DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIN, JOSEPH – Volume IX (1861-1870)

b. 19 Oct. 1794 in Dumfriesshire, Scotland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Election of 1891
 

In 1891 Sir John A. MACDONALD fought his last election. He defended the National Policy and the British connection, and stressed the importance of resisting American influence in Canada. The Conservatives ran against a Liberal Party rejuvenated by its new leader, Wilfrid LAURIER. The election proved to be a contest between two competing visions of Canada’s future, as described in the biography of Ontario Liberal mp Sir Richard John CARTWRIGHT:

“In the election of 1891 the Conservatives tied the National Policy to loyalty to the empire and depicted the Liberals as the party which would bring annexation to the United States in through the back door of commercial union. Cartwright and another prominent Liberal, John Charlton*, vigorously championed the virtues of unrestricted reciprocity, especially among Ontario farmers. Their campaign helped the Liberals wrest seven seats from the Conservatives in Ontario and gain a majority of seats in central Canada. But Macdonald won the election.”

 

The gruelling campaign enervated Macdonald, and he suffered the first of two strokes soon after parliament returned. On 6 June 1891, he died. The long political struggles of Sir John A. Macdonald were over, and were passed to his Conservative and Liberal successors.

To find out more about Macdonald’s last election, please read these biographies.

◀◀  22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

WARD, SAMUEL RINGGOLD – Volume IX (1861-1870)

né le 17 octobre 1817 dans le Maryland

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les Fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

FR:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

FR:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

Les élections de 1891


En 1891, sir John Alexander Macdonald mena sa dernière campagne électorale. Il défendit la Politique nationale et le lien avec l’Empire britannique, et insista sur l’importance de résister à l’influence des États-Unis au Canada. Les conservateurs se présentèrent contre un Parti libéral rajeuni par son nouveau chef, Wilfrid Laurier. Le scrutin vit s’affronter deux visions concurrentes de l’avenir du Canada, comme le montre la biographie du député ontarien libéral sir Richard John Cartwright :

Aux élections de 1891, les conservateurs associèrent Politique nationale et loyauté à l’Empire, et prétendirent que les libéraux en viendraient à l’annexion avec les États-Unis par le biais de l’union commerciale. Cartwright et une autre vedette libérale, John Charlton*, défendirent vigoureusement la réciprocité totale, surtout auprès des fermiers ontariens. Leur campagne aida les libéraux à arracher sept sièges aux conservateurs en Ontario et à remporter la majorité des sièges dans le centre du pays, mais Macdonald sortit vainqueur des élections. 

 

La campagne épuisante affaiblit Macdonald, qui subit le premier de deux accidents vasculaires cérébraux peu après la rentrée parlementaire. Il mourut le 6 juin 1891. Les longues batailles politiques de sir John Alexander Macdonald étaient terminées et passaient à ses successeurs conservateurs et libéraux.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les dernières élections de Macdonald, vous pouvez lire les biographies suivantes.

◀◀  22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30  ▶▶