DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MOOR, WILLIAM, HBC sailor, explorer; m. 1757 to Mary Bradley at Greatham, Co. Durham, England; d. there 1765.

William Moor was a County Durham man who served on Hudson’s Bay Company ships on their annual voyages to the bay from about 1730 to 1741. Under the guidance of his cousin, Christopher Middleton, he advanced from ship’s boy to first mate on vessels in Middleton’s command. With his cousin he left the company’s employ in 1741, and he was given the command of the 150-ton converted collier, Discovery, which the admiralty had purchased to accompany Middleton in the Furnace on an expedition to search for the northwest passage. On the voyage Moor played a secondary role, and his terse and uninformative journal adds little to the fuller record kept by Middleton. The poor quality of the crew recruited in London, and sickness during the expedition’s wintering at Prince of Wales Fort (Churchill, Man.) [see Thompson], hampered Moor in his efforts to assist Middleton in the survey of the shoreline and tides of the west side of Hudson Bay. As he lamented in his journal in early July 1742, “we cannot spare time to Sound . . . What with Making and Shortng Sail for the Furnace, and then being so badly Mann’d.” The Discovery usually kept close company with the Furnace, and as the ships left for home in mid-August 1742 Moor firmly observed in his journal, “There is no Passage into the other Ocean between Churchill and the Latitd 67°N.”

Moor was not at first involved in the attack on Middleton launched by Arthur Dobbs and some of the Furnace’s crew after their return to England. In correspondence with Middleton in May and June 1743 he denied that there was a passage through the Wager, a large inlet discovered by the expedition the previous July, and was sceptical about the “Cock-and-Bull Story” to that effect being put about by Middleton’s accusers. But by 1745 Moor was publicly repeating the arguments of Dobbs on this issue, and the reason for his belated change of allegiance is not hard to find. In March 1744 Dobbs had written that Moor was to be given command of the proposed private discovery expedition to Hudson Bay as he was “very sober and carefull and will also be an Adventurer [subscriber] himself.” This expedition, financed by £100 shares, sailed in May 1746 to discover the northwest passage, claim the £20,000 reward offered by an act of parliament the previous year, and pave the way for a dramatic expansion of British trade in North America and the Pacific. Moor commanded the Dobbs Galley; another former HBC seaman, Francis Smith, the smaller California.

The expedition spent a month struggling through the ice of Hudson Strait, and explored for only a few days before deciding to winter at the HBC post at York Factory (Man.). The winter was notable for acerbic disputes between Moor and Smith, carefully recorded by the factor James Isham, and for outbreaks of scurvy which killed seven of the crew and weakened many others. The panic that accompanied a fire on the Dobbs Galley on the outward voyage, the quarrels at York between the officers of the two ships, and the hard drinking which contributed to the attacks of scurvy, say little for Moor’s competence as a commander; and the explorations of the 1747 summer season confirm the impression that weakness and uncertainty afflicted the whole expedition. The two ships usually explored independently, with little apparent attempt by Moor to coordinate the surveys made. Most of the close coastal work was carried out by the Resolution, the longboat of the Dobbs Galley which had been converted into a small schooner, and by the California’s longboat. Separately or in company with each other they explored most of the west coast of the bay between latitudes 61°N and 65°N, discovered Chesterfield Inlet but did not follow it to its end, and pushed up the Wager until 150 miles from the entrance “we had the Mortification to see clearly, that our hitherto imagined Strait ended in two small unnavigable Rivers. . . .” Amid confusion and dissension, with Moor facing a threat of mutiny, and one-third of his crew too ill to come on deck, the decision was taken to sail for home.

On the expedition’s return to England the organizing North West Committee expressed its dissatisfaction with Moor’s conduct, including his creditable reluctance to engage in illegal trade while at York. This frosty reception may explain the fact that Moor’s evidence before the parliamentary committee of 1749 inquiring into the trade of Hudson Bay did little to help Dobbs’ cause. In particular, he asserted that if a northwest passage existed it was farther north than he had once thought, and was perhaps unnavigable. There are no further references to Moor in HBC records or Dobbs’ papers. He appears to have retired at about this time to Greatham, where he married a local woman and where he died in 1765.

Glyndwr Williams

[There are references to Moor’s service with the company in HBC Arch., particularly in A.1/34. His log of the Discovery on the 1741–42 voyage is in PRO, Adm. 51/290, pt.ix. References to his role on the voyage and to his career in general are scattered throughout the voluminous pamphlet literature produced during the Middleton-Dobbs controversy (and listed in Williams, British search for the northwest passage) and among the Dobbs correspondence in Castle Ward (Downpatrick, N.I), Castle Ward papers, VI. No log kept by Moor has been found for the 1746–47 expedition, but Henry Ellis, Dobbs’ agent on board the Dobbs Galley, published A voyage to Hudson’s-Bay by the Dobbs Galley and California, in the years 1746 and 1747, for discovering a north west passage . . . (London, 1748). More critical references to Moor are to be found in the rival version by the “Clerk of the California” [Charles Swaine (T. S. Drage)], An account of a voyage for the discovery of a north-west passage . . . (2v., London, 1748–49), and in Isham’s notes printed in HBRS, XII (Rich and Johnson). Moor’s evidence before the 1749 parliamentary committee is in G.B., Parl., Report from the committee on Hudson’s Bay, 228–29. Some details of his last years are in John Brewster, The parochial history and antiquities of Stockton upon Tees . . . (2nd ed., London, 1829). A short biographical sketch of Moor is given in HBRS, XII (Rich and Johnson), 334–36, and Moor’s part in the discovery voyages is discussed in Williams, British search for the northwest passage.  g.w.]

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Glyndwr Williams, “MOOR, WILLIAM,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 3, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 17, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/moor_william_3E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/moor_william_3E.html
Author of Article: Glyndwr Williams
Title of Article: MOOR, WILLIAM
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 3
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1974
Year of revision: 1974
Access Date: September 17, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

MOOR, WILLIAM, marin de la Hudson’s Bay Company, explorateur ; il épousa Mary Bradley à Greatham, comté de Durham, Angleterre en 1757 ; décédé au même endroit en 1765.

William Moor était originaire du comté de Durham ; de 1730 environ à 1741, il navigua sur les vaisseaux de la Hudson’s Bay Company qui effectuaient annuellement des voyages à la baie d’Hudson. Sous la direction de son cousin, Christopher Middleton, Moor passa de mousse à second sur le bâtiment que celui-ci commandait. Il quitta le service de la compagnie en même temps que son cousin, en 1741, et il prit le commandement d’un charbonnier transformé, le Discovery, de 150 tonneaux, dont l’amirauté avait fait l’acquisition pour l’envoyer avec le Furnace sous les ordres de Middleton, dans une expédition qui avait pour but de rechercher le passage du Nord-Ouest. Au cours de ce voyage, Moor joua un rôle sans grande importance, et le style concis et pauvre en information de son journal de bord n’ajoute à peu près rien au journal beaucoup plus détaillé de Middleton. La piètre qualité de l’équipage recruté à Londres et la maladie qui sévit pendant que l’expédition hivernait au fort Prince of Wales (Churchill, Man.) [V. Thompson], gênèrent les efforts de Moor pour assister Middleton dans l’exploration du littoral et des marées du côté ouest de la baie d’Hudson, ce dont il se plaignit dans son journal, au début de juillet 1742 : « Il ne nous reste pas de temps pour effectuer des sondages [...]. Non seulement il nous faut manœuvrer pour rester en vue du Furnace mais nous sommes aussi bien mal équipés. » Le Discovery naviguait généralement de concert avec le Furnace et lorsque les vaisseaux partirent pour l’Angleterre, à la mi-août 1742, Moor, fermement convaincu, nota dans son journal : « Il n’y a pas de passage pour pénétrer dans l’autre océan entre le fort Churchill et le 67° de latitude nord. »

Au début, Moor ne fut pas impliqué dans les accusations qu’Arthur Dobbs et certains membres de l’équipage du Furnace portèrent contre Middleton à son retour en Angleterre. En mai et juin 1743, dans des lettres à Middleton, il nia l’existence d’un passage dans la Wager, cette grande baie que l’expédition avait découverte en juillet de l’année précédente, et il montrait beaucoup de scepticisme devant l’ « histoire à dormir debout » qu’avaient inventée les accusateurs de Middleton. Néanmoins en 1745 Moor en était venu à reprendre publiquement les arguments de Dobbs à ce sujet et la raison de ce tardif changement d’allégeance est facile à deviner. En mars 1744, Dobbs avait écrit qu’on avait décidé de confier à Moor le commandement d’un voyage d’exploration de la baie d’Hudson, qu’à titre privé on projetait d’organiser, et ce parce qu’il était « très sobre et prudent et que lui-même serait aussi un Aventurier [actionnaire] ». Cette expédition financée par des actions de £100, partit en mai 1746 à la recherche d’un passage au nord-ouest, afin de pouvoir revendiquer la récompense de £20 000 offerte par décret gouvernemental l’année précédente et ouvrir la voie à une spectaculaire expansion du commerce anglais en Amérique du Nord et dans le Pacifique. Moor commandait le Dobbs Galley et un autre ancien marin de la Hudson’s Bay Company, Francis Smith, avait la direction du vaisseau plus petit, le California.

Il fallut un mois à l’expédition pour se frayer un chemin à travers les glaces du détroit d’Hudson et on ne put consacrer que quelques jours à l’exploration ; on décida alors d’hiverner au poste de la Hudson’s Bay Company à York (York Factory, Man.). La saison d’hivernement fut marquée par des disputes acerbes entre Moor et Smith, disputes que James Isham, agent du poste, consigna soigneusement ; une épidémie de scorbut fit sept victimes parmi l’équipage et en affaiblit un bon nombre. La panique qui s’était emparée de l’équipage lors d’un incendie sur le Dobbs Galley à l’aller, les querelles entre les officiers des deux vaisseaux à York, la forte consommation d’alcool, une des causes de l’épidémie de scorbut, témoignent assez mal de la compétence de Moor comme commandant ; les explorations de l’été de 1747 ne font que confirmer l’impression de faiblesse et d’indécision qui marqua l’ensemble de l’expédition. D’une façon générale, les deux bâtiments se livraient à l’exploration chacun de son côté et Moor ne semble pas avoir cherché à coordonner les recherches. La plus grande partie du travail le long du littoral était effectué par le Resolution, chaloupe du Dobbs Galley convertie en petite goélette, et par la chaloupe du California. Isolément ou ensemble, les bateaux explorèrent presque tout le littoral ouest de la baie entre les latitudes 61° et 65° N ; il découvrirent l’inlet de Chesterfield mais ne le suivirent pas jusqu’au fond ; ils remontèrent la baie de Wager sur 150 milles, depuis son entrée ; ils eurent « la déconvenue de voir nettement que ce qu’on avait cru être un détroit se terminait par deux rivières impropres à la navigation ». Dans un climat de confusion et de dissension, Moor étant aux prises avec la menace d’une mutinerie et un tiers de l’équipage étant trop malade pour assurer le service, on prit la décision de retourner au pays.

Lorsque l’expédition rentra en Angleterre, le North West Committee qui avait organisé l’expédition blâma la conduite de Moor, même sa louable répugnance à se livrer au commerce illégal pendant qu’il était au fort York. La réception glaciale qu’on avait réservée à Moor peut contribuer à expliquer pourquoi son témoignage devant le comité parlementaire de 1749 qui enquêtait sur le commerce à la baie d’Hudson ne fit rien pour aider la cause de Dobbs. Il affirma en particulier que si le passage du Nord-Ouest existait réellement, il était beaucoup plus au nord qu’on ne l’avait d’abord cru et qu’il était peut-être infranchissable. Par après, il n’est plus fait mention de Moor dans les dossiers de la Hudson’s Bay Company, ni dans les papiers de Dobbs. Il semble que vers cette époque il se soit retiré à Greatham, où il épousa une femme de l’endroit et où il mourut en 1765.

Glyndwr Williams

Les HBC Archives contiennent des renseignements sur les états de service de Moor dans la compagnie, en particulier sous la cote A. 1/34. Son journal de bord du Discovery lors du voyage de 1741–1742 est conservé aux PRO, Adm. 51/290, pt. ix. Des mentions ayant trait à son rôle dans ce voyage et à sa carrière en général se retrouvent, çà et là, tout au long des nombreuses brochures parues pendant la controverse Middleton-Dobbs (une liste en est dressée dans Williams, British search for the northwest passage, et aussi dans la correspondance de Dobbs, à Castle Ward (Downpatrick, Irlande du Nord), Castle Ward papers, VI. On n’a pas trouvé le journal de bord de Moor lors de l’expédition de 1746–1747, mais Henry Ellis, agent de Dobbs sur le Dobbs Galley a publié A voyage to Hudsons-Bay by the Dobbs Galley and California, in the years 1746 and 1747, for discovering a north west passage [...] (Londres, 1748). Des références d’un caractère plus sévère à l’endroit de Moor se trouvent dans la version rivale donnée par le « commis du California » [Charles Swaine (T. S. Drage)], An account of a voyage for the discovery of a north-west passage [...] (2 vol., Londres, 1748–1749), et dans les notes d’Isham publiées dans HBRS, XII (Rich et Johnson). La déposition de Moor devant le comité parlementaire est publiée dans Report from the committee on Hudsons Bay, 228s. On trouve des renseignements sur ses dernières années dans John Brewster, The parochial history and antiquities of Stockton upon Tees [...] (2e éd., Londres, 1829). Une courte biographie de Moor est publiée dans HBRS, XII (Rich et Johnson), 334–336, et la participation de Moor aux expéditions de découverte est discutée dans Williams, British search for the northwest passage.  [g. w.]

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Glyndwr Williams, « MOOR, WILLIAM », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 3, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 déc. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/moor_william_3F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/moor_william_3F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Glyndwr Williams
Titre de l'article:   MOOR, WILLIAM
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 3
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1974
Année de la révision:   1974
Date de consultation:   18 décembre 2014