 1929.
Source: https://archive.org/details/MenOfAchievementEssexCountyVolume2/page/n13/mode/2up.

Source: Link

REAUME, JOSEPH OCTAVE (baptized Joseph-Octave, he signed Joseph O. or J. O.), teacher, physician, politician, and office holder; b. 13 Aug. 1856 in Anderdon Township, Upper Canada, one of the 11 children of Oliver (Olivier) Reaume and Josette (Josephte) Dumont; m. 14 Sept. 1887 Catherine L. Turner of Lockport, N.Y., and they had two daughters and three sons, one of whom died in infancy; d. 12 June 1933 in Sandwich (Windsor), Ont., and was buried there in St Alphonsus Cemetery.

Joseph Octave Reaume was a descendant of one of the original families of Essex County, Upper Canada, whose ancestors from the Montreal region had relocated there and in Michigan. His parents were the first settlers in Anderdon Township, and as a boy he helped them on the farm. After attending the local school, he suffered a back injury and decided not to take up farming but to pursue a profession. His father could not pay for his education, but the generosity of Alexander Bartlet, a local police magistrate, enabled Reaume to earn his teacher’s certificate in 1873, at age 17. He began instructing in the county and then in 1877 he attended the Normal School in Toronto. After finishing his studies at Assumption College in Sandwich two years later, he resumed his pedagogical career and was soon made headmaster of the school at Amherstburg. According to friends and family, Reaume was among the best sprinters in western Ontario, and he frequently travelled on foot between Amherstburg and Sandwich, a distance of about 17 miles.

In 1883 Reaume enrolled in the Michigan College of Medicine in Detroit. To support himself, he worked at a drugstore in Sandwich, and in the winter months he and a friend walked across the frozen Detroit River to their classes. He graduated in 1885 and pursued further training at Trinity Medical School in Toronto the following year. He then returned to Sandwich, where he served as a family physician to French- and English-speaking patients before entering public life.

In May 1902 Reaume was elected to the Legislative Assembly as the Conservative candidate for Essex North. After his party’s victory under James Pliny Whitney* in 1905, Reaume assumed the position of commissioner (later minister) of public works, becoming the first Franco-Ontarian to hold a provincial cabinet post. He would oversee several projects, including additions to railway lines and the erection of new bridges. With the 1912 extension of Ontario’s northern boundary and the increasing number of automobiles, there was pressure on elected officials to provide infrastructure for cars and transport vehicles. In 1907 Reaume had supported an Act for the improvement of public highways, which the government used to centralize management and inspection of roads. By 1912 it had spent more than $1 million, and in February that year Reaume announced that another $1 million would be invested. Reaume was also responsible for the financing and construction of the replacement for Government House, which was ready for Sir John Strathearn Hendrie* by the end of 1915; managing an addition to the legislative buildings designed by Edward James Lennox; opening a new Ontario-government office in London, England; expanding hospitals; and building a prison farm at Guelph.

Reaume served on a number of standing committees, including the one responsible for game and fish. He was also a member of the committee that reviewed proposals for what would eventually become the Workmen’s Compensation Act. Between 1911 and 1914 it received submissions from labour organizations, industry magnates, commercial interests, and retail operators. A draft bill was presented in 1913, but critics complained that the new measure would be unfair to commercial and industrial interests [see Whitney]. Before these concerns could be resolved, Reaume would become involved in one of the most sensitive issues to face the Whitney government and one of his biggest challenges as a French Canadian cabinet minister who represented a considerable francophone population: the question of bilingual schools.

In April 1910 Michael Francis Fallon was consecrated as the Roman Catholic bishop of London, a diocese that included Essex County. Determined to see the next generation of Catholics become leaders in society, he wanted to abolish bilingual schools because he felt they taught neither English nor French adequately and were therefore failing to prepare young people for success in the English-speaking urban industrial economy. Fallon also feared that recent nationalist demands at the January 1910 conference of the Association Canadienne Française d’Éducation d’Ontario [see Ovide-Arthur Rocque*] to extend bilingual-school rights would trigger an anti-Catholic reaction among Ontario’s Protestant majority similar to that which had already aroused debate in the developing west [see Thomas Greenway*; Sir Wilfrid Laurier*]. In May 1910, during a pastoral visit to Sarnia, Fallon arranged for a confidential interview with William John Hanna*, provincial secretary and mpp for Lambton West. The bishop made known his opposition to bilingual schools. In October Hanna’s private account of the discussion found its way into Le Devoir [see Henri Bourassa*] and other Quebec papers, and it was discovered that Reaume’s personal secretary, Henry C. A. Maisonville, was the source of the leak. Maisonville, who was a follower of Lucien-Alexandre Beaudoin, a parish priest and staunch defender of the county’s bilingual schools, was dismissed for his action. The next year, in the December provincial election, former supporters unhappy with Reaume’s ties to the controversy voted for independent Conservative John R. Mason, a coppersmith who supported the abolition of bilingual schools. Reaume was returned to his seat, but with a slim margin of 56 votes compared with 1,280 just three years before; many francophones had voted for Liberal Severin Ducharme.

In 1912 Reaume further alienated Conservative anglophones when, on 26 June, Windsor’s Evening Record reported what he had declared at the first meeting of the Congrès de la Langue Française held in Quebec City [see Stanislas-Alfred Lortie*]: “Before we leave this congress we should make a vow to raise and educate our children in the French language, no matter what part of Canada we live in.” That summer Ontario’s minister of education, Robert Allan Pyne, introduced Regulation 17 in response to a report on the inadequate quality of English education in bilingual schools, which Francis Walter Merchant had submitted in his capacity as chief inspector of public and separate schools. Regulation 17 stipulated that henceforth English was to be the language of instruction and communication throughout Ontario. The study of French as a subject was allowed for one hour a day after the first form (the first two elementary grades) in institutions where it had been taught prior to 1912, as outlined in the so-called hitherto clause. The edict unleashed a backlash from the separate-school board in Ottawa [see Napoléon-Antoine Belcourt; Samuel McCallum Genest], where the Association Canadienne-Française d’Éducation d’Ontario organized a widespread protest: teachers and their students marched out of the classroom if a provincial inspector, a Protestant, set foot inside. When Reaume supported Regulation 17, Ottawa’s Le Temps demanded his resignation.

By the time the June 1914 election was called, many of Reaume’s francophone constituents were angry. As the Evening Record (24 April) reported, “There is a feeling among the French people that the doctor has not been as aggressive as he might be on the bilingual question. He stood by Sir James Whitney and Hon. Dr. Pyne, defending the course of the government all through.” Having also alienated Essex North’s English-speaking voters with his statement at the Quebec City conference two years earlier, Reaume thought it safer to run in the new riding of Windsor, where he was then living, but he lost his party’s nomination to Orangeman Oscar Ernest Fleming*. This setback caused considerable embarrassment for the premier, whose only francophone minister, a proponent of Regulation 17, had been defeated. Reaume decided to run as an independent Conservative, or “Whitney candidate,” as the Evening Record (20 June) dubbed him. He was quoted in the same issue when he contested an accusation from a local Liberal: “Mr. [Charles Joseph] Montreuil … called me a traitor to the French people, but I think that Mr. Montreuil is not a loyal Frenchman himself, for if you speak to him in French he will answer you in English. Why should I be called a traitor? … I am a Frenchman, and know the way the question stands …, and I know I can remedy the trouble.” In Reaume’s opinion, the regulation’s provision for a daily hour of French instruction was an enhancement of rights because section 93 of the British North America Act offered no such protection for French in Ontario. Like many Essex County francophones, he regarded mastery of English as essential for succeeding in industry. He attempted to clarify his position: “No man has been more favourable to the French people than Sir James Whitney.… What we want is not French schools where English is taught, but English schools in which French is taught.” Not all francophone voters, however, shared his view. Reaume also had to deal with complaints that he had not given enough patronage positions to local Conservatives. His opponents, on the other hand, claimed he had approved the construction of a new road that would boost the value of his and his associates’ property.

The result was that Reaume lost his seat and resigned as minister of public works on 30 September. He was named county registrar for Essex, in which capacity he would serve until his death. As well, he accepted a few patients and assumed a number of executive positions, including the vice-presidency of Guaranty Trust Company in Windsor and the United Forge and Machine Company of Detroit. He was made an honorary member of the officers’ mess of the Essex and Kent Scottish Regiment and was active in the Knights of Columbus.

While Reaume’s days in the limelight were fading, his involvement in the language controversy continued. Father Beaudoin brought a lawsuit against Bishop Fallon, charging him with forbidding the teaching of French to French Canadian children and the preaching in French to French-speaking congregations. An investigator was sent by the Vatican and in February 1916 Reaume was called upon to testify. He stated that he had understood the bishop to be against bilingual instruction as a system, but not against instruction of French per se. Fallon would ultimately be exonerated. During the interview Reaume admitted that he and Windsor Separate School Board president Gaspard Pacaud had worked behind the scenes in 1915 and early 1916 to persuade the government to reintroduce French instruction in the city’s Catholic schools. But these schools did not qualify under the hitherto clause because French had been dropped in 1910 when the bishop put a group of English-speaking Ursuline nuns in charge. Department of Education officials eventually notified Reaume that, because of Windsor’s past tradition, Pyne would allow one hour of French a day in the separate schools if the trustees agreed. The minister soon reneged, explaining that he had misinterpreted the clause and that Fallon’s approval was needed.

Despite this setback and the loss of his son John Stanley near the end of the war, a stoic Reaume never gave up on his fight to reinstate French in Windsor’s separate schools. He began lobbying again when George Howard Ferguson*’s Conservatives took power in 1923. Working with others, Reaume persuaded federal Conservative leader Arthur Meighen* to speak to the premier about the legislation. In 1927 Ferguson announced major changes, effectively restoring French instruction in Windsor’s Catholic schools for the first time in 17 years. After a lengthy illness, Reaume would die of heart failure on 12 June 1933. In tributes published in the Border Cities Star (Windsor) the next day, he was remembered as “genial,” “unassuming,” “conscientious,” and one who “represented the highest type of public servant.”

Jack Cecillon

Ancestry.com, “Canada, war graves registers (circumstances of casualty), 1914–1948”; “Ontario, Canada, Catholic Church records (Drouin coll.), 1802–1967”; “Ontario, Canada, deaths and deaths overseas, 1869–1946”: www.ancestry.ca (consulted 23 Feb. 2017). Arch. of the Diocese of London, Ont., Bishop Fallon papers, box 2, file 16, Diffamationis et poenarum: summarium, 341–47 (testimony of Joseph Reaume, 9 Feb. 1916). Centre for Research on French Canadian Culture (Ottawa), C2 (Fonds Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario), 82/1–104/1, Le Règlement XVII. LAC, Census returns for the 1911 Canadian census, Ont., dist. Essex North (67), subdist. Windsor (36): 3; R233-37-6, Ont., dist. Essex North (59), subdist. Windsor (L): 4. Border Cities Star (Windsor), 13 June 1933. Evening Record (Windsor), 2, 4 Dec. 1911; 26 June 1912; 24 April, 17, 20, 26 June 1914; 10 July 1918. Gazette (Montreal), 13 June 1933. Globe, 13, 15, 17 Oct. 1910. Le Temps (Ottawa), 11 Oct. 1912. Marilyn Barber, “The Ontario bilingual schools issue: sources of conflict,” CHR, 47 (1966): 227–48. Canadian annual rev., 1903–14. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). J. D. Cecillon, Prayers, petitions, and protests: the Catholic Church and the Ontario schools crisis in the Windsor border region, 1910–1928 (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 2013). F. X. Chauvin, Men of achievement, Essex county (2v., [Tecumseh, Ont.], 1927–29), 2. Robert Choquette, Language and religion: a history of English–French conflict in Ontario (Ottawa, 1975), 75, 87, 95, 96, 123, 127, 181. Commemorative biographical record of the county of Essex, Ontario … (Toronto, 1905). CPG, 1905–14. Ont., Dept. of Education, Roman Catholic separate schools and English-French public and separate schools: circular of instructions for the school year September to June, 1912–1913 ([Toronto]), 1912; Legislative Assembly, “Joseph Octave Réaume”: www.ola.org/en/members/all/joseph-octave-reaume (consulted 20 Sept. 2018). Michael Power, “The mitred warrior: a critical reassessment of Bishop Michael Francis Fallon, 1867–1931,” Catholic Insight (Toronto), 8 (2000), no.3: 18–26. Premier congrès de la langue française au Canada, Québec, 24–30 juin 1912: compte rendu (Québec, 1913). C. B. Sissons, Church & state in Canadian education: an historical study (Toronto, 1959).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jack Cecillon, “REAUME, JOSEPH OCTAVE (baptized Joseph-Octave) (Joseph O., J. O.),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 25, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/reaume_joseph_octave_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/reaume_joseph_octave_16E.html
Author of Article:   Jack Cecillon
Title of Article:   REAUME, JOSEPH OCTAVE (baptized Joseph-Octave) (Joseph O., J. O.)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   November 25, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

DUMONT, GABRIEL – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2020

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  From: Men Of Achievement Essex County Volume 2 by Francis X. Chauvin, 1929.
Source: https://archive.org/details/MenOfAchievementEssexCountyVolume2/page/n13/mode/2up.

Provenance : Lien

REAUME, JOSEPH OCTAVE (baptisé Joseph-Octave, il signait Joseph O. ou J. O.), enseignant, médecin, homme politique et fonctionnaire, né le 13 août 1856 dans le canton d’Anderdon, Haut-Canada, l’un des 11 enfants d’Oliver (Olivier) Reaume et de Josette (Josephte) Dumont ; le 14 septembre 1887, il épousa Catherine L. Turner de Lockport, New York, et ils eurent deux filles et trois fils, dont l’un mourut en bas âge ; décédé le 12 juin 1933 à Sandwich (Windsor, Ontario) et inhumé dans cette ville au cimetière St Alphonsus.

Joseph Octave Reaume descendait de l’une des premières familles du comté d’Essex, dans le Haut-Canada, dont les ancêtres, originaires de la région de Montréal, avaient choisi ce comté et le Michigan comme lieux de résidence. Pendant sa jeunesse, il aida ses parents, premiers colons du canton d’Anderdon, aux travaux de la ferme. Après avoir fréquenté l’école locale, il subit une blessure au dos et décida de renoncer à l’agriculture et d’exercer plutôt une profession. Son père ne pouvait pas assumer les coûts de son éducation ; cependant, grâce à la générosité d’Alexander Bartlet, magistrat de police de l’endroit, Reaume put obtenir un brevet d’enseignement en 1873, à l’âge de 17 ans. Il commença à enseigner dans le comté, puis, en 1877, entra à la Normal School de Toronto. Après avoir terminé ses études à l’Assumption College de Sandwich deux ans plus tard, il reprit sa carrière d’enseignant et devint bientôt directeur de l’école d’Amherstburg. Selon des amis et des membres de la famille, Reaume comptait parmi les meilleurs sprinteurs de l’ouest de l’Ontario ; en outre, il parcourait souvent à pied la distance d’environ 17 milles qui séparait Amherstburg de Sandwich.

En 1883, Reaume s’inscrivit au Michigan College of Medicine de Detroit. Afin de subvenir à ses besoins, il travaillait dans une pharmacie à Sandwich et, pendant les mois d’hiver, un ami et lui traversaient à pied la rivière Detroit gelée pour se rendre à leurs cours. Il obtint son diplôme en 1885 et poursuivit sa formation l’année suivante à la Trinity Medical School de Toronto. Il retourna ensuite à Sandwich, où il exerça comme médecin de famille auprès de patients francophones et anglophones avant de faire ses débuts dans la vie publique.

En mai 1902, Reaume fut élu à l’Assemblée législative comme candidat conservateur dans Essex North. Après la victoire de son parti sous la direction de James Pliny Whitney* en 1905, il occupa le poste de commissaire (puis de ministre) des Travaux publics, et devint le premier Franco-Ontarien membre d’un cabinet provincial. Il superviserait plusieurs projets, notamment des ajouts aux voies ferroviaires et l’érection de nouveaux ponts. Avec l’extension de la frontière nord de l’Ontario en 1912 et l’augmentation du nombre d’automobiles, les élus subirent des pressions pour fournir des infrastructures destinées aux voitures et aux véhicules de transport. En 1907, Reaume avait appuyé l’Act for the improvement of public highways, dont le gouvernement se servit pour centraliser la gestion et l’inspection des routes. En 1912, le gouvernement avait déjà dépensé plus d’un million de dollars et, en février de cette année-là, Reaume annonça l’investissement d’une somme supplémentaire d’un million de dollars. Il assura également le financement et la construction d’une nouvelle résidence du lieutenant-gouverneur, qui serait prête pour sir John Strathearn Hendrie* à la fin de 1915, la gestion d’une annexe aux édifices législatifs conçue par Edward James Lennox, l’agrandissement d’hôpitaux, la construction d’une ferme pénitentiaire à Guelph et l’ouverture d’un nouveau bureau du gouvernement de l’Ontario à Londres.

Reaume participa à un certain nombre de comités permanents, entre autres celui sur la chasse et la pêche. Il siégea aussi au comité responsable d’examiner les propositions, reçues entre 1911 et 1914, d’organisations syndicales, de magnats de l’industrie, d’intérêts commerciaux et de détaillants, dont découlerait le Workmen’s Compensation Act. La présentation d’un avant-projet de loi eut lieu en 1913 ; les critiques alléguèrent toutefois que la nouvelle mesure créerait des injustices envers les entrepreneurs et les industriels [V. sir James Pliny Whitney]. Avant que ces problèmes ne soient résolus, Reaume se verrait mêlé à l’une des questions les plus délicates que le gouvernement Whitney aurait à régler et devrait relever l’un de ses plus importants défis à titre de ministre canadien-français représentant une population francophone considérable : la question des écoles bilingues.

En avril 1910, Michael Francis Fallon se vit consacré évêque catholique de London, diocèse qui englobait le comté d’Essex. Déterminé à voir la génération suivante de catholiques prendre une place prépondérante dans la société, il voulait abolir les écoles bilingues qui, selon lui, n’enseignaient adéquatement ni l’anglais ni le français et, par conséquent, échouaient à préparer la jeunesse à la réussite dans l’économie industrielle urbaine de langue anglaise. Fallon craignait aussi que les exigences nationalistes récentes, exposées en janvier 1910 au congrès de l’Association canadienne-française d’éducation d’Ontario [V. Ovide-Arthur Rocque*], d’étendre les droits des écoles bilingues ne suscitent une réaction anticatholique au sein de la majorité protestante ontarienne semblable à celle qui avait soulevé la controverse dans l’Ouest en plein essor [V. Thomas Greenway* ; sir Wilfrid Laurier*]. En mai 1910, au cours d’une visite pastorale à Sarnia, Fallon sollicita un entretien confidentiel avec William John Hanna*, secrétaire de la province et député de Lambton West. L’évêque exprima son opposition aux écoles bilingues. En octobre, le rapport personnel de Hanna sur la discussion parut dans le Devoir [V. Henri Bourassa*] et d’autres journaux de la province de Québec ; on découvrit que la fuite provenait du secrétaire particulier de Reaume, Henry C. A. Maisonville. Partisan de Lucien-Alexandre Beaudoin – curé et fervent défenseur des écoles bilingues du comté –, Maisonville fut congédié pour son action. L’année suivante, aux élections provinciales de décembre, les anciens sympathisants de Reaume, insatisfaits de voir ce dernier associé à la controverse, votèrent pour le conservateur indépendant John R. Mason, chaudronnier qui appuyait l’abolition des écoles bilingues. Reaume reprit son siège, mais avec une faible majorité de 56 votes comparativement à 1 280, tout juste trois ans auparavant ; nombre de francophones avaient voté pour le libéral Severin Ducharme.

En 1912, Reaume s’aliéna davantage les conservateurs anglophones quand, le 26 juin, l’Evening Record de Windsor rapporta qu’au premier congrès de la langue française, tenu à Québec [V. Stanislas-Alfred Lortie*], il avait déclaré : « Avant de quitter ce congrès, nous devrions faire le vœu d’élever et d’éduquer nos enfants en français, quelle que soit la partie du Canada que nous habitons. » Cet été-là, le ministre de l’Éducation de l’Ontario, Robert Allan Pyne, fit passer le Règlement 17 en réponse à un rapport sur la qualité médiocre de l’éducation en anglais dans les écoles bilingues, que Francis Walter Merchant avait soumis à titre d’inspecteur en chef des écoles publiques et séparées. Le Règlement 17 stipulait que l’anglais constituerait désormais la langue de l’instruction et des communications dans tout l’Ontario. L’étude du français comme matière était permise une heure par jour après le premier cycle (les deux premières années du primaire) dans les établissements où on avait enseigné cette langue avant 1912, comme l’indiquait la disposition appelée « jusqu’ici ». Le règlement provoqua un tollé au sein du conseil des écoles séparées à Ottawa [V. Napoléon-Antoine Belcourt ; Samuel McCallum Genest], où l’Association canadienne-française d’éducation d’Ontario organisa une vaste campagne de protestation : les professeurs et leurs élèves sortaient de la classe si un inspecteur provincial, protestant, y entrait. Quand Reaume appuya le Règlement 17, le journal le Temps d’Ottawa exigea sa démission.

Au déclenchement des élections de juin 1914, de nombreux électeurs francophones de Reaume étaient en colère. Le 24 avril, l’Evening Record avait rapporté : « Il règne un sentiment parmi la population française selon lequel le docteur n’a pas été aussi dynamique qu’il aurait pu l’être sur la question du bilinguisme. Il a soutenu sir James Whitney et l’honorable Dr Pyne, défendant totalement la ligne de conduite du gouvernement. » S’étant aliéné également les électeurs de langue anglaise d’Essex North après sa déclaration au congrès de Québec deux ans auparavant, Reaume jugea moins risqué de se porter candidat dans la nouvelle circonscription de Windsor, où il vivait alors, mais il perdit l’investiture de son parti en faveur de l’orangiste Oscar Ernest Fleming*. Cet échec causa un grand embarras chez le premier ministre, dont le seul ministre francophone, partisan du Règlement 17, avait subi la défaite. Reaume décida de se présenter comme conservateur indépendant, ou « candidat de Whitney », comme le surnomma l’Evening Record du 20 juin. Dans le même numéro, on cita sa contestation de l’accusation d’un libéral de l’endroit : « M. [Charles Joseph] Montreuil […] m’a qualifié de traître à la population française, mais je pense que M. Montreuil lui-même n’est pas un Français loyal, car si vous lui parlez en français, il vous répondra en anglais. Pourquoi me qualifier de traître ? […] Je suis Français, et [je] sais comment se présente la question […] et je sais que je peux résoudre le problème. » Selon Reaume, la disposition du Règlement 17 permettant une heure d’enseignement du français chaque jour constituait une amélioration des droits, car l’article 93 de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique n’offrait aucune protection de cette nature pour la langue française en Ontario. À l’instar de nombreux francophones du comté d’Essex, il considérait la maîtrise de l’anglais comme essentielle pour réussir dans l’industrie. Il tenta de clarifier son point de vue : « Aucun homme n’a été plus favorable à la population française que sir James Whitney […] Ce que nous voulons, ce ne sont pas des écoles françaises où on enseigne l’anglais, mais des écoles anglaises où on enseigne le français. » Les électeurs francophones ne partageaient toutefois pas tous cette position. Reaume dut en outre faire face à des plaintes selon lesquelles il n’avait pas accordé assez de postes partisans à des conservateurs de la circonscription. Par ailleurs, ses opposants alléguèrent qu’il avait approuvé la construction d’une nouvelle route qui aurait accru la valeur de sa propriété et de celles de ses associés.

Par conséquent, Reaume perdit son siège et démissionna de son poste de ministre des Travaux publics le 30 septembre. On le nomma registraire du comté d’Essex, fonction qu’il assumerait jusqu’à sa mort. Il accepta aussi de soigner quelques patients et occupa un certain nombre de postes administratifs, notamment la vice-présidence de la Guaranty Trust Company of Canada de Windsor et de la United Forge and Machine Company de Detroit. Il devint membre honoraire du mess des officiers de l’Essex and Kent Scottish Regiment et joua un rôle actif au sein des Chevaliers de Colomb.

Tandis que les jours de gloire de Reaume déclinaient, son engagement dans la controverse linguistique continua. Le père Beaudoin intenta une poursuite contre l’évêque Fallon, l’accusant d’interdire l’enseignement du français aux enfants canadiens-français et les sermons en français aux communautés francophones. Le Vatican dépêcha un enquêteur et, en février 1916, on appela Reaume à témoigner. Celui-ci déclara avoir compris que l’évêque s’était opposé à l’instruction bilingue en tant que système, non pas à l’instruction en français en soi. Fallon serait finalement innocenté. Pendant l’entretien, Reaume avoua que le président du Windsor Separate School Board, Gaspard Pacaud, et lui avaient travaillé en coulisses en 1915 et au début de 1916 pour convaincre le gouvernement de réintroduire l’instruction en français dans les écoles catholiques de la ville. Or, la clause « jusqu’ici » ne s’appliquait pas à ces écoles, car on y avait abandonné l’enseignement du français en 1910, quand l’évêque avait nommé un groupe d’ursulines anglophones à la direction. Les fonctionnaires du ministère de l’Éducation informèrent ultérieurement Reaume qu’en raison de l’ancienne tradition à Windsor, Pyne permettrait une heure de français par jour dans les écoles séparées si les administrateurs l’acceptaient. Le ministre revint bientôt sur sa parole, en expliquant qu’il avait mal interprété la clause et qu’il avait besoin, pour ce faire, de l’approbation de Fallon.

Malgré ce revers et la perte de son fils John Stanley vers la fin de la guerre, Joseph Octave Reaume, stoïque, ne renonça jamais à sa lutte pour rétablir le français dans les écoles séparées de Windsor. Il recommença à exercer des pressions quand les conservateurs de George Howard Ferguson* prirent le pouvoir en 1923. En collaboration avec d’autres partisans, il persuada le chef conservateur fédéral, Arthur Meighen*, de s’adresser au premier ministre au sujet de la loi. En 1927, Ferguson annonça des changements substantiels, qui restaurèrent effectivement l’instruction en français dans les écoles catholiques de Windsor pour la première fois depuis 17 ans. Après une longue maladie, Reaume mourut d’une insuffisance cardiaque le 12 juin 1933. Le lendemain, les hommages publiés dans le Border Cities Star de Windsor évoquaient un homme « génial », « modeste », « consciencieux » et qui « représentait le fonctionnaire par excellence ».

Jack Cecillon

Ancestry.com, « Décès et décès à l’étranger, Ontario, Canada, 1869 à 1946 » ; « Registres des sépultures du CEC, Première Guerre mondiale, Canada, 1914 à 1948 » ; « Registres paroissiaux catholiques de l’Ontario (Collection Drouin), 1802 à 1967 » : www.ancestry.ca (consulté le 23 févr. 2017).— Arch. of the Diocese of London, Ontario, Bishop Fallon papers, box 2, file 16, Diffamationis et poenarum : summarium, 341–347 (témoignage de Joseph Reaume, 9 févr. 1916).— BAC, Déclarations de recensement du Canada de 1911, Ontario, dist. Essex North (67), sous-dist. Windsor (36) : 3 ; R233-37-6, Ontario, dist. Essex North (59), sous-dist. Windsor (L) : 4.— Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française (Ottawa), C2 (Fonds Association canadienne-française de l’Ontario), 82/1–104/1, le Règlement XVII.— Border Cities Star (Windsor), 13 juin 1933.— Evening Record (Windsor), 2, 4 déc. 1911 ; 26 juin 1912 ; 24 avril, 17, 20, 26 juin 1914 ; 10 juill. 1918.— Gazette (Montréal), 13 juin 1933.— Globe, 13, 15, 17 oct. 1910.— Le Temps (Ottawa), 11 oct. 1912.— Marilyn Barber, « The Ontario bilingual schools issue : sources of conflict », CHR, 47 (1966) : 227–248.— Canadian annual rev., 1903–1914.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— J. D. Cecillon, Prayers, petitions, and protests : the Catholic Church and the Ontario schools crisis in the Windsor border region, 1910–1928 (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 2013).— F. X. Chauvin, Men of achievement, Essex county (2 vol., [Tecumseh, Ontario], 1927–1929), 2.— Robert Choquette, Language and religion : a history of English–French conflict in Ontario (Ottawa, 1975), 75, 87, 95–96, 123, 127, 181.— Commemorative biographical record of the county of Essex, Ontario […] (Toronto, 1905).— CPG, 1905–1914.— Ontario, Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, « Joseph Octave Réaume » : www.ola.org/fr/deputes/tous/joseph-octave-reaume (consulté le 20 sept. 2018) ; Dept. of Education, Roman Catholic separate schools and English-French public and separate schools : circular of instructions for the school year September to June, 1912–1913 ([Toronto]), 1912.— Michael Power, « The mitred warrior : a critical reassessment of Bishop Michael Francis Fallon, 1867–1931 », Catholic Insight (Toronto), 8 (2000), no 3 : 18–26.— Premier Congrès de la langue française au Canada, Québec, 24–30 juin 1912 : compte rendu (Québec, 1913).— C. B. Sissons, Church & state in Canadian education : an historical study (Toronto, 1959).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jack Cecillon, « REAUME, JOSEPH OCTAVE (baptisé Joseph-Octave) (Joseph O., J. O.) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 25 nov. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/reaume_joseph_octave_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/reaume_joseph_octave_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Jack Cecillon
Titre de l'article:    REAUME, JOSEPH OCTAVE (baptisé Joseph-Octave) (Joseph O., J. O.)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    25 novembre 2020