DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

GRIER, ROSE JANE ELIZABETH – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. unmarried 28 Oct. 1920 in Toronto

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:   Samuel Genest (1865-1937) - #mON400

Source: Link

GENEST, SAMUEL McCALLUM (baptized Marie-Joseph-Samuel), civil servant; b. 10 June 1865 in Trois-Rivières, Lower Canada, son of Laurent-Ubalde-Archibald Genest, a clerk, and Emma McCallum; m. first 31 Oct. 1883 Charlotte-Annie (Anna) McConnell (d. 29 Sept. 1894) in Ottawa, and they had a son and a daughter, neither of whom survived their father; m. secondly 27 April 1896 Emma Woods in Aylmer (Gatineau), Que., and they had two sons; d. 25 April 1937 in Ottawa and was buried two days later in Aylmer.

Born of a French Canadian father and a mother of Scottish origin, Samuel McCallum Genest spent his youth in his birthplace, where he studied with the Brothers of the Christian Schools and at the Séminaire de Saint-Joseph des Trois-Rivières. His father, a prominent figure in the local elite, was a clerk by profession in the Trois-Rivières district for some 50 years. At least five members of Genest’s family were to occupy various posts in the world of provincial politics: he was the nephew of Conservative Charles-Borromée Genest, brother-in-law of the Conservative Nérée Le Noblet Duplessis and of Liberals Richard-Stanislas Cooke and William-Pierre Grant, and the uncle of Maurice Le Noblet Duplessis*, leader of the Union Nationale and premier of the province of Quebec.

After being trained, Genest worked as a surveyor on the construction of the Pontiac Pacific Junction Railway, a job that led him to discover the Ottawa region. In the early 1880s he joined the federal Department of the Interior in the city of Ottawa. He was employed as a civil servant there until 1930, and held the positions of civil engineer, draughtsman, and chief draughtsman in the division of mineral statistics and mines, and director of the technical division of the dominion lands administration. His work included mapping mining sites on the prairies. He lived in Aylmer from at least 1883, and then settled in Ottawa in 1896, where he resided for the rest of his life.

As a trustee (1909–32) and chairman (1913–31) of the Ottawa Separate School Board (OSSB), which represented Roman Catholic francophones and anglophones in the city, Genest was very much involved in the fight against Regulation 17 in Ontario. This policy, adopted in 1912 by the provincial Conservative government of Sir James Pliny Whitney*, restricted the use of French as a language of instruction and communication in bilingual schools to the first two years of elementary education and stipulated that teachers must have sufficient command of English to deliver the curriculum in that language or they would be dismissed. Only those institutions that complied received the necessary government funding to operate. Genest employed a confrontational strategy during the early years of Franco-Ontarian resistance to Regulation 17, which would have consequences not only for the school board, but also for himself.

Backed by most of the francophone and anglophone OSSB trustees, Genest flatly refused to enforce Regulation 17. The board, consequently deprived of government funding for all its schools as of 1913, had to make do with money raised from school taxes. To prompt Genest to comply with the regulation, anglophone trustee Robert Mackell, five of his anglophone OSSB colleagues, and two anglophone candidates defeated in the previous school-board election turned to the courts. In April 1914 they obtained a temporary injunction, known as the Mackell injunction, which prevented Genest from borrowing funds to make up for loss of revenue and from hiring and paying the teachers who did not obey Regulation 17. Genest and most of the OSSB trustees decided to contest the injunction, and even went so far as to suspend payment of salaries to all teachers. In June the judge of the Supreme Court of Ontario’s High Court division, Haughton Lennox, ordered Genest to pay the anglophone teachers, to which he resigned himself at the end of the month. Genest was soon short of money, and on 30 June he dismissed the lay teachers, who were mostly anglophone, but committed to rehiring them if they agreed to an annual salary that would vary between $300 and $400; previously their pay could rise to $1,800. The trustees who had initiated the injunction fought this action. In September the anglophone teachers hired during the summer on the new salary scale refused to take up their posts because they had received threats from teachers who had been let go, which forced Genest to defer the start of the new school year. On 11 September a court order obtained at the request of the dissenting anglophone trustees called upon Genest to open the schools in five days and take back the dismissed teachers. Following a majority vote by the trustees, however, the chairman did not pay them, on the pretext that they were not qualified because they had been hired by the OSSB, which was not willing to obey Regulation 17. William Lee, principal of St Joseph’s School, brought proceedings against the OSSB to recover his money. On 18 November the court forced the board to repay the sums owing to the plaintiff and to those teachers who had a teaching certificate, and to do so according to the former salary scale. Ten days later Lennox declared Regulation 17 valid (the judgement was reaffirmed by the Court of Appeal in July 1915). Despite the numerous objections put forward by Genest and the board, the Mackell injunction became permanent on 28 November and would be upheld until November 1931.

In May 1915 the OSSB teachers found themselves once more without salaries. Most of them had not been paid since December. The situation incurred the wrath of the anglophone teachers, who threatened to go on strike. The Ontario Department of Education paid them directly on 1 June. The bilingual teachers, for their part, remained without salaries.

Genest had to face another obstacle. In accordance with a bill adopted in April by the Ontario legislature, the Conservative provincial government of William Howard Hearst* set up a commission in July comprising three non-elected members (Denis Murphy, Thomas D’Arcy McGee, and Arthur Charbonneau) to run the OSSB separate schools. Genest and the board trustees no longer had any powers. However, because the commission had not been elected by Catholic taxpayers, they did not recognize it and interfered in its affairs. They wanted to keep the commissioners from getting their hands on OSSB bank funds and also asked the court to prevent the Quebec Bank and the City of Ottawa from paying the commissioners the revenue collected through school taxes. In November the chief justice of the Ontario Court of Appeal, Sir William Ralph Meredith*, dismissed the petition.

The government commission refused to pay the bilingual-school teachers because they did not enforce Regulation 17. On 1 Feb. 1916 Genest, with a number of French Canadian compatriots, demanded from Ottawa’s city council the OSSB’s share of revenues from school taxes for 1915 ($85,000), but their effort was in vain. Consequently, two days later the bilingual teachers went on strike, causing the schools to close; they would not reopen until September. At the end of February Genest accompanied a delegation that, through a petition, asked the Conservative prime minister, Sir Robert Laird Borden, to disallow the law that had created the special commission. Borden addressed the situation but maintained that the federal government did not have the power to intervene since education fell under provincial jurisdiction. In November 1916 the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London declared the special commission to be unconstitutional, but not Regulation 17. The OSSB therefore took over the running of separate schools once more.

On 7 December Genest circumvented the Mackell injunction by paying the teachers of the bilingual schools, who had been without salaries for more than two years. In May 1917 John J. O’Meara, the lawyer representing Mackell and his allies, brought proceedings against Genest for contempt of court and demanded his imprisonment. The lawyer Napoléon-Antoine Belcourt, who up to that point had played a major role in resisting Regulation 17, defended him. After refusing to cooperate with the court during his cross-examination in May, Genest reversed his stand and agreed to answer questions accurately and supply the documents requested during a second cross-examination in October.

In April 1917 two laws pertaining to the OSSB received royal assent in Ontario. The first allowed the creation of another government commission if the OSSB did not comply with Regulation 17. To ensure its constitutionality, the government of Ontario turned to the Court of Appeal in October. Two months later Justice Meredith and his colleagues rendered a favourable verdict. The second law forced the OSSB to pay the expenses of the previous commission. According to Genest and his OSSB colleagues, these laws ran counter to the judgement delivered by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London in November 1916. They therefore submitted a petition to the governor general, the Duke of Devonshire [Cavendish], asking him to disallow the legislation.

To recover the money spent by the government commission, the OSSB brought a lawsuit against the Quebec Bank, the Bank of Ottawa, and the three trustees appointed by the Ontario government. In January 1918 the judge of the Ontario Supreme Court’s High Court, Roger Conger Clute, allowed the OSSB to recover the amounts, with the exception of those used for the teachers’ salaries and the running of the schools. However, the decision was overturned in October by the Court of Appeal and, a year later, by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.

At the beginning of the 1920s Genest began a negotiation process with the United Farmers coalition government, which had been in power since 1919. Accompanied by representatives of the Association Canadienne-Française d’Éducation d’Ontario (of which he was president from 1919 to 1921), he met several times with the premier, Ernest Charles Drury*, and his minister of education, Robert Henry Grant*, to reach a solution to the school problem but was unsuccessful. When the Conservative government of George Howard Ferguson* (which had come to power in 1923) changed Regulation 17 in 1927 to align with the demands of the Franco-Ontarian population, Genest, satisfied with the decision, undertook to cooperate with the Department of Education and its inspectors. In so doing, he wished to facilitate the implementation of the recommendations of the Scott–Merchant–Côté report [see Francis Walter Merchant], which suggested, among other things, re-establishing the study and use of French within the framework of a bilingual education system, dividing the institutions into two categories: public schools and Roman Catholic separate schools.

From the start of the fight against Regulation 17, Genest and his Franco-Ontarian compatriots had been able to count on the support of certain members of the French Canadian elite in the province of Quebec: the author and polemicist Olivar Asselin, politician Armand La Vergne, Abbé Lionel Groulx*, journalist Omer Héroux*, and Le Devoir editor Henri Bourassa*, for example. From the 1920s onwards, some members of Ontario’s Anglo-Ontarian elite, shaken by the national crisis provoked by conscription in 1917, decided to come to the defence of the rights of French Canadians. Charles Bruce Sissons*, a professor at Victoria University in Toronto, James Laughlin Hughes, the chief inspector of Toronto schools, author Percival Fellman Morley, and lawyers William Henry Moore and John Milton Godfrey* were among them.

In January 1931 Genest failed to be re-elected president of the OSSB, suffering the same fate as both Aurélien Bélanger, who was forced to resign as director of bilingual schools after a motion put forward by the OSSB proposed the abolition of his post, and Belcourt, who was replaced as the lawyer for the OSSB in March. The majority of trustees wished to remove the leaders of the resistance against Regulation 17 to maintain a climate of peace. In spite of everything, Genest decided to remain a trustee, but because of health problems, he announced in November 1932 that he would not seek another term. In his honour a grand celebration took place on 27–28 Feb. 1933 at the Université d’Ottawa and the Château Laurier. Genest was presented with a bronze bust in his likeness and received several testimonials of admiration and affection. His supporters acknowledged him as one of the leaders of the resistance; according to Le Droit of 10 and 18 February and 1 March, they described him as a “champion of French survival in Ontario” and a “champion of bilingual schools in Ontario,” while his pupils “considered [him to be] … like a father who had jealously looked after the safeguarding of the French language.”

A prominent figure of the French Canadian elite in Ottawa, Genest involved himself in various French-language organizations. He was president of the Institut Canadien-Français d’Ottawa from 1905 to 1906 and the Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste d’Ottawa in 1915. In 1920 he was elected an honorary lifetime officer and, in 1927, lifetime director of the Union Saint-Joseph du Canada. As well, the Association Canadienne-Française d’Éducation d’Ontario had tried unsuccessfully, in 1922, 1924, 1925, and 1926, to have him named senator. With the aim of highlighting his contribution to the struggle against Regulation 17, France conferred on him the title of Officier de l’Instruction Publique in 1927 and the College of Ottawa awarded him an honorary lld in 1928.

Genest died at his Ottawa residence on 25 April 1937 at the age of 71, a victim of hyperglycaemia caused by diabetes. His funeral was held two days later at the church of Sacré-Cœur; Guillaume Forbes, archbishop of Ottawa, gave the absolution and Joseph-Alfred Myrand, curé of the parish of Sainte-Anne, was the cantor for the service. Many citizens, representatives from the Catholic Church, the state, and the world of teaching, as well as hundreds of pupils, paid their last respects.

“An energetic figure, hot-tempered, a chivalrous character”: such were the three principal qualities attributed by Le Droit to Samuel McCallum Genest in its issue of 26 April 1937. Like other leaders of the resistance against Regulation 17 – among them Belcourt, Bélanger, Senator Philippe Landry*, and Oblate father Charles Charlebois – Genest never gave in to an assimilationist policy that lasted 15 years. He holds a place among those who devoted their lives to ensuring the survival of French in Ontario.

Geneviève Richer

Some of the plans Samuel McCallum Genest prepared while working at the federal Dept. of the Interior are held at LAC, R190-36-2; R12567-126-7; R12567-129-2; R12567-130-9; R12567-132-2; R12567-134-6.

AO, RG 80-5-0-42, no.2249; RG 80-8-0-1729, no.11192. Arch. Deschâtelets, Oblats de Marie-Immaculée (Richelieu, Québec), HP 351–375. BANQ-MCQ, CE401-S48, 10 juin 1865. BANQ-O, ZQ2, 9, 1er oct. 1894, 27 avril 1896. Centre de Recherche en Civilisation Canadienne-Française (Ottawa), C2. FD, Saint-Paul (Aylmer, Québec), 27 avril 1937. Le Devoir, 26, 27 avril 1937; 3 mars 1945. Le Droit (Ottawa), 1914–37. Ottawa Evening Citizen, 4 May 1914; 12, 28, 29, 31 May, 1, 22 June 1915; 24 Oct. 1918; 26 April 1937. Ottawa Evening Journal, 26 April 1937. Saturday Evening Citizen (Ottawa), 8 Oct. 1927. Réal Bélanger, Henri Bourassa: le fascinant destin d’un homme libre (1868–1914) ([Québec], 2013). Michel Bock, A nation beyond borders: Lionel Groulx on French Canadian minorities, trans. Ferdinanda Von Gennip (Ottawa, 2014). Decisions of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council relating to the British North America Act, 1867 and the Canadian Constitution, 1867–1954, comp. R. A. Olmsted (3v., Ottawa, 1954), 2: 123–30. Directory, Ottawa, 1880–1930. Mackell v. Ottawa Separate School Trustees (1914), Ontario Law Reports (Toronto), 32: 245–70. The Ottawa school question (Ottawa, 1914). The Ottawa separate school case (Ottawa, 1915). Ottawa Separate School Trustees v. City of Ottawa, Ottawa Separate School Trustees v. Quebec Bank (1915), Ontario Law Reports, 34: 624–32. Ottawa Separate School Trustees v. City of Ottawa, Ottawa Separate School Trustees v. Quebec Bank (1916), Ontario Law Reports, 36: 485–98. Ottawa Separate School Trustees v. Quebec Bank (1918), Ontario Law Reports, 41: 594–628. Ottawa Separate School Trustees v. Quebec Bank (1918), Ontario Law Reports, 43: 637–47. Re Ottawa Separate Schools (1917), Ontario Law Reports, 41: 259–75. Le siècle du règlement 17, sous la dir. de Michel Bock et François Charbonneau (Sudbury, Ontario, 2015). Esdras Terrien, Quinze années de lutte contre le Règlement XVII ([Ontario, 1970?]).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Geneviève Richer, “GENEST, SAMUEL McCALLUM (baptized Marie-Joseph-Samuel),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 28, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/genest_samuel_mccallum_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/genest_samuel_mccallum_16E.html
Author of Article:   Geneviève Richer
Title of Article:   GENEST, SAMUEL McCALLUM (baptized Marie-Joseph-Samuel)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   October 28, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

ROSS, ALEXANDER – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

décédé le 23 octobre 1856 dans la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge (Manitoba)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :   Samuel Genest (1865-1937) - #mON400

Provenance : Lien

GENEST, SAMUEL McCALLUM (baptisé Marie-Joseph-Samuel), fonctionnaire, né le 10 juin 1865 à Trois-Rivières, Bas-Canada, fils de Laurent-Ubalde-Archibald Genest, greffier, et d’Emma McCallum ; le 31 octobre 1883, il épousa à Ottawa Charlotte-Annie (Anna) McConnell (décédée le 29 septembre 1894), et ils eurent un fils et une fille qui ne survécurent pas à leur père, puis le 27 avril 1896, à Aylmer (Gatineau, Québec), Emma Woods, et de ce mariage naquirent deux fils ; décédé le 25 avril 1937 à Ottawa et inhumé deux jours plus tard à Aylmer.

Né d’un père canadien-français et d’une mère d’origine écossaise, Samuel McCallum Genest passe sa jeunesse dans sa ville natale, où il fait ses études chez les Frères des écoles chrétiennes et au séminaire de Saint-Joseph des Trois-Rivières. Figure bien en vue de l’élite locale, son père exerce le métier de greffier du district de Trois-Rivières pendant une cinquantaine d’années. Au moins cinq membres de sa famille occuperont diverses fonctions dans le monde politique provincial. Genest est en effet le neveu du conservateur Charles-Borromée Genest, le beau-frère du conservateur Nérée Le Noblet Duplessis et des libéraux Richard-Stanislas Cooke et William-Pierre Grant, et l’oncle du premier ministre unioniste de la province de Québec Maurice Le Noblet Duplessis*.

Sa formation terminée, Genest travaille comme arpenteur à la construction du chemin de fer de jonction de Pontiac au Pacifique, emploi qui l’amène à découvrir la région outaouaise. Au début des années 1880, il entre au service du département fédéral de l’Intérieur à Ottawa. Fonctionnaire jusqu’en 1930, il y occupera les postes d’ingénieur civil, de dessinateur de plans, de dessinateur de plans en chef au sein de la division des statistiques minérales et des mines, et de directeur de la division technique de l’administration des terres fédérales. Il dressera notamment des cartes de sites miniers des Prairies. Il vit à Aylmer au moins à partir de 1883, puis s’établit à Ottawa en 1896, où il passera le reste de ses jours.

Commissaire (1909–1932) et président (1913–1931) du conseil des écoles séparées d’Ottawa (CESO), qui représente les catholiques francophones et anglophones de la ville, Genest est particulièrement associé à la lutte contre le Règlement 17 en Ontario. Cette politique, adoptée en 1912 par le gouvernement provincial conservateur de sir James Pliny Whitney*, limite notamment l’usage du français comme langue d’enseignement et de communication dans les écoles bilingues aux deux premières années du primaire, et stipule que les enseignants doivent maîtriser suffisamment l’anglais pour donner le programme scolaire dans cette langue sous peine de congédiement. Seuls les établissements qui s’y assujettissent obtiennent les fonds gouvernementaux nécessaires à leur fonctionnement. Genest utilise une stratégie de confrontation pendant les premières années de la résistance franco-ontarienne au Règlement 17, ce qui entraînera des conséquences non seulement pour la commission scolaire, mais aussi pour lui-même.

Appuyé par la majorité des commissaires francophones et anglophones du CESO, Genest refuse catégoriquement d’appliquer le Règlement 17. Le conseil, ainsi privé du financement gouvernemental pour l’ensemble de ses écoles à compter de 1913, doit se débrouiller avec l’argent provenant des taxes scolaires. Pour l’inciter à se conformer, le commissaire anglophone Robert Mackell, cinq de ses confrères anglophones du CESO et deux candidats anglophones défaits à la dernière élection scolaire se tournent vers les tribunaux. Ils obtiennent en avril 1914 une injonction temporaire, connue sous le nom de Mackell, qui empêche Genest d’emprunter des fonds pour compenser la perte de revenus, d’embaucher et de rémunérer les enseignants qui ne respectent pas le Règlement 17. Genest et la plupart des commissaires du CESO décident de la contester, et vont même jusqu’à suspendre le versement du salaire de tous les enseignants. En juin, le juge de la division de la Haute Cour de la Cour suprême de l’Ontario, Haughton Lennox, ordonne à Genest de payer les enseignants anglophones, ce qu’il se résigne à faire à la fin de ce mois. Rapidement à court d’argent, le 30 juin, Genest congédie les professeurs laïques, majoritairement anglophones, tout en s’engageant à les reprendre s’ils acceptent un salaire annuel variant entre 300 $ et 400 $ (leur rémunération pouvait auparavant aller jusqu’à 1 800 $). Les commissaires à l’origine de l’injonction contestent cette action. En septembre, les enseignants anglophones embauchés au cours de l’été selon la nouvelle échelle salariale refusent d’entrer en poste parce qu’ils ont reçu des menaces de la part des professeurs renvoyés, ce qui oblige Genest à retarder la rentrée scolaire. Le 11 septembre, un ordre de la cour, obtenu à la demande des commissaires anglophones dissidents, exhorte Genest à ouvrir les écoles cinq jours plus tard et à reprendre les enseignants congédiés. Cependant, à la suite d’un vote majoritaire des commissaires, le président ne les rémunère pas, prétextant qu’ils ne sont pas qualifiés puisqu’ils sont engagés par le CESO, qui ne veut pas respecter le Règlement 17. William Lee, directeur de l’école Saint-Joseph, poursuit le CESO pour récupérer son argent. Le 18 novembre, la cour contraint le conseil de remettre les sommes dues au plaignant et aux professeurs qui possèdent un brevet, et ce, d’après l’ancienne échelle salariale. Dix jours plus tard, le juge Lennox déclare la validité du Règlement 17 (jugement réaffirmé par la Cour d’appel en juillet 1915). Malgré les nombreuses objections de Genest et du conseil, l’injonction Mackell devient permanente le 28 novembre et sera maintenue jusqu’en novembre 1931.

En mai 1915, les enseignants du CESO se retrouvent, encore une fois, sans salaire. La plupart d’entre eux n’ont pas été rémunérés depuis le mois de décembre. Cette situation provoque la colère des professeurs anglophones, qui menacent de faire la grève. Le département ontarien de l’Éducation les paye directement le 1er juin. Les enseignants bilingues demeurent, pour leur part, privés de salaire.

Genest doit faire face à un autre obstacle. Conformément à un projet de loi adopté en avril par l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, le gouvernement provincial conservateur de William Howard Hearst* crée, au mois de juillet, une commission gouvernementale composée de trois membres non élus (Denis Murphy, Thomas D’Arcy McGee et Arthur Charbonneau) pour gérer les écoles séparées du CESO. Genest et les commissaires du conseil n’ont plus de pouvoirs. Toutefois, parce que la commission n’a pas été élue par les contribuables catholiques, ils ne la reconnaissent pas et s’ingèrent dans ses affaires. Ils veulent l’empêcher de mettre la main sur les fonds bancaires du CESO et s’adressent de plus au tribunal pour interdire à la Banque de Québec et à la ville d’Ottawa de lui verser les revenus des taxes scolaires. En novembre, le juge en chef de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario, sir William Ralph Meredith*, déboute cette requête.

La commission gouvernementale refuse de payer les enseignants des écoles bilingues parce qu’ils ne respectent pas le Règlement 17. Avec plusieurs compatriotes canadiens-français, le 1er février 1916, Genest réclame en vain au conseil municipal d’Ottawa la part du CESO des revenus des taxes scolaires pour l’année 1915 (85 000 $). Par conséquent, deux jours plus tard, les enseignants bilingues déclenchent une grève, entraînant du même coup la fermeture des écoles jusqu’à la rentrée scolaire de septembre. À la fin du mois de février, Genest accompagne une délégation qui, au moyen d’une pétition, demande au premier ministre conservateur du Canada, sir Robert Laird Borden, de désavouer la loi qui a permis la création de la commission spéciale. Sans négliger la situation, ce dernier soutient que le gouvernement fédéral n’a pas le pouvoir d’intervenir puisque l’éducation est de compétence provinciale. En novembre 1916, le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé à Londres déclare la commission spéciale inconstitutionnelle, mais pas le Règlement 17. Le CESO reprend donc la gestion des écoles séparées.

Le 7 décembre, Genest contourne l’injonction Mackell en payant les enseignants des écoles bilingues, sans salaire depuis plus de deux ans. En mai 1917, l’avocat de Mackell et de ses alliés, John J. O’Meara, le poursuit pour outrage au tribunal et exige son emprisonnement. L’avocat Napoléon-Antoine Belcourt, qui a jusque-là exercé un rôle de premier plan dans la résistance au Règlement 17, le défend. Après avoir refusé de collaborer avec la cour pendant son interrogatoire du mois de mai, Genest se rétracte et accepte de répondre correctement aux questions et de fournir la documentation demandée au cours d’un second interrogatoire, en octobre.

En avril 1917, en Ontario, on a sanctionné deux lois visant le CESO. La première permet la création d’une autre commission gouvernementale si le CESO n’obtempère pas au Règlement 17. Pour en assurer la constitutionnalité, le gouvernement ontarien s’adresse, en octobre, à la Cour d’appel. Deux mois plus tard, le juge Meredith et ses confrères rendent un verdict favorable. La deuxième oblige le CESO à acquitter les dépenses de la précédente commission. Selon Genest et ses collègues du CESO, ces lois vont à l’encontre du jugement du comité judiciaire du Conseil privé à Londres rendu en novembre 1916. Ils soumettent donc une pétition au gouverneur général, le duc de Devonshire [Cavendish], pour lui demander de les désavouer.

Pour récupérer l’argent qu’a dépensé la commission gouvernementale, le CESO intente une poursuite contre la Banque de Québec, la Banque d’Ottawa et les trois commissaires nommés par le gouvernement ontarien. En janvier 1918, le juge de la division de la Haute Cour de la Cour suprême de l’Ontario, Roger Conger Clute, permet au CESO de recouvrer les sommes, à l’exception des montants versés pour les salaires des enseignants et le fonctionnement des écoles. Ce jugement est toutefois infirmé en octobre par la Cour d’appel et, un an plus tard, par le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé.

Au début des années 1920, Genest se lance dans un processus de négociations avec le gouvernement de coalition des Fermiers unis, en place depuis 1919. En compagnie de représentants de l’Association canadienne-française d’éducation d’Ontario (qu’il préside de 1919 à 1921), il rencontre à quelques reprises le premier ministre, Ernest Charles Drury*, et son ministre de l’Éducation, Robert Henry Grant*, afin d’obtenir, sans succès, une solution au problème scolaire. Lorsque le gouvernement conservateur de George Howard Ferguson* (porté au pouvoir en 1923) modifie, en 1927, le Règlement 17 pour le rendre conforme aux demandes de la population franco-ontarienne, Genest, satisfait de la décision, s’engage à coopérer avec le ministère de l’Éducation et ses inspecteurs. Il veut ainsi faciliter l’application des recommandations du rapport Scott-Merchant-Côté [V. Francis Walter Merchant], qui suggère, entre autres, de rétablir l’étude et l’usage du français dans le cadre d’un système d’éducation bilingue, et de diviser les établissements selon deux catégories : les écoles publiques et les écoles catholiques séparées.

Dès le début de la lutte au Règlement 17, Genest et ses compatriotes franco-ontariens ont pu compter sur l’appui de certains membres de l’élite canadienne-française de la province de Québec : l’auteur polémiste Olivar Asselin, l’homme politique Armand La Vergne, l’abbé Lionel Groulx*, le journaliste Omer Héroux* et le directeur du Devoir Henri Bourassa*, par exemple. À partir des années 1920, ébranlés par la crise nationale qu’a provoquée la conscription en 1917, certains membres de l’élite anglo-ontarienne décident de se porter à la défense des droits des Canadiens français. Le professeur de la Victoria University à Toronto Charles Bruce Sissons*, l’auteur Percival Fellman Morley, l’inspecteur en chef des écoles de Toronto James Laughlin Hughes et les avocats William Henry Moore et John Milton Godfrey* font partie du nombre.

En janvier 1931, Genest n’est pas réélu à la présidence du CESO, subissant le même sort qu’Aurélien Bélanger, forcé de démissionner comme directeur des écoles bilingues à la suite d’une motion déposée par le CESO proposant l’abolition de son poste, et que Belcourt, remplacé au mois de mars dans ses fonctions d’avocat du CESO. Une majorité de commissaires souhaitent se débarrasser des chefs de la résistance au Règlement 17 pour maintenir un climat de paix. Malgré tout, Genest décide de demeurer commissaire, mais, en raison d’ennuis de santé, il annonce, en novembre 1932, qu’il ne sollicitera pas un autre mandat. Afin de lui rendre hommage, une grande fête a lieu les 27 et 28 février 1933 à l’université d’Ottawa et au château Laurier. Genest reçoit un buste en bronze à son effigie, de même que plusieurs témoignages d’admiration et de sympathie. Ses partisans le reconnaissent comme un des chefs de la résistance ; selon le Droit du 10 février, du 18 février et du 1er mars, ils le qualifient de « champion de la survivance française en Ontario » et de « champion des écoles bilingues de l’Ontario », tandis que les élèves le « considèrent […] comme un père qui a veillé d’un soin jaloux à la sauvegarde du parler français ».

Figure bien en vue de l’élite canadienne-française d’Ottawa, Genest s’est impliqué dans diverses organisations de langue française. Il occupe la présidence de l’Institut canadien-français d’Ottawa en 1905–1906 et de la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste d’Ottawa en 1915. Il est élu, en 1920, officier honoraire à vie et, en 1927, directeur à vie de l’Union Saint-Joseph du Canada. De plus, l’Association canadienne-française d’éducation d’Ontario a tenté, en 1922, 1924, 1925 et 1926, de le faire nommer sénateur, sans succès. Dans le but de souligner sa contribution à la lutte contre le Règlement 17, la France lui donne le titre d’officier de l’Instruction publique en 1927 et le collège d’Ottawa lui décerne un doctorat honorifique en droit en 1928.

Genest s’éteint à sa résidence d’Ottawa le 25 avril 1937, à l’âge de 71 ans, victime d’une hyperglycémie causée par son diabète. À ses funérailles, célébrées deux jours plus tard à l’église du Sacré-Cœur, Mgr Guillaume Forbes, archevêque d’Ottawa, dit l’absoute, et Joseph-Alfred Myrand, curé de la paroisse Sainte-Anne, chante le service. Plusieurs citoyens, des représentants de l’Église catholique, de l’État et du milieu de l’enseignement, ainsi que des centaines d’élèves, lui rendent un dernier hommage.

« Figure énergique, tempérament bouillant, caractère chevaleresque », telles sont les trois grandes qualités qu’attribue le Droit à Samuel McCallum Genest dans son édition du 26 avril 1937. À l’instar d’autres chefs de la résistance au Règlement 17, dont Belcourt, Bélanger, le sénateur Philippe Landry* et le père oblat Charles Charlebois, Genest n’a jamais baissé les bras devant une politique assimilatrice qui a duré 15 ans. Il fait partie de ceux qui ont consacré leur vie à assurer la survivance française en Ontario.

Geneviève Richer

Certains des plans que Samuel McCallum Genest a réalisés pendant qu’il travaillait au ministère fédéral de l’Intérieur sont conservés à BAC, R190-36-2 ; R12567-126-7 ; R12567-129-2 ; R12567-130-9 ; R12567-132-2 ; R12567-134-6.

AO, RG 80-5-0-42, no 2249 ; RG 80-8-0-1729, no 11192.— Arch. Deschâtelets, Oblats de Marie-Immaculée (Richelieu, Québec), HP 351–375.— BAnQ-MCQ, CE401-S48, 10 juin 1865.— BAnQ-O, ZQ2, 9, 1er oct. 1894, 27 avril 1896.— Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française (Ottawa), C2.— FD, Saint-Paul (Aylmer, Québec), 27 avril 1937.— Le Devoir, 26–27 avril 1937 ; 3 mars 1945.— Le Droit (Ottawa), 1914–1937.— Ottawa Evening Citizen, 4 mai 1914 ; 12, 28–29, 31 mai, 1er, 22 juin 1915 ; 24 oct. 1918 ; 26 avril 1937.— Ottawa Evening Journal, 26 avril 1937.— Saturday Evening Citizen (Ottawa), 8 oct. 1927.— Annuaire, Ottawa, 1880–1930.— Réal Bélanger, Henri Bourassa : le fascinant destin d’un homme libre (1868–1914) ([Québec], 2013).— Michel Bock, Quand la nation débordait les frontières : les minorités françaises dans la pensée de Lionel Groulx (Montréal, 2004).— Decisions of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council relating to the British North America Act, 1867 and the Canadian Constitution, 1867–1954, R. A. Olmsted, compil. (3 vol., Ottawa, 1954), 2 : 123–130.— Mackell c. Ottawa Separate School Trustees (1914), Ontario Law Reports (Toronto), 32 : 245–270.— The Ottawa school question (Ottawa, 1914).— The Ottawa separate school case (Ottawa, 1915).— Ottawa Separate School Trustees c. City of Ottawa, Ottawa Separate School Trustees c. Quebec Bank (1915), Ontario Law Reports, 34 : 624–632.— Ottawa Separate School Trustees c. City of Ottawa, Ottawa Separate School Trustees c. Quebec Bank (1916), Ontario Law Reports, 36 : 485–498.— Ottawa Separate School Trustees c. Quebec Bank (1918), Ontario Law Reports, 41 : 594–628.— Ottawa Separate School Trustees c. Quebec Bank (1918), Ontario Law Reports, 43 : 637–647.— Re Ottawa Separate Schools (1917), Ontario Law Reports, 41 : 259–275.— Le Siècle du Règlement 17, sous la dir. de Michel Bock et François Charbonneau (Sudbury, Ontario, 2015).— Esdras Terrien, Quinze années de lutte contre le Règlement XVII ([Ontario, 1970 ?]).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Geneviève Richer, « GENEST, SAMUEL McCALLUM (baptisé Marie-Joseph-Samuel) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 oct. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/genest_samuel_mccallum_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/genest_samuel_mccallum_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Geneviève Richer
Titre de l'article:    GENEST, SAMUEL McCALLUM (baptisé Marie-Joseph-Samuel)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    23 octobre 2020