DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The Young Conservative
 

John A. MACDONALD was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada in 1844. He soon established his own style:

“… he was never an entirely reactionary conservative. His approach to politics from the first was always essentially pragmatic. The fact was that circumstances made it impossible for Macdonald, or any other conservative politician, to cling to political positions that had become outmoded. The transfer of power from the governor and his appointed advisers to elected colonial politicians and the gradual acceptance of party politics created a system in which exclusivist views could not be maintained, at least in public. Macdonald preferred conservative options but did not wish, he stated in 1844, ‘to waste the time of the Legislature, and the money of the people, in fruitless discussions of abstract and theoretical questions of government.’”

 

In 1847 came a glimpse of Macdonald’s tendency towards moderate conservatism, commonsensical and disdainful of political “abstractions,” in his advancement of the University Endowment Bill:

“It did not pass but it reflected both his conservatism and his pragmatism. In an attempt to steer a middle course between the reform policy of a single state-supported, nonsectarian university and tory plans for a revived and strengthened Anglican King’s College in Toronto, he proposed to divide the university endowment among the existing denominational colleges but to give King’s College the largest share. In 1848 he resigned with the government to make way for the reform administration of Robert Baldwin* and Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine*.” 

 

While the Conservatives were out of power between 1848 and 1854, Macdonald continued to promote the interests of his constituents in Kingston. Besides supporting charitable, religious, and educational institutions, he introduced legislation to incorporate Kingston as a city and encouraged its development. His constituents would re-elect him for seven consecutive terms between 1844 and 1867, and three terms between 1867 and 1874.

For more information on Macdonald’s early political career, please consult the following biographies.

◀◀  2 3 4 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

né le 18 novembre 1759 à Hopkinton, Massachusetts

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Le jeune conservateur


John Alexander Macdonald fut élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative de la province du Canada en 1844. Il afficha bientôt son style distinctif :

Jamais, cependant, il ne fut totalement ultraconservateur. Du début à la fin de sa carrière, il envisagea la politique de façon essentiellement pragmatique. En fait, certaines positions étaient devenues trop désuètes pour que lui-même ou quelque autre conservateur ne s’entête à les défendre. Le transfert du pouvoir des mains d’un gouverneur et de conseillers désignés à celles d’hommes politiques coloniaux élus et l’acceptation progressive de la politique des partis rendaient impossible, du moins en public, le maintien d’opinions exclusivistes. Macdonald privilégiait les options conservatrices mais, comme il le déclara en 1844, il ne souhaitait pas « faire perdre du temps au Parlement ni de l’argent à la population en vaines discussions de questions de gouvernement abstraites et théoriques ».

 

Sa préparation et sa défense du University Endowment Bill, en 1847, donnent un aperçu du penchant de Macdonald pour le conservatisme modéré, teinté de bon sens et de mépris pour les « abstractions » politiques :

Ce projet de loi, qui ne fut pas adopté, reflète aussi bien son conservatisme que son pragmatisme. Désireux de trouver un compromis entre la position des réformistes, à savoir la constitution d’une seule université non confessionnelle et financée par l’État, et celle des tories, soit la relance et le renforcement du King’s College, établissement anglican de Toronto, Macdonald proposait de répartir la dotation universitaire entre les collèges confessionnels existants, mais d’en verser la part du lion au King’s College. En 1848, il démissionna avec le gouvernement pour faire place au cabinet réformiste de Robert Baldwin* et de Louis-Hippolyte La Fontaine*.

 

Pendant que les conservateurs étaient écartés du pouvoir, entre 1848 et 1854, Macdonald continua de promouvoir les intérêts de ses électeurs de Kingston. Outre qu’il soutint des organismes caritatifs, religieux et éducatifs, il présenta un projet de loi pour constituer juridiquement la ville de Kingston et encouragea son essor. Il serait réélu pour sept mandats consécutifs entre 1844 et 1867, et pour trois mandats entre 1867 et 1874.

Pour en savoir plus sur les débuts de la carrière politique de Macdonald, veuillez consulter les biographies suivantes.

◀◀  2 3 4 6 7 8  ▶▶