DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Link

Source: Link

ROGERSON, JAMES JOHNSTONE, businessman, politician, and philanthropist; b. 21 March 1820 in Harbour Grace, Nfld, eldest son of Peter Rogerson and Amelia Palmer; m. first 21 Jan. 1845 Emma Garrett Blaikie (d. 1878) in St John’s, and they had three sons and four daughters; m. secondly 1879 Isabella Whiteford; they had no children; d. 17 Oct. 1907 in St John’s.

James J. Rogerson was the descendant of a Scottish family of some prominence in Johnstonebridge, Dumfriesshire. His grandfather, a Greenock merchant, is found in the Newfoundland records at least as early as 1803. Peter Rogerson became a permanent resident of Harbour Grace in 1817 and soon married a local girl. He was a pew holder, “though a dissenter,” in the Church of England, and one of the small but influential group of Scottish-born merchants in the colony, whose involvement was chiefly in the supply of manufactured goods exchanged for the produce of the fisheries.

After a good education at the Harbour Grace grammar school, James Rogerson was apprenticed at the age of 13 to the Scottish house of Green and Hunter in St John’s and then served with the old firm of J. and W. Stewart and Company. In 1841 he joined his father in the St John’s-based Peter Rogerson and Son, which had a number of vessels engaged seasonally in the seal fishery but was principally in general trade. The firm imported cargoes from Liverpool, England, salt from Cadiz, Spain, coal from Sydney, N.S., lumber from Halifax and Prince Edward Island, and flour from New York, and carried Methodist missionaries to Newfoundland free of charge [see James Dove]. It exported salt and pickled fish, seal skins and oil, and the like. Later Rogerson was to expend his entrepreneurial talents in the encouragement of local enterprises: agriculture, mineral exploration in association with Stephen Rendell*, John Steer, Edward White*, and others, and the establishment of a foundry and a boot and shoe factory.

In the 1840s, recently married to the daughter of the Scottish-born magistrate James Blaikie and beginning to raise what would be a large family, Rogerson first appeared prominently in the public life of the colony. He was an early member of the Newfoundland Natives’ Society, founded to secure the advancement of native-born residents in the era of representative government. In 1850 he was appointed to the Legislative Council and eight years later to the Executive Council as a representative of mercantile and Methodist interests. With Ambrose Shea he stood for the Liberal party in Burin district in the general election of 1859, and they were returned after a hard-fought contest. Rogerson was not a candidate in several subsequent campaigns, but in April 1870, at the by-election made necessary by the appointment of John Bemister* as sheriff of the Northern District, he was chosen mha for Bay de Verde. Re-elected in 1873, 1874, and 1878, he served as receiver general in the administrations of Frederic Bowker Terrington Carter* and Sir William Vallance Whiteway between 1874 and 1882. During the election in the latter year Rogerson emerged as a leader of the New party, a group of individuals dissatisfied with the Whiteway administration, particularly its railway-building policy. Like most of the New party candidates, he was defeated. On his retirement from political life he had bestowed upon him the title “Honourable” in recognition of a public career of probity and distinction.

With a son, William, now experienced in the family business, Rogerson was increasingly able to direct his prodigious energy to philanthropic work, for which he and his second wife, Isabella Whiteford, were held in uncommon regard by contemporaries. He was active, as always, in Methodist affairs and in the Temperance Society, whose journal he edited. With Isabella he was involved in the creation of a fishermen’s and sailors’ home and an agency to give employment to jobless workers in winter, and in the education of poor children, the provision of teachers for juvenile youths incarcerated in the penitentiary at St John’s, and the distribution of books and magazines to advance literacy in the most remote out-harbours of the colony. The vivid remembrance by his contemporaries on his death at age 87 was of “a life of unbounded charity and benevolence.”

G. M. Story

General Protestant Cemetery (St John’s), Tombstone inscription. Maritime Hist. Arch., Memorial Univ. of Nfld (St John’s), Keith Matthews coll., ser.I, Rogerson name file. Evening Telegram (St John’s), 18 Oct. 1907 (obit. notice by D. W. P. [Daniel Woodley Prowse*]). Royal Gazette and Newfoundland Advertiser, 28 Jan. 1845. The book of Newfoundland, ed. J. R. Smallwood et al. (6v., St John’s, 1937–75). P. K. Devine, Ye olde StJohn’s, 1750–1936 (St John’s, 1936). Encyclopedia of Nfld (Smallwood et al.), 1: 679–749. G. E. Gunn, The political history of Newfoundland, 1832–1864 (Toronto, 1966). J. [K.] Hiller, “The railway and local politics in Newfoundland, 1870–1901,” Nfld in 19th and 20th centuries (Hiller and Neary), 123–47. K[eith] Matthews, Lectures on the history of Newfoundland, 1500–1830 (St John’s, 1988), esp. 163–65. Methodist Monthly Greeting (St John’s), November 1907 (obit. notices by James Dove, who preached Rogerson’s funeral oration, and Charles Hackett). Nfld men (Mott). R. E. Ommer, “The Scots in Newfoundland,” Nfld Quarterly, 77 (1981–82), no.4: 23–31. Paul O’Neill, The story of StJohn’s, Newfoundland (2v., Erin, Ont., 1975–76), 2. Prowse, Hist. of Nfld (1895). G. M. Story, George Street Church, 1873–1973 (St John’s, 1973).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

G. M. Story, “ROGERSON, JAMES JOHNSTONE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 25, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rogerson_james_johnstone_13E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rogerson_james_johnstone_13E.html
Author of Article: G. M. Story
Title of Article: ROGERSON, JAMES JOHNSTONE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 13
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1994
Year of revision: 1994
Access Date: October 25, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Lien

Provenance : Lien

ROGERSON, JAMES JOHNSTONE, homme d’affaires, homme politique et philanthrope, né le 21 mars 1820 à Harbour Grace, Terre-Neuve, fils aîné de Peter Rogerson et d’Amelia Palmer ; le 21 janvier 1845, il épousa à St John’s Emma Garrett Blaikie (décédée en 1878), et ils eurent trois fils et quatre filles, puis en 1879, Isabella Whiteford, avec qui il n’eut pas d’enfants ; décédé le 17 octobre 1907 à St John’s.

James Johnstone Rogerson était issu d’une famille écossaise qui avait quelque notoriété à Johnstonebridge, dans le Dumfriesshire. Son grand-père, marchand de Greenock, figure dans des documents terre-neuviens dès 1803 au moins. Son père s’établit en permanence à Harbour Grace en 1817 et épousa peu après une jeune fille de l’endroit. Il avait un banc à l’église anglicane, « bien qu[‘il ait été un] non-conformiste », et il appartenait à un groupe petit mais influent, celui des marchands d’origine écossaise de la colonie, qui faisaient principalement l’importation de produits manufacturés et les échangeaient contre ceux de la pêche.

À l’âge de 13 ans, après avoir fait de bonnes études à la grammar school de Harbour Grace, James Rogerson entra en apprentissage à la Green and Hunter, maison écossaise de St John’s. Ensuite, il travailla dans une vieille société, la J. and W. Stewart and Company. En 1841, son père l’associa à la Peter Rogerson and Son. Cette entreprise, sise à St John’s, affectait chaque saison plusieurs de ses bateaux à la chasse au phoque, mais elle faisait surtout du commerce. Elle importait des marchandises de Liverpool en Angleterre, du sel de Cadix en Espagne, du charbon de Sydney en Nouvelle-Écosse, du bois de Halifax et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, et de la farine de New York. En outre, elle amenait gratuitement des missionnaires méthodistes à Terre-Neuve [V. James Dove]. Par ailleurs, elle exportait du poisson salé et mariné, des peaux et de l’huile de phoque et d’autres produits du genre. Par la suite, Rogerson allait consacrer ses talents à l’exploitation d’entreprises locales. agriculture, exploration minière avec Stephen Rendell*, John Steer, Edward White* et d’autres, ouverture d’une fonderie et d’une fabrique de bottes et de chaussures.

Dans les années 1840, marié depuis peu à Emma Garrett Blaikie, fille du magistrat de police d’origine écossaise James Blaikie, et père d’une famille qui allait devenir nombreuse, Rogerson fit une entrée remarquée dans la vie publique de la colonie. Il fut l’un des premiers membres de la Newfoundland Natives’ Society, dont le but était de promouvoir les intérêts des Terre-Neuviens de naissance en cette nouvelle ère marquée par l’apparition du gouvernement représentatif. En 1850, on le nomma au Conseil législatif, et huit ans plus tard, il entra au Conseil exécutif à titre de représentant des marchands et des méthodistes. Aux élections générales de 1859, il se présenta avec Ambrose Shea dans le district de Burin, sous la bannière libérale, et tous deux remportèrent la victoire après une dure campagne. Rogerson ne se porta plus candidat jusqu’en avril 1870, soit à l’élection partielle déclenchée par suite de la nomination de John Bemister* au poste de shérif du district Northern, et où il fut élu député de la circonscription de Bay de Verde à la Chambre d’assemblée. Réélu en 1873, 1874 et 1878, il assuma la fonction de receveur général de 1874 à 1882, dans les gouvernements de Frederick Bowker Terrington Carter* et de sir William Vallance Whiteway. Pendant la campagne. électorale de 1882, il prit la tête du New Party, regroupement d’électeurs mécontents du gouvernement de Whiteway et surtout de sa politique de construction ferroviaire. Comme la plupart des candidats de ce parti, il fut défait. Lorsqu’il quitta la politique, il portait le titre d’« Honorable » en raison de la probité et de la distinction de sa carrière publique.

De plus en plus, une fois que son fils William fut en mesure de diriger les affaires familiales, Rogerson put consacrer ses prodigieuses énergies à des œuvres philanthropiques, secteur dans lequel lui-même et sa deuxième femme, Isabella Whiteford, étaient tenus dans une rare estime par leurs contemporains. Il se dépensait, comme toujours, dans les cercles méthodistes, et dans la Temperance Society, dont il dirigeait le périodique. Avec Isabella, il participa à la fondation d’un refuge pour pêcheurs et marins ainsi que d’une agence qui donnait du travail aux chômeurs en hiver. En outre, tous deux œuvrèrent pour l’éducation des enfants pauvres, veillèrent à ce que les jeunes délinquants incarcérés à la prison de St John’s aient des instituteurs et distribuèrent des livres et des revues pour faire progresser l’alphabétisation dans les petits villages de pêcheurs de la colonie. Lorsque James Johnstone Rogerson mourut, à l’âge de 87 ans, il laissait à ses contemporains le souvenir vivace de quelqu’un qui avait mené « une vie de charité et de bienveillance sans limites ».

G. M. Story

General Protestant Cemetery (St John’s), inscription tombale.— Maritime Hist. Arch., Memorial Univ. of Nfld (St John’s), Keith Matthews coll., ser. I, dossier Rogerson.— Evening Telegram (St John’s), 18 oct. 1907 (notice nécrologique rédigée par D. W. Prowse*).— Royal Gazette and Newfoundland Advertiser, 28 janv. 1845.— The book of Newfoundland, J. R. Smallwood et al., édit. (6 vol., St John’s, 1937–1975).— P. K. Devine, Ye olde St. John’s, 1750–1936 (St John’s, 1936).— Encyclopedia of Nfld (Smallwood et al.), 1 : 679–749.— G. E. Gunn, The political history of Newfoundland, 1832–1864 (Toronto, 1966).— J. [K.] Hiller, « The railway and local politics in Newfoundland, 1870–1901 », Nfld in 19th and 20th centuries (Hiller et Neary), 123–147.— K[eith] Matthews, Lectures on the history of Newfoundland, 1500–1830 (St John’s, 1988), particulièrement 163–165.— Methodist Monthly Greeting (St John’s), novembre 1907 (notices nécrologiques rédigées par James Dove, qui prononça l’oraison funèbre de Rogerson, et Charles Hackett).— Nfld. men (Mott).— R. E. Ommer, « The Scots in Newfoundland », Nfld Quarterly, 77 (1981–1982), n° 4 : 23–31.— Paul O’Neill, The story of St. John’s, Newfoundland (2 vol., Erin, Ontario, 1975–1976), 2.— Prowse, Hist. of Nfld (1895).— G. M. Story, George Street Church, 1873–1973 (St John’s, 1973).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

G. M. Story, « ROGERSON, JAMES JOHNSTONE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 déc. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rogerson_james_johnstone_13F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rogerson_james_johnstone_13F.html
Auteur de l'article:   G. M. Story
Titre de l'article:   ROGERSON, JAMES JOHNSTONE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 13
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1994
Année de la révision:   1994
Date de consultation:   21 décembre 2014