DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

HARWOOD, LOUIS DE LOTBINIÈRE, physician, gynaecologist, professor, and hospital administrator; b. 27 April 1866, probably in Saint-Michel-de-Vaudreuil (Vaudreuil-Dorion), Lower Canada, son of Henri-Stanislas Harwood, an engineer, and Joséphine Brauneis; m. first 15 April 1891 Marie Masson (d. 16 Oct. 1904) in Montreal, and they had three children; m. secondly there 18 Nov. 1905 Catherine-Delphine Macdonald (d. 16 March 1908); m. thirdly there 21 Oct. 1919 Berthe Brosseau, widow of Charles-Édouard Martin; d. 15 May 1934 in Montreal and was buried two days later in the city’s Notre-Dame-des-Neiges cemetery.

Following his classical studies at the Petit Séminaire de Sainte-Thérèse and the Collège Bourget in Rigaud, Louis de Lotbinière Harwood took up medicine in 1886 at the Montreal campus of the Université Laval, where he obtained his md in 1890. On 24 September of that year he received his professional licence from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of the Province of Quebec. After completing a six-month internship at Notre-Dame Hospital in Montreal, he practised there as a gynaecologist from 1891. In 1903 he left for Europe, where he received further training in his specialty, notably at the Hôpital Broca, in Paris, with Samuel-Jean Pozzi, a renowned surgeon and one of gynaecology’s great pioneers. While working alongside Pozzi, he was instructed in the newly emerging techniques of surgical asepsis.

Upon his return to Notre-Dame Hospital in 1905, Harwood took over from Dr Michel-Thomas Brennan as head of the gynaecology department and held the chair in gynaecology at the Université Laval in Montreal, posts he would retain until his death. The following year he replaced Emmanuel-Persillier Lachapelle* as superintendent of Notre-Dame Hospital and then, in 1917, succeeded him as president of the medical board, a position he filled until 1929. He contributed to the evolution of his specialty by implementing new aseptic procedures in surgery and gynaecology. With his colleagues Oscar-Félix Mercier*, Télesphore Parizeau, and Albert Le Sage, he would take an active part in introducing modern surgical techniques and establishing laboratory medicine at Notre-Dame Hospital.

It was above all as dean of the Montreal School of Medicine and Surgery (which was the faculty of medicine at the Université Laval in Montreal), a post he would hold for the rest of his life, that Harwood left an important mark on the history of medicine in the province of Quebec. When he took over as head of the faculty in the summer of 1918 he proved highly receptive to the ideas for reform expressed by some of his young colleagues. He would help remedy the most obvious lacunae in the faculty, such as the shortage of funds, the insufficient training and supervision of students, the inadequate premises and laboratories, and clinical teaching that was poorly adapted to the number of students.

Owing to Harwood’s efforts, there was an ongoing shift in teaching methods from the 19th-century lecture model to the use of the new standards of medical instruction spreading across North America and Europe. A true reformer, Harwood encouraged the orientation of medical training towards a more advanced clinical approach based on scientific knowledge and the laboratory sciences. Under his guidance the faculty created the position of director of studies and made internship mandatory. In 1921 it established a qualifying year for medical studies, the PCN (physics, chemistry, natural sciences). These courses, given by the faculty of science, allowed the medical program to be reshaped into thorough scientific training. Harwood also introduced, in 1927, an internship that rotated through several medical and surgical departments. The new model afforded students extensive clinical experience. It gave them the opportunity to specialize in a field of their choice and it partially met the needs of the affiliated hospitals.

This was the context in which Harwood, as dean of the Université de Montréal (the name adopted by the Université Laval in Montreal as of 1920) and president of the medical board of Notre-Dame Hospital, launched an initiative remarkable for the times: the construction of a genuine university hospital. The idea was to set up a new university hospital facility where research and teaching would be closely linked; it would not only allow in the long term the establishment of a close relationship between the basic medical sciences and clinical research, but it would also serve in the short term to attract professors from Europe and the United States.

The enterprise, which got under way in 1923, involved putting up near the new Notre-Dame Hospital (then under construction) a university building that would house laboratories, a library, classrooms, a museum, and administrative offices. It came to nothing for lack of financial support from the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, which chose at that time to invest in improving clinical teaching and promoting laboratory work. But the project initiated in 1924 to erect the buildings of the Université de Montréal campus on Mount Royal revived the scheme.

A study committee, consisting of Harwood, assistant dean Télesphore Parizeau, chemistry professor Georges-Hermyle Baril, and architect Ernest Cormier*, was formed to come up with a blueprint for the new hospital. In 1927 they went to New York City to draw up the plans for a modern university hospital complex with the director of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, and they then visited the large American faculties of medicine at universities such as Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Johns Hopkins, and Western Reserve, and the University of Pennsylvania. The Rockefeller institute’s support was important: it awarded major grants to medical faculties that wanted to strengthen the connection between the basic medical sciences and clinical research by building new facilities. The large-scale project, which aimed to create the first university medical centre in the province of Quebec, would encourage such ties. In the end, the faculty and university authorities decided to annex the faculty and the hospital to the main building of the university institution proposed for the Mount Royal site and to provide them with the most up-to-date teaching and medical equipment. The plans were approved and work began in 1928. The Great Depression of the 1930s put a temporary halt to construction. At that point the foundations had been reinforced and the exterior walls erected. The building would not be opened until 3 June 1943 and it would not include the university hospital, the development costs being considered too high. But because of the close links that Harwood had forged with the authorities of the Rockefeller institute, he was able to obtain generous grants that financed the qualifying year for medical studies and the equipping of the laboratories.

Louis de Lotbinière Harwood had also facilitated a closer relationship between his faculty and the faculty of science. The inauguration in 1923 of the Institut du Radium, set up by Joseph-Ernest Gendreau* who worked with both faculties, exemplifies this collaboration. The faculties’ combined efforts, spurred by the initiative and dynamism of Brother Marie-Victorin [Kirouac*], Harwood, and biology professor Louis-Janvier Dalbis, also put the Université de Montréal at the centre of a major movement that sought to foster the teaching, popularization, and practical application of the sciences. In 1922 the movement led to the creation of the Société de Biologie de Montréal, whose president was Dr Arthur Bernier*, professor of bacteriology at the faculty of medicine, and then, on 15 May 1923, to the establishment of the Association Canadienne-Française pour l’Avancement des Sciences. As a co-founder of these two important organizations, Harwood made a significant contribution to the evolution of a francophone scientific and biomedical movement.

Denis Goulet

Louis de Lotbinière Harwood wrote a few articles, now rare, published mainly in L’Union médicale du Canada (Montréal), which include: “Grossesse extra-utérine,” 30 (1901): 521–31; “Les tendances de la gynécologie moderne,” 33 (1904): 509–15; “Tératome solide de l’ovaire avec grossesse concomitante,” 54 (1925): 747–55, written in collaboration with several authors; and “Fibro-myome interstitiel du col utérin,” 61 (1932): 305–8, written with L.‑A. Magnan.

Arch. de l’Hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal), Procès-verbaux du bureau médical, 1890–1934. BANQ-CAM, CE601-S33, 15 avril 1891; CE601-S51, 29 avril 1866. FD, Notre-Dame (Montréal), 18 nov. 1905, 17 mai 1934; Saint-Jacques, cathédrale de Montréal [Saint-Jacques-le-Majeur], 21 oct. 1919. Univ. de Montréal, Div. des arch., E 38 (faculté de médecine), procès-verbaux de l’École de Médecine et de Chirurgie de Montréal/Faculté de médecine de l’Univ. Laval à Montréal, 1905–20; procès-verbaux du conseil de la faculté de médecine de l’Univ. de Montréal, 1920–34; Règlements pour internat de 5e année, 1927. Le Devoir, 15, 16, 17 mai 1934. BCF, 1933: 308. E.‑P. Benoît, “In memoriam: Louis de Lotbinière-Harwood, doyen,” L’Union médicale du Canada, 63 (1934): 523–30. College of Physicians and Surgeons of the Prov. of Que., Medical reg. (Montreal, 1895). École de Médecine et de Chirurgie de Montréal/Faculté de médecine de l’Univ. Laval à Montréal, Annuaire, 1905–20 (copies held at Univ. de Montréal, Div. des arch., E 38). Léon Gérin-Lajoie, “Le professeur Louis de Lotbinière-Harwood: un hommage,” L’Union médicale du Canada, 63 (1934): 627–28. Denis Goulet, Histoire de la faculté de médecine de l’université de Montréal, 1843–1993 (Montréal, 1993). Denis Goulet et al., Histoire de l’hôpital Notre-Dame de Montréal, 1880–1980 (Montréal, 1993). Hôpital Notre-Dame, Rapport annuel (Montréal), 1890–1929, 1934. L.‑A. Magnan, “À mon maître le professeur Louis de Lotbinière-Harwood,” L’Union médicale du Canada, 63 (1934): 629–33. Univ. de Montréal, Faculté de médecine, Directory, 1920–34.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Denis Goulet, “HARWOOD, LOUIS DE LOTBINIÈRE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 23, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/harwood_louis_de_lotbiniere_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/harwood_louis_de_lotbiniere_16E.html
Author of Article: Denis Goulet
Title of Article: HARWOOD, LOUIS DE LOTBINIÈRE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: November 23, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MORRIN, JOSEPH – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 19 octobre 1794 dans le comté de Dumfries, Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

HARWOOD, LOUIS DE LOTBINIÈRE, médecin, gynécologue, professeur et administrateur d’hôpital, né le 27 avril 1866, probablement à Saint-Michel-de-Vaudreuil (Vaudreuil-Dorion, Québec), fils d’Henri-Stanislas Harwood, ingénieur, et de Joséphine Brauneis ; le 15 avril 1891, il épousa à Montréal Marie Masson (décédée le 16 octobre 1904), et de ce mariage naquirent trois enfants, puis le 18 novembre 1905, à Montréal, Catherine-Delphine Macdonald (décédée le 16 mars 1908), et finalement le 21 octobre 1919, à Montréal, Berthe Brosseau, veuve de Charles-Édouard Martin ; décédé le 15 mai 1934 à Montréal et inhumé deux jours plus tard au cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges, dans la même ville.

À la suite de ses études classiques au petit séminaire de Sainte-Thérèse et au collège Bourget à Rigaud, Louis de Lotbinière Harwood s’inscrit en médecine à l’université Laval à Montréal en 1886, où il obtient son diplôme de docteur dans cette discipline en 1890. Il reçoit sa licence de pratique du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la province de Québec le 24 septembre de la même année. Après avoir fait son internat à l’hôpital Notre-Dame de Montréal durant six mois, il y exerce sa profession, dès 1891, à titre de gynécologue. En 1903, il part pour l’Europe, où il approfondit ses connaissances en gynécologie, notamment à l’hôpital Broca, à Paris, auprès de Samuel-Jean Pozzi, chirurgien réputé et l’un des grands pionniers de la gynécologie. À ses côtés, il s’initie aux méthodes naissantes de l’asepsie chirurgicale.

De retour à l’hôpital Notre-Dame en 1905, Harwood prend la relève du médecin Michel-Thomas Brennan à la direction du service de gynécologie et occupe la chaire de gynécologie de l’université Laval à Montréal, fonctions qu’il assumera jusqu’à sa mort. Dès l’année suivante, il remplace Emmanuel-Persillier Lachapelle* au poste de surintendant de l’hôpital Notre-Dame puis, en 1917, lui succède à la présidence du bureau médical qu’il occupera jusqu’en 1929. Il contribue à l’évolution de sa spécialité grâce à la mise en place de nouvelles techniques d’asepsie en chirurgie et en gynécologie. Avec ses collègues Oscar-Félix Mercier*, Télesphore Parizeau et Albert Le Sage, il participera activement à l’introduction de techniques chirurgicales modernes et à l’implantation de la médecine de laboratoire à l’hôpital Notre-Dame.

C’est surtout à titre de doyen de l’école de médecine et de chirurgie de Montréal/faculté de médecine de l’université Laval à Montréal, poste qu’il occupera jusqu’à sa mort, que Harwood laissera une marque importante dans l’histoire de la médecine de la province de Québec. Lorsqu’il prend la direction de la faculté, à l’été de 1918, il se montre très ouvert aux idées réformatrices formulées par certains de ses jeunes collègues. Il contribuera à combler les lacunes les plus évidentes de la faculté, comme la carence de fonds, l’encadrement insuffisant des étudiants, les locaux et les laboratoires inadéquats et l’enseignement clinique peu adapté au nombre d’étudiants.

Grâce aux efforts de Harwood, les méthodes pédagogiques s’écartent des modèles magistraux du xixe siècle pour se tourner de plus en plus vers les nouveaux idéaux de l’enseignement médical qui se répandent dans les territoires nord-américain et européen. Véritable réformateur, Harwood encourage l’évolution de la formation médicale vers une approche clinique plus poussée et axée sur les connaissances scientifiques et sur les sciences de laboratoire. Sous sa gouverne, la faculté crée le poste de directeur des études et rend l’internat obligatoire. Elle met sur pied, en 1921, une année préparatoire aux études de médecine, le PCN (physique, chimie, sciences naturelles). Ces cours, donnés par la faculté des sciences, permettent d’orienter le cursus vers une formation scientifique approfondie. Harwood introduit aussi, en 1927, l’internat rotatoire, c’est-à-dire qui se déroule dans plusieurs services médicaux et chirurgicaux. Ce nouveau modèle procure aux étudiants une expérience clinique étendue. Il leur offre la possibilité de se diriger vers un champ spécialisé conforme à leurs préférences et comble en partie les besoins des hôpitaux affiliés.

C’est dans cette perspective que Harwood, à titre de doyen de l’université de Montréal (nom que prend l’université Laval à Montréal à partir de 1920) et de président du bureau médical de l’hôpital Notre-Dame, amorce une initiative singulière pour l’époque : la construction d’un véritable hôpital universitaire. L’idée est d’établir une nouvelle structure hospitalo-universitaire où la recherche et l’enseignement seraient intimement liés et qui permettrait, à long terme, non seulement de susciter l’instauration de rapports étroits entre les sciences médicales fondamentales et les recherches cliniques, mais aussi, à court terme, d’attirer des professeurs d’Europe et des États-Unis.

Le projet, qui démarre en 1923, consiste à ériger, à proximité du nouvel hôpital Notre-Dame alors en construction, un édifice universitaire qui logerait des laboratoires, une bibliothèque, des salles de cours, un musée et des bureaux d’administration. Il n’aura pas de suite faute de l’appui financier du Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, qui préfère alors investir dans l’amélioration de l’enseignement clinique et dans la promotion des travaux de laboratoire. Mais le projet de construction des pavillons de l’université de Montréal sur le mont Royal, qui s’amorce en 1924, le relance.

Un comité d’études, composé de Harwood, du vice-doyen Télesphore Parizeau, du professeur de chimie Georges-Hermyle Baril et de l’architecte Ernest Cormier*, est mis sur pied pour concevoir les plans du nouvel hôpital. Ces derniers se rendent à New York en 1927 afin d’élaborer les plans d’un complexe hospitalo-universitaire moderne avec le directeur du Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, puis visitent les grandes facultés de médecine américaines telles que celles de la Harvard University, de la Yale University, de la Columbia University, de la University of Pennsylvania, de la Johns Hopkins University et de la Western Reserve University. L’appui du Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research est important, car celui-ci accorde des subventions majeures aux facultés de médecine qui souhaitent, par l’entremise de la construction de nouveaux pavillons, renforcer les relations entre les sciences médicales fondamentales et les recherches cliniques. Le projet d’envergure, qui vise à créer le premier centre hospitalier universitaire dans la province de Québec, favoriserait un tel rapprochement. Les autorités de la faculté et de l’université décident finalement d’annexer la faculté et l’hôpital, qui seront dotés d’équipements pédagogiques et médicaux les plus à jour, au corps principal de l’établissement universitaire qui sera construit sur le mont Royal. Les plans sont approuvés en 1928 et les travaux commencent la même année. La crise des années 1930 met fin temporairement aux travaux de construction. À ce moment, les fondations sont consolidées et les murs extérieurs érigés. L’édifice ne sera inauguré que le 3 juin 1943 et ne comprendra pas l’hôpital universitaire, dont les coûts d’aménagement seront jugés trop élevés. En revanche, les liens étroits que Harwood a tissés avec les autorités du Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research lui permettent d’obtenir des subventions importantes qui financent l’année préparatoire aux études de médecine et l’organisation des laboratoires.

Louis de Lotbinière Harwood a aussi facilité le rapprochement de sa faculté avec celle des sciences. L’inauguration, en 1923, de l’Institut du radium, mis sur pied par Joseph-Ernest Gendreau* en collaboration avec les deux facultés, en est un exemple. Leurs actions conjuguées, grâce aux initiatives et au dynamisme du frère Marie-Victorin [Kirouac*], professeur de botanique, de Harwood et de Louis-Janvier Dalbis, professeur de biologie, inscrivent aussi l’université de Montréal au cœur d’un mouvement majeur dont l’objectif est de favoriser l’enseignement, la vulgarisation et la pratique des sciences. Ce mouvement conduit à la création, en 1922, de la Société de biologie de Montréal, présidée par le médecin Arthur Bernier*, professeur de bactériologie à la faculté de médecine, puis, le 15 mai 1923, à la mise sur pied de l’Association canadienne-française pour l’avancement des sciences. À titre de cofondateur de ces deux importantes sociétés, Harwood a laissé une contribution considérable au développement d’un mouvement scientifique et biomédical francophone.

Denis Goulet

Louis de Lotbinière Harwood a rédigé quelques rares articles, publiés pour la plupart dans l’Union médicale du Canada (Montréal), notamment : « Grossesse extra-utérine », 30 (1901) : 521–531 ; « les Tendances de la gynécologie moderne », 33 (1904) : 509–515 ; « Tératome solide de l’ovaire avec grossesse concomitante », 54 (1925) : 747–755, en collaboration avec plusieurs auteurs ; et « Fibro-myome interstitiel du col utérin », 61 (1932) : 305–308, avec L.-A. Magnan.

Arch. de l’hôpital Notre-Dame (Montréal), Procès-verbaux du bureau médical, 1890–1934.— BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S33, 15 avril 1891 ; CE601-S51, 29 avril 1866.— FD, Notre-Dame (Montréal), 18 nov. 1905, 17 mai 1934 ; Saint-Jacques, cathédrale de Montréal [Saint-Jacques-le-Majeur], 21 oct. 1919.— Univ. de Montréal, Div. des arch., E 38 (faculté de médecine), procès-verbaux de l’école de médecine et de chirurgie de Montréal/faculté de médecine de l’univ. Laval à Montréal, 1905–1920 ; procès-verbaux du conseil de la faculté de médecine de l’univ. de Montréal, 1920–1934 ; Règlements pour internat de 5e année, 1927.— Le Devoir, 15–17 mai 1934.— BCF, 1933 : 308.— E.-P. Benoît, « In memoriam : Louis de Lotbinière-Harwood, doyen », l’Union médicale du Canada, 63 (1934) : 523–530.— Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la province de Québec, Reg. médical (Montréal, 1895).— École de médecine et de chirurgie de Montréal/faculté de médecine de l’univ. Laval à Montréal, Annuaire, 1905–1920 (exemplaires conservés à univ. de Montréal, Div. des arch., E 38).— Léon Gérin-Lajoie, « le Professeur Louis de Lotbinière-Harwood : un hommage », l’Union médicale du Canada, 63 (1934) : 627–628.— Denis Goulet, Histoire de la faculté de médecine de l’université de Montréal, 1843–1993 (Montréal, 1993).— Denis Goulet et al., Histoire de l’hôpital Notre-Dame de Montréal, 1880–1980 (Montréal, 1993).— Hôpital Notre-Dame, Rapport annuel (Montréal), 1890–1929, 1934.— L.-A. Magnan, « À mon maître le professeur Louis de Lotbinière-Harwood », l’Union médicale du Canada, 63 (1934) : 629–633.— Univ. de Montréal, Faculté de médecine, Annuaire, 1920–1934.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Denis Goulet, « HARWOOD, LOUIS DE LOTBINIÈRE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 19 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/harwood_louis_de_lotbiniere_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/harwood_louis_de_lotbiniere_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Denis Goulet
Titre de l'article:   HARWOOD, LOUIS DE LOTBINIÈRE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   19 octobre 2017