DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

BLANCHARD, HIRAM – Volume X (1871-1880)

d. in Halifax, 17 Dec. 1874

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Visual Art
 

The painter Charles HUOT drew praise for his artistic talent and the nationalist character of his works. A reviewer of his solo exhibition, held in 1900 at the legislative building in Quebec City, made this observation:

“‘The first thing that strikes the visitor ... is ... the national, almost patriotic character of the works.... The perfume of Canadianism that they give off is exquisite.’ The landscapes and genre scenes inspired by the inhabitants of the Île d’Orléans, where Huot had spent his last few summers, were well received by people supporting clerical-nationalism. At the time, attachment to religion and to tradition dominated the discourse of French Canadians, who recognized themselves in and projected themselves into some of the subjects treated by the painter.”


Thomas John (Tom) THOMSON, whose landscapes inspired Canada’s most famous art collective, the Group of Seven, painted iconic images of Ontario in the 1910s:

“Through his friends at work, through exhibitions, and through the Arts and Letters Club, Thomson gradually came to the attention of those men who, in 1920, would form the Group of Seven, Canada’s first national school of art. Stimulated by contemporary nationalistic feelings, which embraced the northern theme recurrent in English Canadian literature, and by the northern Symbolist landscapes hung in an exhibition of Scandinavian art in Buffalo, N.Y., in 1913, these men came to champion the wilderness as the strength of Canada, the north as the location of that strength, and populist, design-based techniques as preferable to ‘foreign-begot’ methods. The fact that they were all southern urban dwellers who had learned art techniques abroad did not worry them one whit.”


To learn more about how Canada was expressed in the visual arts during the post-confederation period, please consult the following biographies.

◀◀  36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

RAMSAY, GEORGE, 9e comte de DALHOUSIE – Volume VII (1836-1850)

né le 22 octobre 1770 à Dalhousie Castle, Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Les beaux-arts


Le peintre Charles Huot s’attira des louanges pour son talent artistique et le caractère nationaliste de ses œuvres. En 1900, à l’occasion de son exposition à l’Hôtel du Parlement, à Québec, un critique fit cette observation :

« La première chose qui frappe le visiteur [...] c’est [...] le caractère national, quasi patriotique, de l’œuvre […] Le parfum de canadianisme qui s’en exhale de toute part est exquis. » Les paysages et les scènes de genre inspirées des habitants de l’île d’Orléans, où Huot passe ses étés depuis quelques années, trouvent en effet un écho favorable chez les tenants du clérico-nationalisme. L’attachement à la religion et à la tradition domine alors le discours des Canadiens français, qui se reconnaissent et se projettent dans certains sujets traités par le peintre.

 

Thomas John (Tom) Thomson, dont les paysages influencèrent le groupe d’artistes le plus célèbre du Canada, le groupe des Sept, peignit des images emblématiques de l’Ontario dans les années 1910 :

Par l’entremise de ses collègues de travail, des expositions et de l’Arts and Letters Club, Thomson attira peu à peu l’attention de ces hommes qui, en 1920, formeraient le groupe des Sept, la première école nationale d’art du Canada. Stimulés par le nationalisme de leur temps, dont le thème du Nord, cher à la littérature canadienne-anglaise, était l’une des composantes, et par les paysages nordiques exposés en 1913 par des symbolistes scandinaves à Buffalo, dans l’État de New York, ces peintres en vinrent à proclamer que la nature sauvage faisait la force du Canada, que cette force se trouvait dans le Nord et que des techniques populistes, inspirées des arts appliqués, étaient préférables aux méthodes « conçues à l’étranger ». Le fait qu’ils étaient tous des citadins du Sud et qu’ils avaient acquis leurs techniques artistiques à l’étranger ne les dérangeait pas le moins du monde.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la représentation du Canada dans les arts visuels après la Confédération, nous vous invitons à explorer les biographies suivantes.

◀◀  36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44  ▶▶