DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MACK, THEOPHILUS – Volume XI (1881-1890)

d. 24 Oct. 1881 in St Catharines

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Macdonald and Central Government
 

John A. MACDONALD believed firmly in a strong central government under a powerful executive body. For him, a clear division of power between the federal and provincial governments was crucial for the future of Canadian unity. His biographers write:

“The federal powers were … concerned with those areas of jurisdiction where Macdonald believed real power lay: national defence, finance, trade and commerce, taxation, currency, and banking. As well the federal government was given the power (exercised by the imperial government before 1848) to disallow provincial legislation.… The federal cabinet appointed its own provincial watch-dogs, the lieutenant governors, as well as the members of the Senate, the body designed by Macdonald to represent the well-to-do, propertied element of Canadian society, though the House of Commons would continue to be elected on a property franchise. Macdonald believed he had avoided the chief weaknesses of the American federation: universal suffrage and a weak executive. Canada would be run from the centre by people who had a genuine stake in the community.”


Albert James SMITH, New Brunswick politician and noted opponent of confederation, was among those who had objections to the proposed union [see Opposition to Confederation]. He made his views clear in November 1864:

“[The New Brunswick delegates at Charlottetown and Quebec City] had placed the interests of Canada ahead of those of New Brunswick. The dominant Canadians would impose prohibitive taxes on the colony to pay for their past extravagances such as canals and railways. There would also be the cost of two governments rather than one and representation by population would place New Brunswick permanently in a subordinate position.”


Macdonald’s private hopes for federal–provincial relations would have reinforced Smith’s fears:

“[Macdonald’s] agenda for the future of the new federation went much farther than the BNA Act revealed. It was not just that a provincial government was to be ‘a subordinate legislature.’ The provincial governments, he maintained, had been made fatally weak and were ultimately to cease to exist.”


Initially, Macdonald had preferred a legislative union; eventually, he viewed federalism as the only practical way forward. One of his dissenting colleagues was Matthew Crooks CAMERON, who became a prominent anti-confederate Conservative among the assemblymen of Canada West:

“Cameron was never convinced that confederation was the solution to the colonies’ problems. When the Quebec Resolutions were before the Canadian legislature in early 1865, he condemned confederation as an ‘extravagantly expensive arrangement’ as compared with a legislative union. Constitutional change he held to be unnecessary; material progress and provisions for defence could be achieved in the existing system if assemblymen would cease impeding the ‘wheels of government’ by their ‘factious conduct.’ He was not ‘dazzled’ by the prospect of a great nation: ‘We can never be so great in any way as we can by remaining a dependency of the British Crown.’ The resolutions, he claimed, ‘individualized’ the provinces, increasing the elements of contention as well as the possibility of dismemberment from the empire and drift ‘into the vortex of annexation’ to the United States which would be the ‘greatest injury’ that could happen.”


For more information on Macdonald’s early vision for Canada, please consult the following biographies.

◀◀  8 9 10 11 12 13 14  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

RAMSAY, GEORGE, 9e comte de DALHOUSIE – Volume VII (1836-1850)

né le 22 octobre 1770 à Dalhousie Castle, Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Macdonald et le gouvernement central


John Alexander Macdonald croyait fermement à l’importance d’un gouvernement central fort, dirigé par une instance exécutive puissante. Pour lui, une division nette des pouvoirs entre le gouvernement fédéral et ceux des provinces était cruciale pour l’avenir de l’unité canadienne. Ses biographes écrivent :

Les domaines qui, selon lui, donnaient le pouvoir réel – la défense nationale, les finances, le commerce, l’imposition, la monnaie et les banques – ressortissaient au gouvernement central. De surcroît, ce dernier avait le pouvoir (exercé par le gouvernement impérial avant 1848) de refuser la reconnaissance d’une loi provinciale […] Le cabinet fédéral nommait ses chiens de garde dans les provinces, les lieutenants-gouverneurs, de même que les membres du Sénat, organisme qu’avait conçu Macdonald pour représenter l’élément des bien-nantis et des propriétaires, même si la propriété demeurait une condition d’éligibilité à la chambre des Communes. Macdonald croyait ainsi avoir évité les principaux écueils de la fédération américaine : le suffrage universel et la faiblesse de l’exécutif. Le Canada serait gouverné à partir du centre, par des personnes qui avaient des intérêts réels dans la collectivité.

 

Albert James Smith, homme politique du Nouveau-Brunswick et opposant notoire à la confédération, comptait parmi ceux qui soulevaient des objections contre l’union proposée [V. L’opposition à la confédération]. Il présenta clairement ses arguments en novembre 1864 :

[Les délégués du Nouveau-Brunswick à Charlottetown et à Québec] avaient placé les intérêts du Canada avant ceux du Nouveau-Brunswick. Puisqu’ils se trouvaient en position dominante, les Canadiens imposeraient des taxes exorbitantes à la colonie, afin de payer le coût de leurs folles dépenses du passé, comme les canaux et les chemins de fer. On devrait également faire face aux dépenses de deux gouvernements au lieu d’un, et la représentation basée sur la population mettrait le Nouveau-Brunswick dans une situation d’infériorité permanente.

 

Si Smith avait été au courant des espoirs que Macdonald entretenait personnellement en matière de relations fédérales-provinciales, il aurait ressenti encore plus d’inquiétude :

L’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique était loin de rendre entièrement compte des intentions personnelles de Macdonald sur l’avenir de la nouvelle fédération. Dire que les gouvernements provinciaux étaient des « législature[s] subordonnée[s] » est un euphémisme. On les avait voulus faibles, soutenait-il, et ils devaient cesser un jour d’exister.

 

De prime abord, Macdonald avait préféré une union législative ; ultérieurement, il estima que le fédéralisme était en pratique la seule voie à suivre. Parmi ses collègues dissidents figure Matthew Crooks Cameron, l’un des principaux conservateurs du Canada-Ouest opposés à la confédération à l’Assemblée législative :

Cameron n’eut jamais la conviction que la confédération solutionnerait les problèmes des colonies. Lors de la présentation des Résolutions de Québec à la législature canadienne tôt en 1865, il désapprouva la confédération qu’il considérait comme une « entente excessivement coûteuse » comparativement à une union législative. Il ne voyait pas la nécessité d’un remaniement constitutionnel ; la croissance matérielle et un système de défense pourraient être réalisables dans le régime existant si les membres de l’Assemblée cessaient d’entraver les « rouages du gouvernement » par leur « conduite factieuse ». La perspective d’un grand pays ne l’éblouissait pas : « Nous ne pourrons jamais atteindre mieux à la grandeur qu’en demeurant sous la dépendance de la couronne britannique. » Les résolutions, prétendait-il, « individualisaient » les provinces et contribuaient aux sujets de discorde ainsi qu’à l’éventualité d’être séparé de l’Empire et entraîné « dans le tourbillon de l’annexion » aux États-Unis, « le plus grand mal » qui pût arriver.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la vision initiale de Macdonald pour le Canada, vous pouvez consulter les biographies suivantes.

◀◀  8 9 10 11 12 13 14  ▶▶