DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

SALUSBURY (Salisbury), JOHN, member of the Nova Scotia Council; b. 1 Sept. 1707 at Bach-y-Graig, North Wales, son of Thomas and Lucy Salusbury; d. 18 Dec. 1762 at Offley Place, Hertfordshire, England.

John Salusbury was descended from a prominent Welsh family. He was educated at Whitchurch School (probably in Wales) and Trinity Hall, Cambridge, where he obtained the ma degree in 1728. For several years after his graduation he seems to have led a carefree life in England. Some time before 1737 he returned to Wales and became a captain in the militia, probably through the influence of his cousin, Sir Robert Cotton. He married Sir Robert’s sister, Hester, in 1739, and though she brought a small fortune to the marriage, Salusbury, through poor management of the family finances, was unable to keep himself out of debt. Finally, under the patronage of the Earl of Halifax, then head of the Board of Trade, he attempted to re-establish himself financially through a colonial venture. On 21 June 1749 Salusbury arrived at Chebucto (Halifax, N.S.) in the suite of Governor Edward Cornwallis* and was sworn in on 14 July as a member of the new council of Nova Scotia along with Paul Mascarene, Edward How, John Gorham, and others. As register and receiver of rents, at a salary of 20 shillings per day, he was responsible for parcelling out land in Halifax and its environs and supervising its allocation to settlers.

From the beginning of this venture, however, Salusbury had no interest in the eventual development of the settlement. Since he had come to Nova Scotia for personal reasons he began to look forward to returning to England from the time of his arrival. Having been raised in a comfortable and sophisticated social group and lacking the qualities of the pioneer he quickly became bored and unhappy with the style of life in the colony. He was further distressed by the prospect of a long separation from his wife and his daughter Hester (later Mrs Thrale, the friend and correspondent of Samuel Johnson), whom he desperately wanted to see again. He was constantly apprehensive about the Indians and French who threatened the settlement in its first year. On 5 April 1750 he joined an expedition under Charles Lawrence to Chignecto in search of French troops. He finally became so discontented, however, that he urged his wife and friends in England to seek his recall by Lord Halifax. Expecting it to come at any time he refused to go on the second Chignecto expedition in August. But no news came.

To add to his despair Salusbury had become jealous of his position in the settlement, for changes had been made in the nature of his work which had reduced his status. Some of his associates he openly distrusted; he quarrelled with others – especially the secretary, Hugh Davidson, whom he accused of using his office for personal gain. His entreaties to Governor Cornwallis were rewarded on 6 May 1751 when he was told he would be carrying the first dispatches of the year to England. His departure was deferred several times, however, until he was permitted to sail on 10 August.

In England Salusbury found his personal affairs unchanged. So with the encouragement of Lord Halifax he again set sail for Nova Scotia, arriving on 26 July 1752. This time there was a new governor, Peregrine Thomas Hopson, whom Salusbury hated and described in his journal as a “poor big man [who] hath only the appearance of what he ought to be.” Salusbury noted the increasing influence in the colony of the merchants, led by Joshua Mauger*, “a proud, troublesome, sorry rascal,” who “cares not what becomes of [the colony].” He also mentioned the open attacks by the merchants on the partiality of the justices, especially Charles Morris*, and warned that “the business of government can never go on if [the merchants] are always to be humoured.”

The functions of the register’s office were transferred to the secretary. In April 1753 Salusbury reported that he was “out of the Cabinet” and that the authorities were attempting to force him out of his appointment. In the summer of 1753 he was finally permitted to return to England, his personal affairs unimproved by his years abroad. Only by grants from his brother Thomas were his latter years made secure.

Ronald Rompkey

Corpus Christi Church (Bach-y-Graig, North Wales), Records. John Rylands Library (Manchester, Eng.), Eng. {{mss}}, 530–32, 615. PANS, RG 3, Minutes of Nova Scotia Council, 1749–53. Gentleman’s Magazine, 1762, p.601. [H. L. Thrale], Thraliana: the diary of Mrs Hester Lynch Thrale (later Mrs Piozzi), 1776–1809, ed. K. C. Balderston (2nd ed., 2v., Oxford, Eng., 1951). Alumni Cantabrigienses: a biographical list of all known students, graduates, and holders of office at the University of Cambridge, from the earliest times to 1900, comp. John and J. A. Venn (2pt., 10v., Cambridge, Eng., 1922–54), pt.i, IV, 7. J. L. Clifford, Hester Lynch Piozzi (Mrs Thrale) (Oxford, Eng., 1941). J. G. Adshead, “Hon. John Salusbury, 1707–62,” N.S. Hist. Soc. Coll., XXIX (1951), 1–21. T. B. Akins, “The first council,” N.S. Hist. Soc. Coll., II (1881), 17–30.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Ronald Rompkey, “SALUSBURY, JOHN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 3, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 16, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/salusbury_john_3E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/salusbury_john_3E.html
Author of Article: Ronald Rompkey
Title of Article: SALUSBURY, JOHN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 3
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1974
Year of revision: 1974
Access Date: September 16, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

SALUSBURY (Salisbury), JOHN, membre du Conseil de la Nouvelle-Écosse, né à Bach-y-Craig, Galles du Nord, le 1er septembre 1707, fils de Thomas et de Lucy Salusbury, décédé à Offley Place dans l'Hertfordshire, Angleterre, le 18 décembre 1762.

John Salusbury était issu d'une éminente famille galloise. Il fit ses études à Whitchurch School, probablement dans le pays de Galles, et à Trinity Hall, Cambridge, où il obtint sa maîtrise ès arts en 1728. Par la suite, pendant de nombreuses années, il semble avoir vécu dans l'insouciance en Angleterre. Un peu avant 1737, on le retrouve au pays de Galles où il est devenu capitaine de milice, probablement grâce à l'influence de son cousin, sir Robert Cotton. En février 1739 il épousa Hester, la sœur de sir Robert, et bien qu'elle apportât une petite fortune au mariage, Salusbury, en raison d'une mauvaise administration des finances familiales, fut incapable de se tenir à l'abri des dettes. Finalement, sous la protection du comte de Halifax, alors président du Board of Trade, il essaya de rétablir ses finances en tentant l'aventure aux colonies. Il arriva à Chibouctou (Halifax, N.-É.) le 21 juin 1749, faisant partie de la suite du gouverneur Edward Cornwallis* et, le 14 juillet, fut assermenté comme membre du nouveau Conseil de la Nouvelle-Écosse en même temps que Paul Mascarene, Edward How, John Gorham et d'autres. En tant que greffier et receveur des rentes, au salaire quotidien de 20 shillings, il devait assurer le partage des terres à Halifax et dans les environs et surveiller la distribution de celles-ci aux colons.

Cependant, Salusbury n'avait, depuis son arrivée, montré aucun intérêt pour le développement éventuel de l'établissement. Venu en Nouvelle-Écosse pour des raisons personnelles, il envisageait, dès les débuts, de retourner en Angleterre. Le mode de vie des colons eut tôt fait d'ennuyer et de rendre malheureux cet homme issu d'un milieu mondain et aisé, qui ne possédait aucune des qualités du pionnier. La perspective d'être longtemps séparé de sa femme et de sa fille Hester (qui allait devenir Mme Thrale, amie et correspondante de Samuel Johnson) qu'il voulait retrouver à tout prix, attristait également Salusbury. Il vivait dans la crainte constante des Indiens et des Français qui menaçaient l'établissement en sa première année d'existence. Le 5 avril 1750, il se joignit à une expédition dirigée par Charles Lawrence qui partit pour Chignectou à la recherche de troupes françaises. Cependant, mécontent à l'excès, Salusbury incita finalement sa femme et ses amis demeurés en Angleterre d'obtenir de lord Halifax son retour au pays. Comme la réponse pouvait lui parvenir d'un moment à l'autre, il refusa de prendre part à la seconde expédition de Chignectou en août. Mais il ne reçut aucune nouvelle.

Pour mettre le comble à son désespoir, Salusbury en était venu à éprouver du ressentiment face à sa position dans la colonie, puisque des modifications apportées à la nature de son travail avaient diminué son statut. Il ne cachait pas sa méfiance à l'égard de certains de ses associés, se querellait avec d'autres, notamment le secrétaire, Hugh Davidson, qu'il accusait d'utiliser son poste pour réaliser des bénéfices personnels. Ses instances auprès du gouverneur Cornwallis furent récompensées le 6 mai 1751 lorsqu'on lui annonça qu'il porterait les premières dépêches de l'année en Angleterre. Cependant, son départ, plusieurs fois retardé, ne fut autorisé que le 10 août.

En Angleterre, Salusbury trouva ses affaires dans le même état. C'est pourquoi, encouragé par lord Halifax, il s'embarqua de nouveau pour la Nouvelle-Écosse où il arriva le 26 juillet 1752. Il s'y trouvait un nouveau gouverneur, Peregrine Thomas Hopson, que Salusbury prit en aversion, le décrivant dans son journal comme « un pauvre grand personnage [qui] n'avait que l'apparence de ce qu'il aurait dû être ». Salusbury souligna l'influence grandissante dans la colonie des marchands, dirigés par Joshua Mauger*, « un fier et misérable escroc, fauteur de troubles, [qui] se souciait peu du sort de [la colonie] ». Il mentionna également les critiques ouvertes des marchands concernant la partialité des juges, notamment de Charles Morris*, et signala que « les affaires du gouvernement ne sauraient se maintenir si on devait constamment céder aux caprices » des marchands.

Ses fonctions de greffier furent transférées au secrétaire. En avril 1753, Salusbury déclara qu'il était « exclu du Cabinet » et que les autorités tentaient de le forcer à abandonner son poste. On lui permit finalement de regagner l'Angleterre à l'été de 1753 ; ses années d'absence n'avaient pas amélioré l'état de ses affaires : il dut compter sur les dons de son frère Thomas pour assurer la sécurité de ses dernières années.

Ronald Rompkey

Corpus Christi Church (Bach-y-Craig, North Wales), Records.— John Rylands Library (Manchester, Angl.), Eng. mss, 530–532, 615.— PANS, RG 3, Minutes of Nova Scotia Council, 1749–1753.— Gentleman's Magazine, 1762, 601.— Thraliana : the diary of Mrs Hester Lynch Thrale (later Mrs Piozzi) 17761809, K. C. Balderston, édit. (2e éd., 2 vol., Oxford, Angl., 1951).— Alumni Cantabrigienses : a biographical list of all known students, graduates, and holders of office at the University of Cambridge, from the earliest times to 1900, John et J. A. Venn, comp. (2 parties, 10 vol., Cambridge, Angl., 1922–1954), partie i, IV : 7.— J. L. Clifford, Hester Lynch Piozzi (Mrs Thrale) (Oxford, Angl., 1941).— J. G. Adshead, Hon. John Salusbury, 1707–62, Coll. of the N.SHist. Soc. XXIX (1951) : 1–21.— T. B. Akins, The first council, Coll. of the N.SHist. Soc., II (1881) : 17–30.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Ronald Rompkey, « SALUSBURY, JOHN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 3, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 19 avril 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/salusbury_john_3F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/salusbury_john_3F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Ronald Rompkey
Titre de l'article:   SALUSBURY, JOHN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 3
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1974
Année de la révision:   1974
Date de consultation:   19 avril 2014