DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

National Expansion
 

Introduction

In 1860 Thomas D’Arcy McGEE, a member of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada, made this declaration: “I look to the future of my adopted country with hope, though not without anxiety; I see in the not remote distance, one great nationality, bound, like the shield of Achilles, by the blue rim of ocean.” (The speech was included in McGee’s Speeches and addresses chiefly on the subject of British-American union, published in London in 1865.) No one did more to realize McGee’s vision than George-Étienne CARTIER:

“Among Cartier’s achievements immediately following confederation, may be placed the negotiations that he conducted and the measures he had passed to extend Canada from the Atlantic to the Pacific. It was mainly Cartier who was the moving spirit behind the advance westwards.”


This section charts the growth of Canada from a collection of four provinces (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, and Quebec) in the eastern half of the continent in 1867 to a country of nine provinces and two territories that stretched from coast to coast in 1905.

For more information on the contributions made by individual Canadian politicians to the expansion of the Canadian confederation, please consult the biographies listed in the projects on three of the most important early leaders of Canada.

Sir John A. MACDONALD: Western Expansion, Religion, and Politics; The National Policy

Sir George-Étienne CARTIER: Territorial Expansion: The March Westward

Sir Wilfrid LAURIER: The Prime Minister: Architect of Modern Canada

◀◀  21 22 23 24 25 26 27  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

né le 18 novembre 1759 à Hopkinton, Massachusetts

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

L’expansion nationale


Introduction

En 1860, Thomas D’Arcy McGee, député de l’Assemblée législative du Canada-Uni, déclara : « Je regarde l’avenir de mon pays adoptif avec espoir, bien que non sans anxiété ; je vois, dans un avenir proche, une seule grande nationalité, unie, comme le bouclier d’Achille, par les eaux bleues de l’océan. » (Le discours figure dans son recueil Speeches and addresses chiefly on the subject of British-American union, publié à Londres en 1865.) Personne ne fournit autant d’efforts pour réaliser la vision de McGee que George-Étienne Cartier :

Parmi les œuvres accomplies par Cartier au lendemain de la Confédération, on peut grouper les tractations qu’il mena et les mesures qu’il fit adopter pour étendre le Canada de l’Atlantique au Pacifique. Il fut le principal artisan de la marche vers l’ouest.

 

Cette section retrace la croissance du Canada, à partir d’un groupe de quatre provinces sises à l’extrémité est du continent (le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Nouvelle-Écosse, l’Ontario et le Québec) en 1867, jusqu’à un pays qui comprenait neuf provinces et deux territoires, et s’étendait d’un océan à l’autre en 1905.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les contributions individuelles d’hommes politiques canadiens à l’expansion de la Confédération canadienne, nous vous invitons à explorer les biographies répertoriées dans les ensembles thématiques consacrés à trois des principaux dirigeants du Canada au début de son histoire :


Sir John Alexander Macdonald : L’expansion vers l’ouest, la religion et la politique ; La Politique nationale

Sir George-Étienne Cartier : L’expansion territoriale : la marche vers l’ouest

Sir Wilfrid Laurier : Le premier ministre : l’architecte du Canada moderne

 

◀◀  21 22 23 24 25 26 27  ▶▶