DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

As part of the funding agreement between the Dictionary of Canadian Biography and the Canadian Museum of History, we invite readers to take part in a short survey.

I’ll take the survey now.

Remind me later.

Don’t show me this message again.

I have already taken the questionnaire

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

DAVIS, ALICE CATHARINE – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. 28 March 1915 in Saint John

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Doctor Elson Irving Rexford, secretary of the Department of Education, 1882-1891

Source: Link

REXFORD, Elson Irving, teacher, Anglican clergyman, educational administrator, and office holder; b. 17 June 1851 in Bolton Township, Lower Canada, son of Orrin Rexford and Eliza Dimond; m. 13 Sept. 1882 Louisa Norris in Montreal, and they had five sons and three daughters; d. 21 Oct. 1936 in Westmount, Que.

The Rexfords were originally from New England and settled in the Eastern Townships of Lower Canada in 1794. Elson was raised on the family farm at South Bolton (Bolton-Est). His father was a partial invalid owing to problems with his knee, and from an early age Elson became increasingly responsible for the farm work. When the Church of England in Canada established a place of worship in the town in the 1860s, the family formally became members.

Elson’s education began in the local school, which was located on the Rexford property, and his mother, who had received some teacher training, occasionally filled in as the instructor. He then attended schools in West Brome (Lac-Brome), Mansonville (Potton), and Knowlton (Lac-Brome) before entering Montreal’s McGill Normal School in 1866. The next year he received an elementary diploma, and in 1868 he was awarded a model-school diploma, graduating first in his class.

In 1868–69 Rexford served as assistant teacher at a school on Rue Panet in Montreal, which was run by the city’s Protestant Board of School Commissioners, and the following academic year he was named head teacher, with an annual salary of $900.

Rexford left his job to enter the arts course at McGill College in 1871, though he would teach Sunday school during his time as a student. He earned a ba in 1876 with first-class honours in mental and moral philosophy. In the same year he received a licentiateship in theology from the Montreal Diocesan Theological College, whose principal was Joseph Albert Lobley*. The college was established in 1873, and he had entered the institution as one of its first students. He was ordained a deacon in 1876 and assigned to St Luke’s Church in Montreal the following January. After serving there for nearly two years, he developed unexplained knee trouble, which forced him to walk with crutches for the next two. Finding it difficult to make his way about his parish, he soon gave up active ministry to pursue a career in education. His association with the Church of England in Canada would be lifelong, however, and an emphasis on the importance of religious and moral instruction, which he considered synonymous, would become a hallmark of his work as an educator.

In 1878 Rexford was appointed junior master of the High School of Montreal, where he taught primarily mathematics. The following year he became assistant headmaster, a post he would hold until 1882. During this period he forged a reputation as an articulate and forceful speaker on education. He read papers at meetings of a local association of teachers and of the Provincial Association of Protestant Teachers, remaining involved with the latter for the rest of his life.

By the time Rexford moved to Quebec City in 1882 to succeed Henry Hopper Miles* as English secretary of the Department of Public Instruction, he was one of the best-known English educators in the province. Thus began his administrative career – one of founding, organizing, and systematizing. When he took up the position, standards for teacher training were low, external examinations did not exist, and there were no compulsory or recommended texts. Rexford established a course of study for all Protestant schools in 1884, along with suggested books (including moral instruction). Starting in 1887, he set up regular inspections and provincial examinations for superior schools. He believed that organization was of no avail if instructors were poorly trained. Instructors became increasingly qualified thanks to bursaries and improved teacher education. Five-day summer courses at normal schools were notably effective in this regard. Rexford was particularly concerned about rural education; he believed that, in addition to receiving adequate schooling, farm children should learn the place of agriculture in the life of the community. He endeavoured to consolidate small rural schools into larger schools because he was concerned that small ones could not offer the optional subject of French. He also worked to establish minimum salaries for teachers in rural areas. In 1888 he oversaw the revision and systematization of educational statutes and the codification of the regulations set by the Protestant committee of the Council of Public Instruction. An amendment two years later required Protestant schools to provide half an hour of non-denominational instruction per day in morals and scriptural history. By the end of Rexford’s tenure as English secretary, in 1891, Protestant education in Quebec had been standardized.

Rexford left his post in Quebec City that year to become rector of the High School of Montreal, where he oversaw about 300 boys and received an annual salary of $3,000. He continued his association with the Department of Public Instruction as a member of the Protestant committee. It was a particularly difficult time for the high school: its building had been destroyed by fire on 28 Nov. 1890, and the controversy over the type of education to be offered, whether classical, scientific, or commercial, was in full spate. Rexford favoured offering all three options in the upper forms. In a speech delivered before the Dominion Educational Association on 8 July 1892, he declared: “The final end of education is the making of men and women.… We are educators to make men fit to be anything that they may be called upon to be.” His main concern, however, was with the role of moral and religious instruction, which he insisted must be central. During his rectorship the high school became a very modern institution that reflected its leader’s ideals. He made sure that lessons on morals and religion were given during each day’s mandatory half-hour. Since he believed that physical well-being contributed to moral and mental health, he set up a physical-training program and sports teams. He also established an orchestra. Little was overlooked, and his methodical approach ensured that all aspects of school life received due attention, with discipline and school spirit among his chief preoccupations. He printed programs for assemblies and gave meticulous instructions to students, parents, and educators, even about such minor matters as the disposal of chalk ends. Although Rexford’s position freed him from any regular teaching, he frequently sat in on classes and occasionally filled in for instructors, which helped him keep his finger on the school’s pulse. Owing to his success, in 1896 he was also put in charge of the High School for Girls, which he headed until the end of his tenure as rector in 1903.

Rexford continued his own religious education during his rectorship, and in 1894 he was ordained a priest in the Church of England in Canada. Two years later he attended the conference of the International Sunday School Association in Boston, and he would serve on its lesson committee for 29 years. He also found time to complete his ma, awarded in the spring of 1903 by McGill University.

Rexford left his job at the high school in 1903 to become principal of the Montreal Diocesan Theological College, a position that he would hold from 1904 until 1928. He took a leading role in two developments of particular importance. The first was the establishment of the Joint Board of the Theological Colleges Affiliated with McGill University (Anglican, Congregational, Methodist, and Presbyterian) in 1912. This pioneering experiment gave theological education in Montreal and at McGill a distinctive character. Such ecumenical cooperation among theological schools would not become widespread in Canada, or throughout much of the English-speaking world, until the 1970s. Despite the academic nature and purpose of the joint board, the prime movers in its formation and ongoing activities were mostly laymen. The second important development at the college came in 1925, when it was given degree-granting powers by the Quebec legislature (it had previously been governed by those of the synod of the ecclesiastical province of Canada from 1891). Rexford had been a vigorous proponent of the measure, along with John Cragg Farthing*, the Anglican bishop of Montreal. Rexford’s long experience in education enabled him to shepherd the bill to its successful conclusion.

Towards the end of the First World War the Khaki University was established in Britain by the Canadian government and the Young Men’s Christian Association to assist soldiers in resuming their studies. As part of the project a theological college was established at Ripon, and the joint board was asked to provide the necessary faculty. Rexford was named dean and was joined by five other professors, two from the joint board. Granted leave from the Montreal Diocesan Theological College, he worked in England from November 1918 until the summer of 1919.

When Rexford returned to Canada, he fought tirelessly, but unsuccessfully, to expand the role of religious education through the Protestant committee until 1922, when it rejected a manual he had written on the topic, largely owing to the impracticalities of teaching religion. Although the formal program in Quebec’s Protestant schools still included a half-hour per day of moral and religious instruction, educators had been given a great deal of leeway as to how they used the time, and many felt inept at teaching the topic, especially to groups of students from different denominations and, in some cases, faiths. As a result, by the early 1920s teaching religion had fallen almost completely out of practice in the Protestant system.

From 1916 to 1930 Rexford successfully opposed the nomination of Jewish commissioners to the Montreal Protestant school board [see Maxwell Goldstein]; although he welcomed Jewish students in schools, he was concerned that the Protestant nature of the board would be diluted if Jews became members.

Rexford retired from the Montreal Diocesan Theological College in 1928 with the title of principal emeritus. He continued to serve as a member of the Protestant committee until the year of his death. One of the first Protestants to be appointed to the province’s Order of Scholastic Merit in 1931, he was awarded its third and highest class and a diploma of distinguished merit. He also continued his long association with councils of the Church of England in Canada and was a delegate to both the provincial and general synods. After serving as the first chairman of the church’s General Board of Religious Education from 1918 to 1925, he continued on as a special adviser. He received honorary degrees from McGill University (lld, 1904), Bishop’s College (dcl, 1910) in Lennoxville (Sherbrooke), and the Presbyterian College of Montreal (dd, 1917). In 1913 Bishop Farthing named Rexford an honorary canon of Montreal’s Christ Church Cathedral.

Rexford died at his home in Westmount at the age of 85, having spent 68 years actively engaged in education in Quebec. Of all his contributions as an educator and organizer within the Protestant school system, he was no doubt proudest of his efforts, however unsuccessful, to promote moral and religious instruction.

Richard Virr

Elson Irving Rexford is the author of Manual of the school law and regulations of the province of Quebec … (Montreal, 1890); “Our educational past and present,” Educational Record of the Province of Quebec (Quebec), 10 (1890): 311–29; and Our educational problem: the Jewish population and Protestant schools (Montreal, [1923?]). He is the co-author, along with Isaac Gammell and A. R. McBain, of The history of the High School of Montreal ([Montreal, 1950]).

Ancestry.com, “Web: Montreal, Canada, non-Catholic marriage index, 1766–1899”: www.ancestry.ca (consulted 20 March 2019). FD, Anglican Church (Knowlton, Que.), 21 Oct. 1936; Methodist Church (Bolton, Que.), 17 June 1851. J. I. Cooper, The blessed communion: the origins and history of the diocese of Montreal, 1760–1960 ([Montreal], 1960). G. E. Flower, “A study of the contributions of Dr. E. I. Rexford to education in the province of Quebec” (ma thesis, McGill Univ., Montreal, 1949). Oswald Howard, The Montreal Diocesan Theological College: a history from 1873 to 1963 (Montreal, 1963).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Richard Virr, “REXFORD, ELSON IRVING,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed March 28, 2023, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rexford_elson_irving_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rexford_elson_irving_16E.html
Author of Article:   Richard Virr
Title of Article:   REXFORD, ELSON IRVING
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2023
Year of revision:   2023
Access Date:   March 28, 2023

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

BEST, EDNA MAY WILLISTON (Sexton) – Volume XV (1921-1930)

née le 25 juin 1880 à Shediac, Nouveau-Brunswick

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Doctor Elson Irving Rexford, secretary of the Department of Education, 1882-1891

Provenance : Lien

REXFORD, Elson Irving, enseignant, ministre anglican, administrateur scolaire et fonctionnaire, né le 17 juin 1851 dans le canton de Bolton, Bas-Canada, fils d’Orrin Rexford et d’Eliza Dimond ; le 13 septembre 1882, il épousa à Montréal Louisa Norris, et ils eurent cinq fils et trois filles ; décédé le 21 octobre 1936 à Westmount, Québec.

Originaires de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, les Rexford s’installèrent dans les Cantons-de-l’Est du Bas-Canada en 1794. Elson Irving Rexford grandit à la ferme familiale de South Bolton (Bolton-Est). À cause de l’invalidité partielle de son père, qui souffrait de problèmes à un genou, Elson Irving dut très tôt assumer progressivement la responsabilité des travaux de la ferme. L’Église d’Angleterre au Canada fonda un lieu de culte au village dans les années 1860 ; la famille y adhéra alors officiellement.

Elson Irving entama ses études à l’école locale, située sur la propriété des Rexford. Sa mère, qui avait reçu une certaine formation d’institutrice, remplaçait parfois le titulaire de classe. Il fréquenta ensuite les écoles de West Brome (Lac-Brome), Mansonville (Potton) et Knowlton (Lac-Brome), puis, en 1866, entra à la McGill Normal School de Montréal. Il obtint un diplôme d’enseignement pour l’école primaire et un diplôme d’enseignement pour l’école modèle respectivement en 1867 et 1868 ; il termina premier de sa promotion.

En 1868–1869, Rexford travailla comme enseignant adjoint dans une école de la rue Panet à Montréal, dirigée par le Bureau des commissaires des écoles protestantes. L’année scolaire suivante, on le nomma enseignant en chef, avec un salaire annuel de 900 $.

Rexford démissionna pour s’inscrire au programme d’arts du McGill College en 1871, mais continuerait d’enseigner à l’école du dimanche pendant ses études. En 1876, il obtint une licence ès arts avec mention très bien en philosophie intellectuelle et morale. La même année, il reçut une licence en théologie du Montreal Diocesan Theological College, alors sous la direction de Joseph Albert Lobley*. Rexford compta parmi les premiers étudiants de ce collège fondé en 1873. Ordonné diacre en 1876, il se vit affecté à l’église St Luke de Montréal en janvier de l’année suivante. Après moins de deux ans de service auprès de cette église, Rexford développa des problèmes inexpliqués à un genou, qui le forcèrent à marcher avec des béquilles durant les deux années subséquentes. Il éprouva des difficultés à se déplacer dans sa paroisse et laissa vite tomber le ministère actif pour entreprendre une carrière en éducation. Il resterait toutefois affilié à l’Église d’Angleterre au Canada toute sa vie, et l’importance qu’il accordait à l’enseignement moral et religieux, synonymes à ses yeux, en viendrait à caractériser son travail d’enseignant.

En 1878, Rexford devint assistant-professeur de la High School of Montreal, où il enseigna principalement les mathématiques. L’année suivante, on le promut directeur adjoint, fonction qu’il occuperait jusqu’en 1882. Durant cette période, il se forgea une réputation d’orateur éloquent et passionné sur l’éducation. Il présenta des exposés aux réunions d’une association locale d’instituteurs et de la Provincial Association of Protestant Teachers, dont il demeurerait membre actif pour le reste de ses jours.

Rexford s’installa à Québec en 1882 pour succéder à Henry Hopper Miles* comme secrétaire anglais du département de l’Instruction publique. Il figurait alors déjà parmi les éducateurs de langue anglaise les plus connus de la province. Ainsi débuta sa carrière administrative, qu’il passa à réaliser des activités de fondation, d’organisation et de systématisation. À l’époque où il entra en fonction, les normes qui régissaient la formation des enseignants étaient peu élevées, les examens externes n’existaient pas et il n’y avait pas de lectures obligatoires ou suggérées. En 1884, Rexford établit un programme d’études pour l’ensemble des écoles protestantes et une liste de livres recommandés (dont l’enseignement moral faisait partie). Il instaura des inspections régulières et des examens provinciaux dans les écoles supérieures dès 1887. Selon lui, si les enseignants n’avaient pas une bonne formation, les efforts d’organisation demeureraient vains. Grâce à des bourses et à l’amélioration de leur apprentissage, on haussa graduellement leur qualification ; des cours d’été de cinq jours dans les écoles normales s’avérèrent fort efficaces à cet égard. Rexford s’inquiétait particulièrement de l’éducation en milieu rural. Il croyait que les enfants des fermiers devaient non seulement recevoir une instruction adéquate, mais aussi apprendre la place qu’occupait l’agriculture dans la vie communautaire. Il entreprit de regrouper de petites écoles de campagne pour en créer de plus grosses, car il craignait qu’une école de taille modeste ne puisse offrir les cours de français facultatifs. Il contribua également à l’établissement de salaires de base pour les instituteurs en zone rurale. En 1888, il supervisa la révision et la systématisation des lois en éducation et la codification des règlements élaborés par le comité protestant du Conseil de l’instruction publique. Deux ans plus tard, une modification obligea les écoles protestantes à fournir une demi-heure d’enseignement non confessionnel par jour en morale et en histoire des Écritures. Rexford démissionna de son poste de secrétaire anglais en 1891 ; l’uniformisation de l’instruction protestante au Québec était alors chose faite.

En 1891, Rexford quitta ses fonctions à Québec pour assumer la direction de la High School of Montreal, qui accueillait quelque 300 garçons, pour un salaire annuel de 3 000 $. Il garda un lien avec le département de l’Instruction publique à titre de membre du comité protestant. L’école secondaire traversait une période particulièrement difficile : le 28 novembre 1890, un incendie avait détruit le bâtiment, et la controverse autour du type d’enseignement à offrir – classique, scientifique ou commercial – battait son plein. Rexford préférait donner toutes ces options aux classes avancées. Dans un discours prononcé devant la Dominion Educational Association le 8 juillet 1892, il déclara : « Le but premier de l’éducation est de produire des hommes et des femmes […] Nous sommes éducateurs pour façonner des hommes capables d’incarner tout ce qu’ils peuvent être appelés à devenir. » Sa préoccupation principale demeurait cependant l’enseignement moral et religieux, qui, selon lui, devait exercer un rôle central. Au cours de son directorat, il fit de l’établissement une école des plus modernes, à l’image de ses idéaux. Rexford veilla à ce que les élèves reçoivent obligatoirement une demi-heure quotidienne d’enseignement moral et religieux. Croyant que le bien-être du corps contribuait à la santé morale et mentale, il mit sur pied un programme d’éducation physique et des équipes de sport. Il fonda également un orchestre. Rexford laissait très peu de choses au hasard. Son approche méthodique lui permettait de s’assurer qu’on apporte l’attention nécessaire à tous les aspects de la vie scolaire, notamment la discipline et l’esprit d’école, qui figuraient parmi ses préoccupations principales. Il faisait imprimer des programmes pour les assemblées et donnait des instructions précises aux élèves, aux parents et aux enseignants (celles-ci portaient parfois sur des questions aussi mineures que la mise au rebut des bouts de craie, par exemple). Même si le poste de Rexford ne le contraignait aucunement à enseigner sur une base régulière, il assistait souvent à des cours et remplaçait à l’occasion les titulaires de classe, ce qui l’aidait à tâter continuellement le pouls de l’école. Grâce à son succès, en 1896, on le plaça également à la tête de la High School for Girls ; il y demeura jusqu’à ce qu’il quitte ses fonctions de directeur en 1903.

Rexford poursuivit ses propres études religieuses tout en assumant ses tâches de direction. En 1894, il reçut son ordination à la prêtrise de l’Église d’Angleterre au Canada. Il se rendit à Boston deux ans plus tard pour participer au congrès de l’International Sunday School Association ; il siégerait à son comité des leçons pendant 29 ans. Il trouva aussi le temps d’obtenir une maîtrise ès arts, que lui décerna la McGill University au printemps de 1903.

Rexford quitta l’école secondaire en 1903 pour prendre la direction du Montreal Diocesan Theological College, responsabilité qu’il assumerait de 1904 à 1928. Il joua un rôle prépondérant dans deux changements d’une importance particulière. Le premier fut l’établissement, en 1912, du Joint Board of the Theological Colleges Affiliated with McGill University, qui regroupait anglicans, congrégationalistes, méthodistes et presbytériens. Cette expérience innovatrice donna un caractère distinctif à l’enseignement théologique à Montréal et à la McGill University, même si la faculté de théologie ne serait créée qu’en 1948. Au Canada et dans la plus grande partie du monde anglophone, une telle coopération œcuménique entre les écoles de théologie ne se répandrait pas avant les années 1970. Malgré la nature et la fonction universitaires de ce conseil d’administration commun, les instigateurs de sa fondation et de ses activités courantes étaient surtout des laïcs. Le deuxième survint en 1925, quand l’Assemblée législative de la province de Québec accorda au collège le pouvoir de délivrer des diplômes (pouvoir que détenait le synode de la province ecclésiastique du Canada depuis 1891). Avec l’évêque anglican de Montréal, John Cragg Farthing*, Rexford avait défendu cette mesure avec vigueur. Grâce à sa longue expérience en éducation, il conduisit le projet de loi jusqu’à son adoption.

Vers la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale, le gouvernement canadien et la Young Men’s Christian Association fondèrent la Khaki University en Grande-Bretagne, dans le but d’aider les soldats à reprendre leurs études. Dans le cadre du projet, on établit un collège de théologie à Ripon et on chargea le conseil d’administration commun de constituer le corps professoral nécessaire. Rexford se vit nommé doyen ; cinq autres professeurs, dont deux du conseil, se joignirent à lui. Autorisé à s’absenter de son collège à Montréal, Rexford travailla en Angleterre de novembre 1918 à l’été de 1919.

À son retour au Canada, Rexford lutta sans relâche, mais en vain, au sein du comité protestant en vue d’étendre le rôle de l’éducation religieuse. Ses efforts prirent fin avec le rejet, en 1922, du manuel qu’il avait écrit sur le sujet ; des problèmes pratiques que posait l’enseignement de la religion motivèrent principalement la décision du comité à cet égard. Si le programme officiel des écoles protestantes de la province de Québec prévoyait toujours une demi-heure quotidienne d’instruction morale et religieuse, les enseignants disposaient toutefois d’une grande liberté quant à l’utilisation de ce temps. Nombre d’entre eux estimaient ne pas posséder les compétences nécessaires pour enseigner cette matière, surtout à des groupes d’élèves de confessions, ou même parfois de croyances, diverses. Ainsi, au début des années 1920, l’enseignement religieux avait presque entièrement disparu du système des écoles protestantes.

De 1916 à 1930, Rexford s’opposa avec succès à la nomination de commissaires juifs au Bureau des commissaires des écoles protestantes de Montréal [V. Maxwell Goldstein]. Même s’il se réjouissait de voir des élèves juifs fréquenter les écoles, il craignait que l’inclusion de Juifs au bureau n’en affaiblisse la nature protestante.

Rexford prit sa retraite du Montreal Diocesan Theological College en 1928 avec le titre de directeur émérite. Il continuerait de siéger au comité protestant jusqu’à l’année de sa mort. Il devint l’un des premiers protestants nommés à l’ordre du Mérite scolaire de la province, et en reçut en 1931 la décoration du troisième et plus haut degré ainsi que le diplôme de très méritant. Il poursuivit sa longue affiliation avec des conseils de l’Église d’Angleterre au Canada, et agit comme délégué des synodes provincial et général. Il remplit les fonctions de premier président du General Board of Religious Education de l’Église d’Angleterre au Canada de 1918 à 1925, et y demeura par la suite en tant que conseiller spécial. Il reçut des doctorats honorifiques de plusieurs établissements : en droit de la McGill University en 1904, en droit civil du Bishop’s College de Lennoxville (Sherbrooke) en 1910, et en théologie du collège presbytérien de Montréal en 1917. En 1913, Mgr Farthing le désigna chanoine honoraire de la cathédrale Christ Church de Montréal.

Elson Irving Rexford mourut dans sa résidence de Westmount à l’âge de 85 ans, après 68 ans d’engagement dans le domaine de l’éducation au Québec. Même si ses efforts de promotion de l’enseignement moral et religieux dans le système des écoles protestantes ne produisirent pas les effets escomptés, ils constituèrent sans contredit sa plus grande source de fierté.

Richard Virr

Elson Irving Rexford est l’auteur de : Manual of the school law and regulations of the province of Quebec […] (Montréal, 1890) ; « Our educational past and present », Educational Record of the Province of Quebec (Québec), 10 (1890) : 311–329 ; et Our educational problem : the Jewish population and Protestant schools (Montréal, [1923 ?]). Il a aussi écrit, en collaboration avec Isaac Gammell et A. R. McBain, The history of the High School of Montreal ([Montréal, 1950]).

Ancestry.com, « Web : Index des mariages non catholiques à Montréal, Canada, 1766 à 1899 » : www.ancestry.ca (consulté le 20 mars 2019).— FD, Anglican Church (Knowlton, Québec), 21 oct. 1936 ; Methodist Church (Bolton, Québec), 17 juin 1851.— J. I. Cooper, The blessed communion : the origins and history of the diocese of Montreal, 1760–1960 ([Montréal], 1960).— G. E. Flower, « A study of the contributions of Dr. E. I. Rexford to education in the province of Quebec » (mémoire de m.a., McGill Univ., Montréal, 1949).— Oswald Howard, The Montreal Diocesan Theological College : a history from 1873 to 1963 (Montréal, 1963).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Richard Virr, « REXFORD, ELSON IRVING », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 25 juin 2024, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rexford_elson_irving_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rexford_elson_irving_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Richard Virr
Titre de l'article:    REXFORD, ELSON IRVING
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2023
Année de la révision:    2023
Date de consultation:    25 juin 2024