DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

BRÛLÉ, ÉTIENNE, interpreter of the Huron language, probably the first white man to make his way into the Huron country and Pennsylvania, and to see lakes Huron, Ontario, Superior, and Erie; b. c. 1592 probably at Champigny-sur-Marne (near Paris); murdered by the Hurons c. June 1633.

Étienne Brûlé has unfortunately left no personal description of his life among the Indians, or of his discoveries. The thread of his existence must be sought in the works of Champlain, Sagard, and Brébeuf, and even there it can be picked up only in haphazard fashion. In them the explorer’s image, eluding any systematic pursuit, as in a forest studded with clearings, appears and disappears in turn, enigmatic and fascinating.

We know almost nothing of his origins. The year of his arrival in Canada was for long the subject of conjecture, because Champlain identifies Étienne Brûlé clearly only in 1618. At that date Champlain referred to him by his name, specifying that Brûlé had been living for eight years among the Indians. In 1610, a “youth who had already spent two winters at Quebec” asked Champlain’s permission to go and live with the Indians in order to learn their language. This youth was the first European, and the only one that year, to attempt such a venture. Crosschecking leads us to suppose that the “youth” of whom Champlain speaks was indeed Étienne Brûlé, and that he had been at Quebec since 1608.

Had Brûlé taken part in Champlain’s first two clashes with the Iroquois? There is no indication of it. It is possible, however, that he was involved at least in the encounter that took place in the summer of 1610, since it was on the day immediately following this battle that he voiced to Champlain his desire to go and live among the Indians. Champlain, who had already conceived the plan of training interpreters, accepted readily, and entrusted Brûlé to the Algonkin chief Iroquet, receiving in exchange a young Huron called Savignon, who was to accompany him to France.

No documentary trace remains of this first experience of a Frenchman living among the Canadian Indians, or of the journey that Brûlé may have made with the Algonkins, and more specifically with the tribe of the Iroquets. The forest swallowed up the young adventurer, and we lose sight of him. He must have wintered with Iroquet, but where? The Algonkin chief may just as well have spent that winter in the Huron country as in his village, somewhere in the valley of the Ottawa (Outaouais) River. All that Champlain tells us about the young man’s exploit is that he was the first white man to shoot the Sault-Saint-Louis (the Lachine rapids, near Montreal) in a canoe. When later on Champlain, in his turn, ventured down these rapids with the Indians’ help, he admitted that he had never yet done it unaided, “nor had any other Christian, except my young man of whom I have already spoken [Étienne Brûlé].”

Brûlé and the Indians returned as arranged one year after their departure, about 13 June 1611. It was a memorable event, which Champlain describes with a certain emotion: “I also saw my French boy who came dressed like an Indian. He was well pleased with the treatment received from the Indians, according to the customs of their country, and explained to me all that he had seen during the winter, and what he had learned from the Indians. . . . My lad . . . had learned their language very well.” A new figure had come into being: the interpreter (truchement), destined to play an important role in the early days of the colony. Living among the Indians, in their fashion, he was accepted by them as one of their own people. He constituted a liaison officer between the colonizers and the natives, and was an indispensable cog in the mechanism of the fur trade. During the four years following his return, Brûlé again vanished. From certain facts it can be presumed that he stayed in the Huron country – where subsequently he was to take up residence – for at least a part of this period. It is therefore probable that he was the first European to see that region and to make the long trip there via the Ottawa and Mattawa rivers, Lake Nipissing, the French River, and Georgian Bay. His discovery of the Huron country – assuming it took place – was the first of the numerous peregrinations of the interpreter between the years 1615 and 1626.

In 1615, Brûlé started out on an expedition that was to make him famous. Champlain and the Hurons, undertaking their third campaign against the Iroquois, were on their way that year towards the village of the Onondagas (situated not far from the present city of Syracuse, N.Y.), when they decided to send a delegation to the Susquehannahs, allies of the Hurons, to request their support for the projected battle. The Susquehannahs lived to the south of the Five Nations of the Iroquois (in the present county of Tioga, N.Y., probably between Elmira and Binghamton). To get there quickly, the delegation had to cross enemy territory; 12 of the best Huron braves were selected. Brûlé asked Champlain for permission to follow them, “to which I readily agreed,” wrote Champlain, “since he was drawn thereto of his own inclination, and by this means would see their country and could observe the tribes that inhabit it.” The delegation left Champlain at Lake Simcoe, the Huron army pushing on northwards, Brûlé and the 12 braves heading towards the south. As always when Brûlé was involved, no precise report has been made of the route taken on this journey. However, historians are generally agreed that the party must have followed the Humber River to its mouth (where the city of Toronto is now situated), gone around the western end of Lake Ontario, then landed somewhere on the south shore, perhaps between the Niagara and Genesee rivers, pushing on after that towards Carantouan, the Susquehannah capital. The mission of the Hurons and Brulé did not prove successful. Although they succeeded in raising an army of Susquehannahs, it reached the meeting-place agreed upon with Champlain two days late, at a time when the Huron army, already defeated by the Iroquois, had abandoned the spot. After this reverse, Brûlé returned with the Susquehannahs to Carantouan to continue his exploration.

In the account that Brûlé later gave Champlain of his adventures in the country of the Susquehannahs, he stated that he had spent the autumn and winter investigating the neighbouring nations and regions, and “making his way along a river which discharges on the coast of Florida,” and that he had continued “his route along the said river to the sea, past islands and the coasts near them.” As he probably did not possess the necessary knowledge to draw a map or to determine co-ordinates, Brûlé gave only a vague description of the region visited. In view of the geographical position of Carantouan, it seems likely that the river was the Susquehanna, which Brûlé may have gone down by starting at one of its branches rising in the county of Otsego, N.Y., that he reached Chesapeake Bay, which is indeed filled with islands, and that he went as far as the ocean. The bay itself had already been discovered in 1608 by Capt. John Smith. The latter had not been able, however, to go up the river, because of the obstacles. Étienne Brûlé, the first European to see Lake Ontario, would then also be the first to tread the soil of what is now Pennsylvania. But, according to Brûlé’s account, the trip was not yet finished. On the way back he apparently lost his way, and fell into the hands of the Senecas. The Iroquois seemingly had time to subject him to the opening stages of the physical torment reserved for prisoners, adding to his exploits the sorry privilege of being the first white man to have experienced their tortures. However he managed to persuade the Indians to release him, through a ruse – by interpreting the sudden appearance of a storm as an intervention by heaven in his favour. Having set him free, the Indians accepted him as a member of the tribe and even included him in their feasts. Zeller questions the truth of the part of Brûlé’s account relating to the miracle. The Senecas, anxious to conclude peace and to trade with the white men, may have released Brûlé on his promise “to make them friends with the French and their enemies, and to make them swear friendship for one another.” Realizing that the conclusion of a Franco-Iroquois peace would compromise the interests of his friends the Hurons, Brûlé may have invented the rescue by heaven in order to explain to Champlain the hospitality of the enemy.

The expedition that Brûlé next undertook, in fulfilment of an earlier promise to Champlain, led him to discover Lake Superior. Butterfield, who has studied all his movements, places this voyage in 1621–23. Despite the lack of written sources, he reconstructs the route with a fair degree of probability. Accompanied by a certain Grenolle, Brûlé seems to have set out from Toanché, a Huron village of the Bear tribe where he had established his residence. The two adventurers may have gone northwards in a canoe, making their way along the shore of Georgian Bay as far as the copper mines worked by the Indians, on the north shore of what is known today as the North Channel. In fact Sagard recounts that “at about 80 or 100 leagues from the Hurons, there is a copper mine, from which the Interpreter Brûlé showed me an ingot when he returned from a voyage that he made to the neighbouring Nation with a certain Grenolle,” the “neighbouring nation” being, according to what can be deduced from the description given by Grenolle elsewhere, a tribe then inhabiting that region. The two companions may then have gone via the St. Marys River as far as Lake Superior. Butterfield supposes that Brûlé and Grenolle continued their journey by following the north shore of Lake Superior to the spot on the St. Louis River where the cities of Duluth and Superior now stand. Yet there is no proof that Brûlé did actually cross the lake, although Sagard seems to state it by implication: “The Interpreter Bruslé and a number of Indians have assured us that beyond the mer douce [Lake Huron] there is another very large lake, which empties into the former by a waterfall, nearly two leagues across, which has been called the Gaston falls [Sault Ste. Marie]; this lake, with the freshwater sea, represents about a 30-day trip by canoe according to the Indians’ statement, and according to the interpreter is 400 leagues long.” The fact that Brûlé had a different opinion from that of the Indians might indicate that he had made the trip and was giving a personal estimation of it. The obscure Brûlé would in that case have preceded Daniel Greysolon* Dulhut and Nicolas Perrot*.

To the regions traversed by Brûlé it is probably necessary to add the country of the Neutrals. According to Butterfield, he was there about 1625. This hypothesis, very probable though it is, rests on no documentary proof. We can only refer to a sentence in which Father Joseph de La Roche Daillon, in 1626, expressed the desire to go to the Neutral country, about which, he said, the interpreter Brûlé reported wondrous things. The Huron and Neutral nations moreover maintained frequent and friendly relations, a circumstance which makes Brûlé’s voyage still more plausible, considering the number of years that he had spent in the Huron country. If Brûlé went to the Neutral country, he must have seen Lake Erie. Thus he would be the discoverer of four of the Great Lakes.

Some authors attribute to Brûlé the additional merit of having shared in the writing of Brother Sagard’s dictionary of the Huron language. This is merely a supposition; it is certain only that in the beginning Brûlé helped Sagard to learn the language. It has also been maintained that Brûlé rendered the same service to Brébeuf, who lived three years (1626–29) in the same place as he, at Toanché. It is unlikely that he did so, for relations between Brûlé and Brébeuf were never good. Besides, Sagard complained that the interpreters banded together subsequently to refuse to teach the missionaries the native dialects.

With remarkable exploits to his credit, Brûlé was unfortunately guilty of reprehensible actions that have sullied his memory. In espousing the customs of the Indians, he had also adopted their morals. “. . . this man was recognized as being very vicious in character, and much addicted to women,” wrote Champlain. In the eyes of Champlain and the missionaries, this degradation of a European to an inferior state of civilization stemmed from the desire to live in debauchery, and constituted a sin that they found difficult to pardon. In Brûlé’s defence it should be remembered that he was very young when he set out in 1610 to live among the Indians. Furthermore, he is said to have had only a very sketchy religious upbringing. One day, recounts Sagard, when Brûlé was in danger of death, the only prayer he was able to recite was the Benedicite. In these circumstances it is understandable that he should have been beguiled by the free, primitive customs of the Indians. But Champlain also harboured resentment against him for another reason: that he was working – like his associate Nicolas Marsolet, an interpreter of the Montagnais and Algonkian languages – for the benefit of the merchants rather than for that of colonization. Brûlé indeed received from the business men an annual salary of 100 pistoles to encourage the Indians to come and trade. None the less, all these faults would probably have been forgotten by posterity if in the year 1629, when Quebec was captured, Brûlé had not agreed, with three other companions, to abandon Champlain and enter the service of the Kirke brothers. Champlain accused him of treason, and Brûlé went back to the Huron country. This episode represents the blackest page in his story. When Champlain returned to New France in 1633, Brûlé was dead.

The circumstances surrounding his death are shrouded in mystery. For some reason unknown, the Hurons, among whom he had lived as a brother for 20 years, killed him and ate him. The crime weighed upon the whole Huron nation. When Brébeuf returned to Toanché he found the place deserted. The Bear tribe had abandoned the village and split up. The Bears did not manage to “purge themselves” of this murder, and admitted that “no satisfaction had been obtained” from the interpreter’s death. Pursued by epidemics, haunted by the memory of Brûlé “whose wounds are still bleeding,” they attributed the cause of their misfortunes to the avenging spirit of the dead man’s sister or brother, which, they said, breathed a curse on them. For a long time, suspicion centered around the tribe’s chief, Aenon, but the latter denied that he was guilty. For want of proof, the enigma of Brûlé’s murder remains unsolved.

Thus, Étienne Brûlé ended by paying very dearly for his mistakes. Endowed with a great spirit of independence, with initiative and indisputable courage, he had, despite all his failings, a remarkable and colourful personality. He is a striking example of the fascination that the free life of the Indians held for young Frenchmen in the first century of the colony’s history.

Olga Jurgens

Champlain, Œuvres (Laverdière), 368–70, 397–404, 408, 507, 523, 590, 621–29, 1043, 1045, 1064–65, 1228–29, 1249–51. JR (Thwaites). Sagard, Histoire du Canada (Tross), 306, 328, 338, 430–32, 456–57, 589, 716–17, 752–53; Long journey (Wrong and Langton). Morris Bishop, Champlain: the life of fortitude (New York, 1948). C. W. Butterfield, History of Brulés discoveries and explorations, 1610–1626 (Cleveland, 1898). Benjamin Sulte, “Étienne Brûlé,” RSCT, 3d ser., I (1907), sect.i, 97–126. J. Tremblay, “La sépulture d’Étienne Brûlé,” RSCT, 3d ser., IX (1915), sect. i, 145–64. A. G. Zeller, The Champlain-Iroquois battle of 1615 (Oneida, N.Y., [1962?]), 19, 22.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Olga Jurgens, “BRÛLÉ, ÉTIENNE,” in EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 1, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 21, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brule_etienne_1E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brule_etienne_1E.html
Author of Article: Olga Jurgens
Title of Article: BRÛLÉ, ÉTIENNE
Publication Name: EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 1
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1966
Year of revision: 1966
Access Date: December 21, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

BRÛLÉ, ÉTIENNE, interprète en langue huronne, probablement le premier Blanc à avoir pénétré en Huronie, en Pennsylvanie et à avoir, vu les lacs des Hurons, Ontario, Supérieur et Érié, né vers 1592 vraisemblablement à Champigny-sur-Marne (près de Paris), assassiné par les Hurons vers juin 1633.

Étienne Brûlé n’a malheureusement laissé de description personnelle ni de son existence parmi les Indiens ni de ses découvertes. Le fil de sa vie doit être cherché dans les œuvres de Champlain, Sagard, Brébeuf où, encore, il ne se retrace que confusément. Échappant à toute poursuite systématique, l’image de l’explorateur, comme dans une forêt parsemée d’éclaircies, y apparaît et disparaît tour à tour, énigmatique et fascinante.

Nous ne savons presque rien de ses origines. L’année de son arrivée au Canada fut longtemps l’objet de diverses conjectures, du fait que Champlain n’identifie clairement Étienne Brûlé qu’en 1618. À cette date, Champlain le nomme par son nom, tout en précisant que Brûlé vit depuis huit ans parmi les Indiens. Or, en 1610, un « jeune garçon qui avoit desia yverné deux ans à Quebecq » demandait à Champlain la permission d’aller habiter avec les sauvages pour apprendre leur langue. Ce garçon fut le premier Européen, et le seul cette année-là, à tenter une telle aventure. Ce recoupement nous permet de croire que le « jeune garçon » dont parle Champlain avant 1618 est bien Étienne Brûlé, et qu’il se trouvait à Québec depuis 1608.

Brûlé avait-il participé aux deux premiers combats livrés par Champlain aux Iroquois ? Rien ne l’indique. Il est possible, cependant, qu’il ait pris part au moins à celui de l’été 1610, puisque c’est le lendemain même de cette bataille qu’il exprima à Champlain son désir d’aller vivre parmi les Indiens. Champlain, qui avait déjà conçu le projet de former des interprètes, accepta volontiers et confia Brûlé au chef algonquin Iroquet, recevant en échange un jeune Huron, nommé Savignon, qui devait l’accompagner en France.

Aucune trace documentaire n’est restée de cette première expérience de vie d’un Français chez les Indiens du Canada, ni du trajet que Brûlé a pu suivre avec les Algonquins et plus précisément avec la tribu des Iroquets. La forêt engloutit le jeune aventurier et nous le perdons de vue. Il a dû hiverner avec Iroquet, mais où ? Le chef algonquin a aussi bien pu passer cet hiver en Huronie que rester dans son village, quelque part dans la vallée de la rivière des Outaouais (Ottawa). Tout ce que Champlain nous apprend de l’exploit du jeune homme est qu’il fut le premier Blanc à traverser en canot le saut Saint-Louis (les rapides de Lachine, près de Montréal). Lorsque plus tard Champlain, à son tour, s’aventure sur ces rapides avec l’aide des Indiens, il admet en effet ne l’avoir encore jamais fait lui-même « ny autre Chretien, hormis mondit garçon [Étienne Brûlé] ».

Le retour de Brûlé et des Indiens s’effectua, tel que prévu, un an après leur départ, vers le 13 juin 1611, événement mémorable que Champlain décrit avec une certaine émotion : « Aussi je vis mon garçon qui vint habillé à la sauvage, qui se loua du traictement des sauvages, selon leur pays, & me fit entendre tout ce qu’il avoit veu en son yvernement, & ce qu’il avoir apris desdicts sauvages. [...] Mon garçon [...] avoit fort bien apris leur langue ». Un personnage nouveau était né : le « truchement » ou interprète, appelé à jouer un rôle important dans les débuts de la colonie. Vivant parmi les Indiens, à leur manière, il était accepté d’eux comme l’un des leurs. il constituait un agent de liaison entre les colonisateurs et les indigènes et un rouage indispensable de la traite des fourrures.

Durant les quatre années qui suivirent son retour, Brûlé disparaît de nouveau. Certains faits nous permettent de présumer qu’il séjourna en Huronie – où, par la suite, il établira son domicile – pendant au moins une partie de cette période. En conséquence, il est probable qu’il ait été le premier Européen à voir cette contrée et à parcourir le long trajet qui y conduit par les rivières des Outaouais et Mattawa, le lac Nipissing, la rivière des Français et la baie Georgienne. Sa découverte de la Huronie – en admettant qu’elle eut lieu – fut la première des nombreuses pérégrinations que l’interprète devait encore accomplir et qui se situent entre les années 1615 et 1626.

En 1615, Brûlé se lançait dans une expédition qui devait le rendre célèbre. Entreprenant leur troisième campagne contre les Iroquois, Champlain et les Hurons, en route cette année-là vers le village des Onontagués (situé non loin de la ville actuelle de Syracuse, N. Y.), décidèrent d’envoyer une délégation aux Andastes, alliés des Hurons, pour solliciter leur appui pour le combat projeté. Les Andastes habitaient au sud des Cinq-Nations iroquoises (dans le comté actuel de Tioga, N. Y., probablement entre Elmira et Binghamton). Pour y parvenir rapidement, la délégation devait traverser le territoire ennemi ; 12 des meilleurs guerriers hurons furent désignés. Brûlé demanda à Champlain la permission de les suivre, « ce que facillement je luy accorday, écrit ce dernier, puisque de sa volonté il y estoit porté, & par ce moyen verroit leur pays, & pourroit recognoistre les peuples qui y habitent ». La délégation se sépara de Champlain sur le lac Simcoe, l’armée huronne poursuivant son chemin par le Nord, Brûlé et les 12 guerriers partant en direction du Sud. Comme toujours lorsqu’il s’agit de Brûlé, aucun rapport précis n’a été fait du trajet de ce voyage. Toutefois, les historiens s’accordent en général pour dire que la troupe dut suivre la rivière Humber jusqu’à son embouchure (où est actuellement située la ville de Toronto), longer le lac Ontario en direction de l’Ouest, puis mettre pied à terre quelque part sur la rive sud, peut-être entre les rivières Niagara et Genessee, pour ensuite continuer vers Carantouan, capitale des Andastes. La mission des Hurons et de Brûlé ne fut pas couronnée de succès. Bien qu’ils aient réussi à lever une armée andaste, celle-ci parvint au rendez-vous convenu avec Champlain deux jours en retard, alors que l’armée huronne, déjà défaite par les Iroquois, avait quitté les lieux. Après cet échec, Brûlé retourna avec les Andastes à Carantouan pour continuer son exploration.

Dans le récit que Brûlé fit plus tard à Champlain de ses aventures au pays des Andastes, il affirma avoir passé l’automne et l’hiver à explorer les nations et régions voisines, en « se pourmenant le long d’une riviere qui se descharge du costé de la Floride », et avoir continué « son chemin le long de ladicte riviere jusques à la Mer, par des isles, & les terres proches d’icelles ». Ne possédant probablement pas la science nécessaire pour dresser une carte ou déterminer les coordonnées, Brûlé ne donne qu’une description vague de la région visitée. Considérant la situation géographique de Carantouan, il est néanmoins permis de croire qu’il s’agit de la rivière Susquehanna que Brûlé aurait descendue en commençant par l’un de ses bras qui prend sa source dans le comté d’Otsego, N. Y., jusqu’à la baie Chesapeake qui, en effet, est remplie d’îles, et se rendit à l’océan. Notons que la baie elle-même avait déjà été découverte par le capitaine John Smith en 1608. Ce dernier n’avait pu toutefois remonter la rivière à cause des obstacles. Étienne Brûlé, premier Européen à voir le lac Ontario, serait donc aussi le premier à avoir foulé le sol de la future Pennsylvanie. Mais, selon le récit de Brûlé, le voyage n’était pas encore fini. Sur le chemin du retour, il se serait égaré et serait tombé entre les mains des Tsonnontouans. Les Iroquois auraient eu le temps de lui faire subir le début du supplice réservé aux prisonniers, ajoutant à ses exploits le triste privilège d’être le premier Blanc à avoir eu l’expérience de leurs tortures. Toutefois, Brûlé aurait réussi, par ruse – en interprétant l’apparition soudaine d’un orage comme une intervention du ciel en sa faveur – à les convaincre de le relâcher. Lui ayant rendu sa liberté, ils l’acceptèrent comme l’un des leurs, l’invitant même à participer à leurs festins. Zeller met en doute la véracité de la partie du récit de Brûlé concernant le miracle. Les Tsonnontouans, désireux de conclure la paix et de commercer avec les Blancs, auraient relâché Brûlé sur sa promesse « de les mettre d’accord avec les François, & leurs ennemis, & leur faire jurer amitié les uns envers les autres ». Comprenant que la conclusion d’une paix franco-iroquoise compromettrait les intérêts des Hurons, ses amis, Brûlé aurait inventé l’intervention céleste pour expliquer à Champlain l’hospitalité ennemie.

L’expédition que Brûlé, fidèle à une promesse qu’il avait faite à Champlain, entreprit ensuite devait le mener à la découverte du lac Supérieur. Butterfield, qui a étudié tous ses déplacements, fixe à 1621–1623 la date de ce voyage. Malgré le défaut de sources écrites, il en reconstitue assez vraisemblablement le parcours. Avec un certain Grenolle, Brûlé serait parti de Toanché, village huron de la tribu de l’Ours où il avait établi sa résidence. Les deux aventuriers seraient montés en canot vers le Nord, en longeant la côte de la baie Georgienne, jusqu’aux mines de cuivre exploitées par des Indiens sur la côte nord de ce qui est connu aujourd’hui sous le nom de « the North Channel ». En effet, Sagard relate qu’à « environ 80. ou 100. lieuës des Hurons, il y a une mine de cuyvre rouge, de laquelle le Truchement Bruslé me monstra un lingot au retour d’un voyage qu’il fit à la Nation voisine avec un nommé Grenolle, » la « nation voisine » étant, d’après ce qu’on peut déduire des descriptions données par Grenolle à un autre endroit, une tribu qui habitait à l’époque cette région. Les deux compagnons seraient ensuite passés par la rivière Sainte-Marie jusqu’au lac Supérieur. Butterfield suppose encore que Brûlé et Grenolle auraient continué leur trajet en longeant la côte nord du lac Supérieur jusqu’à la rivière Saint-Louis, à l’endroit où se trouvent actuellement les villes de Duluth et Superior. Il n’y a toutefois aucune preuve démontrant que Brûlé ait effectivement traversé le lac, quoique Sagard semble l’affirmer implicitement : « Le Truchement Bruslé avec quelques Sauvages nous ont asseuré qu’au delà de la mer douce [lac des Hurons], il y a un autre grandissime lac, qui se descharge dans icelle par une cheute d’eau que l’on a surnommé le Saut de Gaston [saut Sainte-Marie], ayant prés de deux lieuës de large, lequel lac avec la mer douce contiennent environ trente journées de canots selon le rapport des Sauvages, & du truchement quatre cens lieuës de longueur. » Le fait que Brûlé ait une opinion différente de celle des Indiens indiquerait qu’il avait fait le trajet et en donnait une évaluation personnelle. L’obscur Brûlé aurait donc précédé Daniel Greysolon* Dulhut et Nicolas Perrot*.

Aux régions parcourues par Brûlé, il faut probablement ajouter le pays des Neutres. Selon Butterfield, il s’y serait trouvé vers 1625. Quoique très probable, cette hypothèse ne repose sur aucune preuve documentaire. Nous ne pouvons nous baser que sur une phrase dans laquelle le père Joseph de La Roche Daillon, en 1626, manifeste le désir d’aller au pays des Neutres dont, dit-il, l’interprète Brûlé raconte des merveilles. Les nations huronne et neutre entretenaient d’ailleurs des relations amicales et fréquentes, circonstance qui rend encore plus plausible le voyage de Brûlé, si l’on tient compte du nombre d’années que ce dernier avait passées en Huronie. Si Brûlé est allé au pays des Neutres, il a dû voir le lac Érié. Ainsi, il serait le découvreur de quatre des Grands Lacs.

Quelques auteurs accordent à Brûlé le mérite additionnel d’avoir participé à la rédaction du dictionnaire de la langue huronne du frère Sagard. Ce n’est qu’une supposition, encore qu’on soit certain par ailleurs que l’interprète a, au début, aidé Sagard à apprendre cette langue. On a aussi soutenu que Brûlé rendit le même service à Brébeuf, qui vécut trois ans (1626–1629) au même endroit que lui, à Toanché. Nous ne croyons pas que ce fut le cas, les relations entre Brûlé et Brébeuf n’ayant jamais été bonnes. En plus, Sagard se plaint de ce que les interprètes se soient ligués par la suite pour refuser d’apprendre aux missionnaires les idiomes indigènes.

Auteur d’exploits remarquables, Brûlé a malheureusement posé des actes assez répréhensibles qui ont terni son souvenir. En faisant siennes les mœurs des Indiens, il en avait aussi adopté la morale. « L’on recognoissoit cet homme pour estre fort vicieux, & adonné aux femmes », écrit Champlain. Aux yeux de ce dernier et des missionnaires, cette dégradation d’un Européen à un état de civilisation inférieure provenait du désir de vivre dans la débauche et constituait un péché qu’ils pouvaient difficilement pardonner. Rappelons pour la défense de Brûlé qu’il était bien jeune lorsque, en 1610, il partit vivre chez les Indiens. En outre, il n’aurait possédé qu’une éducation religieuse fort sommaire. Un jour, raconte Sagard, s’étant trouvé en danger de mort, pour toute prière, Brûlé ne sut réciter que le Benedicite. Dans ces circonstances, il est compréhensible qu’il ait été séduit par les mœurs libres et primitives des Indiens. Mais Champlain lui gardait encore rancune pour une autre raison : celle de travailler – comme son confrère Nicolas Marsolet, interprète en langues montagnaise et algonquine – au profit des marchands plutôt qu’à celui de la colonisation. Brûlé, en effet, recevait des commerçants un salaire annuel de 100 pistoles pour encourager les Indiens à venir trafiquer. Néanmoins, tous ces défauts auraient probablement été oubliés par la postérité si, en l’année 1629, lors de la prise de Québec, Brûlé n’avait accepté, avec trois autres compagnons, d’abandonner Champlain en se mettant au service des frères Kirke. Accusé par Champlain de trahison, il repartit pour la Huronie. Cet épisode constitue la page la plus sombre de l’histoire de Brûlé. Lorsque Champlain retourne en Nouvelle-France, en 1633, Brûlé n’est plus.

Les circonstances qui entourent sa mort baignent dans une atmosphère de mystère. Pour une raison que l’on ignore, les Hurons, parmi lesquels il avait habité depuis 20 ans comme un frère, l’ont assassiné et mangé. Le crime pèse sur toute la nation huronne. Lorsque Brébeuf retourne à Toanché, il trouve le lieu désert. La tribu de l’Ours a abandonné le village et s’est divisée. Les Ours n’arrivent pas à se « purger » de cet assassinat et avouent n’avoir « tiré aucune satisfaction » de la mort de l’interprète. Poursuivis par des épidémies, hantés par le souvenir de Brûlé « dont les plaies sont encores toutes sanglantes », ils attribuent la cause de leurs malheurs à la vengeance de l’esprit de la sœur ou du frère du mort qui, disent-ils, souffle sur eux la malédiction. Longtemps, les soupçons se portent sur le chef de la tribu, Aenon, mais ce dernier nie sa culpabilité. Faute de preuves, l’énigme de l’assassinat de Brûlé demeure insoluble.

Ainsi, Étienne Brûlé a fini par expier bien chèrement ses erreurs. Doué par ailleurs d’un grand esprit d’indépendance, d’initiative et d’un incontestable courage, il fut, malgré ses déficiences, une personnalité remarquable et très colorée. Il constitue un exemple frappant de la fascination qu’exerçait la vie libre des Indiens sur la jeunesse française au premier siècle de la colonie.

Olga Jurgens

Champlain, Œuvres (Laverdière), 368–370, 397–404, 408, 507, 523, 590, 621–629, 1043, 1045, 1064–1065, 1228s., 1249–1251.-JR (Thwaites).— Sagard, Histoire du Canada (Tross), 306, 328, 338, 430–432, 456s., 589, 716s., 752s. ; Long journey (Wrong and Langton).— Morris Bishop, Champlain : the life of fortitude (New York, 1948).— C. W. Butterfield, History of Brulé’s discoveries and explorations, 1610–1626 (Cleveland, 1898).— Benjamin Sulte, Étienne Brûlé, MSRC, I (1907), sect. i : 97–126.— J. Tremblay, La Sépulture d’Étienne Brûlé, MSRC, IX (1915), sect. i : 145–164.— A. G. Aller, The Champlain-Iroquois Battle of 1615 (Oneida, N.Y., [1962 ?]), 19, 22.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Olga Jurgens, « BRÛLÉ, ÉTIENNE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 1, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 nov. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brule_etienne_1F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brule_etienne_1F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Olga Jurgens
Titre de l'article:   BRÛLÉ, ÉTIENNE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 1
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1966
Année de la révision:   1966
Date de consultation:   23 novembre 2014