DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  George Herbert Sedgewick . - 1933

Source: Link

SEDGEWICK, GEORGE HERBERT, lawyer, judge, and civil servant; b. 12 Feb. 1878 in Musquodoboit, N.S., son of William Middleton Sedgewick and Annie Leedham; m. 9 July 1908 Mary Stanley Robertson in Halifax, and they had two daughters; d. 14 March 1939 in Ottawa.

George Herbert Sedgewick was born into a prominent Nova Scotia family. His paternal grandfather, Robert, had come to the province from Scotland in the mid 19th century to minister to the Presbyterian church in Middle Musquodoboit, a charge he held for many years. An uncle on his father’s side, Thomas, was a leading Presbyterian clergyman, and another, Robert*, was a lawyer who became the federal deputy minister of justice under John Sparrow David Thompson* and a judge on the Supreme Court of Canada. After attending Halifax and Pictou academies, George continued his education at Dalhousie University (ba, 1902) and Osgoode Hall law school in Toronto.

At that time, in addition to attending lectures at Osgoode, a student read law with a practitioner. Sedgewick’s mentor was William Renwick Riddell*, a litigator in the prominent firm headed by William Henry Beatty* and Thomas Gibbs Blackstock. It is possible that he secured this position because of his uncle’s connections with Thompson and the relationship between the minister of justice and Beatty Blackstock. Thompson had used Blackstock for legal advice, and one of his sons had been a student in the practice.

Following his call to the bar in 1906, Sedgewick joined Beatty Blackstock. He prospered as a litigation counsel, and when the firm split in 1913, he stayed with the group led by David Fasken*. In May two years later he was given a share of the profits and a guarantee that his income would be no less than $3,000 in his first year, $3,300 in the second, and $3,600 in the third. In 1917, after Hugh Edward Rose had been appointed to the bench, Sedgewick became a nominal partner in the firm, now called Fasken, Robertson, Chadwick, and Sedgewick. Although never a full partner, he remained there until 1925, when he had a falling-out with the domineering managing partner, David’s brother Alexander. Sedgewick, according to the memoirs of another member, was “a gentleman at all times … [but] found the strain and pressure at the office very hard.” After leaving the Fasken firm, he joined what became Malone, Malone, Sedgewick, and Montgomery, where he seems to have had a mixed practice; he was described in some sources as a barrister and in others as a corporation lawyer. His departure from Fasken Robertson did not in any way detract from his reputation in the community, and in 1928 he became a kc.

On 16 December two years later Sedgewick was elevated to the High Court division of the Supreme Court of Ontario. He again filled a vacancy created by Rose, who had been made chief justice of the High Court. His tenure as a judge was short and not especially distinguished. The crowning point occurred in 1932 when he and his former mentor, Riddell, now a member of the Ontario Court of Appeal, were chosen to conclude a provincial royal commission, conducted first under William Edward Middleton* and then under John Fosbery Orde, to “inquire into certain matters concerning the Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario.” Of particular interest were payments made to John Aird Jr in connection with the purchase of electricity from the Beauharnois Light, Heat and Power Company and other sources. Riddell and Sedgewick acted quickly; they were appointed on 19 August and, having reviewed the evidence already presented, they delivered their report, clearing the power commission and Aird, on 31 October.

In the summer of that year Prime Minister Robert Bedford Bennett* had presided over the Imperial Economic Conference in Ottawa. After his election in 1930 he had sought to deal with the Great Depression in part by significantly raising tariffs on imports. British textile interests, among others, complained. During the conference Bennett agreed to seek out someone to head the Tariff Board, which had been established in 1931, and look into the appropriateness of Canadian duties in the light of local and foreign costs of materials, labour, and distribution. He approached Sedgewick, who was made chairman of the board on 6 Feb. 1933, the other appointees being Saskatchewan mp Milton Neil Campbell and wholesale grocer Charles Hébert of Montreal. Sedgewick had been reluctant to accept the position and had evidently negotiated better terms with the prime minister: in early May Bennett introduced an amendment to the Tariff Board Act increasing the pension of board members and raising the annual salary of the chairman from $12,000 to $15,000, so that Sedgewick’s “financial position should not be worse than it would have been had he remained on the bench.”

Given the tensions that Bennett’s tariffs had engendered, Sedgewick was a good choice. He was described by one commentator in January 1933 as possessing “qualities of cool judgment and kindly courtesy” and “a gentleness which conduces to peace in any assembly of which he is a member.” He immediately undertook an investigation of duties on British textiles, travelling across Canada and to England. His report was warmly received in both countries and contributed to his being made a cmg in 1935.

A “strong Presbyterian,” Sedgewick was an elder in St Andrew’s Church in Toronto. Unlike his brother the Reverend William Henry, who had been active in the movement that led many Presbyterians to join with the Methodists and Congregationalists to form the United Church of Canada in 1925 [see Clarence Dunlop Mackinnon], he remained with his congregation after it voted to stay out of the union. Four years later he was a member of a committee set up to plan the centennial celebrations of St Andrew’s in 1930. Politically and socially conservative, Sedgewick had a keen sense of public responsibility, serving as chairman of the board of the Canadian National Institute for the Blind, an adviser to the Salvation Army, president of the board of Central Neighbourhood House in Toronto, and head of the international literature service of the League of Nations Society in Canada. He was twice chosen president of the University Club of Toronto and led the city’s Canadian Club in 1926. His recreations were golf and fishing.

In March 1939, while still chairman of the Tariff Board, Sedgewick had a heart attack during a meeting with government officials. He died shortly after at his home in Ottawa at the age of 61 and was buried in Halifax in his native Nova Scotia.

C. Ian Kyer

Law Soc. of Upper Can. Arch. (Toronto), PF 189 (Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP fonds), 1-3 (letter agreement signed by Sedgewick), 2-1 (J. B. Robinson memoirs). Daily Mail and Empire, 17 Dec. 1930. Globe, 7 Feb., 10 May 1933. Globe and Mail, 15 March 1939. Can., House of Commons, Debates, 9 May 1933: 4749–52. Canada Gazette, 11 Feb. 1933: 1899. Canadian who’s who, 1936/37. Jean Graham, “O upright judge! Mr. Justice Sedgewick,” Saturday Night, 7 Jan. 1933: 8. C. I. Kyer, “The transformation of an establishment firm: from Beatty Blackstock to Faskens, 1902–1915,” in Essays in the history of Canadian law, ed. D. H. Flaherty et al. (10v. to date, [Toronto], 1981–    ), 7 (Inside the law: Canadian law firms in historical perspective, ed. Carol Wilton, 1996): 161–206. S. C. Parker, The book of St. Andrew’s: a short history of St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church, Toronto (Toronto, 1930). Jennie Reid, Musquodoboit pioneers: a record of seventy families, their homesteads and genealogies, 1780–1980 (2v., [N.S.], 1980), 2: 654–58 (also available online at www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~canns/musq2.html). Who’s who in Canada, 1934/35.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

C. Ian Kyer, “SEDGEWICK, GEORGE HERBERT,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 14, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/sedgewick_george_herbert_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/sedgewick_george_herbert_16E.html
Author of Article: C. Ian Kyer
Title of Article: SEDGEWICK, GEORGE HERBERT
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: December 14, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

TRUDEAU, PIERRE ELLIOTT – Volume XXII (1991-2000)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2017

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  George Herbert Sedgewick . - 1933

Provenance : Lien

Sedgewick, George Herbert, avocat, juge et fonctionnaire, né le 12 février 1878 à Musquodoboit, Nouvelle-Écosse, fils de William Middleton Sedgewick et d’Annie Leedham ; le 9 juillet 1908, il épousa à Halifax Mary Stanley Robertson, et ils eurent deux filles ; décédé le 14 mars 1939 à Ottawa.

George Herbert Sedgewick naquit dans une famille bien en vue de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Son grand-père paternel, Robert, avait quitté l’Écosse pour venir s’installer dans la province au milieu du xixe siècle afin de desservir l’église presbytérienne de Middle Musquodoboit, charge qu’il assuma pendant de nombreuses années. L’un de ses oncles du côté de son père, Thomas, fut un ministre presbytérien de premier plan et un autre, Robert*, avocat, devint sous-ministre dans le ministère fédéral de la Justice de John Sparrow David Thompson* et juge de la Cour suprême du Canada. Après avoir fréquenté la Halifax Academy et la Pictou Academy, George Herbert poursuivit ses études à la Dalhousie University (il y obtint une licence ès arts en 1902) et à l’Osgoode Hall, école de droit de Toronto.

À cette époque, outre qu’ils assistaient à des conférences à l’Osgoode Hall, les étudiants devaient faire un stage de droit auprès d’un praticien. Le mentor de Sedgewick était William Renwick Riddell*, plaideur travaillant au sein de l’important cabinet d’avocats dirigé par William Henry Beatty* et Thomas Gibbs Blackstock. Il est possible qu’il obtint ce stage en raison des relations que son oncle entretenait avec Thompson et des liens de ce dernier avec le cabinet Beatty Blackstock. Thompson avait déjà fait appel à Blackstock pour obtenir des conseils juridiques et l’un de ses fils avait étudié dans ce cabinet.

Après son admission au barreau, en 1906, Sedgewick entra au service de Beatty Blackstock. Plaideur prospère, il resta avec le groupe dirigé par David Fasken* quand le cabinet se divisa en 1913. Deux ans plus tard, en mai, il reçut une part des profits et l’assurance que son revenu serait d’au moins 3 000 $ la première année, 3 300 $ la deuxième et 3 600 $ la troisième. En 1917, après que Hugh Edward Rose fut nommé juge, Sedgewick devint associé nominal du cabinet, qui porterait dès lors le nom de Fasken, Robertson, Chadwick, and Sedgewick. Même s’il ne fut jamais un associé à part entière, il demeura dans ce partenariat jusqu’en 1925, année où il se brouilla avec l’autoritaire associé et directeur, Alexander Fasken, frère de David. Sedgewick, selon les mémoires d’un autre membre, était « un gentleman en tout temps [… mais] trouvait la tension et la pression au bureau très difficiles ». Après avoir quitté ce cabinet, il se joignit à une société d’avocats qui devint Malone, Malone, Sedgewick, and Montgomery, où il semble avoir eu une pratique diversifiée ; il était décrit dans certaines sources comme un barrister et, dans d’autres, comme un spécialiste en droit des sociétés. Son départ de Fasken Robertson ne ternit aucunement sa réputation dans la collectivité. En 1928, il devint conseiller du roi.

Deux ans plus tard, le 16 décembre, Sedgewick accéda à la division de la Haute Cour de la Cour suprême de l’Ontario. Il occupa de nouveau un poste laissé vacant par Rose, qui avait été nommé juge en chef de la Haute Cour. Sa magistrature fut brève et ne comporta rien de particulièrement remarquable. Le fait le plus marquant se produisit en 1932, quand Sedgewick et son ancien mentor, Riddell, alors membre de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario, furent choisis afin de terminer les travaux d’une commission royale provinciale, d’abord dirigée par William Edward Middleton*, puis par John Fosbery Orde, pour « enquêter sur certaines affaires concernant la Commission d’énergie hydroélectrique de l’Ontario ». Les paiements versés à John Aird fils concernant l’achat d’électricité auprès de la Beauharnois Light, Heat and Power Company et d’autres sources faisaient l’objet d’un intérêt particulier. Riddell et Sedgewick agirent rapidement ; ils furent nommés le 19 août et, après avoir examiné les preuves déjà présentées, ils remirent leur rapport le 31 octobre, innocentant la commission d’énergie et Aird.

Au cours de l’été de la même année, le premier ministre Richard Bedford Bennett* avait présidé la Conférence économique impériale tenue à Ottawa. Après avoir été élu en 1930, il avait cherché à faire face à la grande dépression, en partie en augmentant considérablement les tarifs douaniers sur les importations. Les industries textiles britanniques, entre autres, se plaignirent de cette situation. Durant cette conférence, Bennett accepta de trouver un président pour la Commission du tarif créée en 1931, et d’examiner la pertinence des taxes canadiennes à la lumière des coûts au pays et à l’étranger des matériaux, de la main-d’œuvre et de la distribution. Il pressentit Sedgewick, qui accéda au poste de président de l’organisme le 6 février 1933 ; les autres personnes nommées furent Milton Neil Campbell, député de la Saskatchewan, ainsi que Charles Hébert, grossiste en alimentation de Montréal. Sedgewick s’était d’abord montré réticent à accepter ce poste et avait apparemment négocié de meilleures conditions avec le premier ministre : au début de mai, Bennett présenta une modification à la Loi de la Commission du tarif pour augmenter la pension des membres de l’organisme, ainsi que le salaire annuel du président, qui passa de 12 000 $ à 15 000 $, de façon à ce que « la situation financière [de Sedgewick] ne [soit] pas inférieure à ce qu’elle aurait été s’il était demeuré juge ».

En raison des tensions qu’avaient engendrées les tarifs imposés par Bennett, Sedgewick s’avéra un bon choix. Selon un commentateur, en janvier 1933, il possédait « [comme] qualités un jugement calme et une courtoisie aimable », ainsi qu’« une douceur qui amen[ait] la paix dans toute assemblée dont il [était] membre ». Il entreprit immédiatement d’examiner les taxes sur les produits textiles britanniques, effectuant des voyages partout au Canada et en Angleterre. Son rapport reçut un accueil chaleureux dans les deux pays et contribua à sa nomination au titre de compagnon de l’ordre de Saint-Michel et Saint-Georges en 1935.

« Fervent presbytérien », Sedgewick était conseiller presbytéral à l’église St Andrew de Toronto. Contrairement à son frère, le révérend William Henry Sedgewick, membre actif du mouvement qui avait amené de nombreux presbytériens à s’associer aux méthodistes et aux congrégationalistes pour former l’Église unie du Canada en 1925 [V. Clarence Dunlop Mackinnon], il demeura avec sa communauté après qu’elle eut voté contre son intégration à l’union. Quatre ans plus tard, il fit partie d’un comité formé pour organiser les célébrations du centenaire de l’église St Andrew, en 1930. Conservateur sur le plan politique et social, Sedgewick était doté d’un sens aigu des responsabilités publiques : il occupa les postes de président du conseil d’administration du Canadian National Institute for the Blind, de conseiller auprès de l’Armée du salut, de président du conseil d’administration de la Central Neighbourhood House de Toronto et de responsable du service de littérature internationale de la League of Nations Society in Canada. Il fut élu deux fois à la présidence du University Club of Toronto et dirigea le Canadian Club de la ville en 1926. Ses passe-temps étaient le golf et la pêche.

En mars 1939, alors toujours président de la Commission du tarif, George Herbert Sedgewick eut une crise cardiaque au cours d’une réunion avec des représentants du gouvernement. Il mourut peu de temps après, chez lui à Ottawa, à l’âge de 61 ans. Il fut inhumé à Halifax, dans sa Nouvelle-Écosse natale.

C. Ian Kyer

Law Soc. of Upper Canada Arch. (Toronto), PF 189 (fonds Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP), 1-3 (lettre d’accord signée par Sedgewick), 2-1 (mémoires de J. B. Robinson).— Daily Mail and Empire, 17 déc. 1930.— Globe, 7 févr., 10 mai 1933.— Globe and Mail, 15 mars 1939.— Canada, Chambre des communes, Débats, 9 mai 1933 : 4749–4752.— Canada Gazette, 11 févr. 1933 : 1899.— Canadian who’s who, 1936–1937.— Jean Graham, « O upright judge ! Mr. Justice Sedgewick », Saturday Night, 7 janv. 1933 : 8.— C. I. Kyer, « The transformation of an establishment firm : from Beatty Blackstock to Faskens, 1902–1915 », dans Essays in the history of Canadian law, D. H. Flaherty et al., édit. (10 vol. parus, [Toronto], 1981–    ), 7 (Inside the law : Canadian law firms in historical perspective, Carol Wilton, édit., 1996), 161–206.— S. C. Parker, The book of St. Andrew’s : a short history of St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church, Toronto (Toronto, 1930).— Jennie Reid, Musquodoboit pioneers : a record of seventy families, their homesteads and genealogies, 1780–1980 (2 vol., [N.-É.], 1980), 2 : 654–658 (aussi accessible en ligne à www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~canns/musq2.html).— Who’s who in Canada, 1934–1935.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

C. Ian Kyer, « SEDGEWICK, GEORGE HERBERT », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 nov. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/sedgewick_george_herbert_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/sedgewick_george_herbert_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   C. Ian Kyer
Titre de l'article:   SEDGEWICK, GEORGE HERBERT
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   20 novembre 2017