DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Original title:  Photograph C. W. Bunting, Montreal, QC, 1882 Notman & Sandham May 17, 1882, 19th century Silver salts on paper mounted on paper - Albumen process 15 x 10 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-65212.1 © McCord Museum Keywords:  Photograph (77678)

Source: Link

BUNTING, CHRISTOPHER WILLIAM, printer, businessman, journalist, and politician; b. 11 Sept. 1837 in Amigan, County Limerick (Republic of Ireland), son of William Bunting and Jane Crowe; m. 5 Nov. 1868 Mary Elizabeth Ellis, and they had five sons and a daughter; d. 14 Jan. 1896 in Toronto.

In 1850 Christopher William Bunting, his sister, and their widowed mother immigrated to Canada and settled in Toronto. Young Bunting had received schooling in Ireland, and in Toronto he attended St James’ parish school; his religious training was Methodist and Anglican. At about 14 he became a compositor with the Globe, edited by George Brown*. He served as foreman of the mechanical department and did some local reporting before leaving the journal in 1866. For the next 11 years he pursued a commercial career in wholesale groceries, first as a financial manager of John Smith and Company, next as a junior partner in John Boyd and Company, and then as a partner of Henry W. Bailey. In 1873 he moved to Clifton (Niagara Falls), where Bailey and Bunting specialized in importing sugar.

It is not certain when Bunting first made the acquaintance of fellow Irishman John Riordon*, a St Catharines paper-maker and millionaire, but in 1877 they brought off a coup by exercising Riordon’s chattel-mortgage rights over the Toronto Mail, hitherto a Conservative party organ. Riordon, with Bunting as junior associate, secured control of the Mail for practically nothing and Bunting was appointed managing director of the reorganized company. Riordon and Bunting agreed to continue running the newspaper as a Conservative journal, and Bunting even became a loyal and active organizer for the party. The opportunity provided him by the take-over, however, was to turn the Mail into a thriving enterprise.

Bunting employed new capital supplied by Riordon to challenge the dominant position of the Globe. Over time he hired talented young staffers to enliven the paper’s columns, among them Kathleen Watkins (Blake*), Philip Dansken Ross*, and Edmund Ernest Sheppard*. Though Bunting wrote editorials infrequently, he always maintained a close supervision over the news and editorial departments. He extended the news service. Together with William James Douglas*, he also reorganized the business departments and purchased new presses. By 1881, when a new building was constructed, Bunting’s innovations had done their work: the Toronto Daily Mail achieved parity of circulation with the Globe.

On the political side, Martin Joseph Griffin* (editor between 1881 and 1885) sustained the rigorously partisan editorial reputation of the Mail while Bunting cemented his ties to Sir John A. Macdonald by sitting as the Conservative mp for Welland from 1878 to 1882. In the latter year Bunting lost to Liberal leader Edward Blake* in West Durham. Macdonald sought, unsuccessfully, to secure him a seat in British Columbia. Bunting had emerged as one of the prime minister’s important advisers.

By 1882, however, his political priority had shifted to the defeat of Ontario’s Liberal premier, Oliver Mowat*. After the Liberals were returned in 1883 with a slim majority, Bunting explored the possibilities of luring away “loose fish” from the Liberal caucus. This was a dangerous strategy, for some of his indiscreet associates implicated Bunting in explicit offers of money. When this “bribery plot” was exposed in the legislature on 17 March 1884, Bunting faced the crisis of his career. His involvement might constitute criminal conspiracy and contempt of the legislature. He left the country in May for two months to avoid testifying before a judicial inquiry. In January 1885 it reported in the majority that the alleged conspiracy had existed. The minority report argued on technicalities that no conclusions were possible, and thus reduced the danger of legislative censure faced by Bunting. In criminal proceedings which concluded in April 1885, Bunting and his co-conspirators were found not guilty.

As early as 1883 Bunting had become convinced that to defeat Mowat it would be necessary for the Mail to appeal to the sentiments of the Anglo-Protestant majority, even at the expense of alienating Roman Catholic Conservatives. The aftermath of the North-West rebellion of 1885 [see Louis Riel*] oreover, reinforced Bunting’s conviction that not only provincial but national politics were being perverted by undue French, Catholic, and clerical influence. The shift of his anti-Catholic focus to include national politics represented a crisis for both the Mail and the Conservative party.

To make this Anglo-Protestant appeal Bunting had turned (probably in the fall of 1884) to a new editor, the gifted Edward Farrer*, on the recommendation of mp D’Alton McCarthy. For all the embarrassment the Mail caused Macdonald through 1886, Bunting initially remained loyal to the Conservative party. Whatever the motivations of Farrer or Charles Riordon*, his new senior associate since 1882, Bunting appears to have seen the “Protestant Horse” as the best policy for Conservatism in Ontario. At the same time this uncompromising anti-Catholicism promoted independence from the Conservative party which in turn enhanced the stature and influence of the Mail throughout the province. Bunting was seeking much the same thing as McCarthy: a realignment of the Conservative party around an Anglo-Protestant ascendancy. Macdonald continued to exhort Bunting to desist, but in the fall of 1886 the prime minister merely repudiated the views of the Mail on Catholic influence. Only in the wake of the Ontario election in December, which Mowat won with a large majority, did Macdonald resolve that there must be a public break. At his request the Mail formally declared its independence on 8 Jan. 1887.

The Mail then began to elaborate what its independence meant. To its strident calls to resist French and Catholic influence, the paper added support for commercial union with the United States. Along with other reform panaceas, the Mail endorsed prohibition of alcohol. In the summer of 1888 it seized upon the Quebec government’s Jesuits’ Estates Act [see Honoré Mercier] as a target for its concerns over French and Catholic “aggression.” Again it sought to lead public opinion in Ontario towards an assertion of Anglo-Protestant values and championed the Equal Rights Association, formed in Toronto in June 1889, as the agency for transforming Ontario politics [see Daniel James Macdonnell]. Other papers had experimented in editorial independence, but none had sustained its position so forcefully on the editorial page as did the Mail through Farrer. According to American critic Walter Blackburn Harte in 1891, Bunting had created the only “quality” morning daily in Canada to practise “independence.”

Not everything went according to the Mail’s script. Bunting found independence as frustrating as old party ties. In 1886 the Mail building had experienced a costly fire. The following year the Conservatives established a new official organ, the Empire, which undercut the Mail’s profits. Moreover, Bunting’s freedom of managerial action seems to have become more circumscribed under Charles Riordon. In 1889 the paper dropped commercial union almost as suddenly as it had picked it up in 1887. In the provincial election of 1890 Conservative leader William Ralph Meredith* tilted party rhetoric in the direction demanded by the independent Mail, but again Bunting had to watch as Mowat’s Liberals won. Then, in the summer of 1890, Farrer left for the Globe. By the federal election of March 1891 the opportunities to effect an electoral revolution in Canadian politics along the lines of Anglo-Protestant ascendancy had slipped away.

That fall Bunting initiated negotiations to reach an accommodation with the Conservative government in Ottawa and these were renewed in 1893. They culminated in another business triumph for Bunting. On 7 Feb. 1895 he secured the purchase of the Empire, possibly for as little as $30,000. Retaining control of the renamed Daily Mail and Empire, Riordon and Bunting rationalized the morning market for newspapers in Toronto and formed a new, official Conservative journal in a single stroke.

In a sense Bunting was back where he had started in 1877. He and his young editor, Arthur Frederick Wallis, were returning to party journalism. Yet this seeming reversion masked subtle changes. The Mail and Empire sought to interpret news for the Conservative party’s benefit no doubt, but it continued to insist on standards established during the Mail’s days of independence: an effort at comprehensive coverage and dispassionate editorial comment. It was no longer sufficient for a quality daily to be an organ parroting party leaders. Bunting, however, got no opportunity to supervise this development. By the fall of 1895 he was quite ill. He died of Bright’s disease at his Queen’s Park residence at the age of 58, less than a year after his brilliant merger of the Mail and the Empire.

Bunting is important for his failure to achieve a truly independent role as a journalist. His career reflects the inability of the last generation of Victorian journalists to discover a professional strategy wholly outside party influence. Notably, Bunting’s departure into independent journalism did not even address the issue of the professional rights and responsibilities for working journalists, by recognizing their role in defining the news or by creating mechanisms for them to exercise some freedom from their publishers. Still, Globe editor John Stephen Willison* observed in 1897, Bunting was “quick to know the public temper and able always to make a great journal respected and influential.” This was a start. The conscious effort to attract new audiences through a reputation for editorial integrity was part of a process which eventually gave newspapers, oriented to mass markets and the huge advertising revenues that went with them, the basis for a more authentic independence. In his brief experiment in such journalism, however abortive and however limited in scope, Bunting was a pioneer who helped to transform daily journalism into a profession. In his premature death he became a symbol for journalist ideals not yet realized.

Brian P. N. Beaven

NA, MG 26, A. UWOL, Regional Coll., Fred Landon papers, newspaper hist. scrapbooks, 2: 74. J. T. Clark, “The daily newspaper,” Canadian Magazine, 7 (May–October 1896): 101–4. W. B. Harte, “Canadian journalists and journalism,” New England Magazine (Boston), new ser., 5 (1891–92): 411–41. Ont., Legislature, Journals, 1884: 149–51, 154–57, 160, 198–99; Sessional papers, 1885, no.9. Daily Mail and Empire, 14 Jan. 1896. Globe, 14 Jan. 1896. Grip (Toronto), 1873–94. Mail (Toronto), 1877–80, esp. 23 Nov. 1877. Toronto Daily Mail, 1880–89, esp. 2 Aug. 1880, 14 Jan., 20 Sept. 1886, 8 Jan. 1887, 16 Feb. 1889. The Canadian newspaper directory (Montreal), 1892, 1899. CPC, 1879–81, 1883. Prominent men of Canada . . . , ed. G. M. Adam (Toronto, 1892), 222–25. B. P. N. Beaven, “A last hurrah: studies in Liberal party development and ideology in Ontario, 1875–1893” (phd thesis, Univ. of Toronto, 1982). C. R. W. Biggar, Sir Oliver Mowat . . . , a biographical sketch (2v., Toronto, 1905), 1. George Carruthers, Paper-making (Toronto, 1947), 499–501, 510–12. H. [W.] Charlesworth, Candid chronicles: leaves from the note book of a Canadian journalist (Toronto, 1925); More candid chronicles: further leaves from the note book of a Canadian journalist (Toronto, 1928). A history of Canadian journalism . . . (2v., Toronto, 1908–59), [1]. J. C. Hopkins, “Toronto; an historical sketch,” Toronto, Board of Trade, “Souvenir”, 3–113. J. E. Middleton and Fred Landon, The province of Ontario: a history, 1615–1927 (5v., Toronto, [1927–28]), 1: 409. C. P. Mulvany, Toronto: past and present; a handbook of the city (Toronto, 1884; repr. 1970), 192. Rutherford, Victorian authority. G. R. Tennant, “The policy of the Mail, 1882–1892” (ma thesis, Univ. of Toronto, 1946). Waite, Man from Halifax.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Brian P. N. Beaven, “BUNTING, CHRISTOPHER WILLIAM,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 12, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 20, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bunting_christopher_william_12E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bunting_christopher_william_12E.html
Author of Article: Brian P. N. Beaven
Title of Article: BUNTING, CHRISTOPHER WILLIAM
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 12
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1990
Year of revision: 1990
Access Date: December 20, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Titre original :  Photograph C. W. Bunting, Montreal, QC, 1882 Notman & Sandham May 17, 1882, 19th century Silver salts on paper mounted on paper - Albumen process 15 x 10 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-65212.1 © McCord Museum Keywords:  Photograph (77678)

Provenance : Lien

BUNTING, CHRISTOPHER WILLIAM, imprimeur, homme d’affaires, journaliste et homme politique, né le 11 septembre 1837 à Amigan, comté de Limerick (république d’Irlande), fils de William Bunting et de Jane Crowe ; le 5 novembre 1868, il épousa Mary Elizabeth Ellis, et ils eurent cinq fils et une fille ; décédé le 14 janvier 1896 à Toronto.

En 1850, Christopher William Bunting, sa sœur et leur mère, qui était veuve, immigrèrent au Canada et se fixèrent à Toronto. Bunting avait fait quelques études en Irlande et, à Toronto, il fréquenta l’école de la paroisse St James ; sa formation religieuse fut méthodiste et anglicane. Vers l’âge de 14 ans, il devint typographe au Globe, dont George Brown* était le rédacteur en chef. Il fut prote à l’atelier de mécanique et fit quelques reportages locaux avant de quitter le journal en 1866. Puis, pendant 11 ans, il travailla dans l’alimentation de gros ; il fut d’abord directeur financier de la John Smith and Company, ensuite associé en second de la John Boyd and Company, et enfin associé de Henry W. Bailey. En 1873, il s’installa à Clifton (Niagara Falls), où la Bailey and Bunting se spécialisa dans l’importation du sucre.

On ignore à quel moment exactement Bunting fit la connaissance de l’Irlandais John Riordon*, fabricant de papier et millionnaire de St Catharines, mais en 1877 Riordon réalisa un coup de force avec lui en exerçant ses droits d’hypothèque mobilière contre le Mail de Toronto, organe du parti conservateur. Avec Bunting comme associé en second, Riordon avait mis la main sur le Mail pour une somme dérisoire et, une fois la compagnie réorganisée, Bunting en devint le gérant. Tous deux convinrent de laisser au journal s’on étiquette conservatrice, et Bunting devint même un organisateur loyal et actif du parti. Cependant, la reprise du Mail lui offrait l’occasion de transformer le journal en une entreprise florissante.

Bunting se servit des nouveaux capitaux investis par Riordon pour défier la position dominante du Globe. Avec le temps, il embaucha pour animer les chroniques du journal de jeunes journalistes talentueux, dont Kathleen Watkins [Blake*], Philip Dansken Ross* et Edmund Ernest Sheppard*. Lui-même écrivait très peu d’éditoriaux, mais il exerçait toujours une supervision étroite sur le service de l’information, qu’il agrandit, et sur celui de la rédaction. Avec William James Douglas*, il réorganisa les services commerciaux et acheta de nouvelles presses. Dès 1881, année de la construction d’un nouvel édifice, les innovations de Bunting portaient fruits : le tirage du Mail égalait celui du Globe.

Du côté politique, Martin Joseph Griffin* (rédacteur en chef de 1881 à 1885) veillait à ce que le journal continue de donner une information rigoureusement partisane, tandis que Bunting cimentait ses liens avec sir John Alexander Macdonald : il siégea en effet aux Communes à titre de député conservateur de la circonscription de Welland de 1878 à 1882. Cette année-là, il perdit dans West Durham au profit du chef du parti libéral Edward Blake*. Macdonald tenta, sans succès, de lui assurer un siège en Colombie-Britannique. Bunting était devenu l’un des grands conseillers du premier ministre.

Toutefois, dès 1882, la priorité politique de Bunting fut de provoquer la défaite du premier ministre libéral de l’Ontario, Oliver Mowat*. Comme les libéraux avaient été réélus par une faible majorité en 1883, il étudia les possibilités d’attirer les indécis hors du caucus libéral. C’était une stratégie dangereuse, car quelques-uns de ses associés, imprudents, commirent la maladresse de l’impliquer dans des offres explicites de pots-de-vin. Quand, le 17 mars 1884, ce « complot de corruption » fut mis au jour à l’Assemblée législative, Bunting fit face à la crise de sa carrière. Il risquait d’être inculpé de conspiration criminelle et de mépris de l’autorité de l’Assemblée. En mai, il quitta le pays pour deux mois afin d’éviter de témoigner à l’enquête judiciaire. En janvier 1885, un rapport majoritaire conclut qu’il y avait bien eu complot. Par contre, un rapport minoritaire affirmait, en s’appuyant sur des questions de forme, qu’il était impossible de tirer des conclusions, ce qui réduisait le risque pour Bunting d’être blâmé par l’Assemblée. Des poursuites criminelles, qui se terminèrent en avril 1885, innocentèrent Bunting et ses acolytes.

Dès 1883, Bunting avait acquis la conviction que pour battre Mowat il fallait que le Mail en appelle aux sentiments de la majorité anglo-protestante, au risque d’éloigner les conservateurs catholiques. Les suites de la rébellion du Nord-Ouest, en 1885 [V. Louis Riel*], ne firent que le persuader davantage que l’abus d’influence des francophones, des catholiques et du clergé corrompait la politique, non seulement provinciale mais nationale. En choisissant de combattre les catholiques de tout le pays, il précipita le Mail et le parti conservateur dans une crise.

Pour mobiliser les Anglo-protestants, Bunting avait choisi (probablement à l’automne de 1884), sur la recommandation du député fédéral D’Alton McCarthy, un nouveau rédacteur en chef fort compétent, Edward Farrer*. Malgré tout l’embarras que le Mail causa à Macdonald jusqu’en 1886, Bunting demeura d’abord fidèle au parti conservateur. Quelles qu’aient été les motivations de Farrer ou de Charles Riordon*, son nouvel associé principal depuis 1882, il semble que Bunting ait considéré l’appel aux protestants comme la stratégie la plus susceptible de mener les conservateurs à la victoire en Ontario. En même temps, cet anticatholicisme intransigeant favorisait l’indépendance à l’égard du parti conservateur, ce qui, par ricochet, augmentait l’importance et l’influence du Mail dans toute la province. Bunting visait un objectif très semblable à celui de McCarthy : un regroupement du parti conservateur autour d’une classe dirigeante anglo-protestante. Macdonald continuait de l’exhorter à abandonner la partie, puis à l’automne de 1886 il se contenta de répudier les opinions du Mail sur l’influence des catholiques. Ce n’est qu’après les élections ontariennes de décembre remportées haut la main par Mowat, que Macdonald conclut à la nécessité d’une rupture publique. À sa demande, le Mail se proclama indépendant le 8 janvier 1887.

Le journal entreprit ensuite de définir ce que son indépendance signifiait. Tout en continuant de prôner, à grands cris, la résistance à l’influence des francophones et des catholiques, il donna son appui à une union commerciale avec les États-Unis. Il soutint la prohibition de l’alcool, entre autres panacées réformistes. Pendant l’été de 1888, il profita de l’adoption, par le gouvernement de Québec, de l’Acte relatif au règlement de la question des biens des jésuites [V. Honoré Mercier] pour manifester son inquiétude au sujet de l’« agression » française et catholique. Encore une fois, il tentait d’amener l’opinion ontarienne à affirmer les valeurs anglo-protestantes et prônait l’Equal Rights Association, fondée à Toronto en juin 1889, comme agent du changement de la politique en Ontario [V. Daniel James Macdonnell]. D’autres journaux avaient déjà tenté de ne pas se laisser dicter leurs opinions par un parti, mais aucun n’avait soutenu, dans sa page éditoriale, une position aussi ferme que le Mail sous la direction de Farrer. En 1891, le critique américain Walter Blackburn Harte émit l’avis que Bunting avait créé, au Canada, le seul journal du matin « de qualité » qui pratiquait l’« indépendance ».

Cependant, tout ne se passait pas comme le voulait le Mail, et Bunting trouvait l’indépendance aussi contraignante que l’affiliation à un parti. En 1886, l’édifice du journal avait subi un incendie coûteux. L’année suivante, les conservateurs se donnèrent un nouveau journal officiel, l’Empire, qui réduisit les profits du Mail. En outre, il semble que Charles Riordon ait laissé moins de latitude administrative à Bunting que son prédécesseur. Le journal abandonna la cause de l’union commerciale en 1889, presque aussi soudainement qu’il l’avait adoptée deux ans plus tôt. Aux élections provinciales de 1890, le chef conservateur William Ralph Meredith* orienta la rhétorique du parti dans le sens exigé par le Mail indépendant, mais encore une fois Bunting assista à une victoire des libéraux. Pendant l’été de 1890, Farrer passa au Globe. Aux élections fédérales de mars 1891, les occasions de provoquer une révolution électorale dans la politique canadienne en s’employant à renforcer le pouvoir anglo-protestant s’étaient envolées.

À l’automne, Bunting entama des négociations avec le gouvernement conservateur d’Ottawa dans l’espoir de parvenir à un compromis, et il en entreprit d’autres en 1893. Ces démarches débouchèrent sur un autre triomphe commercial pour lui. Le 7 février 1895, il se porta acquéreur de l’Empire, pour aussi peu, croit-on, que 30 000 $. D’un seul coup, Riordon et Bunting rationalisèrent le marché torontois des quotidiens du matin et lancèrent un nouveau journal officiellement conservateur : le Daily Mail and Empire.

En un sens, Bunting se retrouvait au même point qu’en 1877. Avec son jeune rédacteur en chef, Arthur Frederick Wallis, il revenait au journalisme partisan. Pourtant, ce recul apparent masquait des changements subtils. Certes, le Daily Mail and Empire s’efforçait d’interpréter l’actualité à l’avantage du parti conservateur mais, tout comme le Mail à l’époque de son indépendance, il visait à donner une information complète et à présenter des éditoriaux impartiaux. Un bon journal du matin ne pouvait plus se contenter de répéter comme un perroquet ce que disaient les chefs de parti. Cependant, Bunting n’eut pas l’occasion de superviser ce changement. À l’automne de 1895, il était en assez mauvaise santé, et il mourut du mal de Bright à sa maison de Queen’s Park, à l’âge de 58 ans, moins d’un an après avoir brillamment réalisé la fusion du Mail et de l’Empire.

Christopher William Bunting ne parvint pas à être un journaliste vraiment indépendant, et son importance tient à ce que sa carrière montre que la dernière génération de journalistes victoriens ne sut pas trouver une stratégie professionnelle qui l’aurait aidée à se dégager complètement de l’influence des partis. Surtout, en passant au journalisme indépendant, Bunting ne s’attaqua pas au problème des responsabilités et des droits professionnels des journalistes : il aurait pu reconnaître le rôle qu’ils jouaient dans la définition de l’information ou créer des mécanismes qui leur auraient permis d’établir une certaine distance entre eux et leurs éditeurs. Il reste que Bunting « capt[ait] vite l’humeur de l’opinion et [fut] toujours capable de faire un grand journal, respecté et influent », comme le notait en 1897 le rédacteur en chef du Globe, John Stephen Willison*. C’était un début. La volonté d’attirer de nouveaux lecteurs par une réputation d’intégrité éditoriale faisait partie d’un processus qui allait finir par donner aux journaux, devenus des médias de masse capables de compter sur d’énormes revenus de publicité, la base d’une indépendance plus authentique. Bien que son expérience du journalisme indépendant ait été brève, d’envergure limitée et se soit soldée par un échec, Bunting fut l’un des pionniers qui contribuèrent à transformer le journalisme quotidien en une profession. Mort prématurément, il devint un symbole d’idéaux journalistiques encore irréalisés.

Brian P. N. Beaven

AN, MG 26, A.— UWOL, Regional Coll., Fred Landon papers, newspaper hist. scrapbooks, 2 : 74.— J. T. Clark, « The daily newspaper », Canadian Magazine, 7 (mai–oct. 1896) : 101–104.— W. B. Harte, « Canadian journalists and journalism », New England Magazine (Boston), nouv. sér., 5 (1891–1892) : 411–441.— Ontario, Legislature, Journals, 1884 : 149–151, 154–157, 160, 198–199 ; Sessional papers, 1885, no 9.— Daily Mail and Empire, 14 janv. 1896.— Globe, 14 janv. 1896.— Grip (Toronto), 1873–1894.— Mail (Toronto), 1877–1880, particulièrement 23 nov. 1877.— Toronto Daily Mail, 1880–1889, particulièrement 2 août 1880, 14 janv., 20 sept. 1886, 8 janv. 1887, 16 févr. 1889.— The Canadian newspaper directory (Montréal), 1892 ; 1899.— CPC, 1879–1881 ; 1883.— Prominent men of Canada [...], G. M. Adam, édit. (Toronto, 1892), 222–225.— A history of Canadian journalism [...] (2 vol., Toronto, 1908–1959 ; réimpr. du vol. 1, New York, 1976), [1].— B. P. N. Beaven, « A last hurrah : studies in Liberal party development and ideology in Ontario, 1875–1893 » (thèse de {{ph.d}}., Univ. of Toronto, 1982).— C. R. W. Biggar, Sir Oliver Mowat [...] a biographical sketch (2 vol., Toronto, 1905), 1.— George Carruthers, Paper-making (Toronto, 1947), 499–501, 510–512.— H. [W.] Charlesworth, Candid chronicles : leaves from the note book of a Canadian journalist (Toronto, 1925) ; More candid chronicles : further leaves from the note book of a Canadian journalist (Toronto, 1928).— J. C. Hopkins, « Toronto ; an historical sketch », Toronto, Board of Trade, « Souvenir », 3–113.— J. E. Middleton et Fred Landon, The province of Ontario : a history, 1615–1927 (5 vol., Toronto, [1927–1928]), 1 : 409.— C. P. Mulvany, Toronto : past and present ; a handbook of the city (Toronto, 1884 ; réimpr., 1970), 192.— Rutherford, Victorian authority.— G. R. Tennant, « The policy of the Mail, 1882–1892 » (thèse de {{m.a}}., Univ. of Toronto, 1946).— Waite, Man from Halifax.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Brian P. N. Beaven, « BUNTING, CHRISTOPHER WILLIAM », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 12, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 19 déc. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bunting_christopher_william_12F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bunting_christopher_william_12F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Brian P. N. Beaven
Titre de l'article:   BUNTING, CHRISTOPHER WILLIAM
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 12
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1990
Année de la révision:   1990
Date de consultation:   19 décembre 2014