DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Original title:  UW - Green Bay - Wisconsin's French Connections Jean Nicolet Statue

Source: Link

NICOLLET DE BELLEBORNE, JEAN, interpreter and clerk of the Compagnie des Cent-Associés, liaison officer between the French and the Indians, explorer; b. c. 1598, probably at Cherbourg (Normandy), son of Thomas Nicollet, king’s postal courier between Cherbourg and Paris, and of Marie de Lamer; drowned 27 Oct. 1642 at Sillery.

Nicollet arrived in Canada in 1618, in the service of the Compagnie des Marchands de Rouen et de Saint-Malo. Like Marsolet and Brûlé, he was intended to live among the Indian allies in order to learn their language and customs and explore the regions they inhabited. Nothing is known of his education or temperament, except this remark of Father Vimont in 1643: “his disposition and his excellent memory led one to expect worthwhile things of him.”

Champlain, at the time of his explorations, had established relations with the Algonkins in the upper reaches of the Ottawa (Outaouais) River. It is presumed that, in his desire to strengthen the alliance that was only just taking shape, it was Champlain who instructed Nicollet, the year he arrived, to go and spend the winter on Allumette Island. This place was the rallying point of the great Algonkin family commanded by Tessouat (d. 1636). The island was located at a strategic spot on the Ottawa River, the fur-trade route. It was important, for the sake of trade, that the tribes living on the shores of the Ottawa should be friendly with the French. Nicollet stayed two years at Allumette Island, and carried out his mission very well. He learned the Huron and Algonkin languages, lived the precarious existence of the natives, came to know their customs, and explored the region. They were not long in accepting him as one of their own. They made him a chief, allowed him to attend their councils, and even took him among the Iroquois to negotiate a peace treaty.

Nicollet returned to Quebec in 1620. He made a report on his mission and was given another: to make contact with the Nipissings who lived on the shores of the lake of the same name. These Indians were each year assuming a more important role in the fur trade, acting as intermediaries between the French and the Indian tribes of the west and of Hudson Bay. It was Nicollet’s task to consolidate their alliance with the French, and to see that their furs did not find their way to Hudson Bay.

In the summer of 1620, Nicollet went to the country of the Nipissings for nine years he was to live among them. He had his own lodge and a store. By day he traded with the Indians of the various tribes that were on their way to the shores of Lake Nipissing, and questioned them about their country; at night he noted down what he had gleaned. These “mémoires” of Nicollet, unfortunately lost today, have come to us in-directly through the Relations. Father Paul Le Jeune, who was able to consult them, drew upon them in order to describe the customs of the Indians in that region.

When Quebec was captured by the English in 1629, Nicollet, who was loyal to France, took refuge in the Huron country. He thwarted all the English plans to get the Indians to trade with them.

Nicollet appeared at Trois-Rivières and Quebec in 1633. He asked permission to set himself up at Trois-Rivières as a clerk of the Compagnie des Cent-Associés, and his wish was readily granted. Before taking up his new duties, however, he was requested, no doubt by Champlain, to undertake a voyage of exploration and pacification among the Gens de Mer, also called Puants, Ounipigons or Winnebagoes. These Indians lived at the far end of Green Bay (Baie des Puants), surrounded by Algonkin tribes with whom their relationship was somewhat cool, where the fur trade was concerned. An alliance between the Gens de Mer and the Dutch of the Hudson River region was to be feared. It was necessary to restore peace as soon as possible in this area. Nicollet was also supposed to use the trip to check the information that he had gathered concerning the China Sea, which according to the Indians was near to Green Bay. Nicollet therefore provided himself, before his departure, with a robe of Chinese damask, liberally strewn with flowers and multi-coloured birds.

Nicollet set out in the summer of 1634, probably in mid-July. He followed the traditional Ottawa River route, branched off at Allumette Island in the direction of Lake Nipissing, then went down the French River (Rivière des Français) to get to Lake Huron. On the way he recruited an escort of seven Hurons. He headed for Michilimackinac, entered Lake Michigan, and reached Green Bay. Attired in his damask robe, he momentarily struck terror into the Winnebagoes, who took him for a god. He assembled 4,000 or 5,000 men, grouping together the different tribes of the region, and, while smoking their long-stemmed pipes, they concluded a peace.

Nicollet had attained the first objective of his journey. Unfortunately, he had not found the China Sea. In a fruitless attempt to do so, he went down the Fox River (Rivière aux Renards) as far as the village of Mascoutens, three days’ distance from the Wisconsin River, a tributary of the Mississippi. A thrust southward, towards the Illinois River, was scarcely more rewarding. Probably disappointed by the incomplete success of his mission, he returned to Quebec in the autumn of 1635. It is none the less true that he was the first white man to explore the region now known as the American Northwest.

Nicollet settled finally at Trois-Rivières, as a clerk of the Compagnie des Cent-Associés. He received, “in common with Olivier Letardif, a grant of 160 acres of wooded land in the outskirts, 23 May 1637.” It may have been at the same period that he obtained, in co-ownership with his brother-in-law Letardif, the Belleborne fief, which was probably on the Plains of Abraham, at Quebec. In October 1637 he married Marguerite, daughter of Guillaume Couillard and Guillemette Hébert, by whom he had a son and a daughter. The latter, whose first name was Marguerite, became the wife of Jean-Baptiste Legardeur* de Repentigny, a member of the Conseil Souverain. Until his death, Nicollet stood out as a leading figure in the little town of Trois-Rivières. The noteworthy services that he rendered to the colony, and his knowledge of Indian languages and customs, earned him the respect of everyone.

The Jesuit Relations often speak warmly of his exemplary conduct; unlike the majority of the coureurs de bois of his day, Nicollet appears al-ways to have lived according to the principles of his religion. In 1628, however, he did have an illegitimate daughter, probably born of a Nipissing Indian woman. In 1633 he asked permission to stay at Trois-Rivières, “to assure his salvation,” wrote Father Le Jeune, “by the use of the sacraments.” His greatest joy, in the spare moments that his duties allowed him, was to act as an interpreter for the missionaries and to teach religion to the Indians.

Nicollet died prematurely in 1642 at Quebec. While he was temporarily replacing the head clerk of the company, his brother-in-law Letardif, he was asked to go with all speed to Trois-Rivières to save an Iroquois prisoner that the Hurons were preparing to torture. The shallop that was taking him to Trois-Rivières was over-turned by a strong gust of wind, near Sillery. Being unable to swim, he was drowned.

Jean Hamelin

ASQ, Documents Faribault, 7; Registre A, 560f. (carries Nicollet’s signature). Champlain, Œuvres (Laverdière), V, VI. JR (Thwaites), VIII, 247, 257, 267, 295f.; XXIII, 274–82; et passim. C. W. Butterfield, History of the discovery of the north-west by John Nicolet in 1634; with a sketch of his life (Cincinnati, 1881). Godbout, Les pionniers de la région trifluvienne. Auguste Gosselin, Jean Nicolet et le Canada de son temps (Québec, 1905). Lionel Groulx, Notre grande aventure: l’empire français en Amérique du Nord (1535–1760) (Montréal et Paris, [1958]). Gérard Hébert, “Jean Nicolet, le premier blanc à résider au lac Nipissing” (La Société historique du Nouvel-Ontario, Documents historiques, XIII, Sudbury, 1947), 8–24. Henri Jouan, “Jean Nicolet (de Cherbourg), interprète-voyageur an Canada, 1618–1642,” RC, XXII (1886), 67–83. Berjamin Sulte, “Jean Nicolet,” Journal de l’Instruction publique, XVII (1873), 166f.: XVIII (1874), 28–32; “Jean Nicolet et la découverte du Wisconsin, 1634,” RC, VI (1910), 148-–55, 331–42, 409–20; “Le nom de Nicolet,” BRH, VII (1901), 21–23; “Notes on Jean Nicolet” (Wisconsin Hist. Soc. Coll., VIII, Madison, 1879), 188–94.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jean Hamelin, “NICOLLET DE BELLEBORNE, JEAN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 1, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 23, 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/nicollet_de_belleborne_jean_1E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/nicollet_de_belleborne_jean_1E.html
Author of Article: Jean Hamelin
Title of Article: NICOLLET DE BELLEBORNE, JEAN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 1
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1966
Year of revision: 1966
Access Date: July 23, 2014

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Titre original :  UW - Green Bay - Wisconsin's French Connections Jean Nicolet Statue

Provenance : Lien

NICOLLET DE BELLEBORNE, JEAN, interprète et commis de la Compagnie des Cent-Associés, agent de liaison entre les Français et les Indiens, explorateur, né vers 1598, probablement à Cherbourg (Normandie), de Thomas Nicollet, messager postal ordinaire du roi entre Cherbourg et Paris, et de Marie de Lainer, noyé près de Sillery le 27 octobre 1642.

Nicollet arriva au Canada en 1618, au service de la Compagnie des Marchands de Rouen et de Saint-Malo. Comme Marsolet et Brûlé, on le destinait à vivre parmi les Indiens alliés afin qu’il apprît leur langue, leurs coutumes et explorât les régions qu’ils habitaient. On ne sait rien de son éducation ni de son tempérament, sauf cette remarque du père Vimont, en 1643 : « son humeur & sa memoire excellente firent esperer quelque chose de bon de luy ».

Champlain, lors de ses explorations, était entré en relations avec les Algonquins de l’Outaouais (Ottawa) supérieur. On présume que, désireux de consolider une alliance à peine ébauchée, c’est lui qui chargea Nicollet, l’année de son arrivée, de se rendre hiverner à l’île aux Allumettes. Cet endroit était le centre de ralliement de la grande famille algonquine commandée par Tessouat (mort en 1636). L’île était située en un lieu stratégique sur l’Outaouais, la route des fourrures. Il importait, dans l’intérêt du commerce, que les tribus qui vivaient sur les bords de l’Outaouais fussent amies des Français. Nicollet resta deux ans à l’île aux Allumettes, s’acquittant fort bien de sa mission. Il apprit le huron et l’algonquin, vécut la vie précaire des indigènes, s’initia à leurs coutumes et explora la région. Les Algonquins ne tardèrent pas à le considérer comme l’un des leurs. Ils le firent capitaine, lui permirent d’assister à leurs conseils et l’emmenèrent même chez les Iroquois négocier un traité de paix.

Nicollet revint à Québec en 1620. Il rendit compte de sa mission et en reçut une nouvelle : entrer en rapport avec les Népissingues qui vivaient sur les bords du lac du même nom. Ces Indiens occupaient chaque année une place plus importante dans le commerce des fourrures, se posant en intermédiaires entre les Français et les tribus indiennes de l’Ouest et de la baie d’Hudson. Nicollet devait consolider leur alliance avec les Français et veiller à ce que leurs fourrures ne prennent pas la route de l’Hudson.

Dès l’été 1620, Nicollet se rendit chez les Népissingues. Neuf années durant, il allait vivre parmi eux. Il avait sa cabane à part et un magasin. Le jour, il commerçait avec les Indiens des différentes tribus qui se rendaient sur les bords du lac des Népissingues (Nipissing) et lés interrogeait sur leur pays ; le soir, il notait par écrit ce qu’il avait recueilli. Ces mémoires de Nicollet, malheureusement perdus aujourd’hui, nous sont parvenus indirectement par les Relations. Le père Paul Le Jeune, qui a pu les consulter, s’en inspira pour décrire les mœurs des Indiens de cette région.

Lors de la prise de Québec par les Anglais en 1629, Nicollet, fidèle à la France, se réfugia au pays des Hurons. Il contrecarra tous les plans des Anglais pour amener les Indiens à commercer avec eux.

Nicollet parut à Trois-Rivières et à Québec en 1633. Il demanda la permission de s’établir à Trois-Rivières à titre de commis de la Compagnie des Cent-Associés. On accéda volontiers à son désir. Cependant, avant d’assumer ses nouvelles fonctions, il fut prié, sans doute par Champlain, d’entreprendre un voyage d’exploration et de pacification chez les Gens de Mer, appelés aussi Puants, Ounipigons ou Winnebagoes. Ces Indiens vivaient au fond de la baie des Puants (Green Bay), entourés de tribus algonquines avec qui ils étaient en froid au sujet du commerce des fourrures. Une alliance entre les Gens de Mer et les Hollandais de l’Hudson était à craindre. Il fallait rétablir la paix au plus tôt dans cette région. Nicollet devait en profiter aussi pour vérifier les renseignements qu’il avait recueillis concernant la mer de Chine qui, selon les Indiens, était à proximité de la baie des Puants. Aussi Nicollet se munit-il, avant son départ, d’une robe de damas de Chine, toute parsemée de fleurs et d’oiseaux multicolores.

Nicollet se mit en route durant l’été de 1634, probablement à la mi-juillet. Il suivit la route traditionnelle de l’Outaouais, bifurqua à l’île aux Allumettes en direction du lac des Népissingues puis descendit la rivière des Français pour atteindre le lac des Hurons. Chemin faisant, il recruta une escorte de sept Hurons. Il se dirigea vers Michillimakinac, pénétra dans le lac Michigan et atteignit la baie des Puants. Revêtu de sa robe de damas, il sema un moment l’épouvante parmi les Winnebagoes, qui le prirent pour un dieu. Il réunit 4 000 ou 5 000 hommes, groupant les différentes tribus de l’endroit qui, dans la fumée des calumets, conclurent la paix.

Nicollet avait atteint le premier objectif de son voyage. Malheureusement, il n’avait pas trouvé la mer de Chine. En vain descendit-il la rivière aux Renards jusqu’à un village de Mascoutens, situé à trois jours de la rivière Wisconsin, affluent du Mississipi. Une percée vers le Sud, en direction de la rivière des Illinois, ne fut guère plus fructueuse. Sans doute déçu du succès partiel de sa mission, il revint à Québec à l’automne de 1635. Il n’en reste pas moins qu’il fut le premier Blanc à explorer la région du Nord-Ouest américain actuel.

Nicollet s’installa définitivement à Trois-Rivières, en qualité de commis de la Compagnie des Cent-Associés. Il reçut une « concession de 160 arpents de bois en commun avec Olivier Letardif dans la banlieue le 23 mai 1637 ». Ce serait à la même époque qu’il aurait obtenu, en copropriété avec son beau-frère Letardif 1, le fief de Belleborne, situé probablement dans les plaines d’Abraham, à Québec. Il épousa, en octobre 1637, Marguerite, fille de Guillaume Couillard et de Guillemette Hébert, qui lui donna un garçon et une fille. Cette dernière, prénommée Marguerite, devint la femme de Jean-Baptiste Legardeur* de Repentigny, membre du Conseil souverain. Jus qu’à sa mort, Nicollet apparaît comme une figure dominante du bourg de Trois-Rivières. Les ser vices signalés qu’il a rendus à la colonie, sa con naissance des langues et des coutumes indiennes lui valurent le respect de tous.

Les Relations des Jésuites font souvent l’éloge de sa conduite exemplaire : à l’encontre de la plupart des coureurs de bois de son temps, Nicollet aurait toujours vécu suivant les principes de sa religion. Pourtant, il eut en 1628 une fille naturelle née probablement d’une Népissingue. En 1633, il demanda à rester à Trois-Rivières, « pour mettre, rapporte le père Le Jeune, son salut en assurance dans l’usage des sacrements ». Sa plus grande joie, dans les moments de loisirs que lui laissaient ses fonctions, était de servir d’interprète aux missionnaires et d’enseigner la religion aux Indiens.

Nicollet mourut prématurément à Québec en 1642. Il remplaçait temporairement le commis général de la compagnie, son beau-frère Letardif, quand on lui demanda de se rendre au plus tôt à Trois-Rivières pour délivrer un prisonnier iroquois que les Hurons s’apprêtaient à torturer. La chaloupe qui le transportait vers Trois-Rivières fut renversée par un fort coup de vent, près de Sillery. Ne sachant pas nager, il se noya.

Jean Hamelin

ASQ, Documents Faribault, 7 ; Registre A, 560s. (porte la signature de Nicollet).— Champlain, Œuvres (Laverdière), V, VI.— JR (Thwaites), VIII : 247, 257, 267, 295s. ; XXIII, 274–282 ; passim.— C. W. Butterfield, History of the discovery of the north-west by John Nicolet in 1634, with a sketch of his life (Cincinnati, 1881).— Godbout, Les Pionniers de la région trifluvienne.— Auguste Gosselin, Jean Nicolet et le Canada de son temps (Québec, 1905).— Lionel Groulx, Notre grande aventure : lempire français en Amérique du Nord (1535–1760) (Montréal et Paris, [1958]).— Gérard Hébert, Jean Nicolet, le premier Blanc à résider au lac Nipissing (La Société historique du Nouvel-Ontario, Documents historiques, XIII, Sudbury, 1947), 8–24.— Henri Jouan, Jean Nicolet (de Cherbourg), interprète-voyageur au Canada, 1618–1642, RC, XXII (1886) : 67–83.- Benjamin Sulte, Jean Nicolet, Journal de lInstruction publique, XVII (1873) : 166s. ; XVIII (1874) : 28–32 ; Jean Nicolet et la Découverte du Wisconsin, 1634, RC, VI (1910) : 148–155, 331–342, 409–420 ; Le Nom de Nicolet, BRH, VII (1901) : 21–23 ; Notes on Jean Nicolet (Wisconsin Hist. Soc. Coll., VIII, Madison, 1879), 188–194.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jean Hamelin, « NICOLLET DE BELLEBORNE, JEAN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 1, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 30 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/nicollet_de_belleborne_jean_1F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/nicollet_de_belleborne_jean_1F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jean Hamelin
Titre de l'article:   NICOLLET DE BELLEBORNE, JEAN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 1
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1966
Année de la révision:   1966
Date de consultation:   30 juillet 2014